Dumb-Ass, Dumb Ass or Dumbass?

According to the Wikipedia Encyclopedia, this is the correct spelling and definition of dumbass.

Adjective

dumb ass (comparative more dumb ass, superlative most dumb ass)

Positive
dumb ass
Comparative
more dumb ass
Superlative
most dumb ass
  1. (vulgar, slang) stupid thing or stupid action
    “Loads of freethinkers have re-written that dumb-ass hymn.”
    “Marrying that drunkard was the most dumb-ass thing I ever did.”

[edit] Noun

Singular
dumb ass
Plural
dumb asses

dumb ass (plural dumb asses)

  1. (vulgar, slang) stupid person
    “Better a smart-ass than a dumb-ass any day.”

So it looks like my spelling of the word is just that—MY way of spelling it and it stays that way.  It’s easier anyway.  You save on typing.

My definition is also my own because I don’t truly believe a dumbass is a stupid person because we are all dumbasses at some time or another but it’s only because we’ve made a dumbass move.  And we know I don’t consider the word vulgar.

I just wanted to set everyone straight on this fact.  I continue to look for dumbasses but they are like little faeries.  It’s hard to catch them in the act.  Have you ever seen a photograph of a real faerie?  I don’t think so.  Dumbasses ususally make their dumbass moves very quickly–before I can even get my camera out.

The Cottingsley Pictures

Two little girls, a camera, and some fairies. The world took notice of these photographs because they were publicized by Edward L. Gardner (a folklorist whose writings on the Fairy Beliefs of the British Isles are still used for research…) and Arthur Conan Doyle. Until the late 1980’s, both girls maintained that the pictures, taken between 1917 and 1920, were genuine. Even when they recanted, they explained that they had actually seen fairies, and that the pictures were engineered to show basically what they had seen. They never did explain the method by which they faked the photographs. The Cottingsley pictures are not the only fairy pictures of this type known.

Since I consider it my aim in life to write “Dumbasses for Dummies” I will continue to persue them.  People need goals anyway.  Right? I’ll probably be looking around for Fairies too. Might as well kill two birds with one stone. (disclaimer: I would never even kill one bird. The wasband only tries to kill squirrels).

I also think that when you make a dumbass move it’s OK to admit to yourself that you were a dumbass for the moment.  Admitting your mistakes prevents you from making the same one again–HOPEFULLY!!!  Not so with everyone but that’s what separates the real dumbasses from the sometime dumbasses.

Sorry to keep writing posts on dumbasses but I can’t help it.  It’s become sort of a hobby.  I also thought it was a good way to slide back into posting on a regular basis.  Write about something you are familiar with.

Now I am going to go to google images, put in the word dumbass (my spelling) and see what I come up with.

Imagine being Google’s first dumbass.

Now I am going to spell the word with the hyphen and see what I come up with. Dumb-Ass

Now we have Google’s first Dumb-Ass

Now I will put in the word without the hyphen but as two separate words. Dumb Ass.

And he’s back again!!!

What does this tell us?  Probably not much but I’d love your opinions on this. It tells me to keep my clothes on when there are people around with cameras.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 11:59:53

    I am just glad to see that my picture didn’t show up when you googled dumb ass!

    Ha! Ha! Never happen because you are not a dumbass mom you are Just A Mom and a good one from what I have read.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 12:23:52

    LOL. This is a riot. I think now we can also claim that there is a special dumbass outfit. It consists of some type of white diaper-looking briefs. Now when someone does something totally stupid we can then tell them, “It’s time to take off your dumbass panties.”

    I’d have to agree with you about the dumbass outfit. Instead of punching your husband in your dreams you’ll be having him take off his pants.

    Reply

  3. Emerald
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 12:25:09

    I totally dumbassed myself this morning. I turned on my gas stove for a few minutes in the morning because it was FREEZING (and getting out of a hot shower into a cold room = I will not be going to work but instead will stay under the blankets until noon) and then promptly forgot to turn it off as I walked out the door. I had to take an hour and a half off work to go back 😦

    At least, however, I do not have a giant boil on my dumb ass. 😛

    At least you remembered to go back. That would suck for your landlord if he went in your apartment because he smelled gas and lit a match.

    Ass Boils must be tough. I’m glad I don’t have one too.

    Reply

  4. javajunkee
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 12:53:12

    ROFLMDAO!!!!

    Oh that’s classic. Only you Joan could find this one for us. Ok that’s the official dumbass uniform. Got it.

    I have talked to that DA in chat rooms I just know it and that’s not what he said he looked like so not only is he a DA he’s a liar!

    I think I’m going to buy the wasband some Depends and try to get him to pose for me with them on. Then when you google dumbass his image will come up. That would be so much fun for me. I doubt he would do it, though he did let me take a picture of his crumby crotch on the way to the funeral.

    Lying Dumbasses–that’s going too far!!! Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  5. Hay
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 16:05:06

    It tells me that I really didn’t want my breakfast anyway. EWWWWWWWWWW!

    I wrote it after breakfast–thank goodness. I guess those guys would take away your appetite. Now that makes me think I could increase my weight loss if I put their photos on the fridge.

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 16:53:50

    Oh God!! I have tears streaming down my face!! I really needed this today. Only you Joan!!!

    I’m happy to give you a good laugh. I’m happy to be laughing along with you too!!

    Reply

  7. thebeadden
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 16:59:21

    Yes, what Joy said.
    Do you really think the wasband would go for it? I’m still laughing just thinking about it. 🙂

    There’s a good chance. He likes attention.

