The Registry of Motor Vehicles Sucks!!!! Get Human!!

I spent about 5 hours dealing with the registry of motor vehicles yesterday.  Damon has a Florida license which he lost (He loses everything.  He’s just like his father) .  We are trying to get him a Massachusetts driver’s license so he can just use my house as his main residence.  He travels around so much it’s crazy to switch his driver’s license every time he moves somewhere new.

We went to the local registry to see what is involved in getting a Massachusetts license.  After waiting in the queue for 45 minutes we were finally told that we needed a certified driving record from Florida, and two forms of ID.  Fortunately he has a passport but they want his social security card which of course he lost.

We went home and I proceeded to try to find the correct person to talk to in Florida to get the above driving record.  OMG ( Acronym for I hate those fucking telephone menus and I am going to murder some one soon.)  I was on the phone for over three hours going from one effin menu to one dumbass after another then another effin menu then another dumbass.  You’ll notice on my next video I have half the hair I used to.  The rest is on the floor next to my computer chair. I was pulling it out while listening to the worst music in the world as I sat there on hold.

Finally I was able to get the correct answer to my one simple question.  At one point a woman could find no record of Damon ever having a license in Florida.  I know he did because I got him a duplicate the FIRST time he lost it.

Now I have to deal with the social security aspect of the thing .  I hope his passport will be enough ID to get him a new card.  We will go there today.  Wish me luck. No, wish the person who waits on me luck.

Now to top it all off.  The Wasband has decided to get the minivan fixed and put it in Damon’s name.  To transfer the van to Damon we need the title which of course the wasband lost. Also the front plate was stolen in Buffalo.

This is the minivan.  Notice it is parked next to the rubbish and recyclables.  I hope the trash people  don’t take it by mistake.

Do you see a trend here?   I am left to fix this mess because the two of them combined couldn’t sort it out.  No offense to either one.  I love them both but I wish they would quit losing stuff. I still have my original social security card I got 43 years ago.  To the wasband’s credit, so does he.

Here is a link to a list of companies and how to avoid there menus and talk to a human (I hope they are human. We are probably outsourcing to some other planet and speaking to reptilian aliens.)

“Hello, May I help you?”

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dropofkim
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 12:46:44

    Oh do I feel your pain. I’ve been on hold for the last few days with our cable company trying to get them to up our internet speed (20 MG YEAH) and the song they played was this song that never ended. It just kept playing into itself over and over. I suspect it is a trick so I can’t tell by how many songs have played how long I have been on hold. Remember Joan, while you are at the DMV, keep the cane on the floor! Good luck!

    “keep the cane on the floor!” Words to live by!!! Otherwise I might be blogging from the jailhouse. I don’t think they do weight watchers either.

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 13:52:57

    I love dropofkim’s comment about keeping the cane on the floor. To funny!!

    All I can say is good luck Joan. This kind of thing just stinks. I was on the phone for literally the better part of two days with my last cell phone. They unlocked it and activated it “for me” before they sent it but put someone else’s billing address on it so I couldn’t use it and they acted like it was my fault. I wished at the time that I was standing in front of them WITH A CANE!!! They kept sending me from one person to another meanwhile I had to re-explain what “they did” and how was I going to get a new phone WHILE they played that *sarcasm* “beautiful” music in between MY waiting.

    The DMV and SS are the worst so you have my prayers!

    The re-explaining is the worst. Over and over and over and over and over……..

    Reply

  3. kaylee2
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 17:46:41

    oh I have no idea what you mean 😉

    Basically, if I am on the telephone don’t put me on hold!!!

    Reply

  4. tw
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 17:48:45

    Seems like bureaucrats are the same the world over. Surprise, surprise!

    Good luck with that, Joan.

    LOL, how to get through those menu things. I have heard that with the ones that ask you to speak your request, that if you say a really bad swear word you will get put straight through! Haven’t tried it myself YET!

    My sister has done the cussing thing. She’s known as a great cusser anyway. She says they just keep repeating in their robot voices “I do not understand you!!”

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 19:15:04

    Ugh, what a hassle! Those telephone menus are the pits! We have one here in NZ (for our biggest phone company) where you have to SAY what you want, and the “voice recognition thingie” will direct you to the right place. Oops, I mean it will direct you to the WRONG place, or say “I’m sorry, I don’t understand, please try again”. This goes on for quite some time, and you never get where you need to be. Then, if you are lucky, you FINALLY get to speak with a real person! Soooo frustrating!

    At least I think I have everything straightened out. We just have to wait to receive some paperwork.

    Reply

  6. mssc54
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 19:15:11

    Maybe you should consider removing the DL number below the one that was altered.

    Our DMV has a one hour or less guarantee. Three to four hours used to be the standard.

    I’ve been told that if you don’t press any buttons on the phone prompts you go right to a live person. Usually uninformed but live none the less.

    Finally, a local radio DJ suggested that the phone prompts begin with. “Press one for English. Press two for Deportation.” 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by and welcome!!

