Grampa B. 11/24/11 to 10/14/08

The wasband’s Dad passed away around 11:15 PM last night.  He was 96 years old.  He had pneumonia.  Sarah, Barry, Leslie and I went to see him Saturday night.  He had been in and out of consciousness for a day or two.  We got there in the evening, knowing that he wouldn’t be with us for much longer.  Sarah went in and held his hands and he stayed awake trying to talk to her the whole time we were there. He couldn’t take his eyes off her.  It was really a beautiful sight.   He really couldn’t come out with any words but he tried and he seemed so happy to see her.

Damon got to see him the Tuesday afternoon.  We were so happy that Damon got there in time.  Damon and his father went alone to see Grampa.  Sarah and I had already said our goodbys.  Damon had a tough time with it but he took it well. I think Grampa held on until he could see Damon.   He passed away 7 hours later.

Grampa as a child

Grampa as a young man

I posted this a few weeks ago when I visited Grampa

Grampa was a wonderful father-in-law.  I actually always thought of him as a father.  I was lucky to have two wonderful fathers. We were always close even after the wasband and I got divorced.  Sarah and Damon adored him.  When the kids were young we used to go to their house and even though they were only an hour away we would stay overnight.  The kids loved going there because Nana always had candy.  She was the kind of gramma who always had home baked cookies and cake.  They were doting grandparents.

Grampa was a story teller.  I mean when he started to tell you a story, you had to be prepared to spend an hour listening to him.  That man could talk up a storm.  Then Nana would come in the room and reprimand him for talking too much.  Then we would all laugh.

We all have great memories of Nana and Grampa.  No one can take those from us. They will always be with us.

The funeral is Saturday so I probably won’t start posting until next week. We are all doing well.  Thanks to everyone who has left me wonderful comments and sent me great e-mails.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. birdpress
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 17:52:37

    I’m very sorry for your loss. He sounded like a wonderful man. I’ve missed you and hope you are holding up okay. I’m glad you have your family with you to help each other through this sad time.

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 18:37:44

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Joan. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at this difficult time. I hope that your treasured memories will bring you all comfort and your family & friends will surround you all with love & support.
    ((hugs))

    Reply

  3. sheng
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 21:04:50

    Life is full of memories, be it bad or good, and I hope I am right to say that you had good memories with Grampa, it is, I believe, the greatest relationship that one can fully receive: FAMILY. And I am sorry about the loss of the family, but nevertheless, wherever Grampa is right now, I know he is happy you were with them until his dying days. I hope you are well Joan. My condolences.

    Reply

  4. kaylee
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 21:17:23

    i am so sorry

    Reply

  5. tw
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 22:15:11

    So sad to hear of your family’s loss, Joan. My thoughts and prayers are with you all.

    What a beautiful tribute, Joan, for someone who lived to such an incredible age.

    So relieved to hear that Damon was able to see his Grampa.

    Take care and be gentle with yourselves. xxxx

    Reply

  6. museditions
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 00:18:28

    Joan thinking of you now for many reasons. You wrote so movingly about grandpa. So glad you and your kids got to see him. How nice for him to be able to gaze upon Sarah’s lovely face. How wonderful for you to have had such a man in your life all these years. Many blessings and hugs to you and your family as you go through these times together.

    Reply

  7. Emerald
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 12:21:21

    I’m so sorry for your loss Joan, but so happy for your beautiful memories. I

    recently visited my grandparents who have moved back to my grandfathers hometown in Quebec. I miss them a lot, but the facility is incredible – he’s on one floor with very good care for his Parkinson’s, and my grandmother has her own apartment on the fifth floor so they can spend all day together. I’ve never seen her take such good care of him and it warms my heart. Not to mention the old photos they both have everwhere! Seeing them when they first met and then seeing them now is like looking into the future. I’ll miss them when the time comes, but as you know, these are the memories to keep alive.

    Hugs and good karma to you and your family!