    Reply

  8. Lucky
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 17:20:00

    omg…I was laughing my ass off reading this. Let me know if you need material for you book. I will be more than happy to lend my stories.

    Oh, I’m sure you must have some good stories. With my son being a fisherman I can only imagine some of the stories you must hear.

    Reply

  9. kaylee2
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 17:33:32

    Well according to my mother I am one of those people 🙂

    That’s one time you shouldn’t listen to your mother!!!

    Reply

  10. bkclubcare
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 19:29:49

    I love when you do ‘research’. Thanks for sharing and I prefer YOUR way to spell dumbass. My hub’s fishing buddy has a t-shirt that says dumb BASS on it…

    I should look for a T-Shirt like that for Damon. I actually love doing research and wish I could get a job at home doing it.

    Reply

  11. duskydi
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 23:23:49

    Hi Joans Of Darlings
    I don’t know about dumb asses but I know about faeries. We use the word dick head over here. We don’t use dunb ass, in fact I did the other day to my friend Adele she told me to get a life, I spend to much time blogging with my American friends, hehe!! so we both ended up using that word in American accents all night.

    I quess were just a pair of dickheads hehe!! I’m glad to be a dick head.

    I want to batter that bloke in that picture and thats all I’ll say. URGH !! Look at the talcom powder on his feet. Hehe!! Great find tho.

    RIGHT !!

    Faeries. Honest to god they do exist but you have to believe and truly believe. Magical Faerie happenings and occurings happen every second I quess like dumb asses occurings.

    I was always told as a little girl that I was away with the faeries so It was hard for me not to believe. It was bloody drummed into me at such an early age.I’m thankful for that drumming.

    You might not see the faeries but you can definatly feel them and recieve their fruits of love and wonder. You’ve just got to believe – its so easy. I don’t know why people don’t get it.

    I’ve actually spoken to my frinds grandfather, an old Irish man who lives in Dublin. He told me he saw them, just the once many years ago.

    Three of them walking down a lane in Ireland. They walked past him laughing, they came up to his knee. I asked him what they wore but he didn’t notice he said. Blokes are pretty crap at that arn’t they.

    Faeries and Dumbass are out there in force. I have a bit of both of them in ME. Whoo Hoo !!

    Love this post Joan – Hey Mrs. Have you ever thought about becoming a teacher when you grow up.
    Love
    Di

    I’ve used the word dick head too a few times to describe a few people. I believe in fairies. Have you ever read the book “Photographing Fairies”? It’s a movie too. You would love it.

    I went to college to become a teacher but I quit because my parents encouraged me to. I think I would have made a good teacher.

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  12. museditions
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 04:49:53

    Yes, but, in your banner (because of the spacing) it looked to me like Dum bass. I think because I sing in a chorus I thought of those basses that sit behind me…(don’t get me started). Or it could be about a dum fish. But we don’t have anything against fishies, do we?
    Those pictures were truly frightening; I’m off to bed; and I shall blame you for my nightmares. 🙂

    You know, I can see that space now between the m and the b in the banner. I hope you didn’t have any night mares!!

    Reply

  13. sheng
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 05:14:17

    Joanie, glad that you liked the bookmark I sent you. Enjoy it. At least we aren’t one of those dumb asses, teehee!

    I am using the bookmark while I read book 2 of the Twilight series. And we sure are not dumbasses!!!

    Reply

  14. trishatruly
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 08:54:13

    Now you’re gonna make me waste a whole lot of time Googling images of words like “shit head” and “f*ck-tard” and ” Butt Face” and oh, I’ll be right here till tomorrow. I may have an ass boil by then. LOL

    Now see, I hadn’t thought to google those words and now I’m going to have to waste all that time too. I hope we don’t get ass boils from this. 😉

    Reply

  15. mrsvierkant
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 19:17:08

    ROFL Joan. Google images are great aren’t they? Thanks for the giggles.

    Yes, they are great and I have added so many of my own.. Do a google search for wasband. Barry’s photo is the first that shows up. Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  16. Wendy
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 12:27:02

    Thank God duskydi reminded me of the word dickhead because I don’t use it nearly enough.

    I prefer your spelling of dumbass over the dictionary, just as I prefer my spelling of stupidass. I got the word stupidass from my mother, and it has great sentimental value to me. She called my dad stupidass so much, I thought it was a term of endearment. 🙂 In related news, my grandmother called my grandfather ThomASS (Thomas) and he called her GladASS (for Gladys), as were their names. I’m from a long line of asses.

    Dickhead is a good word and needs to be used more by all of us. I think that is so funny about your grandparents and your mother calling your father Stupidass.

    Reply

  17. Java
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 04:09:41

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooo-NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Tell me he isn’t wearing a diaper? Please Joan… tell me. Can you imagine?

    I know. Don’t you just want to smack diaper boy. What a dumbass.

    Reply

  18. Peter Parkour
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 15:14:51

    I’ve been guilty of some dumbass antics from time to time. For most, we tend to be dumbasses in the moment, but your above candidates appear to be full time dumbasses. 😛 Keep on keeping it real, Joan. 😉

    Reply

  19. Trackback: My Life In The Trenches Webcomic by T. Andrew Dempsey: Updates Mon/Fri - Summer Song
  20. carylon k mcneal
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 19:34:49

    i have a stupid dumbass and asshole for a boyfriend….what to do?

    Reply

  21. Trackback: Dumbass people on Facebook...

Leave a Reply

