Chapter 2: The Concert & Dumbass Videos!

Sunday was the day of the concert. Sarah, me and her two bosses were all volunteering.  We all got these nice polo shirts from Vineyard Vines.  We got to the venue and unfortunately missed my favorite local band, “Entrain”.  One of Sarah’s Bosses M and I were in charge of a table selling premier seating at $350 a seat.  With that you got to sit up front on a nice cushioned seat, free hors d’oeuvres, wine, beer, and your own toilets. We sold a pair of tickets to the guy that hosts the Clintons when they come to the island.

We were supposed to work 4 hours but Sarah’s other boss C arranged it so that I only had to work two hours so I wouldn’t miss the concert because we were stationed pretty far from the stage.  She and Sarah worked the full 4 hours and then some.

I got to sit in the disabled area which was just as close to the stage as the $350 seats except there was a fence separating us.  The cool thing was, there was a nice waitress on the other side of the fence handing out appetizers and she kept slipping some over the fence to me.  C kept handing us beer over the fence too. They had vendors selling food and Sarah got us some sushi when she was done her volunteering which was in time for the main part of the concert.

I promised Sarah there would be no yelling (at dumbasses, though I could yell at the music), no biting (I wanted to at one point) and no caning ( I could have done that about 20 times but a promise is a promise).

This is a 10 second video of me saying Hi!

The tables in this photo seated 10 people and cost $10,000 a piece.  Keep in mind, profits went to local charities.  These people had the best service.

This is dumbass video # 1 which I narrate.

This is dumbass video #2 which I don’t narrate.  This woman had paid $350 for a cushy seat and instead decided to block my view and dance in front of me. This went on for a while.  I had promised Sarah I would be a good girl and not yell at anyone so I kept my mouth shut. Finally someone else who had paid that much money for a cushy seat decided he was sick of watching her dance and asked her to sit down. Kate Taylor (James Taylor’s sister) is singing. She was terrific too.

Sarah’s two bosses, C and M and me.

This is The Neville Brothers featuring Aaron Neville singing “Ain’t Got no Sunshine”.  It is the full song but even if you don’t want to watch the whole thing it’s worth listening to a few seconds.  Aaron is awesome.

Sarah and me

This is a small excerpt of Keith Lockhart and The Boston Pops doing a song from West Side Story.  Up until 1995 John Williams was the conductor for the Boston Pops. He did the music from “Star Wars” and many other famous movies.

This is a small excerpt from Gladys Knight

This is Sarah and I later when we got back to her apartment on her porch showing off our costumes we wore for volunteering. (Anything that isn’t jeans and a T-shirt is a costume to me).

We had a great day and evening.  Sarah’s bosses were wonderful to me and treated me like royalty. I wouldn’t have had half as much fun without them.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 17:21:12

    Love the Aaron Neville clip. I wanted to reach through the screen and smack the hand, plus that girl upside the head. Good for them, I couldn’t do that. Hahaha. Looks like a total blast. Glad you had fun.

    Aaron Neville, to me, was the best part of the whole concert. I wanted to cane them both but I promised Sarah I’d be good.

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 17:54:54

    I’ve been waiting for these video’s. They’re great. I found the woman dancing the most annoying. Did she think she was in her shower or what (dumbass!)? The hand just as bad but he didn’t think I’m sure. Those are awfully nice shirts too. What fun. I’m so glad you had fun. Sarah’s apt looks very cute.

    Sarah’s apartment is great and her bosses pay for it. I think the woman dancing was hoping everyone was watching her. She seemed to think she was being cool when in fact she was a DUMBASS. I love the shirts. When we were handed the shirts at the meeting the $62 price tag was still on them and one woman said “I never pay $62 for anything”. Of course I had to pipe up and say “Yes you do, gasoline!”.

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 19:25:19

    It looks & sounds like you had such a great time!! You guys look great in your costumes – you both suit pink! 🙂

    Pink and shades of of pink have always suited us both with our skin color which is the same. We loved our costumes and had a wonderful time.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 19:45:10

    Loved the dumbass vids! I’m glad you had a good time. 🙂

    I looked for dumbass people everywhere but those two were all I found. Oh, except for the two women who got kicked out of the disabled area because they weren’t disabled. I didn’t get that on video. Even after they were caught they didn’t want to leave. They were trying to make room for about 50 or so special needs kids. Kids who were really disabled in many different ways and who deserved great seats. They had so much fun.

    Reply

  5. javaqueen14
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 20:05:50

    I nearly pee’d myself when I watched the video of that woman standing in front of you swaying to the music. Hilarious. They really are in their own world, just oblivious to the rest of us, eh? FUNNY AS HELL THOUGH.
    Love the dumb ass cam, makes me laugh like cray-zay Joanie!

    That woman thought she was a “hot shit”. I just thought she was a shit.

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 20:43:46

    Aaron Neville! I love him. Look at all those wonderful singers you got to see! I would have been so excited. You are a lucky woman.

    Thank you so much for sharing this, Joan. Wow Martha’s Vineyard. Too cool.’

    Aaron Neville was the best part of the show. I have always wanted to see him. Have you ever heard his Christmas album? It is our favorite and that’s pretty much all we play at Christmas over and over again.

    Reply

  7. sheng
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 21:20:40

    Hahaha, that lady dancing was funny, really… weird, she didn’t think of those behind her?

