Damon and I at Wal-Mart! Includes a Short Video!

Damon and I went to the dreaded  Wal-Mart today because he has been sleeping on the floor without an air mattress so he decided to buy one so he could be a little more comfortable at night.  I hate shopping there but there are no stores left in town where you can buy an air mattress.

Damon took this short video of me on the cripple cart.

When Wal-Marts go bad!! Damon saw this in Alaska!

Damon took this photo of a black squirrel today as we were taking a ride.  We very seldom see them around here.

We took a nice ride and got to talk a lot.  We both had a good time.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fightingwindmills
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 17:37:23

    Keep your hands on the wheel, Joan! LOL! Sweet to hear your voice and Damon’s. I have never seen a black squirrel before. That is an awesome picture. I love how he’s airborne. *waving to Damon*

    That black squirrel was cool. It’s the first time I have seen one. Damon says Hi!! Yes, I should keep my hands on the wheel.

    Reply

  2. mssc54
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 19:27:11

    I think a hillarious video would be one of those motorized shopping carts piles so high with stuff that the driver can’t see.

    Just a wierd sense of humor I have. 🙂

    To be honest with you, I have to use a cripple cart all the time and at the grocery store I sometimes have it piled so high it’s amazing I don’t have stuff tumbling off it. Sometimes if I buy a giant package of paper towels and all the food I can barely see over the top. I cook for five adults right now so when I go shopping I buy a lot. I’ll have to get a video of it. That would be cool. Great idea. I like people with weird senses of humor because I certainly have one. My kids think I’m nuts.

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 20:02:40

    So glad you are having a good time with your son – even if you do have to be submitted to the insanity that is Walmart. Although, I confess to liking some of their bargains… I prefer Target though.

    I’ve had bad luck with stuff I have bought at Wal-mart. I’ve had to return a lot of stuff because it didn’t work. I’ve only been to Target once because it’s not in town. But sometimes I have to go to Wal-Mart because there is nowhere else to buy certain things.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 20:26:50

    Cute video! I’m glad you are having a good time. I’ve never seen a black squirrel either! Are they more like red or gray squirrels? Red squirrels are the mean ones. A friend of mine once told me that red squirrels will bite the balls off of gray squirrels so that they can’t reproduce. I don’t know if that’s true or she was pulling my leg.

    The black squirrels are just a color variation of gray squirrels. It’s like the opposite of an albino squirrel. I’ve never seen a red squirrel not do I want to.

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 21:37:43

    What a great video. I loved hearing Damon’s voice too. Hi Damon. Is he going to be with you for very long? I think it’s great.

    I’ve seen a few black squirrels but not many. Red ones are pretty far and few between here too. I have to get a video camera. I’d love to shoot a few.

    I hate to admit this in public but I like Walmart. I do so much of my shopping online and my husband is out and about everyday so I don’t shop “for real” much so when I go, I want to go up and down every isle just to see what’s new. I know I’m alone here but what can I say?? I don’t get out much!

    I am biased against Wal-Mart because once they moved into my small town my own business started it’s downward path.

    Damon should be with us another week or so. It’s really nice having him around. I love doing the videos.

    Reply

  6. teeni
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 22:21:09

    OMG – LMAO@Wal-Mike’s! Too funny! The only time I’ve seen a black squirrel was in Niagra Falls. They were as black as pitch but much fancier and frillier than the gray ones we have around here. I hope you didn’t get in trouble for speeding in the cripple cart!

    Damon who lived right near Niagra Falls said he saw a lot of black squirrels there. I haven’t gotten a cripple cart speeding ticket yet. I couldn’t believe the photo of Wal-Mike’s.

    Reply

  7. threeboys1mommy
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 22:34:42

    I always forget what I’m there for too. I’m glad you’re getting to spend time with Damon… hey your cluster map looks like it has chicken pox. 🙂

    I always wonder who in some of these foreign countries is reading my blog. I’ve seen people in Iraq, Tunesia, Brazil and just about every other country come for a visit. Damon and I are having a great time.

    Reply

  8. Jim
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 22:41:13

    I had given up on going to Walmart. Now you give me hope.

    I wonder if Wal Mike’s is interested in franchising?

    I’m not racist. I like black squirrels.

    Ha! Ha! Wal-Mike’s would probably do well around here. My son said they sold everything including some very odd stuff. The black squirrel was cool to see.

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 22:50:28

    You should have caned somebody 🙂 You are too funny. I feel I should quote from an amusement ride… “Do not stand up..keep your hands and feet inside the car..and exit to your left…enjoy your ride”

    Like Walter when he greets at walmart…”welcome to walmart now get your shit and get out!” 🙂 I’m not applying for that job anytime soon.

