Back On The Horse!!!

I’m back on the horse, so to speak.  Well, not a real horse.  Unless it was one of those giant Budweiser horses that I wouldn’t crush. But you know what I mean. I’m back to being me.

He might be big enough for me.

I’ve talked to myself a lot over the past couple of days and I actually listened to what I had to say.  I kept thinking of that song by Tom Petty which I did put on a post once.

Well I won’t back down, no I won’t back down
You can stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down

Gonna stand my ground, won’t be turned around
And I’ll keep this world from draggin me down
Gonna stand my ground and I won’t back down

So I’m not going to let anything or anyone drag me down.  I’ve worked too hard to get to where I am today.

So, I am back!!!

First of all I want to thank you all for your support.  It really does mean a lot to me.  It’s great knowing you are out there all over the world caring about me. What more could anyone ask for.

I’m going to interrupt this post for a bulletin.  My washing machine broke.  I have to go to the laundromat now, something I never thought I would have to do again. I’m bringing my brother with me to do the hauling for me.  I will finish this when I return. Oh, I just thought of something.  The laundromat could be a good place to find video worthy candidates.  I hope it’s not too good.  I don’t want to have to spend my days at the laundromat looking for photo worthy dumbasses.

My brother coming out of the laundromat.

We loaded our clothes in the washers and took off and went for a ride so I didn’t see any dumbasses.  It took about 2 hours all totaled. If my kids don’t get the washing machine fixed this week I am going to go on strike.  I will picket the house if I have to and end up on the news. I won’t cook for them. I think with that threat the washing machine will get fixed fast.

I will write another post about my trip with the wasband and his girlfriend, Leslie to Woonsocket (the town where I was born).  The most amazing, wonderful thing happened there.  I also have to write about Waterfire Providence.  I wish I had a video of what happened at Waterfire that brought Barry to his knees.  I mean he was pushing my wheelchair and ended up on his knees. I don’t even know if I can describe it and get across how funny it was. I honestly don’t think I have ever laughed so much in my life.   I have photos and videos of other stuff though.

I’ll be making the rounds of everyone’s blogs throughout today.  Again, thanks so much for being here for me. I love you all.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 15:33:46

    And WE love YOU!!!! I’m so glad you are getting right back on that horse. It’s NOT easy to do that, it can be so hard to build yourself back up when you keep getting knocked down so I give people lots of credit when they do decide to not let it keep them down. Huzzah for Joan! Laundromats suck – I hope your machine gets fixed soon. And I can’t wait to hear about Woonsocket! 🙂

    Thanks Teeni. It’s nice knowing I’ve got friends out there now. I don’t hate much but I hate laundromats. I almost didn’t want to wear the clothes after I washed them because I started thinking of all of the people who used the machine before me. I dried them for two hours hoping to kill germs.

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 15:59:45

    Yeah, what Teeni said. 😉 Welcome back, Joan. I know it wasn’t very long, but I missed you just the say. Really sorry to hear about the washer. I’m really looking forward to your next post. Nice build up. 😛

    Thanks, Peter. I’ll be writing that post today. My head was a little loose. Just needed some straightening out.

    Reply

  3. birdpress
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 17:07:52

    So glad you are back to feeling like Joan again! 😀 I was worried about you.

    I don’t think I ever had to go to a laundromat, although I did use the ones at college, but they were in our buildings. I have been lucky! Now my washer will probably die on me because I said that.

    Just a couple of down days which fortunately doesn’t happen often. Next time I am washing my clothes at my sister’s house. She doesn’t know it yet. Then I start going on strike if the thing isn’t fixed.

    Reply

  4. Hannah
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 17:17:23

    Welcome back, Joan! I agree with Teeni, we love you too and have been missing your great posts.
    Bummer about the washing machine – I agree that you should go on strike, it doesn’t sound like spending 2 hours at the laundromat is as much fun as I thought it would be (can you tell I’ve never been to one?? but I’ve wanted to, after seeing it in lots of movies/TV shows, lol)

    It’s the only laundromat in town and it’s been around forever and so have the washing machines. I didn’t mind spending the time but I feel as if my clothes are dirty. I wanted to wash the machine first. Thanks for the love.

    Reply

  5. CuriousC
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 17:17:57

    Golly, I hope my washer-breakdown-karma didn’t rub off on you. (I had to replace mine a few months ago…) and I’ve glad you are not backing down. Can’t wait to hear about the laughing at Waterfire. 🙂

    This machine is only 1 1/2 years old. It shouldn’t be broken yet. I will write the post today. I can’t go to that dark place I was at a couple of years ago. I made up my mind. I did talk to myself a lot over the past few days and watched 4 movies. I just needed to wrap my head around some stuff and realize I can’t worry about things I have no control over.

