Music– Xavier Rudd from Australia

The Wonderful Di at Sunrise and Paradise gave me the idea to post these two songs. She asked me if I was to be a Cane-Fu bodyguard who would I want to protect. Right away, for selfish reasons, I thought of a musician so I could see free concerts and get to travel. And right away I though of Xavier Rudd because he is just so cool.

He is from Australia. With his music you really have to listen to the words. I have always wanted to see one of his concerts and come to find out he is playing in Boston on September 11th. I am going to that concert if I have to roll my wheelchair on the side of I-95 to get there or I’ll just talk the wasband into taking me. Here is a little info about Xavier that I just ganked from his website.

The past few years have been a whirlwind for the singer. In between sold-out tours in Europe, Australia and the U.S., he’s supported the likes of the Dave Matthews Band, Jack Johnson and Ben Harper, and has been working on the film score for fellow-surfer and Rudd-enthusiast Matthew McConaughey’s Surfer Dude, co-starring Woody Harrelson and Willie Nelson. In the meantime, he’s earned a reputation as a great Australian activist, advocating for indigenous rights and environmental responsibility.

His popularity and reputation have begun to mushroom for a string of conscious, heartfelt songs and an impressive stage show that finds him performing those songs’ guitar, didgeridoo and various percussion parts simultaneously—using a unique set-up that finds him literally surrounded by his various instruments and singing from behind a stand holding three didgeridoos (of different keys).

I think he is so talented.  He’s a great writer and he’s like a one man band. I hope you take the time to listen to these videos.  They both carry a wonderful message too.

Better People

People saving whales,
And giving your thanks to our seas,
My respect to the ones in the forest,
Standing up for our old trees

Them giving food to the hungry,
Hope to the needy,
Giving life to a baby,
Giving care for free,
‘Cause there is freedom around us,
We have everything we need,
And I will care for you,
‘Cause you care for me.
And we all have opinions,
Some of them get through,
But there’s better people,
With more good to do.
Good to do

And what I have could be my search
Or just some words
From my heart
My respect to the ones making changes
For all the lives they’ll give their all

Like
Giving food to the hungry,
Giving hope to the needy,
Giving life to a baby,
Giving care for free,
‘Cause there is freedom around us,
We have everything we need,
And I will care for you,
‘Cause you care for me.
And we all have opinions,
Some of them get through,
But there’s better people,
With more good to do.
Good to Do

When our world it keeps spinning round and round it goes
Human nature keeps spreading its disease
And our children keep growing up with what they know
From what they teach and what they see
And it’s only a question of the time we have
And the lives that our children need
Cause they can only keep growing up with what they know
And what we teach, and what they see

Like,
Giving food to the hungry,
Hope to the needy,
Giving life to a baby,
Giving care for free,
‘Cause there is freedom around us,
We have everything we need,
And I will care for you,
‘Cause you care for me.
And we all have opinions,
Some of them get through,
But there’s better people,
With more good to do.

Good to do
Oooo good to do

Xavier Rudd – Messages

So now come sit down
Will you talk with me now
Let me see through your eyes
Where there is so much light
We are biding our time
For these myths to unwind
For these changes we will confront

So please beware
With every place that you had
Look to your soul
For these things that you know
For the trees that we see
Can not forever breathe
With the changes they will confront

CHORUS:
You know some people they just won’t understand
no I just won’t understand
These things
Thank you for your message but I don’t understand
no I just won’t understand
These things

For this sacred land
It has seen many hands
It has wealth and gold
Yet it is fragile and old
And all the greedy souls
Just don’t care to know
Of the changes it will confront

So speak out loud
Of the things you are proud
And if you love this coast
Then keep it clean as it hopes
‘Cause the way that it shines
May just dwindle with time
With the changes it will confront

CHORUS:
You know some people they just won’t understand
no I just won’t understand
These things
Thank you for your message but I don’t understand
no I just won’t understand
These things

So hold nice and close
Once you get to your soul
So that when it is cold
You won’t feel so alone
‘Cause the roads that you take
May just crack and break
With the changes you will confront

With each gift that you share
You may heal and repair
With each choice you make
You may help someone’s day
Well I know you are strong
May your journey be long
And now I wish you the best of luck
Well I know you are strong
May your journey be long
And now I wish you the best of luck.