    The greeters at my Wal-Mart don’t even look at you when you walk in. Aren’t they supposed to say Hi or something?

    Reply

  10. javajunkee
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 22:52:25

    ROFLMAO..ok I just had a scathingly brilliant idea to branch off on your video of you with a piled high cart…why don’t you hook another cart to your wheels and pull it behind you as you toss your crap into it! THAT would be friggin hilarious! A piggyback cart!

    I have actually tried to figure out if I could do that. I buy so much at one time because I only like to go once a week. I wonder how it would work on corners?

    Reply

  11. javajunkee
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 22:53:35

    Ok twisted is what I am…after you pile it high one day full of stuff. Decide you can’t wait to check out and leave it. (ok that’s kind of mean but I’m having a twisted humor kind of day)

    I actually had to do that once because I left my credit card at home. And yes, you are twisted but that’s what makes you so much fun.

    Reply

  12. Emerald
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 00:30:37

    I hate Walmart but I LOOOOVE squirrels! 😀

    I’m with you on that one, Emerald!

    Reply

  13. JavaQueen
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 04:30:41

    I just read this one line, the caption of the video; “Damon took this short video of me on the cripple cart” and I started to laugh! Look ma, no hands! oh wait- you are the ma…. “Look me! No hands!”

    I’m glad you are getting this chance to talk with Damon. I also hate the Walfart. Actually, that’s not true. I have a love/hate relationship with it. Whenever I go there day or night, the parking lot is always jam packed, and I don’t have a handicap parking permit like you! Otherwise, I’d be there morning, noon, and night 😉 heee-heeee!

    Reply

  14. Just a Mom
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 10:10:17

    I wanna shop at Wal-Mikes!

    Reply

  15. Jeanny
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 12:15:11

    We dont have that kind of cart here, wish some supermarket will provide those for the convinience of others.

    Have a gret weekend joan.

    Reply

  16. javajunkee
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 15:55:59

    Ok so I’m not laughing at you..I’m laughing WITH you cuz I”m sure if you picture a piggyback cart going around the corner like I am you are laughing too. And it would be even more fun if somebody was taking a video while you narrated the whole thing.

    Oh ..and I can hear it now..First there would be

    “ROTATE CAMERAS ON AISLE 7″…followed shortly by

    “CLEAN UP AISLE 7”! …follwed even more quickly by

    “SECURITY>>>AISLE 7 ..no 8..make that 9…OH HELL LOCK THE DOORS…perp in pursuit repeat perp in pursuit”

    I wish I could come visit you. You are such a blast!

    Reply

  17. writerchick
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 16:35:11

    Hey Joanie,
    Sorry you had to go to the dreaded WalMart’s today but it does look better than WalMike’s I must say. Sorry, can’t seem to get your vid to work. Bummer.
    Love
    Annie

    Reply

  18. kaylee2
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 20:56:04

    I hate that place

    Reply

  19. duskydi
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 22:38:40

    Hi Joan Of,

    Look one hand,one hand, Hehe!! I was hoping for a bit of a crash for a giggle. Nice to know that you and Damon had some nice time together.

    A black squirrel, WOW !! and a dancing one at that, I never knew they existed.

    What are they actually selling at Wall Mikes. ( clutter ).

    Great to see you Joan and Damon
    Love
    Di

    Reply

  20. museditions
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 03:09:50

    Loved the video, the WalMike’s and the squirrel. I was hoping to see a pic of the air mattress, though. 🙂 Hope Damon gets all his documents in order in time to lose them again!?! 😀

    Reply

  21. mrsvierkant
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 20:43:46

    Love the “Wal-Mikes” picture. LOL

    I’m not a fan of WalMart, but sometimes it is the only place you can find that something you need.

    I’m glad you are having fun with your son.

    Reply

  22. Red
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 23:40:05

    im so happy for you, joan.

    Reply

  23. Laura/centerdownhome
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 06:13:16

    Can you get the cart “loaded”? Customized, I mean? I’d like mine souped up with four horses and Bose stereo, all leather, um, interior and a GPS, please.

    Oh, and The Band is playing “Up on Cripple Creek” over my Bose speakers. Sweet.

    xxxooo, girl. 🙂

    Reply

  24. javajunkee
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 09:49:40

    yeah Joan..you need to pimp your ride.. Can you get spinners?
    I so seriously am making a trip out there.

    Reply

  25. Peter Parkour
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 02:59:05

    You’re funny. 😛 Always making me smile and giving me happy tears. 😉 I’m glad to hear your visit is going good despite trips to the DMV and Wal Mart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

