I’m Whining and I Don’t Care!!!

Joy at JoyErickson’s Weblog just recently asked the question “Whose a bigger wimp when sick, men or women?”  Of course, we don’t even need to answer that question because we already know the answer.  But now I’m having second thoughts.

I have a TOOTHACHE and it freakin’ hurts!!!!

I can’t go have it pulled until Thursday because I am on aspirin and they are afraid I’ll bleed out in the chair.  I don’t do dentists.  Don’t take that the wrong way,  please.  I just don’t like to go to the dentist. Oh my freakin’ word, this hurts.  So I have decided to whine on this post.  I have dentophobia.

Sometimes pain is good for you – and the fear of dentists is something that has persisted down the ages, despite the advent of modern anaesthetics.

This wood and ivory carving depicts tooth extraction – 17th century style.

tooth-extraction1

Look what I just found:

Thousands of people who avoided the dentist are getting their dentistry done while they relax in the chair, thanks to a new development in dentistry called “pill dentistry,” technically known as oral conscious sedation.
Why didn’t I know about this before?

I guess only certain dentists do this and mine isn’t one of them. 

Overcome dental phobia with the help of hypnosis!

Do you avoid going to the dentist, even in the midst of severe dental pain? Would you rather let a tooth rot away than have a cavity filled or an extraction performed? What happens when you do have to visit your dentist? Does an empty pit develop in the center of your stomach? Do your hands start sweating? Maybe your head starts spinning just a bit? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you are one of the many people who suffer from a dental phobia.

mainpic1

Yes, my head is spinning.  Yes, to all those questions.

Actually this tooth hurts so much I can’t wait until Thursday to get it yanked.
And now I have to go VOTE!!!!

Fuckity Fuck, this really hurts!!!


30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 12:12:23

    Here…have some cheese and crackers to go with your whine!

    Seriously, I hope you feel better. I am a total wimp when it comes to the dentist!

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 12:38:08

    Oh, man. That totally sucks. I fear dentists too and that last picture isn’t helping at all. If you call your doc will he give you pain meds until you can get to the dentist?

    Reply

  3. threeboys1mommy
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 13:53:01

    I used to go every 6 months, no cavities, perfect smile then the dentist suggested I remove all 4 wisdom teeth, and that was the end of that!

    I stopped going for like 6 years, and I just returned 2 weeks ago. I still have to get my wisdom teeth extracted and 4 cavities to boot! My next appt. is Friday. Can’t wait 😦

    Reply

  4. Hannah
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 15:27:05

    Oh Joan, I’m so sorry! I can sympathise, as I have had bad toothache before and been unable to get an appointment until a few days later. OUCH!
    I don’t “do” dentists either (Haha!) but when I had toothache last time (I was pregnant with Tyler) I found an amazing dentist. I was allowed to watch a DVD while he did my filling! And nothing hurt, nothing at all. It was a whole new experience for me, as all my childhood dentistry was done with NO anaesthetic (that’s just the way it worked back in the 80’s) and that had a lot to do with my intense fear of the dentist. Kids these days are so lucky, they have a way better experience than we all did!!
    I hope you can hang in there for a couple more days, and that the pain isn’t too severe that you can’t cope. It will be such a relief to have it finally fixed!

    Reply

  5. javajunkee
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 16:56:19

    call and emergency dentist..and keep your cane handy…tell him you don’t like pain, you are armed with a cane and know how to use it!

    I HATe going to the dentist…not so much that I think it hurts..gloves or no gloves dude has wiped his ass with that hand that he has in my mouth.

    Reply

  6. The Vinyl Villager
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 17:01:03

    find one of those “knock ya out” dentists. Im not afraid of dentists myself, but the folks I know who are go to those kind and love them! Get well soon.

    Reply

  7. Joy
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 17:14:06

    Oh Joan, I am so sorry for your pain. I’m in the same “scared of the dentist” boat with most of the others. I’d waited over 10 years without going. I had a mouth full of rotten teeth and my tongue was always cut up from the jagged edges. One day I woke up with such a swollen mouth and of course it was a Sat. I found a sedation dentist and was able to get in on Mon morning. They couldn’t pull my tooth until I was on antibiotics for 4 days because my mouth was so swollen. He gave me 18 Vicoden that I didn’t even take but it turns out I didn’t even use the sedation either but knowing I could helped.

