Tropic Thunder and other stuff!

Last night Sarah, Obie, the wasband (yes, he’s back for a few days) and I went to The Falmouth Cinema Pub

to see The movie “Tropic Thunder”.

The theater that we went to is new and serves food, beer and wine.  I had a grilled chicken salad which was very good so I stuck with my WW plan. I also just had diet coke.  No one was in the mood to drink.  I think we did our fair share at the Luau. You sit in comfy chairs at tables.  It was very cool. I also had a $50 gift certificate that I got for my birthday so I was able to help pay for the evening.

The movie was hilarious. They have a part of the movie where they refer to mentally challenged people as retards.  I guess the movie was picketed in some areas for this un-politically correct use of the word retarded.  What they were really doing was spoofing Hollywood but some people just didn’t get it and took it the wrong way.  They had the character of Jack Black being in another movie called “Fatties”.  Now let’s face it–I’M FAT.  You didn’t see me picketing the place.  I was inside LMAO.  I guess I’m not easily offended.

I once had a very short old lady call me fat in my store.  She said ” You’re getting fatter”.  I remarked back and said  “You’re getting shorter”.  My father had to run out of the room, he was laughing so hard. I burst into laughter too. I couldn’t help myself.

I usually don’t get many laughs out of these types of comedies but this was very funny.  There are two surprise cameo appearances and one of them is hilarious.  You will know it when you realize who he is.  This is just not what I would expect from this actor but I thought he was tremendous at the role he played. Ben Stiller, Jack Black and Robert Downey, Jr. are superb in their parts. I’m a huge Robert Downey, Jr. fan.  After seeing him in Ironman, I can’t believe what a great actor he is. Jack Black is absolutely hilarious in this film but then he always is.

The wasband’s girlfriend is a teacher and she goes back to work tomorrow.  She lives in the city and will be home at night to grade papers and go to sleep early.  I think Barry will probably stay at our house during the week so he can do his birding (mow the lawn, clean the gutters and do other odd jobs for us–he doesn’t know this yet.)  Well, I guess he does now because he reads my blog. The two of them have had a great summer traveling all over New England doing their bird thing.  He’s gotten more awesome photographs but I think they are both disappointed that it is over for a while. But they will have their weekends.  I talked to her for about 20 minutes last night. I just adore her. She is a sweetheart and I can see why the wasband loves her.

No beach today with Sarah.  It’s cloudy and I am going to take my brother grocery shopping because I want to have tomorrow free.  I just might be going to the beach with two of my blogging buddies that I have never met. I hope it all works out. They’ve been warned about our thieving seagulls.

I have my Doctor’s appointment for my tingly head in 45 minutes.  I’ll keep you posted. Hopefully I get to keep my brain.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. birdpress
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 13:34:13

    J and I also watched Tropic Thunder over the weekend! We both thought it had its funny bits, but was overall kind of dumb.

    Which blogging buddies you gonna meet? Do I know them? I hope it works out and you all have a good time!

    I’ll check back here later in case you post about your doctor’s appointment. Good luck!

    It was dumb but sometimes a dumbass movie can be entertaining especially if you have good food to eat when you are watching it.

    CuriousC and Teeni don’t live too far from me so we thought we would meet and go to the beach. CuriousC ran into some car problems so we have to postpone it for a few days but I am looking forward to meeting them.

    Reply

  2. Red
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 15:25:00

    Thanks for the movie review!!
    I hope your appointment goes smoothly, Joan.
    Fingers crossed, here.

    We had a great time at the movies. I love the movie pub idea.

    Reply

  3. odette
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 15:52:51

    did you say funny movie??
    oh, kj and i would love to see that then!!!

    hope you feel much better now joan!

    Thanks, Odette. It definitely had it’s funny moments.

    Reply

  4. Joy
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 17:14:34

    How I wish I could just pop in and go to the beach with you. I hope you guys have fun. Don’t forget the camera.

    We have to postpone for a few days because of car problems for one of the beach goers but I am really looking forward to it. I wish so much that you could join us but I guess the ride would be a “little” too long for you. I will definitely bring the camera. I don’t go anywhere without it.

    Reply

  5. tw
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 19:43:00

    Haha, love the seagull poster!

    Things are way too PC these days. I think it’s great if we can laugh at ourselves too.

    I may have to print out that poster of the seagull and bring it to the beach. I can tack it onto the back of my chair. I love laughing at myself. I’m a funny fat cripple. How PC is that?

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 20:19:13

    That is so cool that you are going to meet C and Teeni! Have a great time.

    We had to postpone for today because of a broken car but we are planning either Thursday or next week. I wish you could come.

    Reply

  7. teeni
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 20:33:54

    I really want to see this. I’ve never been a big Robert Downey Jr fan but I think this movie is going to redeem him for me. :)

    I was never a Robert Downey, Jr. fan until I saw him in Ironman. That changed everything for me. He is a wonderful actor.

    Reply

  8. Peter Parkour
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 03:47:04

    I am so jealous of everyone meeting their bloggin’ buds. :neutral: Ah… my day will come. ;) I’ve been hearing good things about this movie, but now BirdPress has me wondering. I’m not a big fan of dumb movies, but Dumb & Dumber is one of favorites. Go figger. :P I’ll just have to wait and see in the future, when it comes out on DVD, and when I have time, and when something better isn’t available. I like comedies, but rarely choose them to watch. I usually catch them when someone else is watching them. I’m funny like that. I running late on my reading, so I hope there is another post after this one telling of your doctor’s appointment, or I’m just gonna worry sick about you. :?

    I actually usually don’t watch comedies either. I think being in a theater with good food made the movie seem all that much better. It was like watching it at home but on a giant screen. Plus we had the gift certificate. To me most comedies are dumb but this one had so many funny scenes in it. I couldn’t stop laughing. Well, by now you already know I am going to live and not explode.

    Reply

  9. movie buff
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 04:17:08

    Robert Downey Jr. cracks me up… he’s got a real knack for not taking himself too seriously

    I never was a big Robert Downey, Jr. fan but I have seen him in three great rolls recently. He was great in Ironman and I saw him in Zodiac and he played a great part in that. He just cracked me up in Tropic Thunder.

    Reply

  10. Hannah
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 06:04:25

    Good to hear your opinion of the movie! I am a BIG fan of Jack Black and Ben Stiller, and I am intruiged to see Robert Downey Jr as a BLACK guy … so very good to hear that you enjoyed it!

    All three were excellent in the movie but there is a surprise actor in the movie who does a great job too.

    Reply

  11. mrsvierkant
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 23:20:32

    Seagull poster is hilarious! :D Now I want to see that movie. Maybe I’ll have to rope some friends into seeing it with me.

    It’s a good movie if you are looking for something mindless. I loved that seagull poster when I saw it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