    I guess some people only think of themselves and the heck with everyone else. I don’t understand that attitude.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 22:09:23

    I think the woman dancing just had too much to drink so she wasn’t being considerate at all. That is one thing I don’t like about alcohol. It lets the uninhibited dumbasses out in droves. LOL. That man with his hand was also a jerk. I can’t believe he didn’t even hear you and take the hint. But well, it sounds like despite all of that, you had an awesome time and a wonderful show! The best video is of you waving and saying hi! 🙂

    If you noticed she was holding a glass of wine. I had wondered too, how many she had consumed. I had two beers which was plenty and that was over a period of about 4 hours. You are right about one thing, nothing could have spoiled the wonderful time I had. Sarah snuck that video on me. All of a sudden she’s telling me to say Hi.

    Reply

  9. kaylee
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 22:41:57

    I love joan and Sarah thats all!

    Well, thank you Kaylee. I hope you are doing OK.

    Reply

  10. Peter Parkour
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 02:30:13

    Good company, good food and drinks, and only a few dumbasses. Sounds like a wonderful time overall. 😉

    It was a great time. Actually, mostly everyone I came across were really nice people. The sushi was so good too. All the food vendors were from good local restaurants.

    Reply

  11. The Vinyl Villager
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 09:18:19

    Looks like a great evening! The last pic of you and Sarah is great!

    Thank you VV. That’s my favorite pic too. That’s why I saved it for last besides the fact that it was the last one we took using the self-timer. We were both so tired after that we went right to sleep.

    Reply

  12. Barbara
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 11:41:21

    Great videos, Sister J. I especially love the one of the obliviot dancing. SIT DOWN, DUMBASS.

    Sister B

    I wish you would have been with me. You would have had the whole crowd under control. No one messes with my sister.

    Sister J

    Reply

  13. jeanny
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 14:52:13

    what is that woman thinkinG??? If I were there I would shout at her to take her seat…hahaha

    Have an awesome day Joan.

    I wanted to yell at her but I promised my daughter I would be good and not yell at anyone. If you would have been with me you could have yelled for me so I wouldn’t have gotten into trouble with my daughter.

    Reply

  14. mrsvierkant
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 16:17:51

    It sounds like a wonderful time! Terrific pictures and the videos were great. I think the dancing woman had too much wine, LOL. Glad that you had fun!

    I think you are right about the dancing woman. She refilled that glass she was holding a few too many times.

    Reply

  15. duskydi
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 00:28:52

    I love Kaylee’s comment.

    Wow !!

    The festival looks amazing. I can’t believe the seats and tickets were so much money. It was quiet a posh festival wasn’t puts my festivals to shame. It looks amazing – wish I was there. You look all grown up and responsible in your ‘outfit’ You and Sarah look so happy together you glow like one. So radient.
    I love Gladys knight. I love you say hi on the video for some reason made me roll of my chair laughing.Your video’s do make me laugh Joan, so natural and easy.
    You are indeed a star. I have a feeling your gonna be on telly soon and what a nice little ticket stall you had to sit in.
    What does Sarah and her bosses work as ? Nice to see you Joan.

    Smiles, Funs & Mums
    Di

    I read the local newspaper the next day and local people were complaining about the high prices of the tickets. If you wanted to bring a family of four to enjoy a concert it would cost you $300 and that’s for the bring your own chair section. That’s why Sarah and I volunteered so we could get in for free. Sarah’s bosses own a jewelry store on the Island. They’ve owned it for 42 years. This is a link to their website http://www.cbstark.com. If you go to the “About Us” section you will see a section about Sarah.

    Reply

  16. thebeadden
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 11:10:49

    I don’t have the Aaron Neville Christmas CD. I’ll look for it this year though. I do have one of his songs. I think it is called “O Holy Night”

    I get goosebumps when he sings the line : Oh night divine…

    I can hear him now singing those words. It’s worth getting the Christmas Cd. It’s awesome.

    Reply

  17. romi41
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 22:21:39

    Hahahaha….Oh my gosh I LOVED your dumbass videos! I SO thought you had won when the guy moved his hand off, but it was probably just to pick his nose or something, ’cause then he put it right back!

    And the dumb-ass woman was a joke, she wasn’t even swaying in tune with the music…LOL…what a
    LOSER! 😉

    OMG, he probably did pick his nose. I’ll have to inspect the video closer to see if there are boogers on his fingers. That dumbass woman was a joke and the jokes on her because now she is on You Tube.

    Reply

  18. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 23:07:50

    Damn, you are so much fun. How nice was it that you got free treats and beer, and that you got good seats to the festival, too. Never been to Vinyard, but it sre looks nice …..

    You would love the Vineyard. There is no Wal Mart or fast food joints. It’s just beautiful. I can’t wait to stay with Sarah again.

    Reply

  19. Wendy
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 15:05:33

    LOVED THIS POST. In the video of the woman dancing, for a minute there it looked like she was signaling for Kate Taylor to refill her wine glass. Didn’t it? Didn’t it?

    I went back to watch the video and it did and she probably was. Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  20. Just a Mom
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 11:52:36

    It looks like you had a great time. I love Aaron Neville. I saw him perform th National Anthem at Indy for the 1st Formula One race they held there!

    Reply

Leave a comment