What’s That Funky Smell?? Contest!! Odd Foods!!

I wrote a post on November 2, 2007 called “Smelling the Past”.

It was  only my 6th post.  Here’s the deal.  I have been getting major hits on that post for the past couple of weeks.  This is after not having a hit on it in months.  I have tried to trace back to see why but I can’t come up with anything.  It’s now my second most popular post.

I just wonder why so many people, all of a sudden, want to “smell my past”?

The contest is still open for naming my interview show.  I have decided not to be a judge because I want the choice to be totally impartial.  The Wasband and Sarah will judge.  I will hand them the list.  They won’t know whose entries belong to who.  That last sentence doesn’t sound right.  But you get my drift.

This has to be short and sweet because I have to go grocery shopping which I really don’t feel like doing today. This is what the kids will be eating this week if they don’t fix my washing machine.

First Course- check out the cholesterol!!

Afternoon Delight — Silkworm Pupae

Literally meaning pupa or chrysalis, beondegi are popular Korean street snacks, often dished out by the cupful to eager passers-by. The stewed and seasoned silkworm treats come highly recommended as bar bites. Next time you crave a quick mouthful on the go, grab a can of these crunchy chrysalises.

Forbidden Fruit — Durian

Durian fruit is a popular ingredient in its native Southeast Asia. It’s chock full of nutrients and minerals, and found in everything from soup to ice cream. The catch? It smells absolutely awful.

While the custard-like texture of the fruit’s edible interior is noted for its creamy, almond-sweet flesh, the scent is anything but. Its nauseating bouquet includes hints of rotten fish, fermented onions, overripe cheese and unwashed socks. The durian’s smell attracts hungry animals eager to devour the produce (effective for seed dispersion) but repels humans. Because of its stench, the fruit is commonly forbidden on airplanes, buses and subways.

The seasonal fruit is highly prized and expensive in Asia, but a rare find in the United States, although a quick scan at a local Asian market is likely to turn up a can or two.

Basket Case — Canned Bird’s Nest Drink

The Chinese have served bird’s nest soup, considered a delicacy, for hundreds of years. It’s made using the nests of swiftlets, or cave swifts. These avian homemakers regurgitate their gelatinous spit, creating a web-like superglue which forms their nests and attaches them to cave walls in Southeast Asia.

The nests are collected by hunters on precariously tall ladders and then dissolved into soup. Said to stimulate cell growth, raise libido and boost the immune system, these edible abodes are among the most expensive animal-food products consumed; They are rare, difficult to harvest and require a labor-intensive cleaning process. Don’t feel like dropping the coin to get a taste of the cure-all nectar? Pop a tab on the canned bird’s nest drink, and get your vitamins on the go.

Dessert–chocolate covered crickets.

Sounds good???

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 14:46:33

    Have fun grocery shopping. I like going except for those really big trips. I mainly hate putting them all away. We live in a tourist town and I’m so happy now that all those “cabin” people have gone home. It’s a lot easier to shop now. Have a great Monday.

    I know exactly what you mean about the tourist town. It is so much more quiet here right now. I did a big shopping yesterday for the week. It was OK. Got it done quickly considering how slow the cripple cart is.:-)

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 16:06:09

    If that doesn’t get your washing machine fixed, I don’t know what will!!!!

    I feel sick after reading and looking at those “foods”. Especially that pork brain in milk gravy, UGH!! I’d rather eat the chocolate covered cricket!!

    I think I would be gagging on any one of them. Of course I was a good Mom and made a nice chicken stir fry with broccoli, baby corn, water chestnuts, mung bean sprouts, cashews and my special sauce.

    Reply

    • shane
      Nov 13, 2009 @ 16:56:39

      pork brains i could do with out personally but they are probably very good. ive eaten beef brain and tongue soup and it was very good. the silk worms probably not so much… chocolate covered crickets are anything but disgusting. they have a nutty flavor and the chocolate accents it very very well and they make are a good snack.

      Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 16:26:14

    If they don’t fix your washing machine I will as long as you don’t put another gross post up like that!!! 🙂

    Ha! Ha! I promise no more gross foods for a while. I came across some other gross ones but they were even too gross for me.

    Reply

  4. duskydi
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 18:20:52

    Hi Joans of Mums,

    Its funny what posts gets views regular. I have a few that get viewed a lot and I wonder why. Ha ! I never get comments.