    FYI, I fell in love with my dentist and gave him $8000 and now my mouth looks and feels great. If you don’t have a SoniCare toothbrush, you have to get one. They are awesome.

    Keep us informed. We all care and love you.

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 18:07:50

    I am afraid of the dentist everytime I go they literally drag me into the chair and then I run away yes, its like a movie scene LOL.

    Reply

  9. birdpress
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 18:33:30

    If I were a dentist I would use massage chairs for the patients. They are expensive, but probably a good investment when they start bringing in the clients!

    Sorry you are in so much pain. I hope it goes quickly and you don’t bleed to death. 😦

    Reply

  10. Peter Parkour
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 18:40:12

    You poor baby. 😦 I’m sorry to hear you are in pain. “Fuckity Fuck” that has a familiar ring to it. 😉 Bunny won’t let me leave her side when she goes to the dentist. Have someone stay with you for comfort and support. You gotta take it easy on all that Halloween candy. 🙂 As if today wasn’t a big enough pain already. Hang in there lady.

    Reply

  11. Amy Hunter
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 18:58:28

    Oh man, I am the biggest weenie about dentists, even though all they ever do is clean my teeth. So you have my sympathy, and I hope you feel a lot better soon.

    Reply

  12. Emerald
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 20:01:19

    Oh no! Happy voting and I hope your teeth feel better soon! I’d be hitting up the rum’n’diet-coke pretty quick 😉

    Reply

  13. betme
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 12:34:04

    Joan, I feel your pain. I detest going to the dentist. They are all sadists. I had to have a tooth pulled last year and the darn thing broke off in my gums. A small piece worked it’s way to the surface a month later and finally fell out.

    Try some Orajel (or Vicadin)

    Reply

  14. tw
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 17:07:07

    Oh I sympathise with you 150% Joan. Boy do I what!

    Can so relate to this post, lol.

    Because I put it off I end up with worse toothache and even worse purseache i.e. mega $$$$ bill.

    You’d think I’d learn. But no, lol.

    Thinking of you. xx

    Reply

  15. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 19:38:11

    OOOh, mouth pain, never fun. Use the orajel and brush with Sensodyne, you have to ask for it @ the pharmacy counter. I have sensitive teeth and get shooting pains (Thank you Fibromyalgia!) in my mouth from time to time. It sucks!

    Reply

  16. sheng
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 19:50:42

    Joanie, I hope it is better now! Did you vote for Obama?

    Reply

  17. bkclubcare
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 08:07:36

    I hope all is well!

    Reply

  18. laura
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 12:53:50

    I have no tolerance for pain so I get gassed (nitrous oxide) for everything but cleanings and I wish they would give it to me that too. I had a temporary crown fall off a couple of months ago and suffered through a night of torture until they could see me the next morning! I’d rather have a colonoscopy (and I’ve had 2) than go to the dentist. I hope all goes well!!

    Reply

  19. thebeadden
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 13:59:45

    Oh, geez…I hope everything is okay, Joan. (hugs)
    😦

    Reply

  20. duskydi
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 14:20:50

    Hi Joans Of pain.

    Hope its eased a little or you have had it pulled by now. ouch ! I went today to for a root canal filling. I have some slight issues with the level of care with this dentist so in no uncertain terms I voiced by anguash at my last visit as soon as I went in.

    Needless to say he was very gentle with me and all went well. Next fillling next week.

    Ask for the magic cream on the gum before the injection, its a numbing cream and you can’t feel the needle.

    I thought that this dentist was being quite sexual with my mouth today but that might have just been me, Hehe!! Laughing.

    Hope you feel better my dear friend
    Love
    Di

    Reply

  21. trishatruly
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 15:40:56

    Ok, don’t hate me but I’m 54 years-old and I’ve never had a cavity. The only time a dentist inflicted pain on me was once when I had a wisdom tooth removed and once when I had a baby tooth removed at age 47!! Yes!

