Signs of Autumn

The first sign this morning was the 55 degree temperature. We’re talking Fahrenheit here, folks.  I just found out that 55 degrees is the perfect temperature to store wine.  I actually had to wear a hoodie when I took my daughter to work at 7:45 AM.  Yes, I was up that early.  Usually I roll out of bed at about 10:15 AM.  But if I want a car for the day I have to bring her to the boat.

Wine gives me a headache!

The next sign was the multitude of children standing on the side of the road.  Of course that meant school buses were on the loose.  And that meant a lot of stopping and going, almost like summer traffic.  And you have to stop.  They frown on you if you don’t stop for school buses.  Actually,  I am sure they do more than frown on non bus stoppers.

Don’t get me wrong, I love children.  I always stop.

The next sign was somewhat scary.  I felt like I was living out a scene from Alfred Hitchcock’s “The Birds”.

Are they running for the school bus or from the birds?

I look out my front window and there are black birds everywhere.  They are lined up on the telephone wires.  They are on my front lawn.  They are in my driveway. They are in the road.  Seriously,  I’m wondering if they will attack me when I go grocery shopping.  Well, no matter, I have my cane. (I think they are grackles getting together for a meeting to decide when exactly they should go south). I hope they leave town soon.  They are eating up all my bird seed. They are greedy birds. They are also noisy birds.  I prefer the sound of the pinkletinks in the spring.

I just noticed another sign of Autumn.

My flowers are dying in my window boxes. Probably because I keep forgetting to water them lately.

I am back from grocery shopping.  I wasn’t attacked by birds—THIS TIME!  The store seemed almost empty compared to summer.  I was able to race down the aisles in my cripple cart. If you call full speed in one of those things racing.  Oh, and there were pumpkins at the grocery store and lots of Halloween crap.  They already have the costumes out.

I made this video Tuesday of the empty beach. It’s short.

And last but not least I can’t help but remember seven years ago today when I look at this photo of my son. I will say no more about it. We all know what today is.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sandysays1
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 14:41:09

    Love your site. It’s good to find some wheat amongst the chaff.

    Welcome and thank you for the compliment. I hope you stop by again.

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 15:25:28

    Autumn is defiantly in the air. We’ve had frost a couple of times but no freezing yet. I have to agree with you about the Grackles, they really are greedy birds and so vicious to the others. I get a few of them who stay all winter but not to many. A few weeks ago I had more hummingbirds than I could count and now I have one lone one out there. I have to admit that I love this time of year when it feels good to put on a hoodie and good old pair of jeans.

    That photo of your son is beyond words.

    No frost here yet nor will it happen for quite a while. I had my hummingbird feeder in a bad place all summer and finally moved it a couple of weeks ago and have been getting a couple of hummingbirds. Though I haven’t seen them in a couple of days. Yes, that photo of Damon is priceless.

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 16:12:29

    Oh, I would love to roll out of bed at 10am! I guess one day, when my kids are grown, I might be able to do that!

    That photo of Damon – WOW. I am remembering today as well, and my thoughts are with all my American friends.

    I love getting up when I wake up and I am not hearing an alarm. That photo of Damon was taken about 9 or 10 years ago. His girlfriend at the time took it of him. Little did they know what would happen.

    Reply

  4. duskydi
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 18:15:23

    Hi Joan,

    I love your beach, I love quiet beaches, Autumn beaches. The picture of Damon is amazing. I flew into New York in Autumn two years ago for my connection to Dallas Forth worth. The sky line was amazing.
    The colours of Autumn, New York then the Statue of Libity, I very nearly never got my connection to Dallas to go to Whitney, Honest, I thought should I just stay here for the week and wonder around New York.
    Diane in New York on her own for a week would make for some great adventure I think. I will do that trip sometime.
    The sky is still blue, its grey and miserable here in England. We have had so much rain. We haven’t had a summer of such.
    Hope the birds decide to fly and don’t decide to pick at you dear Joans of Mum.
    Love today, Love America.
    Im so sorry
    Di x

    I’ve only been to NYC a couple of times. I never really got to see much except the first time I went over 40 years ago. The twin towers weren’t even built yet. At least Damon got to see them.
    I too, love the quiet autumn beach. I also love the beach in winter. I have to say we have had good weather this summer.

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  5. museditions
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 19:10:52

    Quiet beaches are nice. I used to go to one all by myself when I was in California. We probably won’t have any autumn for a month, and then it only lasts three weeks when it does come. I don’t really have too much bird trouble, but, just at dusk, the BATS come out…ooohhh! Amazing picture of son & towers. What perspective. Indeed we do know what day it is. Amen.

    We get some bats in the early evening too. Not to many though. That is an amazing photo of Damon. I love the beaches here once the tourists leave.

    Reply

  6. writerchick
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 19:23:19

    Hey Joanie,
    I love your little updates. I’m glad you did a vid of the beach, I needed the space that large bodies of water always give me. Autumn is even bobbing its head around here – the evening air has a little cool snap to it, the days are getting shorter, my summer plants are coming to the end of their cycle. I mourn the summer in a way but Fall sounds kind of nice too.

    hugs & jugs,
    Annie

    The one thing I don’t like about Autumn is the shorter days. I have to be home by dark. I am not the best night driver. I love the ocean. I know I could never live away from it. I love the sound of the ocean and the thieving seagulls when the beach is devoid of tourists and those are the only sounds you hear. Some mornings I hear the fog horn lending it’s eerie sound to the mix. I love it. I can always find peace at the beach.

