Home Again, Home Again!! Happy Birthday Dad!!!

The last time I saw my son was on December 27th, 2007.  It was a heartfelt reunion.  I have missed him dearly.  I got the biggest hug from him ever. Then he told me how thin I felt to him.  He drove all night to get here.  He likes to drive on long trips at night.  It took him about 10 hours because he made some stops to rest.  It’s about 500 miles.

His sister said he can stay at the house for a couple of days but that’s all.  Now he has to decide where to go next.  I think it will be towards South Carolina.   He managed to drive the minivan all the way home.  I’m amazed the thing made it.  The transmission is shot.  It’s going to have to be junked which will leave him without a vehicle when he leaves here.

Damon and Yoda–So happy to see each other!!

I took this photo this morning just after he got home.  It’s a little blurry because I got no sleep last night.  We had a good day today.  In the afternoon we went and got him lunch and went down to the beach and then took a ride and just talked.  He finally got so tired I had to take him home so he could finally get some sleep.

Today would be my father’s 94th birthday if he were still here.   Happy Birthday Dad!!!

I might be a little scarce over the next couple of days so I can spend some time with Damon.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. c
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 19:24:53

    How wonderful!
    i’m so happy for you, that you get to spend time with Damon, Noni. Enjoy it!

    Happy Birthday Joan’s Dad!!!

    Reply

  2. mrsvierkant
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 20:14:01

    How terrific for you and Damon to spend some time together. Have a wonderful time!

    Happy Birthday to your Dad!

    Reply

  3. sheng
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 20:35:20

    Wow, that’s a really nice reunion. I am so happy for you Joanie dear. Enjoy your days with Damon!

    Reply

  4. Hannah
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 20:38:16

    What a lovely reunion – I hope you & Damon have a great time together while he’s staying!

    Reply

  5. David
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 21:05:16

    Happy for you and Damon Joan! He sure looks tired in that photo- hope he got some decent rest! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 21:17:26

    Have a great time Joan and Damon. He looks great. Hope things work out for a vehicle.

    Happy birthday to your dad.

    Reply

  7. kaylee2
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 21:33:06

    Have fun with him 🙂

    Reply

  8. thebeadden
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 22:32:05

    Joan, I am so happy that you get some time with your son!

    Shouts: Hi Damon 🙂

    I do hope something can be done about his vehicle. Mind you with the value of scrap metal right now he could almost buy a new one! Okay that’s over stating it but here in Canada they are paying $500 for cars and $700 for minivans. Good times for scrap metal people here!

    Happy Birthday to you Dad!

    Hope you have a wonderful time with your son.

    Reply

  9. tw
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 23:48:27

    Lovely to hear you and Damon are getting to spend some time together. 🙂

    And Happy Birthday to you Dad too.

    Bet you have had lots of special memories come to you today.

    Reply

  10. duskydi
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 00:47:46

    Hi Joans of Mums,

    Great that Damon is home and findng you thin. Hope all works out for him and he finds where he wants to go to next. Your in my thoughts and hugs. Happy birthday Joans Dad.

    Enjoy the time, so special.
    Loves, love & Loves
    Di

    Reply

  11. JavaQueen
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 02:21:10

    Hi Joanie, I’m glad you are able to spend some time with your son. I think what a hard thing you are going through but just so you know, you are not alone. There are so many people who love you and want only good things for you. I will pray that your son finds his way. I know how painful it can be to watch as someone struggles… when there is nothing you can do because we can only control what we ourselves do… but I love you Joanie and will be including you and your whole family (including that cute little yoda) in my prayers before I fall asleep.

    Reply

  12. odette
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 05:15:22

    i’m glad he made it home safe and sound! hope you both will have a great time together.

    and happy birthday to your dad!

    Reply

  13. dropofkim
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 08:17:18

    Joan, enjoy your time with your son!

    Reply

  14. Just a Mom
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 11:23:41

    It loks like your Dad gave you a present instead of him getting one!
    Enjoy your time with your son.

    Reply

  15. birdpress
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 13:08:15

    Hi, Damon!

    I hope you have a great time together! Happy birthday to your dad.

    Reply

  16. writerchick
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 22:15:22

    Hey Joanie,
    I’m so glad he made it – he looks good. Happy birthday to your dad. Have a great couple of days with your boy.

    hugs & jugs
    Annie

    Reply

  17. The Vinyl Villager
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 10:48:27

    HOW WONDERFUL! And SC is a great place to be…low cost of living, friendly people, and as good a job market as anywhere else right now.

    Reply

  18. teeni
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 17:07:45

    Aww, I wish your dad were still here Joan. I can tell he would have been quite a guy to know. I hope you enjoy some time with your handsome son!

    Reply

  19. joanharvest
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 18:14:25

    I’m going to be a little lazy and just make one comment to all of yours. Thanks for all your well wishes and thoughts. Damon and I are having a great time visiting. I will be sorry to see him go but I think he will have a better winter in South Carolina. He does know someone down there so he will have one connection and not feel so alone. If everything goes right his girlfriend might go down there with him in a couple of months.

    Reply

  20. Peter Parkour
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 18:12:22

    Howdy Joan. Running late on my reading again. I’m so happy to hear that you’re getting in such a good visit with your little man. 🙂 Take care and enjoy. 😉

    Reply

  21. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 12:38:10

    I AM SO GLAD YOU AND YOUR SON ARE TALKING AGAIN.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

