Weight Watcher Saturday!! HooRah!!! And Toilets!!

Do you know there are actually people who fear toilets?  How the hell do you deal with that? I couldn’t even find a name for it.  I did find a forum and read a few people’s comments about their irrational fears of being sucked into a toilet, toilet germs (I might have that fear a little),  and various other toilet problems.

The National Phobics Society estimates at least four million Brits are affected – but the true number could be many more.  What do you think “Wonderful Di”?  Do you have friends afflicted with this fear in your beautiful England?

Ancient Hindu science texts say that toilets have
accumulated static electricity with them.

“Similar problems occur when insulating liquids, such as certain fuels, are pumped along pipes, and it is essential that strict grounding procedures are followed during the refueling of aircraft, ships, and other large vehicles.”

http://www.answers.com/topic/static-electricity

Some persons who are excessively sensitive to that
static electricity develop fear of toilets. Such
persons can go to the country side and try
in the open fields. They will know the difference.

Here is a check for it. Such persons will also have
fear of garbage trucks. The reason is, garbage
also contains static electricity.

As I read the stuff in red I’m thinking someone’s been drinking too much toilet water.

Anyway, this is all just stuff I was thinking about at weight watcher’s this morning. My wonderful leader was talking about dancing to help lose weight.  Let’s face it, I’m not going to be doing too much dancing in the near future so my mind wandered a little.   And you wonder why I call my blog “Whatever I Think”.

On a different note, I lost 2.6 pounds this week. I’m back on track.  Back to the dancing, we didn’t talk about pole dancing which is considered great exercise from what I hear.  Now I wonder if I could do that.  I’d have the pole to hang onto so I don’t fall on my ass.

I still think I’d end up on my ass!!!

OR,  should I settle for this when I get my new knees?  Is this more my style?

Such decisions to have to make.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaylee2
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 17:23:13

    Id rather not dance that way LOl!

    I don’t see myself pole dancing or tap dancing–EVER!!!

    Reply

  2. javajunkee
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 18:01:31

    Ok I did hunt down 2 words to describe the phobia of pissing in or pooing in the toilet. The phobia I have of the uncleanliness of them is just a form of OCD. ( I still think there should be a name for it)

    my kid is always telling me how so and so on such and such show says you can’t catch anything from a toilet seat. Now while that may or not be true (and I have a hard time believing it)…I do NOT like pubic toilets. I’ve seen my share of goodies on the seat and I whether or not I’m going to catch something the fact that I either have to straddle the seat (which at my age is getting harder cuz my legs start to give out) or I have to layer the seat covers (when provided) or layers of toilet paper..by the time I’m done I’ve about pissed my pants. Then I’ve got to lower myself down onto the layers cuz the wind of my ass coming down blows the layers off ..and I get to start all over.

    I have to check each stall to see which is the cleanest.

    I HATE it!

    I can’t straddle the seat anymore at all. I avoid public toilets like the plague .. I would rather pee in the woods. It’s totally gross walking into a stall and seeing crap all over the place. Don’t people at least flush the damn things. I may have come across those two words but I couldn’t find a word for being afraid of getting flushed down the toilet yourself.

    Reply

  3. javajunkee
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 18:04:23

    btw I so did not touch the pole dancing. I did try dancing on top of a bar once after having a couple of drinks…you know the whole Coyote Ugly thing..well even though I’m short…I pushed my head through the ceiling tile and it kind of took away from the sexiness of it all. I guess for those kinds of bars there is a reason for raised ceilings? Yeah that was a dumbass moment. But I provided lots of laughs for those watching.

    I’m sorry for laughing so much at your comment here but I can just imagine you hitting your head on the ceiling. I danced on a table at a frat party once when I was in my late teens. Then I threw up all the way home. My wasband (boyfriend at the time) came in the house with me and I went into the bathroom and puked some more as my parents are asking me if I had a good time and in between puking (very quietly, with the water running) I’m telling them “Oh, yes, wonderful time” . I got away with it though. They never knew.

    Reply

  4. David
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 19:06:34

    Whatever YOU Think, INDEED! 😀

    God I love this blog! ♥ ♥ ♥

    Germophobia is a commercial device as well. It’s a great profit center for big pharma and big chem.

