The French Canadian, Wild Turkeys and Sitdancing!!

Saturday night Damon was hungry and I had taken the night off from cooking.  We decided to go to his favorite restaurant, Paul’s Pizza and Seafood.  They are known for their Pizza but fortunately they serve other food that I could eat.  Damon had a pizza, of course, and I had a baked potato, squash and grilled chicken.

Then we decided to go to the Courtyard and see what band was playing. The band playing was “The Moonlighters”

Turns out the guy in the top row on the right was one of my customers when I owned my store.  The band was great.  Then along came The French Canadian guy.  All of a sudden I’m dancing with him and his girlfriend.  He had a French Canadian accent which reminded me of the town I was born in,  Woonsocket, R.I..  That town was full of Canucks.

I myself am half Canuck.  Anyway, this Canuck guy, for whatever reason I can’t imagine,  kept dancing with me all night.  He was much younger than me.  I think these young guys just like to dance with old ladies with canes to be nice. Damon kept coming over to check on me and was acting very protectively.  I may have danced a little too much because my knees are still paying for it.  I did some dancing while sitting too.  Wow, I just did some research about sitdancing. I didn’t know there was this whole sitdancing thing going on.

Here is a sitdancing video from New Zealand.  It’s cool because you can hear that wonderful New Zealand accent. Cause we know they have an accent and I don’t. Ha! Ha!

Here is a link to Sitdancing International in New Zealand.

And wouldn’t you know it, I didn’t have my camera.   Well, Damon and I closed the place down.  I had a great time and it was fun spending time with Damon.  He will be leaving soon and I  want to spend as much quality time with him as I can.  Sarah has been an angel to let him stay almost two months.  It was only supposed to be two days. He’s gained 12 pounds and is looking really healthy.

I saw about ten wild turkeys on my front lawn this morning. I know there are wild turkeys on Cape Cod but I have never seen them on my front lawn.  I managed to take one blurry photo of them. I got so excited I forgot to focus the camera. I do that a lot.

I also got a photo of them on my cell phone but I can’t seem to download it to my computer.

Like I said the other day, I never know where a post will take me.  I had no intention of showing a video about sitdancing.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 18:45:33

    LOL, I had no idea there was such a think at “sitdancing” … and especially didn’t know there is a group for it in NZ!! 😀
    Oh, and we don’t have accents – you do!! 🙂

    I might have to see if there is a sitdancing class around here. It might be difficult to commute back and forth to NZ once a week to take a class there. OK, I’ll meet you halfway–we both have accents only I like yours better than mine.

    Reply

  2. trishatruly
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 19:16:40

    Ah, those NZ-ers! They sure sound funny , don’t they? But we love them!! hahahaha

    Sit dancing? Is there an age where one is allowed to do that exclusively? My feet hurt after I danced all night at Birdpress and J.’s wedding on Saturday.

    Don’t worry where the Blog Fairy takes you, Joan. It’s always a hoot and a half!

    I love listening to the NZ-ers. And yes, we do love them.

    So you had a good time dancing. That’s great. Get Mr. D-Bear to give you a foot massage. Yea, that blog fairy is always flying around me.

    Reply

  3. Emerald
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 19:40:53

    You’re half Canuck!? Go you! You’re like ten times cooler now 😉

    My mother was full Canuck. Her family hails from Trois-Rivières, Quebec. The town I was born in, Woonsocket, Rhode Island was a French Canadian mill town. I learned French when I was very young but have since forgotten most of it. My mother could speak it fluently. Her maiden name was LeMay. When I was young we vacationed in Quebec quite often. My grandmother couldn’t even speak English.

    So yea, I’m Cool!!!!

    Reply

  4. kaylee
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 19:58:34

    Whats with all you canucks? DO I need to go live in canada?

    Reply

  5. sheng
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 19:47:38

    How do you do that sitdancing thing? I can’t really imagine myself doing that. Is it any of those movements while sitting, i hope it burns calories too.

    Reply

  6. kaylee2
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 20:14:18

    Shoot I am about to go back on drugs. I mean that. 😦

    Reply

  7. tw
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 21:31:16

    Haha. I remember someone took my Mum to one of these classes years ago and she was only in her early sixties at the time. It was much too easy and slow for her and she said she didn’t want to be rude and leave before the end of the class. Took all her time not to crack up laughing.

    Think it is awesome for the REAL oldies and people recovering from strokes etc.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 22:55:38

    I’m part French Canadian too! Woo-hoo, Joan! Oh hey – I would love to teach some of those sit-dancing classes! That would be awesome! I love the New Zealand accent! We had wild turkeys stop in our back yard last year. They were a lot bigger than I thought and their feet look like they have dinosaur skin. LOL. UG-LY! But they were “gobbling” all over until they were all gathered and then they went on their way. They flew for short distances too. I was amazed.

    Reply

  9. Peter Parkour
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 23:21:12

    Every now and then I would spot a wild turkey or two while out on the road. I always tried showing them to Bunny, but not once did she ever see one. 😕 Oh well, one of these days. 😉 Sounds like you guys had a pretty good time at the pizza joint. I’ll have to go there and try the pizza if I’m ever in the area. I do my fair share of sit dancing when driving. 😛 Red actually did a post about sit dancing while driving a long while back. 🙂 I told her I called it “the pooter scootin’ boogy”. :mrgreen:

    Reply

  10. kaylee
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 02:18:33

    I’m so moving to nz you just made sure of it 🙂

    Reply

  11. jeanny
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 04:43:51

    that’s a cool way to dance. Let me try that later! lolz

    Have a splendid day Joan. TC 🙂

    Reply

  12. Jim
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 07:05:53

    So I guess there are not steps to sit dancing then. How cool.

    Wild turkeys aren’t all that prevalent down here in NC. Deer are. I would love to see wild turkeys coming through my yard.

    Canucks have moved here where I live before. Interesting folks, I’d say. Eh?! They though my accent was something too. Yup!

    Reply

  13. duskydi
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 09:43:21

    I think everybody would want to dance with you Joans ofs Dances. I sure would.

    I’m nothing as exoctic as French Canedien, I’m just British and pleased for Damon.

    Much Love dear Joan
    Di

    Reply

  14. thebeadden
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 10:08:59

    I’m part French Canadian too! I’m not joking when I say my family is from Trois Rivieres too! Maybe that is where they all went when they came over from France and then scattered around from there. Too cool, Joan!

    It sounds like you had a blast! I’m so happy that you were able to spend so much time with Damon!

    That video was not only made me smile but it was also heartening to see the sparkle in their eyes! I’m so glad there are people out there that have these programs.

    Great post, Joan. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  15. Joy
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 10:29:14

    My dad is a Cunuck too. More in common. I just love those turkey’s. We have a group of them too. You don’t want to get to close to them. They can be a little bit on the nasty side.

    It’s good to hear Damon is doing so well and is gaining weight. He’s gaining and your losing. Way to go. When does he leave?

    I love your picture change and now it’s the real you of now. I couldn’t figure out yesterday who that was leaving a comment. You look so great.

    Reply

  16. Just a Mom
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 11:32:21

    I am half French Canadian. My Grandmother on my dad’s side was pissed when he married my mom because she ruined the blood line! She was Irish & Danish.
    We have a program here on PBS called Sit & Be Fit. They have all these exercises you can do while sitting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

