Damon Is Fine!! Includes Directions On How To Make Fake Snot!! I Kid You Not!!!

I don’t think the Doctors know what he has but it’s not meningitis.  It probably is just some sort of weird virus.  If it gets worse he’ll go back to the ER. Thanks for all your thoughts, well wishes and prayers.

My cold got a little worse but not by much. Now I have laryngitis.  I try to talk to the kitties and nothing comes out except for some kind of croaking sound.  The kitties don’t care.  They never listen to me anyway.

I just scanned this.  It was with some coupons and I started to throw it away and then I realized what it said. “Cool Science Projects For Kids”  Exactly what is this teaching them?  Though it could be fun to make but I’ve got the real stuff going right now.  I don’t need any fake stuff. I’ve got plenty to spare. There was a coupon for “Spam”.  I’ll pass on that too.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebeadden
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 11:03:33

    Thanks for letting us know, Joan. I was thinking how scared you all must have been! And Damon just got back! I hope you both get better soon.

    I’ve made that slime before for my nephews. It’s horrible and gets everywhere. I swear I was still finding bits months later! Oh well, we had fun.

    Take care.

    Damon feels better today and I think I’m feeling less tired though I didn’t do a thing today but sit.
    I don’t think I’ll be making fake boogers.

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 11:15:09

    Thank goodness he’s okay. Let us know what you find out. Is that the Buffalo as in NY? I was born there.

    Fake snot??? To funny. Grandkids would get a kick out of that I’m sure!!

    Yes, he’s been living in Buffalo since last September in the Elmwood Avenue section. He had a tough winter because he is not a winter person so I think he will head south or to California for the winter. He feels better today he said.

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 11:15:29

    Forgot to add that I hope you feel better too.

    Thanks, Joy. I am so relieved about Damon that I think I feel better no matter what.

    Reply

  4. fightingwindmills
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 12:25:58

    I hope you and Damon are going to feel better soon. I was so worried about him. Meningitis is terribly scary. When I was in high school, a youth group friend in his first year at college died from it.

    Meningitis is scary which is why I made him go back to the ER. I didn’t want him to take any chances. I am so relieved that he doesn’t have it. I’m feeling better too.

    Reply

  5. dropofkim
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 13:22:52

    I’m soooo glad everything is okay. Now about the snot…that’s cool! My hubby makes silly putty type stuff for the girl to play with. I bet they would have a blast making “snot” together. Now I need the recipe for the rubber bones! LOL That’s a funny one Joan!

    I actually scanned the rest of their “science projects” and will post them so you will have directions to make rubber bones, soda pop and green pennies.

    Reply

  6. odette
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 14:30:18

    i hope damon will be fine soon, and you too joan, i’m sending you my prayers!

    Thanks Odette. Both Damon and I are better today.

    Reply

  7. birdpress
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 16:26:33

    Sorry I didn’t read you last post until today. Been busy with wedding invitations. I’m kinda glad though, because it’s like instant gratification when I read that last post and then immediately got to read this one saying he was okay! :)

    I’m really sorry to hear that you are sick. I hope you feel better soon and your voice comes back so you can make some more videos. ;)

    Thank goodness he didn’t have meningitis. What a relief. I’m feeling better today, less tired. He called me late last night and told me he was OK and I fell asleep for 9 hours.

    Reply

  8. writerchick
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 16:31:02

    Thank God. I’m glad he’s okay. But it sounds like you both need to take care of yourselves. I know you’re one of t hose people who takes care of others but be extra nice to you, this week, okay hon?

    love
    Annie

    Thanks, Annie. Damon feels better today and I am feeling less tired after sleeping for 9 hours after I found out he was OK.
    It would be so awesome if you came here next year.

    Love
    Joanie

    Reply

  9. kaylee
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 16:40:08

    Thank god he is better but you get better too ok?

    Thanks Kaylee, I am better today just knowing Damon is OK. At least what they found on your lung wasn’t cancer. I was so happy to hear that.

    Reply

  10. c
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 17:02:12

    Thank God.
    My daughters and i prayed for you and Damon last night and they are relieved to know that he is doing better. My 8 year-old daughter just said a prayer of thanks, then prayed for your laryngitis!

    i think we may make that fake snot. We could play so many pranks! and it will be time spent together in our group love of all things gross.

    Oh, c, that is so sweet of your daughters and you too. That was sweet of your 8 year old too. Her prayers must have worked because my laryngitis is better tonight.

    Let me know if you make the fake snot.

    Reply

  11. Peter Parkour
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 18:49:09

    I’m glad to hear Damon is doing alright, but I’ll be a lot happier when I hear you are both all better. ;)

    Thanks Peter. I do feel better tonight, relieved and less tired. I still sound a little croaky but not as bad as this morning. I’m coughing up a lot of crap but I guess that’s good.

    Reply

  12. tw
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 20:10:39

    Just read about Damon going to ER and am also relieved to read that it is nothing too bad.

    LOL, the snot recipe! We have some boys here who would love to make fake snot, haha.

    Hope you are feeling better very soon yourself, Joan. :)

    I had to post that snot recipe. I noticed the coupons on my desk and laughed so hard when I flipped them over and saw the recipe as I am blowing my nose. I feel so much better today.

    Reply

  13. teeni
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 22:31:40

    I was so relieved to see this headline on your blog in my reader, Joan. I’m hoping both you and Damon are feeling good as new soon. Fake snot? Hmmm. I bet that was the last thing you wanted to see when you realized you had a cold. ;) Feel better soon! Hugs.

    Something in my head is telling me to make that recipe. If I had the ingredients I probably would and I don’t even know why. I guess I will never grow up. I can’t wait to have a grandchild so I can play with toys and make fake snot and have an excuse for doing it.

    Reply

  14. Hannah
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 03:38:45

    Oh Joan, I am SO glad to hear Damon is okay! I’ve been thinking about you lots and lots. Very relieved here.

    Sorry that you’ve now got laryngitis, I know how much that sucks! I hope you are able to rest properly now you are not worried about your boy – I’m sure your thoughts were racing and stopping you from really looking after yourself.

    EWWWW at the fake snot!!

    It was scary to think that he had all the symptoms of meningitis. Thank goodness it turned out to be just a weird virus. I feel so much better today. Thanks for caring.
    I take it you won’t be making fake snot with your kids? Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  15. teeni
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 16:52:35

    If you DO make that recipe then it must be blogged with video and everything. We, your readers, will settle for not less when it comes to fake snot. ;)

    That would be an awesome idea. Sarah could do the filming. I’ll get on it and buy the ingredients today.

    Reply

  16. Wendy
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 15:22:59

    Joan, did they check him for Lyme’s?

    I told him to have them check him for Lyme but I never asked him if they actually did. I’ll ask him today.

    Reply

  17. writerchick
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 20:51:25

    Hey Joanie,
    I’m glad you two are doing better. I am hoping to come out next July to meet up with some other friends and I’m hoping somehow we can make a sidetrip to your little neck of the woods too. Don’t know the area so have no idea what is where, but definitely will check into it as the time approaches.

    Love
    Annie

    That would be so much fun if we could get a bunch of us together. By next July I hope to lose another 50 or 60 pounds. Keep me posted.

    Love,
    Joanie

    Reply

  18. Just a Mom
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 11:56:57

    Gross!! :(

    Glad to hear your son is ok.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

