They Finally Did It!! An Ass Airbag!!

Designed by the Japanese company Prop,  the protective airbags, placed behind the head and hips,  inflate in fractions of a second if a possible backwards fall is detected by the wearer.

Why didn’t I have one of these when I broke my ass 9 months ago.  Probably because the Japanese only came out with it this week.  Also because it costs $1400.00.  Now I thought the newscaster said it cost $14.95 but I think she screwed up because I did research on the net and it definitely is $1400.00.  At $14.95–YES– at $1400.00–NO–.  On second thought though,  my ass still hurts.  I’m thinking of having it X-Rayed. I know they say broken asses take a long time to heal but this is asinine (15th century word meaning an utterly dumbass thing).

I would have a good ass right now if I had that ass airbag on when I fell. I should sue them for not inventing it earlier and selling it to me cheaper.

Here is a must see video of how it works!!!

Unfortunately, after all is said and done, you fall forward and you’re screwed!!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mssc54
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 19:21:34

    In America we call elderly safety “wheel chairs.” 🙂

    I got the wheel chair, the cane and I still manage to break my tailbone ( in the bathroom in the dark in the night–slipped on a towel hanging off a stool.).

    Reply

  2. writerchick
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 20:13:06

    Oh my God, Joanie. Only you could find an airbag for the ass. You have me in stitches. It hurts to laugh this much. Dang you and your ass air bag. Criminy!!!! 😆
    Love
    Annie

    Well, it seems as if it might help me. I don’t have a good record for staying on my feet. Can you just imagine me walking into Wal-Mart with that on?

    Love ya,
    Joanie

    Reply

  3. threeboys1mommy
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 20:51:46

    sue! sue! sue!

    YES! YES! YES!

    Reply

  4. Hannah
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 21:55:42

    That is the funniest thing I have ever seen!

    I can’t imagine spending $1400 USD on it but it is funny.

    Reply

  5. teeni
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 00:02:37

    Wow – that is an odd little invention. I wonder how safe it is to have all that compressed gas behind your head if someone is smoking near you? Yikes. 😯

    That’s my luck. I would hit the floor and then explode!!!

    Reply

  6. sheng
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 01:00:21

    Joanie, airbags or none, when accidents happen, they always come in surprises!

    That is certainly true and you can’t be prepared for all of them no matter how much you try. That’s how it is with my car. So often I go out to start it and SURPRISE, it’s making a horrible noise, again!!!

    Reply

  7. JavaQueen
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 03:05:58

    Muah-ha-ha-ha-ha! Yes, where is the full frontal cushion? Not everyone falls backwards. When I fall, it’s usually to my side- HEY, where are the side air bags?

    I love the video- hilarious! I got a good kick out of this. I do believe you should sue them for not coming out with this sooner. You surely wouldn’t have broken your a$$ if this was on the market sooner! You’d win the case too!

    Yea, I probably need full body air bags because I fall all mover the place. My daughter and family are always watching out for me so that I don’t fall. When I go out with them they surround me like bodyguards just in case. My kids usually hold my hand. They don’t trust me for anything. At least I know they care.

    Reply

  8. Emerald
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 12:27:35

    I saw that! Is that not the best thing ever? Finally, I can simply stop and decide to take an instant nap without fear of breaking bones! Too bad it doesnt do anything for your front 😦

    Ha! Ha! Instant nap–I love it!! Yea, just make sure you nap on your back!! 😉

    Reply

  9. Just a Mom
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 12:28:18

    Growing up my mom used Asinine all the time. I love that word! My kids laugh every time I say it! 🙂

    I used to use that word more when I was younger though I still use it on occasion. It definitely is a good descriptive word.

    Reply

  10. Joy
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 13:51:03

    Oh man, this is so like you to find! I’m laughing hard. Thanks for sharing this. Now I think I’ve really heard everything.

    Well, when you are old and decrepit, maybe the price will have gone down and you can buy your own and show it off to all the other 95 year old ladies and impress them.

    Reply

  11. Wendy
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 12:52:08

    This thing is insane!
    I want one.

    If it was $14.95 like I thought I would get one. The problem is when I’m down I’m down for good until someone helps me up so I couldn’t practice at Wal-Mart to see people’s reactions because it usually takes a couple of people to get me up. I can just imagine all the Wal-Mart shoppers just walking over me.

    Reply

  12. mrsvierkant
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 23:45:21

    ROFL! What, you don’t have $1400, laying around? Sorry the ol’ hinder still hurts. **sigh** A friend of mine just had an xray for behind pain from an injury she sustained 2 years ago. It still bothers her too. I’ll have to ask her what the doctors have planned for her.

    Reply

  13. Peter Parkour
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 03:16:05

    Is it just me (I didn’t read the other comments) or did that guy test driving this thing hit the ground and break his ass before the airbags deployed? 😕 That’s how it looks to me. And those air bags are kinda tiny. For that kind of money I want a recliner to pop out and catch me. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