    Reply

  6. writerchick
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 17:37:37

    Hey Girlfriend!
    Glad to see you back. Of course we love you. What’s not to love? I was really looking forward to seeing some dumbass footage though. Maybe next time? The laundramatt must have been full of them, eh? 😆
    Love
    Annie

    I may have to go back to the laundromat (not to wash clothes) but just to hang out. There looked like there were some video worthy people hanging about. I found I couldn’t stay away from blogging for very long. So I am back!!

    Love
    Joanie

    Reply

  7. duskydi
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 18:43:52

    Hey Hey Hey !!

    That is a big horse. We call them launderarettes here. I met you’d get some great picures of peoples underwear. You might get locked up though Joan. Hehe!!

    Glad your feeling easier and lighter. I prayed for you.
    Love your friend
    Di.

    Yes !! I do know you care about me to. Smiling. Very much.

    When I read the first sentence of your comment I thought you called big horses “launderettes”. I’m thinking to myself “Why would they call a big horse that name?” Sometimes I’m a little slow in the morning. I could start a whole photographic layout of people’s underwear. I would only photograph clean undies though. Thanks for the prayers.

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 19:53:19

    I am with everyone else. I love and missed you. I never minded laundromats if only because you can wash a crap-load all at once. But when you “have” to go there, it’s not fun. I hope you get it fixed. I’m so glad you got back on the horse.

    I did the laundromat thing until I had a child. So that was for about ten years. We finally got a washing machine because I used cloth diapers on my daughter because she was allergic to Pampers. This is the first time in 30 years I have had to use one. Thanks for all the love and caring. That means a lot to me.

    Reply

  9. kaylee2
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 20:44:09

    AWWW LOve you !

    Thanks Kaylee. How are you doing?

    Reply

  10. mrsvierkant
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 21:22:17

    UGH! Hate washer problems. Wouldn’t blame you if you did strike, LOL. 😉 Laundromats around here can be scary, scary places. **shivers** Creeps, not dumbasses hang out in the one nearest my house, LOL.

    Glad you’re back.

    (((hugs)))

    The laundromat in town is next to the seediest motel in town. It’s the motel where there have been dead bodies found and fights and drugs. People rent rooms by the month sometimes and it isn’t tourists. Thanks for the hugs. I just can’t stay away from blogging.

    Reply

  11. tw
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 21:33:24

    Yay you’re back! Miss ya too. 🙂

    Poos about the washing machine. I LOATHE laundrymats! When I was a teenager I used to have a part-time job on a Sunday in one. Yuck other people’s dirty washing and like a blimmin sauna in the summertime. Suffice to say, didn’t last too many months at that gig, hee hee.

    You’ve got the right attitude though, getting your brother to lug the dirty washing, haha. Go Joan!

    That must have been an awful job. I stuffed Christmas stockings for one of my high school jobs. Better than dealing with other people’s dirty laundry. My brother comes grocery shopping with me once a week too. He lives alone and doesn’t have a car so if I bring him with me, he gets his shopping done and I get him to haul the groceries to the car. Good deal for both of us.

    Reply

  12. romi41
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 23:01:27

    Oooh, ooh, oooh! So what is this amazing thing that happened on your trip to your hometown??? I am intrigued 🙂

    I’ll be writing my blog about that today, with photos.

    Reply

  13. thebeadden
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 23:13:05

    Good to see you bounce back ((((Joan))))
    Ugh! The laundromat. Just the thought of other people’s clothes that have been in there before yours. It creeps me out.

    I won’t freak you out with what was told to me…but go on strike. 🙂

    Still keeping you in my thoughts.

    I can’t wait to hear wait brought Barry to his knees!

    That’s what creeps me out too. Just thinking about the other people’s dirty laundry makes me a little sick. YUCKY!!! I can only imagine what was told you. As a matter of fact I am sure I did imagine it. I grossed myself out just thinking about it and could hardly wear the clothes. I won’t go back again. I will go to my sister’s house or wash them by hand. Thanks for the caring.

    Reply

  14. Hay
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 00:24:41

    You are so strong and inspiring Joan. 🙂

    Thanks, Hay. I know you’ve had your tough days too. It’s hard when the sun is out and you feel so dark inside. I actually talked to myself out loud telling myself I can’t go there anymore and have managed to pull myself almost out.