    Urgh ! Yuk ! Not nice food there Joans of Mums, yup ! feed it to the kids if they don’t mend the washer.

    Just some funny little nunbers that I came up with.

    Joans Jabbering Journal

    A Jabbering Joan al

    Jeckle and Joan

    Joan Just Jesting

    Jazzy Joan Just Jerking Off.

    Hehe!! A bit naughty I know, I couldn’t resist darling.

    Hope all is well in Joanland,
    Love Di

    Ha! Ha! Those are some great ones especially the last one. My kids are lucky I haven’t bought and fed them any of those gross foods. But I just want my washing machine!!!

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  5. c
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 18:33:12

    Eeeeeewwwww Nonoies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i think the worst is that birds’ nest drink. Good, sweet and holy lord! And the crickets… The way you can still see their cricket-shaped legs…

    The thing is, since you mentioned smell, i’m wondering how the Durian could possibly taste “almond sweet” whilst smelling like a whore’s drawers. Smell counts a lot in taste.

    More Joan Show title ideas from yours truly:
    Just for the Joan of It Show
    That Joan! Show
    Jawin’ With Joan
    Yup I Said It Show
    The State of Joan

    ” “almond sweet” whilst smelling like a whore’s drawers” I almost fell off my chair when I read that from laughing so hard.

    I’ll add your names to the list. You’ve got some good ones there.

    Reply

  6. sulz
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 19:33:33

    durians are famous in malaysia, almost a delicacy in itself. we have durian ice-cream, durian mooncakes (for the chinese mid-autumn festival), dodol (a sweet, soft, sticky, toffee-like candy made from durian which i like and doesn’t smell like durian that much), lots of durian stuff. i don’t eat durian myself, cos of the smell, but people say it tastes great and the smell is part of its appeal, haha. i guess when you’ve eaten it, the smell doesn’t matter much if you like it.

    I once saw a TV about them. I can’t remember what show but it was quite interesting to see people enjoy something that smelled so bad. I always associate food with smell. My son smells everything before he eats it. He would probably be apt to throw it out the window. I might be willing to try it because it’s a fruit but I couldn’t eat any bugs.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 20:50:32

    I definitely won’t be coming to visit until after they get the washer fixed. 😛 My unadventurous taste buds have gone into hiding after reading this post. 😕

    The Joan Show
    The Incredible Shrinking Joan
    Joan’s World

    I’ve had an old post become wildly popular over at my other side L&J, accounting for 90% of my hits. The weird thing is I have the same post at both sites, but it doesn’t get nearly attention at H&A, with the exception of a couple of days it did spike. Who knows why stuff like that happens??? It kind of bugs me, so I just try to ignore it. 😉

    With your taste buds being so delicate I don’t blame you for waiting. If you ever come over I’ll make you one of my good dinners. No bugs, brains or larvae.

    Oh good, some more contest names.

    I don’t understand why that happens with a post. I wish people would leave a comment so I would know how they found it.

    Reply

  8. sheng
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 20:52:50

    I love Durian Joanie, really. We love it here in the Philippines. It’s cheap and has a sweet taste. Some say the fruit is very nutritious and yes, they really are. Delicious they are to my taste, although I have some second thoughts whenever I have a bite because it adds up uric acid in the system.

    Durian: Tastes like heaven, smells like hell. Hahaha…

    You still can eat it and enjoy it even though the smell is not so good? I’d be willing to try it but I won’t eat bugs. Too much uric acid can cause gout.

    Reply

  9. thebeadden
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 22:16:12

    I’m sorry, I have to cancel our dinner date…
    I say go on srike and let the clothes start smelling up the room. 😯

    Ha! Ha! We can have a dinner date after the washer is fixed.

    Reply

  10. tw
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 22:25:58

    OMG, Joan! If the threat of these ‘goodies’ on their dinner plate doesn’t do it, don’t know what will, lol.

    The cricket are the ones that crack me up the most. Like not prep done or required by the looks, just drop them in the pot of melted chocolate!

    All you would need is a fondue pot. Imagine inviting people over for fondue and serving crickets?

    Reply

  11. kaylee2
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 23:17:45

    Chocolate good? Crickets? Get them the hell out of my Chocolate 😉

    I think I have to agree with you.