    And nothing can represent filth better than that which we discard. I don’t know about the static electricity theory :D, but poo and trash certainly have some gravitas, in every sense of the word.

    Ever heard that saying about having to “eat a peck of dirt before you die”??

    Reply

  5. 2lazydogs
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 20:09:43

    I don’t generally fear toilets. Germs – yes; that’s why you always ‘hover’…never sit, and never, never use your hand to flush in public, that’s what your foot is for!

    I do, however, have a fear of the toilet located in my laundry room. It sits awkwardly in a tight corner of the room where no one likes to venture. It is rarely used and I fear looking into it for it tends to have some really strange mold growth inside. I just keep filling the bowl with my soy toilet cleaner, slam the lid shut and hope it will go away. Ick.

    Reply

  6. Hannah
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 23:33:42

    WOOHOO on losing 2.6 pounds! You’re back in the game, Joan!!

    Scared of toilets?? How strange!

    Reply

  7. teeni
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 23:54:41

    Congrats on the weight loss! Woo-hoo – you go girl! I think I’d laugh too hard to be good at pole dancing and Bonnie Franklin’s tap dancing looks a little too rough on the knees. So maybe we could combine them – Pole Tapping! It’s a new low-impact exercise where you tap dance slowly and sexily around a pole while trying not to laugh your teeth out of your mouth. 🙂

    Reply

  8. thebeadden
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 03:04:13

    Woohoo, Joan, on the WW’s! That is awesome.

    I always thought pole dancing looked like fun until I saw videos at you tube and women landing on their faces! I think I’ll pass. Check it out sometime. 🙂

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 08:25:48

    LOL I’m glad you weren’t laughing AT me..but what makes the story even worse is that I did not just hit my head..I put my whole freakin head up through the ceiling tile. It wasn’t secured so when I was doing my little jump turn thing…my head pushed the tile up. I came down with that nice ceiling tile white crap all over me. I had just enough to drink I didn’t care that everybody was laughing their asses off. It was kind of a private party so it’s not like it was a whole bar full of people and they were more drunk than I was so they probably all forgot about it..except for the bartender I still run into once in awhile..she remembers. I made her get up there with me. There were like 5 of us up on the bar and I was the only one who managed to shoot my head through a ceiling tile. Guess I got more “air” than they did 😉

    Reply

  10. javajunkee
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 08:41:45

    ohhh should I tell you one more thing about my story….yeah it’s you so I will 🙂 this incident happened only like 1 1/2 years ago. I turned 46 on the 4th of this month. You can do the math.. WTH was I thinking????

    I’m still researching the phobia words for fear of a flushing toilet or being sucked down the toilet. I think we should make up our own word for it. Speaking of flushing toilets you know what I can’t stand..those freaking self flushers….I carefully layer my seat with toilet paper only to get in the way of that infared light and wooooosh in a matter of a second what has taken me 2 minutes has just “gone down the drain”…then I am pissed…and have to start all over and try to figure out where I can stand to do my layering that won’t set the damn thing off. That or I won’t even be done yet and it woooshing under me. I think I hate that even worse. I know my ass is big enough that the little light has got to be covered…so there is no reason for the pre-flushilation.

    wow what a subject..now I’m all worked up!

    Reply

  11. Joy
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 12:01:47

    Way to go on the weight loss. Keep up the good work Joan.

    I have to admit that I won’t use public restrooms. I don’t even go in them. I can travel across the country and not have to go. I must have trained myself to do that. I’m not afraid of toilets but the germs in them. Okay, so now I’ve admitted it to the world!!!

    Reply

  12. Just a Mom
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 12:46:06

    Good job of getting back on track with WW.:)

    OK I am laughing my ass off at Javajunkee’s story! Too funny!

    Reply

  13. romi41
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 19:23:21

    damn…I have thought about pole-dancing, and I’ve decided that it scares me…that is my final assessment….hmm…haha 😉

    PS: congrats on the 2.6…good week! 🙂

    Reply

  14. sheng
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 20:44:19

    Joanie, i don’t know why they hate toilets, they are one of the most important places in the house, I hate touching the bowls though, really, I was taught it contained millions of germs that can infect people, when I was a kid, I dread touching anything in the toilet.

    And hey, dancing to lose weight, I can do that!

    Reply

  15. theramblinghousewife
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 22:22:47

    Hey,

    I haven’t been in the blogosphere much lately. But every time I’m peakin’ in–You’re dropping some pounds!!