    Reply

  15. sheng
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 01:45:27

    If I were your brother, I would so wonder why you would love to catch me on camera when I am just slipping out of that laundromat. Hehe, it’s one thing I will very much ask why. Post your birthplace pics soon Joanie. Hugs to you!

    Reply

  16. javaqueen14
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 02:42:23

    Yee-haw, she’s back on that horse! Ok, now I gotta know what brought the wasband to his knees. I’ll be back for more! I love you too xoxoxox

    I may have to video the both of us explaining it because I don’t know if on paper (or computer) I can get across just how funny it was. I’m back on the horse and he’s giving me a thrill.

    Love you too,
    Joanie

    Reply

  17. Jen @ amazingtrips
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 02:46:25

    Oh no, not the washer! Anything but the washer!!

    Keep your eye on your prize. You can do anything you set your mind to. Well, anything except efficiently wash clothes without a washer. 🙂

    Hi Jen, Welcome!! I thought if I was to miss anything it would be my computer but now that I have lost my washing machine I would trade the computer for one but only on laundry days then I would have to have the computer back.

    Thanks for stopping by.
    Joan

    Reply

  18. museditions
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 05:37:37

    This post just cracked me up. Only you would “interrupt this post” for a laundry bulletin. Hehe! I only go to the laundromat 2-3 times a year. I have a ginormous comforter that won’t fit in my home washer and I whine and complain when I haul that thing in there. My local laundromat does have fascinating people, though.
    What I want to know is, who is going to take video of YOU when you are picketing your house? Don’t expect Sarah to do it; I’ll bet she doesn’t want to get on the news for that!
    Glad you’re back, with plenty of ‘tude. You go, girl!

    I swear if they don’t fix the machine I will picket the house. I know lots of people at the local newspaper. But on the other hand I told my daughter this and she (kiddingly) said she wouldn’t let me use her car. So we were at an impasse. Then she (lovingly) told me her plumber friend was coming over the weekend to fix it.

    Reply

  19. duskydi
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 06:21:25

    We also call them the Bag Wash. I love that name for laundraeetes.

    I got a new washer the other month to. I love it. Its a cheap eco thingy, saves on energy. I have a thing about fabric conditioner.

    Joan – Your pictures just changed to this amazing sunrise or sunset. I just watched it. How fortunate.

    Love & Smiles
    Di

    Now I have never heard of “Bag wash”. But that works since I showed up with my laundry in a rubbish bag.

    Reply

  20. duskydi
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 06:23:31

    Or did I. Did that picture just change about 5 minutes ago. You know Joans of Mum I think I’m going a bit crazy this week.

    smiling – Hey Ho !! always up for a bit of craziness.
    Di

    Ha! Ha! I did change the photo when I first wrote this post. I had a very dark sun behind the clouds photo for my “Sad Da” post. Then when I did this post I changed it to a sunrise. I think we are all a bit crazy this week. But that’s OK. Crazy can be good for the soul.

    Smiling too
    Love,
    Joan

    Reply

  21. Red
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 08:01:58

    yay joan. good to have ya back, Woman.

    Thanks, Red. I just can’t stay away from my blogging buddies. You are all too cool.

    Reply

  22. jeanny
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 11:30:16

    wupeeee your back!!!!
    I miss you joan. Glad your back!

    is the washing machine fix already?

    If I where your kids, I’ll fix it very very quickly or else, the mom will be famous like Obama!

    Still no washing machine. But if the kids want to eat my good cooking they better get it fixed this weekend. Thanks for caring, Jeanny.

    Reply

  23. Just a Mom
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 12:42:24

    Welcome back! Oh great now I have the theme song to Welcome Back Carter in my head!

    Oh no, now I do too. Ha! Ha! I may actually go on YouTube and listen to it. No, that would be insane. I would be stuck with it in my head for a month.

    Reply

  24. odette
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 19:57:49

    so nice to read this post joan, i’m glad you’re back, and yes, beautiful song lyrics about courage.

    i am still amazed what a great friendship you have with your wasband, it’s very inspiring.
    take care of you!

    The wasband is a good guy and a good friend. I love that song. I just had to work out some things in my head.

    Reply

  25. dropofkim
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 13:30:51

    SO glad you got back on the horse! I’m kind of around, haven’t been able to say much but I sent ya lots of mental hugs! That’s hug sent mentally, not crazy, deranged hugs. Okay, maybe some of them too. LOL! Cause how else can the crazy and deranged hug? Anyways, glad you are okay!

    I’ll take any hugs I can get. Crazy, deranged, whatever!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

