Brillante– I Guess I Am a Dumbass!! Ha! Ha!

That award that I just got and passed out is not for being brilliant. It’s more for being bright and shining.

Notice the spelling of the word.  Brillante means in both Italian and Spanish:  bright, shining as in a diamond.  In English I think we tend to look at the definition in this case as brilliant as in mental capacity rather than a bright shining diamond.  Either way it is a great award.  I am the dumbass for thinking Brillante was spelled wrong.  Ha! Ha! For those of you who think I’m brilliant I guess we will go for shining and not great mental capacity. 😉

I least I can admit when I am a dumbass.

FEEL FREE TO GRAB THIS CERTIFICATE WHEN YOU CAN ADMIT YOU ARE HAVING A DUMBASS MOMENT.  IT’S ESPECIALLY GREAT FOR PEOPLE WHO AREN’T BLOND CAUSE YOU DON’T HAVE THE HAIR TO BLAME IT ON.

So even though I gave it out thinking you were all brilliant you might only be a shining bright diamond.  I’m not even sure!!!  But I do know I love you all.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 15:02:17

    You are hilarious. I’m happy to be a shining bright diamond. Heck, I’d be happy to be anything special to someone. I love dumbass! It’s a great word.

    I think being bright and shiny is wonderful too. It makes you feel happy. There’s definitely a little bit of dumbass in all of us.

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 17:06:51

    Yeah, ok… but… I’m still brilliant… right? 😕

    Yes, Spidey, You are definitely still brilliant and so am I. Nothing can take that away from us. They can try but they won’t succeed because you are SPIDEY and I am CANE-FU MASTER.

    Reply

  3. Emerald
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 19:33:31

    Well emeralds are bright and shiny *and* I can be a total dumbass! I win!

    Emeralds are bright and shiny. I don’t think you are a total dumbass but we all have some dumbassness in us so I think maybe you do win.

    Reply

  4. mrsvierkant
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 21:46:10

    Well, I have my share of dumbass moments, but I label them blonde moments, LOL. Nowadays my blonde comes from a bottle, but they are still blonde moments, LOL. I love the dumbass certificate.

    I was blonde when I was younger but I got sick of all the trouble staying blonde so I went back to my natural color. Now I can’t have blonde moments anymore, just dumbass ones.

    Reply

  5. teeni
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 22:58:37

    When I got this award and tried to trace its roots, I read somewhere along the way that this award was a hoax or something. But then I thought, even if someone made it as a hoax, it’s still just like any of the other awards we give out to our blog buddies so wtf? I think any award given with the appropriate sentiments from a treasured blog buddy makes one feel brilliante AND like a shining bright diamond. So award on, my friend and if it makes us dumbasses at least we are happy and we are in pretty decent company, I’d say. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I agree with you. No award is a hoax if it is given with good intent. I guess brilliant dumbass is an oxymoron. So I guess we are all oxymorons too. 😉

    Reply

  6. michaelm
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 23:02:45

    Joan-
    You are never a dumb ass.
    Your comments are some of the most well thought out on my blog. Truth.
    I do occasionally walk the “dumbass” line with comments.
    Probably because my blogroll is just too damn big.
    Congrats on the award.
    ~m

    Thank you so much, Michael, for the kind words. I think we all walk the dumbass line everyday. As long as we stay on the line and don’t veer to far off we’re good. Yes, my blogroll is getting huge too. It’s hard to keep up and I don’t even work. I’ve got all the time in the world.

    Reply

  7. kaylee
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 00:52:53

    Shit i have to admit when I am a dumbass?

    You don’t have to admit it to everyone but it helps to admit it to yourself. That’s how I learn to not keep making the same mistakes over an over again. 😉

    Reply

  8. Laura/centerdownhome
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 05:13:10

    Wow. I could wallpaper a room with those certificates …

    Ha! Ha! Couldn’t we all!! Actually it would probably make a cool room.

    Reply

  9. c
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 10:48:46

    You are shiny and bright in many ways and not a dumbass. i think i said before that we all have “our moments”- that’s my opinion anyway- but when the space between those moments become briefer and more spaced out, then one is crossing into being-a dumbass territory.

    You make errors sometimes. Sometimes you make mistakes, but that is not your mode of operation. That’s not you. All the time. So i sure wish you’d not call yourself a dumbass so much.

    I agree with you. I only have my moments but I always find them so funny that I have to post about them. I tend to always make light of the mistakes I make because as you said we all make them and I don’t mind admitting to them. Plus, lately, I just find so much humor in life. Humor that I didn’t see before. I laugh so easily now. I guess that’s what going from severe depression to being happy does to a person. I should start posting some of the cool, smart stuff I do, if I can think of anything. 😉

    Reply

  10. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 09:40:28

    I think i have a certain someone who deserves this certificate … ugh, dumbasses! They are just, so, well, damn, dumb!

    Grab that certificate. Dumbasses are damn dumb.

    Reply

  11. c
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 12:55:20

    i may be lifting that certificate for an upcoming post regarding the Sacramento AmTrak train station. 😦

    Grab that certificate. Amtrak deserves it if they didn’t treat you well.

    Reply

  12. Hannah
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 16:41:34

    Joan, you are so funny!!!!! I love it 🙂

    I just tell it like it is. My life even makes me laugh.

    Reply

  13. c
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 11:55:12

    Nah, girl. The certifcate is for me. You’ll see in about a week. 😦

    i miss you. i miss everyone, and have a lot of catching up to do! but i’ll be back soon. i’m desperate for my own computer, my desk, my view. i’m having fun though.

    I miss you too sweetie!! I’m glad you are having fun!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