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 12:50:01

    I’ve also been thinking of you almost constantly and sending good wishes and good vibes your way. I’m so glad everyone got to see him. It’s a lot easier that way for the closure you really do need.

    My grandparents sound just like this. Grandma always had something and grandpa always had a story to tell. I’ve never forgotten my memories of my grandparents so you and your kids are very lucky. I also love old photo’s so thanks for sharing them.

    Just remember, your never alone Joan.

    Reply

  9. Just a Mom
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 13:05:18

    “Perhaps they are not stars in the sky, but rather openings where our loved ones shine down to let us know they are happy.” (Unknown)

    The night sky just got a little brighter. 🙂
    My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family.

    Reply

  10. teeni
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 13:09:19

    I’m so relieved that Damon got to say his goodbyes. I bet that brought your father-in-law a lot of peace. I’m so sorry for your family’s loss though. It sounds as though he was quite a character and those ones always leave a big hole behind when they leave this world. May you all comfort each other as you adjust to his passing. Much love to you and yours.

    Reply

  11. boundandgags
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 14:08:29

    My condolences to you and yours.

    Reply

  12. thebeadden
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 16:01:04

    My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family, Joan. I am glad everyone had the chance to be together, and say their good-byes.

    ((((hugs))))

    Reply

  13. Lucky
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 20:31:27

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Thank you for sharing such sweet memories with us!

    Reply

  14. odette
    Oct 17, 2008 @ 14:36:11

    hugs joan, to you and the whole family. i lost two of my grandpas already, and my lolo kune who i considered my own grandpa too, and i know how it feels. i believe he’s happy that he’s got to see all of you and held your hands before he passed away.

    Reply

  15. Java
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 04:32:43

    Joanie, I’m thinking of you!

    {{{{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

    Reply

  16. jeanny
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 12:43:08

    sorry to hear the family’s lost. My thoughs and prayers go out to you and your family.

    God gifted us with nice people to live with and with those nice people we experience lots of happiness and cherished memories and because of that we should be thankful.

    Hugs Joan!

    Reply

  17. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 15:15:23

    I’m very sorry for your loss Joan. Grandpa was an adorable child, by the way!

    Reply

  18. kaylee2
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 16:11:29

    Are you getting my emails? I have the right address!

    Thinking of you!

    Reply

  19. romi41
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 17:09:17

    Aww..I’m sorry to hear that but this was a really sweet tribute…

    …hope you’re doing alright..

    Reply

  20. Wendy
    Oct 19, 2008 @ 12:25:52

    I’m sorry Joan, and Barry of course. I’m glad you all got to say goodbye and have some closure. (We don’t seem to do that in our family and I can tell you it’s very troubling.) Those were sweet photos you posted, and I know you have sweet memories of your inlaws.

    What a strange age we’re living in, was he the last wave of “the greatest generation” in your family? Ours have all left us within the past two years or so, they’re all gone now. Feels so unbalanced with them gone, and even stranger to realize we’re now the “old people” in the family.
    Hugs.

    Reply

  21. David
    Oct 19, 2008 @ 12:31:32

    My condolences too Joan.

    Thanks for sharing your memories and thoughts with us, as well as the wonderful photos, old and new. Very touching post.

    Reply

  22. mrsvierkant
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 19:56:24

    ((((Hugs)))) Joan, so sorry to hear about your loss. My thoughts are with you. May wonderful memories comfort you. (((Hugs)))

    Mrs. V

    Reply

  23. duskydi
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 22:53:49

    Aww!!

    (((((((Joan and Barry)))))) I remember seeing his picture the first time you posted it I thought to myself what a beautiful old man.

    Sorry I haven’t been around this week Joan. I never knew so sorry.Love, respects and EVERYTHING.

    Your in my thoughts and prayers.
    Love
    Di

    Reply

  24. duskydi
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 22:55:04

    Big love to Damon and Sarah.

    x

    Reply

  25. Peter Parkour
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 01:11:52

    Big hugs to you all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