    Hugs & Jugs
    Joanie

    Reply

  7. threeboys1mommy
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 20:41:24

    Wow! What’s 55 degrees mean?

    55 degrees here in the morning is quite cool for this time of year. Then I just happened to realize that is also the perfect temperature to store wine. Just one of those interesting tidbit facts.

    Reply

  8. sheng
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 20:59:16

    Yeah, we all knew what 9/11 is, I hate to be reminded really, it pains me. Those darn bad guys are better be rotting now. I pity those innocent people they killed. *Sigh*

    I think it pains everyone around the world not just us in the US. Destruction like that for no reason is despicable. It proves nothing. Thanks for you thoughts.

    Reply

  9. thebeadden
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 22:32:01

    Your window boxes look like mine, Joan. 😦
    We didn’t get much of a summer here. I got out my wool sweater today.

    The beach looks so peaceful. The picture of your son…it’s so eerie now to see the towers.

    It’s a reminder to me that we never know what will happen from one day to the next and to love and appreciate everyone in our life and each moment that we have here.
    Take Care

    Well said BD. “appreciate everyone in our life and each moment that we have here”. Something we all need to aspire to.

    The photo of my son fascinates me. Sometimes, I just can’t stop staring at it.

    Reply

  10. tw
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 23:37:03

    LOL, you have me cracking up about the birds and “The Birds” here. Just had to go to Google to convert that temperature to Celsius. That’s nearly 13 degrees here. Funny to think that we are experiencing similar temperatures but we are at the new life/Spring end of the business and you Autumn (or your Fall).

    Oh, and let me say I got a buzz seeing you had used the word Autumn in your post instead of Fall. You cater for all here don’t you, Joan.

    Have an extra lovely weekend. 🙂

    I’ve always preferred the word Autumn to Fall. I really don’t know why. I remember thinking the same thing in the Spring when it was your Autumn.

    Honestly, those birds are downright creepy. You have a great weekend too!!

    Reply

  11. Peter Parkour
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 04:39:05

    I like your picture at the end. It’s a picture that will be around forever in the family I’m sure. How nice to have the beach all to your self. If and when I get a chance to head out your way I’m going to shoot for this time of the year. 😉 Not too hot, not too cold, and no crowds. :mrgreen: Just right.

    This is the best time of the year here, no doubt. It’s nice to have the town back to ourselves. I should really print out that photo of Damon and have it framed.

    Reply

  12. JavaQueen
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 05:10:27

    You tried to feed them Altoids? You’re a nut, I love it. Smart little suckers, huh? Although, they are strong mints….

    The pic is pretty heart wrenching. It was a sad day yesterday for sure.

    I wonder if seagulls can smell stuff. They didn’t even walk over to look at them. They probably thought I was throwing rocks at them. They are such dumbass birds but evidently smart enough to know good food when they see it..

    Yes, that is quite a photo of Damon.

    Reply

  13. birdpress
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 07:47:45

    I think seagulls only like the fruity flavored Altoids. Just so you know. 😉

    Great picture of Damon! Wow!

    You’ll need to take some lessons from JavaQueen on how to fake your window boxes until they bloom again.

    Yea, we’ll both laugh when I try to throw them fruity Altoids tomorrow and they eat them. 😉

    That’s a great idea about JavaQueen. Her fake boxes looked great and they probably still do.

    Reply

  14. Just a Mom
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 09:38:30

    I love the first cold front!
    Prayers go out to everyone that were affected by Sept. 11th.
    Prayers also go out to our armed services that are kicking butt all over the world protecting us from another 9/11!

    We have a lot of brave men over there fighting for our freedom. My daughter’s best friend’s hubby is leaving for Iraq in October. Another one to pray for.

    Reply

  15. Laura/centerdown
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 15:11:21

    Joan, thanks for posting that photo. That touched me more than any of the remembrance stuff I’ve seen on TV and in the paper. Beautiful. Haunting. Powerful.

    I was going to ask something about seagulls and using Altoids as a repellant, but I’m going to stop at the photo.

    It is an amazing photo. It was taken about 8-10 years ago. I don’t know exactly. His girlfriend at the time took it. Little did they know or even imagine that something like 9/11 could happen.

    Altoid seagull repellent, Hmmm!

    Reply

  16. Laura/centerdown
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 15:13:22

    Oh, one more thing — check out the meme on Karen’s blog. Looks like something you would like. (Unless you’ve already done it and I missed it?)

    http://journeytoauthenticity.typepad.com/journey_to_authenticity/2008/09/accomplishments.html

    I did go to Karen’s blog and left a comment. I am so stealing that meme she did. Thanks for the link. I liked her blog too.

    Reply

  17. mrsvierkant
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 21:12:19

    The weather is cooler here (46 degrees one morning this week), the pools are closed (no beaches here), the school buses are rolling too, the birds are getting fat eating all the birdseed before they migrate, and my hubby is what is keeping the flowers alive. Yeah, it is pretty much fall here too. I like the season change, but I will miss summer when winter rolls, in, LOL!

    I love the season change. I never miss summer too much. Too humid and hot and too many tourists.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