    Great job!! There’s nothing harder.

    I’m trying to snag some motivation from you, so that I can shed a few myself!!! 🙂

    Reply

  16. duskydi
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 02:31:50

    Hi Joans of Everything.

    Gain turned into a loss I see. Smiling. Toilets well…I have a few wierd and wondeful friends who does wierd and wondeful things in toliets. Myself I have no fear of toilets, my first tattoo was in a toliet drinking cider at twelve years old. My daughter and grandson go crazy about germs. Yes a lot of my friends do all the toilet paper on the seat thingy. I just can’t be arsed to do that. I wouldn’t have time.

    My preference is to wee in wellington boots. Its great for women. Got a good top for a different sizes and you only have to sqat slightly, great for people with bad backs.

    Listen…. I’m even getting into trouble of recent for not wearing shoes. I very rarely wear shoes and my daughter is concerned about the germs I’m catching through my feet.

    I sometimers like to look in mens toilets just for fun. Do you have cottaging in America. I’m a bit intrested in the holes in the walls and sometimes find a giggle in the thinking of what I would do with a hole in the wall and what I would do if anything came through a hole in the wall when I was in the tiolet.

    Joans of, should we go exploring tiolets with your camera when we meet. Oh we could get ourselves into some right trouble. What fun. Hold on what elese are we talking about here.

    Love Di.

    Reply

  17. Jeanny
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 09:21:34

    wow 2.6 punds…go go girl!
    I love dancing but pole dancing, I dont think so hahaha!

    Reply

  18. Peter Parkour
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 16:59:09

    Might you be interested in a game of tag? 🙂

    Reply

  19. mrsvierkant
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 23:47:11

    Toilet fear, huh? That’s just weird.

    Congrats on the weight loss and keep up the good work!

    I think you should stick with cane-fu fighting. 😉

    Reply

  20. CuriousC
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 10:48:19

    You are just TOO funny.

    Reply

  21. kaylee
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 01:14:44

    are you ok? I fear toilets no thats a joke 😉

    Reply

  22. JavaQueen
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 05:55:39

    When I was little, after I saw Jaws for the first time, it really messed me up. I was terrified of the toilet. I’d get on and off, quick as a wink so as not to get my ass bitten by a great white – LOL!

    Pole dancing? Oh, you go girl! I kinda had a thought that’s where you were going… you are a wild one, we all need to keep an eye out for you!

    Oh, when you do, please post a video- I’m so nosy! 🙂

    Reply

  23. JavaQueen
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 05:56:18

    Shit, congrats on your weight loss. Where is my head tonight?

    DUH!

    CONGRATS- you are doing so well, I’m so proud of you Joanie!

    Reply

  24. JavaQueen
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 06:00:12

    sorry, but that bonnie franklin chick gives me the creeps. she scared me back on t.v. sitcom with valerie bertonelli and she still rubs me the wrong way. Is it the bowl haircut? but ewww, does she get to anyone else? Just thinking of her voice, ugh! Nails on a chalkboard….. c’mon, anyone?

    Reply

  25. javajunkee
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 17:39:18

    she was like the most annoying sitcom mom. Either they didn’t give her very good/funny lines or she didn’t deliver on them.

    Reply

  26. c
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 00:20:02

    i wish they’d put One Day At A Time on TV Land. Shneider’s cigarette pack rolled in his short sleeve and moustache was compelling.

    i like the episode where Bertenelli made out with Mackenzie’s husband. And Mackenzie’s character was a bad girl, all attitude and running around with the boy in a van.

    Never trust a boy in a van.

    Reply

  27. Peter Parkour
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 03:23:34

    I used to be scared of the toilet as a wee little tike, but I started dragging my socked feet on the carpet, building up a good charge to shock unsuspecting victims. 😛 Once I became a master of static electricity I was able to overcome my toilet fear. 😉

    I don’t think I want to take a pole dancing class either, but I’d be willing so sit through a few (or 20) sessions to make sure. :mrgreen:

    Reply

  28. Peter Parkour
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 03:25:07

    OH!!! And congratulations for getting back on track. 🙂 Way to go. I’m right behind you… maybe. I’ll be weighing in on Sunday. We’ll know for sure then. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

