Weight Watchers Saturday and Other Nonsense

I was happy with my weight loss this week.  I lost 1.8 pounds.  It was a good meeting.  The leader passed out cards and asked us 3 questions and we were to write down the answers.  One of the questions was ” What could you do to make your family meals more appealing?” You were suppose to write the first thing that came to mind.  I already go to extremes to do that for my family.  I serve my meals on nice plates not paper ones.  They are good, hearty appetizing meals.  I put a lot of effort into my cooking.  I even think about colors when I cook and will use a red pepper vs. a green one when I need some color.

So I wrote  ” Carving little vegetables into flowers.”  Yea, like I am going to really do that.  I don’t think so.  But it was the first thing that came to mind because I couldn’t think of anything else.  Some of the weight watcher women thought I actually did that.

I can see myself spending the afternoon carving sweet potatoes into fish.  I don’t think so.  I’ve got better things to do.  I have blogging.

I realized today that when I sit down to write a blog I usually have no idea in my head what I am going to write about.  I just start typing. I guess it goes to show you I don’t think too much about anything serious. But that’s also how I keep sane and silly. Which is just where I want to be right now in the twilight of my years.  Am I in the twilight of my years yet?  When exactly does that happen?

So I did a google image search for twilight years and came up with this.

Ha! Ha!  Now that’s more like it.  That’s exactly where and when I live.  The Freakin’ Twilight Zone.  Perfect!!!!

Speaking of Halloween.  My daughter and her hubby went to a friend’s house last night.  My son went to a bar to see his friend’s band, the wasband was doing a card show and I was abandoned and left alone to deal with the trick or treaters.  I bought candy.  No one showed up.  Not one little kid.  I was sort of disappointed but I also sort of figured no one would come from past years.

Sarah leaves for Puerto Rico tomorrow with her bosses and a couple of co-workers for a business trip. She’ll be gone 6 days and is leaving me alone with the men of the house. I wish I could stow away on board the plane with my drugs and alcohol because that’s the way I fly. But I guess I can’t.

This is where she is staying.  Not too shabby.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 13:03:40

    Oh, wow. I hope Sarah has a good time on her trip. And I hope you survive the men in the house without her support. 😉 Those vegetable carvings are awesome but yeah – I think much more fitting on a cruise ship than in my kitchen. LOL. Congrats on the weight loss again, Joan. You are back on track and doing great! 🙂

    I’m a bit jealous of Sarah. I wanted to stow away on the plane but it’s too late now. She called me three hours ago and is in sunny, warm Puerto Rico and I am here with the Three Stooges. No offense guys.

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 17:21:36

    Way to go gal. Once again I’m dreading my weigh in tomorrow. I’m hoping for another “no gain” week, because I’m pretty sure I didn’t lose any. 😐 Sarah is such a lucky lady. When she’s not being pampered by you, she’s running off the beautiful Puerto Rico. I am so jealous on both accounts. 😉

    Yea, right now I am jealous of her too. I have to go grocery shopping to feed the Three Stooges while she basks in the sun. When I finally lose all the weight and get new knees I am going to take a vacation somewhere. I just have to figure out who’s going to pay for it.

    Reply

  3. CuriousC
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 19:16:23

    I want you to get some books on veggie carving and show us the results of all your practicing. I’m sure Sara will be super impressed with what you come up with by the time she comes home! (ps I thot of you today – I should have called. Oscar and I went out to Orleans to the Natl Sea Shore and had a lovely beach day.)

    The National Seashore is so nice. I’m glad you had a good time. We’ve been having some wonderful weather. I’m not too sure of the veggie carving but it might be fun to try.

    Reply

  4. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 22:15:11

    No trick or treaters at our house either. My hubby came home from work late and said he didn’t see a single kid in the neighborhood. What the hell do kids do these days?

    I think they go down Main Street in our town to all the businesses. My sister lives in a nice neighborhood and she only got two groups of kids. She used to get a ton of kids.

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 04:20:37

    Woohoo, 1.8 pounds!! You go, girl!
    Hope Sarah enjoys her trip.

    Yes, I have to keep up this momentum. Sarah just called a few hours ago and landed safely. I think she will have a great time.

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 12:48:39

    Way to go Joan on the weight loss. I think your back on track also. I hope Sarah has a good trip. You’ll keep those boys in line. I have no doubts about that. Not with that cane in hand!

    Funny about the carved food. I have a post on that that I’m putting on my blog this week. You’ll have to check it out. But I won’t be doing any of that either. Looking at it is one thing, doing it is another.

    Halloween is a lost thing of the past isn’t it? I’m not sure what it is either. Have we just gotten that paranoid with our kids? It’s nothing like it was when I was little. So much of it now is done in Malls and Churches and Schools. Nobody seems to want to go house to house anymore. It’s sad but it’s also what kids know now. They don’t know what they’re missing.

    I can’t wait to see your food carving post. I doubt I will be doing much in the food carving arena. My people are lucky I cook at all.

    I remember being a kid and going out trick or treating and meeting up with mobs of kids. We’d get over a hundred kids at our house. My mother did make my older brother come with me even back then. I think a lot of it is paranoia.

    Reply

  7. Amy Hunter
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 15:32:37

    Hi Joan! I thought I’d check out your blog too, and I love it. 🙂

    Your post reminds me of an artist named Saxton Freymann who carves faces and animals from vegetables. He’s done a lot of children’s books and his work is amazing:

    http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&q=saxton%20freymann%20art&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wi

    Thanks for stopping by. Saxton Freymann is amazing. Thanks for the link. I loved the broccoli poodle. I watched a pumpkin carving challenge on the Food Network yesterday. They did some amazing pumpkins compared to the hatchet jobs I’ve done on pumpkins. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. I have added you to mine. I always love meeting a new friend. I see you’ve been blogging almost exactly the same length of time I have. I read your very first blog and that’s just what I am doing with blogging. I just write what is going through my head at the time i sit at the computer.

    Reply

  8. Just a Mom
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 17:21:17

    Can I go with Sarah? Please! 🙂
    I actually ran out of candy this year! I had to break into my kids stash so the trick or treaters would have something. But please don’t tell them, they haven’t figured it out yet! 🙂

    Wow, you must get a lot of kids. I bet your kids won’t figure it out. I promise I won’t tell.

    Reply

  9. thebeadden
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 00:52:49

    I hope Sarah has a great trip! Congrats on your weight loss!

    That is so funny about the veggie carving. I’ve tried it more than once and never had anything turn out like it showed in the picture. But I did carve a basket out of a watermelon once and filled it with a bunch of cut up fruit. LOL!

    Take care, Joan

    I’ve seen people do that with the watermelon. It’s a great presentation. I’m sure Sarah is having a good time. She loves warm weather.

    Reply

  10. duskydi
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 03:30:46

    Hi love,

    Check out this. Hehe! People make musical instruments out of veg and wonderful tunes.

    Hope sarah has a great time,don’t let the three monkeys take over darling. Glad you spent some of your afternoon Up Pendle Hill.

    Love
    Di

    That was an amazing video. I put it in my favorites. Pendle Hill was fun. Those thee monkeys know who the boss is–ME.

    Love,
    Joan

    Reply

  11. duskydi
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 03:34:20

    PS.
    Happy about the weight loss.
    Love again, Di again. x

    Thanks, Diane.
    Love again
    Joan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

