Ha! Ha! WORK!!!!

I got an e-mail from those job people:

A recent review of our records indicated that you have applied for the General Office Clerk position with Good Company Jobs . After reviewing your application we have determined that you meet our initial employment requirements.

What?  Are they freakin’ nuts.  Did they even read my application?  I guess I didn’t mention that I was disabled and don’t want a job as a general office clerk.  This is not the road I want to take.

At this point in my life this is what I think of work.

Well, I just thought I would keep you up to date on my quest for a job–by mistake.

From Wikipedia:

Employment is a contract between two parties, one being the employer and the other being the employee. An employee may be defined as: “A person in the service of another under any contract of hire, express or implied, oral or written, where the employer has the power or right to control and direct the employee in the material details of how the work is to be performed.” Black’s Law Dictionary page 471 (5th ed. 1979).

In a commercial setting, the employer conceives of a productive activity, generally with the intention of generating a profit, and the employee contributes labour to the enterprise, usually in return for payment of wages. Employment also exists in the public, non-profit and household sectors. To the extent that employment or the economic equivalent is not universal, unemployment exists.

I don’t think so. I’ll stick with unemployment.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 22:04:30

    If you apply for a job accidentally, and get hired by mistake, I would think that means that you can come to work randomly, do whatever the hell you want, and maybe get paid really well! Right? That sounds GREAT!

    That’s a great idea. I think I would just randomly not show up at all except for payday. 😉

    Reply

  2. thebeadden
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 22:30:46

    Just show up for one day, bring your video camera. Zoom around on your cripple cart, cane swinging in air, yelling “I can’t believe you hired me after what happened at the last place!!!”

    hahahaha… 🙂

    OK, you just made me laugh out loud. I even woke up all the cats. I can just imagine it. I really, really want to do that.

    Reply

  3. kaylee
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 22:48:29

    HAHAHAHAHAHHA

    Glad you are laughing!!!

    Reply

  4. Peter Parkour
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 04:44:28

    Amen sister. 😛 Happy Halloween. 😉

    Amen to you too. Halloween is over now so I will just say Happy Sunday!!!

    Reply

  5. museditions
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 05:50:53

    You remind me of when Pat Paulsen didn’t run for President. Remember him on the “Smothers Brothers”?
    “If nominated, I will not run; if elected I will not serve.”
    You have style, Joan, real style, and it’s not accidental. 🙂

    I’d forgotten all about Pat Paulsen not running for president. I used to love the Smothers Brothers. Thanks for the compliment, Muse. You’ve got style too.

    Reply

  6. javajunkee
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 09:47:09

    take the job and tell them you are just “holding” my spot in place until I can get there.

    Sounds good. Just don’t take too long to get here. I don’t like to work for other people. I’m afraid of what I will do with the cane.

    Reply

  7. trishatruly
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 22:17:55

    Everyone wants you . Joan! Can I hang with you?

    😛

    I’d love to hang with you and meet Birdpress and J and Mr D Bear. We’d have a blast plus I love your yard. That snow picture was so beautiful. It gave me such a peaceful feeling.

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 11:48:51

    H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S!!! You are just to much. I really do agree with thebeadden!!! I would love to see that reaction if you showed up swinging your cane on that cart!! LMAO!!!

    Maybe I should just pick some random office and just show up for work and see what happens. I’d probably end up in jail and then transferred to the psyche ward for being nutty.

    Reply

  9. duskydi
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 03:24:07

    Joan.

    GO ! Just for the laugh, it will be well funny. Go, have a look around and say ‘Sorry you guys I’d rather be unemployed but do you mind if I stay and eat my pre packed lunch, thanks ‘ To funny.

    Nice to see you Joans Of Mums – not been about for a few days, back on track now.

    Love you funny lady.
    Di

    Ha! Ha! What a great idea!! I might just have to do that.
    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  10. The Vinyl Villager
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 17:03:21

    Im jealous! I cant even get a part time Christmas job now. Ive always been offered every job I have ever applied for, and twice in the past two months Ive been blown off without so much as a phone interview. this job market stinks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