CHORUS:
You know some people they just won’t understand
no I just won’t understand
These things
Thank you for your message but I don’t understand
no I just won’t understand
These things

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. duskydi
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 16:35:13

    Oh Joan.

    How wonderful you are for your choice and your reason for your choice of who you would want to protect. The songs are bloody lovely. I love the the voice the words the music and the videos. so meaningful to me. I’ve been sat here singing and dancing. aww! I wonder if all us wonderful bloggers could weave a little bit of magic and get you a VIP pass somehow.

    How long have we got ? Not long. urmm !! I”ve never heard of this guy or any bands that you have listed. I’m going to find his website right now and have a special word if I can.

    Thanks for answering my question Joan. Your very sweet, This man should and will think himself very privalaged to have our Joan protect him. I bet he doesn’t know about cane fu fighting. Hes gonna just love you sweetheart.

    Love
    Di.

    Ps. Go to my pink love post I left you a few lines. Smiling. X

    I would love to meet him. You can tell by the songs that he writes that he cares. I’ll bet you’re right. I doubt that he knows about Cane-Fu fighting.

    xoxo
    Joan

    Reply

  2. dropofkim
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 19:56:13

    I love Xavier Rudd!! So wonderful of you to share, maybe to reach people that have not heard of this man. He sends wonderful messages. I just listened to both and now my heart is happy. Wonderful Joan! Question: How do I email you? I have something interesting to show you and I can’t find a way to contact you on your page. 😀

    You can e-mail me at joanharvest@gmail.com. Isn’t he great? I should put my e-mail on my page. I never thought of that.

    Reply

  3. thebeadden
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 23:12:57

    I have you on my surfer and listened to the songs there. I hadn’t heard of him before and really liked it. The lyrics as well. Thanks, Joan!

    And he’s a real cutie pie too!

    My son discovered him and knew I would love him and yes, he is a cutie.

    Reply

  4. kaylee
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 01:10:37

    Damn from cane fu fighting to this whats next????? 😉

    I am definately telling you the where and when it comes closer!

    You never know what I will be up to here. Just keep me posted

    Reply

  5. duskydi
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 04:26:55

    Aww!! SO LURVLY.

    I’m glad you put the words here Joan. I’m smiling here as I can see all you fans opus !! I mean freinds singing and dancing sat here tapping fingers and feet.

    ~~So speak out loud
    Of the things you are proud~~

    Love
    Di

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the music. My son discovered him and knew I would love him. His words are so awesome.

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  6. teeni
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 12:10:49

    Well, I had never heard of him before in my sheltered musical life. But I’m so glad to learn about him and I love the music and the messages behind them. Now I’ll be keeping my eyes out for him. Of course, it doesn’t hurt either that he isn’t too hard on the eyes, is he? 😉
    I thank you also for including the lyrics – they are awesome!

    He is a handsome one isn’t he? I just have to get to his concert. I am hoping the wasband has pity on me plus he loves concerts too.

    Reply

  7. Just a Mom
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 12:22:35

    He is very good. He reminds me of Paul Simon.

    You know, he does have that Paul Simon element to him.

    Reply

  8. mrsvierkant
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 22:30:08

    Very nice. I can understand why you’d want to be his cane-fu bodyguard. 😀

    He plays great music and I would love to go to his concert.

    Reply

  9. Peter Parkour
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 01:22:52

    Sorry I didn’t comment sooner here, but I didn’t have a good enough connection to watch the videos. He and his music have a very nice sound, and carry very important messages. Very nice. When, where and how did you learn of this talented gentleman?

    My son is the one who told me about him a couple of years ago. My son and I share a lot of the same taste in music except for the hip-hop rap-crap that he likes. He knew I would love this guy because he also sounds a little reggae (which I love) and he plays the didgeridoo, one of my favorite instruments. I actually own one. Though I can barely get a sound to come out of it. The thing is about 4 feet long and you blow into it and it makes really cool sounds if you know what you are doing. The sounds I make sound like farts. 😉

    Reply

  10. odette
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 03:50:52

    the videos are beautiful, the songs touched my heart. i’m stealing these videos joan, and post on my blog soon. i love the messages, and i found myself singing along. just my kind of rhythm!

    I’m glad you liked them, Odette. Yes, you should put them on your blog so more people can enjoy the rhythm and beautiful messages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

