Sore Throat, A Cold and Tired!

I’ve been wondering why I was so tired the last few days since the concert. Now I know.  Monday morning I woke up with a sore throat and runny nose and chalked it off to allergies which was really a dumbass move because I have never had allergies in my life.  I just didn’t want to have a cold.  It only lasted a short time but Tuesday morning the same thing happened and by Wednesday it was a full blown cold.  At least it answered the question of why I was so tired.  I’m never tired.

I managed to get my post up yesterday but didn’t even leave the house to do my errands and Obie got leftovers for supper.  I called him to tell him that I couldn’t go grocery shopping for his lunch foods and he was way more concerned with how I was.  I think he was still remembering my bout with pneumonia.  I know if this cold gets bad at all the kids will have me at the doctor’s office in seconds.  But I don’t think it will. So far the worst symptom is just being tired. I always feel bad when I can’t do my “chores”. I didn’t even do the dishes.

I’m taking all sorts of herbal potions.  I hope they help get rid of this thing quickly.

I watched three movies yesterday and I never watch TV. I watched Disturbia, The Brave One, and The Shooter.  I didn’t want to take a nap because if I nap I don’t sleep at night.

I wanted to apologize for not answering comments on two of my posts.  I plead tiredness, your honor.

Damon did  post a comment a few days ago thanking everyone for his Happy Birthday wishes.  He is back in Buffalo.  I think he would have liked to stay in Alaska until winter.  He loved it there.  But now it is back to reality.

Maybe this afternoon I will post Chapter 3 of my Martha’s Vineyard extravaganza.

I’ll leave you with a couple of photos from Damon’s Alaskan Trip.

Mt. McKinley is in the backround.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dropofkim
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 11:39:51

    Oh my goodness, you partied your little self out! You rocked the house Joan! Awesome pictures of your sons travels in Alaska. I would love to visit there someday. I hope you get well very soon. Get on the ecenacia and chicken soup!

    I think you’re right. I partied myself sick. I’ve always wanted to go to Alaska. I’m taking all sorts of herbal potions including echinacea. I’m too tired to make chicken soup.

    Reply

  2. birdpress
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 12:21:15

    Aww, I hope you feel better soon! Of course everyone is more concerned with how you are feeling than whether or not you get the chores done! They love you and worry about you.

    I did do the dishes yesterday. I just couldn’t stand looking at them. I also had to drive to the drugstore to pick up my high blood pressure meds which I was completely out of. But that is all I did yesterday.

    Reply

  3. c
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 12:31:52

    Rest and take good care of you. i hope you feel better soon, Noni!

    Damon looks very happy. Alaska has been on my husband’s mind lately. He’d like to live there at some point. i’ve heard it’s stunning. Anyway, i’m glad he had his time away, in nature. Nature really heals the soul.

    Damon said it was the most beautiful place he has ever seen and he has done some traveling. He loves nature. He is a definite “Nature Boy”.

    Reply

  4. Joy
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 12:33:55

    I sure hope you feel better soon. Colds just stink. Your not “really” sick but just feel like s***. They knock you out. Love the kitten on your header this morning. Is it yours? Darling. I’m a cat lover. Also loved the pics of your son. What beautiful scenery. Have a good weekend Joan and take it easy until you feel better. There are MUCH worse things than leftovers. The only person who probably cares is you.

    You’re exactly right about a cold. If I was still working I would have gone to work. Thank goodness I can stay home now and indulge myself when I’m not feeling up to par. No, that is not my kitty. I just thought the pic was so cute. I have three black cats. If I brought home another kitty I think my daughter would put me and the cats out on the street. My Son-in-law is great about food. He will literally eat anything that is put in front of him and if there is nothing put in front of him he will actually make his own food. He’s quite a good cook.

    Reply

  5. writerchick
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 13:29:17

    Oh, poor girl. You rest up and take care of yourself. Try some garlic tablets, they are a natural antibiotic and pull the toxins out of you. We’ll see you when you’re feeling better sweetie.
    hugs & jugs
    Annie

    I am taking a lot of herbal potions. I forgot I used to take garlic tabs everyday. I should start doing that again. I’m glad you reminded me. Thanks.

    Hugs & Jugs
    Joanie

    Reply

  6. mrsvierkant
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 16:11:23

    (((Hugs))) Sorry you are sick. I hope you feel better really soon.

    I don’t mind the cold. I just don’t like being tired. I have too much I like to do and just don’t like sitting around doing nothing because I’m tired.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 16:41:52

    Don’t hold back, get yourself plenty of rest. You can get back on a regular sleeping schedule when you’re feeling better. I’d love to go to Alaska at some point in time. It’ll have to wait until after Hawaii, and I don’t know when that will ever happen. 😐 Some day. 😉

    My daughter’s best friend is in Hawaii as we speak. She keeps sending us these beautiful photos. I actually did take a nap yesterday. I didn’t mean to but I fell sound asleep in my chair for two hours and I still slept last night for about 9 hours. Some day I am going to travel. I don’t know where I am going to get the money but I will figure out a way.

    Reply

  8. thebeadden
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 17:26:55

    Sorry about your cold, Joan. Chores can wait! Those pictures of Alaska are beautiful! and I love the quote. Take care of yourself, better yet, have someone else take care of you!. 🙂

    I’m glad Damon’s girlfriend, Anna, took a photo of that quote. I wish there was someone around to take care of me. Sarah is on the Island for 5 days this time because they are having a big sale. The wasband is at his girlfriend’s house and the son-in-law is working late every day now. This is his busiest season of the year. At least the house is quiet and I don’t have to cook.

    Reply

  9. teeni
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 23:12:36

    You take it easy and take care of yourself. I hope you are over it quickly though. Best of health to you, Joan! Wow – those pics of Damon and his girlfriend are amazing. This is certainly an experience of a lifetime for them. I’m so glad he sends you pics that you share with us in case we never get to go there ourselves. Thanks, buddy! 🙂

    I’d love to go to Alaska. Damon said it is the most beautiful place ever. So far they have sent me 250 photos with more to come.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