    My son lost both licenses from Florida He lost his Massachusetts license a couple of times too when he first got his license. There are probably people all over the world pretending to be him. I have never seen anyone lose so much stuff.

    “Press one for English. Press two for Deportation.” That is so perfect. I had to call my sister just to tell her that one. She loved it too.

    Reply

  7. sheng
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 20:24:56

    Hi, these are times when you really need to get a handful of patience.

    And yes, good luck to you! and hope everything will be fine after this.

    I really did rely on my patience yesterday. I didn’t yell at anyone. I think I got everything done that I can to to remedy the situation.

    Reply

  8. Emerald
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 20:33:46

    What a good resource, I’m bookmarking that for sure!

    You have to read Talea’s upcoming post about how she scammed Ontario AND Saskatchewan within a few hours to get her license back in time to drive her boyfriend to medschool. You can go “ARRRRGGGHHHH!!!!” together 😛

    I will go read Talea’s post. I have always meant to check her blog anyway. I see her around everywhere. I know she’s a friend of Romi’s too. I’d love to meet up with the three of you at the same time. That would be one fun night out.

    Reply

  9. thebeadden
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 21:11:59

    Good luck, Joan! Just tell them you will be giving a review of their services on your blog read by thousands… 🙂

    One of them had a survey you can fill out about the service on the website. I can’t wait to fill that out.

    Reply

  10. duskydi
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 21:49:20

    Hi Joans of

    That looks like a pretty great car to be placed by the rubbish. Acromn thingy is ~ IHTFMTMAIGTMSS~ Joans I think when your on the telephone again and they make you wait just spell the letters out to them and when the say ‘What’ just say ‘Never mind’.

    Damon is like our Jack with the losses of stuff. I’ve told him one more loss and hes gonna lose his teeth. Do they not relaize that their losses cost us a flippin fortune.

    I’d be very pleased to see you turn up on video with very little hair, just for the amusment factor. That would be so funny, a bold Joan. Hehe!! Giggling.

    Love
    Di.
    Give Damon a big hug from Di, and ask him to catch a special fish for me and freeze it.

    ((((((((HUGS FOR JOAN & FAMILY)))))))))))

    Well, at least I am not the only mother of a son who loses stuff. I just don’t understand how they manage it.

    “IHTFMTMAIGTMS” I don’t think I could remember all those letters. I’ll have to write them down and read it to the next robot that answers the phone. Maybe it will confuse it so much they will just forward my call to a human.

    Damon and I are having a good time visiting though.

    Love and hugs
    Joan

    Reply

  11. JavaQueen
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 01:31:43

    The DMV… bunch of bastids. I feel your pain mama. And, outsourcing to aliens? BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH! I might be able to understand an alien better than some guy in India though…. just a thought…

    “I might be able to understand an alien better than some guy in India though….” You are probably right. Nothing against people from India. I love them. Romi, are you there? But some of them are difficult to understand especially when you are half deaf like I am and keep having to say “Can you repeat that, please?”

    Reply

  12. CuriousC
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 10:54:30

    just more ROFLMAO! and thanks for clarifying what OMG means…

    Some of my translations of acronyms need to be explained. Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  13. Just a Mom
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 14:00:30

    And all this time I thought OMG meant Our Mom’s Great! 🙂

    “Our Mom’s Great” I love that one a lot. My kids better remember that one.

    Reply

  14. teeni
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 17:04:52

    RMV’s suck! But yeah, it would be a little less painful if you had all the paperwork you needed. I was just about grinding my teeth reading this because I know how frustrating it can be.

    I guess we have all had this happen to us. I think it is just getting out of hand.I don’t see that there is anything anyone can do about it. I just see it getting worse. At least I think I have it straightened out now.

    Reply

  15. 2lazydogs
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 20:56:35

    Oh, hell. Don’t get me started on phone menus. Arrgggghhh. As you know, I just spent the better half of a day going round and round on the HP customer service unmerry-go-round.

    Reply

  16. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 12:36:34

    WHAT A MESS. I WORK FOR THE GOV’T, NOT SOS, BUT IT TOTALLY KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GOING THROUGH. THOSE BITCHED ARE MEAN AND SO NOT HELPFUL!!! GOOD LUCK.

    Reply

  17. mrsvierkant
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 20:40:55

    You are a saint of a mother helping out like that.

    LOL about the van out by the trash and recyclables.

    I hate those automated directories too!

    Reply

  18. odette
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 05:58:47

    oh yes, those telephone menus and how they put you on hold for even an hour! by the time the human answers, i’ve had enough so i’m literally screaming at her ears then. in the philippines, everything works very slow and inefficient especially government offices that you won’t get anything done faster unless you get mad and scream at them. very sad. i’m glad i’ve escaped that system for now. 🙂

    i hope you everything go well! i had to laugh at your thought about the minivan parked beside the bins. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Peter Parkour
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 23:17:43

    “OMG” 😆 Your acronym cracks me up. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

