Another Day At The Beach!! I Did some Dumbass Stuff!!

I called my doctor this morning about my allergic reaction to the sun from taking prednisone. They told me to call the pharmacist because the doctor wouldn’t be able to get back to me until late this afternoon and Sarah and I wanted to go to the beach. The pharmacist said as long as I stayed under an umbrella I would be OK.  So off to the beach we went.

It was very, very windy.   We put up the umbrella and thought we would be OK with it because there were lots of umbrellas on the beach.  Sarah went to the car to get something and the umbrella took off after her and hit me in the head. At the same time I caught it in my left hand preventing certain death for the people next to us if it had hit them just right.

Sarah came back and we she put it back in the sand.  It came with these bags that you could fill with sand to weight it down.  We didn’t have all that much sand in them so we put lots of sand and the umbrella held itself against the wind.

Meanwhile, I wore my new pink shirt I got as a volunteer at the festival.  I proceeded to spill coffee on it.  Sarah warned me not to wear it.  Oh, she knows me so well.  I opened a bottle of water and tried cleaning it with a wet paper towel.  Then I lost the cover to the water.

We finally settled down and I started reading “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Astronomy”.  It’s fairly new and contains a lot of new info that I haven’t really kept up with in the past few years.

I videoed some couple eating sandwiches, sort of praying that a seagull would grab one and I’d have it on camera.  Of course the seagulls weren’t cooperating and the couple ate in peace.  What do the seagulls do, only steal sandwiches from my family?   Sarah and I took no chances and ate in the car.

Then this happened:

So I refused to leave the beach and had to cover up.  That’s Sarah’s dress wrapped around my arms.  When the umbrella took off for the second time it hit a woman but fortunately didn’t hurt her.

Then we went to look at clothes at Real Bodies.

I love their clothes and now they actually fit.  We found an outfit  for me to attend a wedding reception for a friend of Sarah’s on the 23rd.  It was $200.  This is a casual reception and we weren’t about to spend that kind of money for an outfit that won’t fit me in a few months. So we are going to put the money toward our mother and daughter tattoos instead.

Then we saw the largest boat ever pulling into the harbor. It was called Miss Rose. It was 130 feet long.  You can see the inside of the yacht hereA woman sat next to me and talked during my whole video. Sarah was around so I had to be nice to her.  I would have been nice anyway because I don’t think she realized I was making a video. Oh, by the way, if you are interested in renting this yacht it costs $185,056.02 a week for 10 people.  I wonder how much fuel costs to run that thing?


Then we went to my sister’s house for an hour and talked about scary movies we’ve seen.  My cold is mostly gone except for a raspy voice.  Damon is feeling better.  He is planning to move to Foley Beach with Anna in South Carolina.  But his plans can change on a dime so we will just wait and see.

I really enjoy my Mondays with Sarah.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Parkour
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 02:22:09

    You’ve gone from caning people to beating them with umbrellas. I didn’t see this coming. 😛 You even smacked yourself around. Very interesting. 😕 Glad to hear you’re feeling better. 😉

    Umbrellas? Canes? You have given me a great idea.

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 02:35:24

    Good idea to eat in the car!! Sorry about your allergic reaction … the umbrella thing was kind of funny, but like the previous poster said, I didn’t see that coming!

    I like the idea of mother & daughter tattoos. What design/picture will they be?

    We finally found a tattoo we like but we are going to have the artist make some changes first. Once we do that I will post a picture of it. I think it will be really cool. Yea, I didn’t see the umbrella coming either when it hit me in the head.

    Reply

  3. birdpress
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 07:54:45

    You can see the shadows of the seagulls hovering over you in that video. They are wondering where your sandwiches are!

    I wondered if anyone would notice the shadows. They were just waiting for us to take out food but we tricked them. Damn seagulls.

    Reply

  4. teeni
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 10:21:55

    I tried to comment last night but my comment got eaten during a glitch. Anyway, I loved seeing the inside of the yacht – who knows if I’ll ever see the inside of one in real life! That was cool – thanks for including the link! I had never seen an umbrella like that but it makes sense to use sand at the beach to hold an umbrella down. Good thinking. But yeah, Hell-mart isn’t the highest quality place though. I hope your head is okay.

    The idea of the umbrella was good but it broke in half. The inside of that yacht was incredible. Wal-Mart is not my favorite place.

    Reply

  5. dropofkim
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 11:14:31

    I wish I could talk my ma into mother-daughter tattoos. I also wish I hadn’t moved so far so I can’t have days with her anymore. I am jealous Joan but happy for you. Stupid Wal-mart, they are about to hear from me! Another wonder adventure at the beach for you two!

    It must be hard not to see your ma. I know I find it hard not to see my son. I haven’t seen him in almost 8 months. OMG, I hope he doesn’t want mother and son tattoos. He’ll want a fish. I’d do it if it wasn’t a fish. Oh, I’d probably do a fish if he wanted me to. I’m so easy. Adventures at the beach never cease around here.

    Reply

  6. duskydi
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 14:59:34

    What a great posts Joan thanks for showing us more about your beach, life and love for your daughter. Glad your a bit better, your face looks very red, like ya legs. Hehe!! Whoo Hoo !! Mother & Daughter Tatoo, great. What you having. Kerri and I got out tummy button’s pierced together.

    Special, I ca’t imagine how the tattoos will feel. I wonder if my daughter will go for ir. We both have tattoos. She had a dolphine jumping thro sunshine on her back and I have a mremaid on my back. I got the design off line and printed it, took it to the tattoist and he did it.

    SO PAINFUL on the back. I have been thinking about having something delicate on my hip. Just one more – ha! thats what they all say.

    Smiles
    Di

    My daughter already has 3 tattoos. As soon as we pick out exactly what we want I will post a picture of it. My daughter has a huge dragon on her back. My son also has three tattoos. One is of a sailfish on his leg.

    xoxo
    Joan

    Reply

  7. CuriousC
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 19:58:49

    I’ll bring my umbrella! when are we going to the beach?! seriously…

    I can’t wait to meet up with you and Teeni. That will be so much fun.

    Reply

  8. tw
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 23:37:42

    You crack me up videoing the people eating sandwiches. Guess a watched seagull never swoops, heehee.

    Have you decided what tatoo you are getting. (I have a tiny one myself. I have it in a place I can choose to show it or not.)

    Sarah and I have picked one but we are going to have the tattoo artist change it up for us. As soon as we get that done I will post a picture of it.

    That seagull would not cooperate. Sure, he’ll steal my sandwich and my wasband’s. I think he’s out to get us.

    Reply

  9. Joy
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 16:04:26

    Glad your feeling back to normal (almost). Looks like Murpyy’s law followed you around today. Would haved loved to watch the birds swoop in and take food from someone else. LOL!!!

    I’ll get a video someday of that sandwich eating seagull before the summer’s over (I hope).

    Reply

  10. mrsvierkant
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 22:40:29

    Bummer about the umbrella. It looks like such a nice day there. **sigh** No beaches here, LOL. The yacht is amazing. A waste of money, but amazing, LOL.

    Can you imagine spending $185,000 to rent that thing for a week? If they have that much money to throw away I sure hope they are donating a mess of it to charity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