    By now you should be feeling better and sipping on a rum/coke concoction. I would! Maybe one, two, or twelve of ’em!

    Hugs!!!!

    Reply

  22. Red
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 00:06:31

    awww.. joanie .. i do hope you are feeling somewhat better. toothaches are a bitch, and when you have to wait to get them fixed – seems like it makes even worse.
    a heating pad on the cheek works a bit.
    so does frozen peas.
    but not at the same time 😉

    Reply

  23. javajunkee
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 09:35:07

    hey how’d you come out with this tooth thing? You ok?

    Reply

  24. museditions
    Nov 08, 2008 @ 03:35:25

    Better? 😕

    Reply

  25. javaqueen
    Nov 08, 2008 @ 17:24:51

    Whoah, Nellie. Seee, I really missed a lot! I’m also reading it backwards from top to bottom- make sense much Anne? I’ve missed your last 8 posts and have some catching up to do here. I should probably scroll down to the 8th post and work my way up so it is in order 😉

    Derrrr!

    I did read the first, and am glad you are doing better? This sounded like hell!

    Reply

  26. mrsvierkant
    Nov 08, 2008 @ 17:44:04

    I don’t know that I hate the dentist so much, I hate people being that close to me, and I don’t like people’s hands in my mouth, and yes I know they’re wearing gloves, but ewwww…. I hate mouth pain too. I also hate gauze in my mouth, it makes me gag.

    Usually I end up rescheduling a cleaning/check-up 3 or 4 times, because I have to work up the nerve to deal with going to the dentist.

    He’s a nice guy and my hygentist is really nice too, but my mouth ALWAYS hurts when they are done, and I HATE mouth pain.

    Reply

  27. Matt
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 13:05:47

    I’m sorry you all hate going to the dentist so much. I am a dentist and never like it when my patients are scared of me. There are some options for you if you are really scared. Oral sedation is a good option, Iv sedation is more reliable than oral sedation. Your right, not all dentists sedate thier patients. If you do sedation cases then you have to carry insurace for them. The insurance is expensive and most dentists dont do enough sedations to cover the additional cost. Im sure that you dentist would be more than happy to refer you to a good oral surgeon. They carry the needed insurance and do lots of sedation cases. Ask your dentist. Im sure he is a nice guy and would love for you to be comfortable and get the work you need done.

    I think you have some fans, Matt. You sound like a wonderful dentist. Are you by any chance in eastern Massachusetts? I actually do like my dentist but I still get the Heebie Jeebies when I go.

    Reply

  28. birdpress
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 17:16:25

    I want Matt to be my new dentist.

    He sounds cool doesn’t he?

    Reply

  29. Carlos
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 22:45:54

    Joan – where did you find the image of that wood and ivory carving? I really like it. I made a website for my mom (she is a dentist), and I would love to add it to the website. I hope the procedure went well. Matt is right, dentistry has changed so much – and like all the other science and technology based industries it is evolving at an incredible pace. Mom sees so many patients who grew up going to the dentist in the 60’s and even up to the 90’s and are absolutely terrified of the dentist. I cannot imagine what it must have been like . . . one patient said his childhood dentist refused to use anesthesia because he needed to ‘man up.’ Thankfully most are surprised by how much things have changed (usually they have been so scared of going to the dentist, that a major problem drags them in after many years of not visiting the dentist). The sad part is, many of those major problems could be avoided by regular visits – or at least coming at the first sign of pain. Now I think the trend is starting to reverse – patients are more comfortable – but imagine working in a profession where people are constantly scared of you and don’t mind repeatedly telling you what a terrible time you cause them and how knowing they had to see you ruined their day! If I am not mistaken, alcoholism is a problem in the dental community. Everyone likes to know they are appreciated and valued, even dentists. . .

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Mar 20, 2009 @ 06:46:37

      I did a google image search and found it. I think I might have searched for fear dentists.

      T?hanks for the lowdown on dentistry. I’m fortunate to have a wonderful dentist but I still carry that childhood fear. I really appreciate your wonderful comment. Your mom is fortunate to have such a caring son.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