    Reply

  12. Laura
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 05:41:41

    Joan, you forgot Rocky Mountain Oysters.

    http://tinyurl.com/5uby2w

    (Do not visit this if you are the least bit squeamish.)

    With some chocolate crickets for dessert?

    I checked out that website. I think I will skip the Rocky mountain oysters. I know I would gag on them just knowing what they are.

    Reply

  13. CuriousC
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 08:14:53

    uck, I couldn’t stomach this post… my eyes are watering… yech.

    Quite the food list eh? I’ll bet you’re glad I didn’t show up with those foods for our beach picnic.

    Reply

  14. javajunkee
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 12:03:53

    I am all about short and to the point…

    JUST JOAN

    or Joan and Company..or shorten it down to
    Joan and Co.

    I will add them to the list. I like short and to the point.

    Reply

  15. javajunkee
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 12:05:22

    Ask Joan Anything

    Joan Responds

    Q and A with Joan

    You are on a roll!!! 🙂

    Reply

  16. writerchick
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 13:01:18

    Oh my gosh, Joanie, where do you shop? Some of those foods are downright scary. LOL.

    Name for your interview show?? Oooh I like contests…how about:

    Up Close and Personal with Joanie?

    Or

    Dumbasses, In-depth – with Joan Harvest?

    or

    Chatting with Joanie?

    I guess those aren’t very good, I’ll have to think some more on it.

    Love
    Annie

    I think “Dumbasses, In-depth – with Joan Harvest” is a great one. If I really did serve those foods I think I would be fired as head chef at this house.

    Love, Joanie

    Reply

  17. duskydi
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 16:09:24

    Ar !! Joans of,

    I hope you don’t take offence at some of my names. hehe!! all in good humour Joan. My friend Adele and I had a good few hours of fun thniking funny things and laughing.

    We got the dictionary up for (J). We had some real rude ones but I daren’t put them here. Had great fun finding stuff and thinking about you. Hope all is well in Joking Joans World.

    Love
    Di.

    Me? Take offense? Ha! Ha! Couldn’t happen!! I love naughty!!

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  18. javajunkee
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 17:33:39

    Jawin’ With Joan

    Jabbin’ With Joan

    Wow, You’ve got quite a list going!!

    Reply

  19. threeboys1mommy
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 18:04:43

    I’ve watched anthony bourdain get busy with that durian. I think he had to leave the hotel room to do it. That stuff looks stinky, I won’t even get in to the rest of that crap.

    If something doesn’t smell good I can’t eat it. I don’t think I’ll be eating any of that stuff. it’s all “Fear Factor” to me.

    Reply

  20. mrsvierkant
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 20:12:17

    Note to self: Don’t piss off the chef, especially if the chef is Joan. 😉

    ROFL… Great post Joan!

    Ha! Ha! That’s right! Don’t piss off the chef in my house. I still don’t have a washing machine that works.

    Reply

  21. David
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 21:41:09

    Delicious post Joan. 😀 I hope Romi gets a look at it. I’m still belching. And maybe a little nauseated.

    It’s so weird what posts get the most hits, isn’t it?

    “Know Joan”

    -or-

    “Joan KNOWS!”

    I’ll add your ideas to the list. Hopefully I can get the family together long enough to pick a winner.

    I found even more nauseating foods but they were so bad even I couldn’t post them.

    Reply

  22. odette
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 05:13:17

    i love durian too! but it’s high in fat and carbs, not really good for people with hypertension.

    the rest on your menu is YUCK. i’m gagging now. 😀

    I guess this really was a “Gag” post. The smell of durian doesn’t bother you?

    Reply

  23. teeni
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 17:09:50

    Ewww – I’m so glad these were not part of our beach picnic lunch! Yikes. People certainly consider some strange things delicacies.

    I wonder what we eat that people from other parts of the world think is weird? I liked our beach lunch better than anything on my list of odd foods.

    Reply

  24. Lisa
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 03:14:03

    I tried the bird nest soup last year from like http://www.geocities.jp/hongkong_bird_nest/index_e.htm . Tastes really good… yeah, I thought it was gross at first, but wow, you won’t regret it.

    But still there’s one food which I dare not try (not listed here though cause it is not a canned food) — Live Monkey Brain!!!

    A LIVING monkey is served on a tray!!!! OMG no no no no no no no……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

