I Have So Much To Blog About! I’ll Do It In Chapters So As Not To Bore You! Oh, And Cane-Fu Fighting!

Chapter 4

Notice I’m skipping to chapter 4.  Sarah has a lot of the photos and video of the concert on the Vineyard on her camera and she won’t be home until tomorrow night.  I will download them then and write chapters 2 & 3.  Chapter One I did in my last post. It’s sort of like “Star Wars”, you know how George Lucas started  “Star Wars” with Chapter 4.  My weekend wasn’t any “Star Wars” but it was great.

I’m going to write about last night’s concert.   The Wasband took me,  his ex-girlfriend Meg,  Meg’s daughter Lauren  and the Wasband’s current girlfriend ,Leslie.  We saw Coco Montoya, a jazz/blues guitarist and singer.  It was at Chan’s in Woonsocket R.I. which happens to be the French-Canadian town I was born in.

We ate Chinese food during the concert and had a table right at the stage.  It was a small venue, maybe 150 people. We really had the best seats in the house thanks to Meg who got there first.

This is the Wasband, the three women in his life and Coco Montoya.

Meg, the ex-girlfriend, Leslie, the current girlfriend, the Wasband, Coco Montoya and Yours Truly.

This is me asking Coco for a photo op and I tell him who I am with and he, kiddingly, says “Man, I’m not getting in the middle of that.”  He is a great guy.

This is me attempting to dance after a few drinks. I think at that point more people were looking at me than at Coco.

“THREE LADIES AND A MAN” Sounds like the title of a TV sitcom.

This is a short Video I did Of Coco.  It’s just an excerpt of 1min. 17 sec.

I just heard from my sister about Cane-Fu Fighting.  They are teaching it to senior citizens for self defense. I’ve been doing it for years. I knew it would catch on.  At least now I have a name for it.

JOAN–MASTER AT CANE-FU FIGHTING!!!!

Here is a link to a recent article on Cane-Fu in the Wall Street Journal about it.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. c
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 19:10:47

    Your wasband obviously has it going surrounded by all you ladies. 🙂

    i am always impressed with how close you and wasband are. Not many are so mature in dealing with exes, but you two really are friends. i admire that very much! He seems like a nice feller.

    You were getting down with your bad self! 🙂 It looks like you had a great time. i’m so glad.

    The wasband is a good guy. I just don’t want to be married to him. I had a fabulous time. I definitely was getting down with my bad self. I don’t do that too often.

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 20:11:01

    As soon as I started reading my mind went straight to Star Wars. 😉 Great minds don’tcha know. :mrgreen: Great pics and video clip. I sounded pretty good. I’m not familiar with Coco, but he sounds kinda classic rockish. I’d start consulting a lawyer if I were you, to see about getting some royalties from the Cane-Fu Fighting. 😛

    I knew you would catch on immediately. We are too cool. I agree. I’ve been doing the Cane-Fu for a long time. Coco is no spring chicken but he got the whole place rockin’.

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 20:44:15

    Oh, what a blast! This looks like you had so much fun! I’m so glad you got up to dance! And that is awesome about cane-fu fighting! Doesn’t matter what they call it – I’ll always think of you when it comes up. 🙂

    I don’t know if you could call it dancing exactly. It was more like swaying to the cane. I’m definitely a Cane-Fu Mama.

    Reply

  4. threeboys1mommy
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 23:10:56

    I know people right LOL so often you probably don’t know what to make of it, but when I read chapter 4 I scrolled down, furrowed my brow then thought well let me read this she probably has an explanation. LAUGH AT LOUD at your Star Wars analogy. Glad you enjoyed yourself.

    I’m a Star Wars fanatic. I had a blast that night. I want to go to more concerts.

    Reply

  5. tw
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 23:29:30

    Cane-fu fighting! ROFL – you should of patented it Joan!

    That cracks me up what the singer said about not getting in the middle of that photo.

    Just love the photo of you dancing. You look so happy and like you are enjoying yourself to the max.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog today. What you said really touched my heart, Joan.xxxx

    (have to watch the video a bit later our band width is not very good today)

    Well, if I can’t be the “Queen of the Universe” I can at least be the “Queen of Cane-Fu”

    I had a great time that night with great company.

    I was so close to my dad too so I think I understand how you feel.

    Reply

  6. mrsvierkant
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 23:33:46

    “Cane-Fu Fighting” that’s great! I think it was made just for you.

    Love the pictures and the music. I can see why you were dancing. I would be too.

    I love your Meez by the way. 😀

    I’m going to be the greatest Cane-Fu fighter ever. They will have to have a new Olympic event for it: A bunch of old people whacking the hell out of muggers.

    I could only dance for a minute and I wasn’t actually moving my feet but it was fun.

    Reply

  7. kaylee
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 00:05:12

    Love that aretucle and and I am writing a post on nude fish tomorrow one of teenis post prompted me p write it so all you that dare look for it!what fun!

    I will go over and read your post. Nude fish?

    Reply

  8. writerchick
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 01:50:00

    LOL Joanie, you got Coco as your header now. I can’t believe you got to see him in such a small venue – I love him. Loved the cane dancing too – wonderful, dahlling. Aw, looks like you had a great time. I’m so glad.
    Hugs & Jugs,
    Annie

    I think you are the first person who has actually heard of him. He was great and got everyone rockin’. It was a wicked cool time especially because it was in the town where I was born and haven’t been there in years.

    Hugs & Jugs
    Joanie

    Reply

  9. fightingwindmills
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:10:58

    Trippy music, Joan. Those photos are excellent. I’m glad you went ahead and blogged “chapter 4” ahead of the others. I’m off to read the Wall Street Journal article now. 🙂

    I can’t wait until my daughter gets home so I can get the rest of the photos and video and post parts 2 & 3.

    Reply

  10. Joy
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:27:53

    These are all such great photo’s. I’m happier than I can say that you had such a good time. I’m happy you can still be close to your wasband. It shows such love. I love that you danced and had cocktails. I love mostly how real you are and that you show it. Can’t wait to see and hear more.

    Thanks, Joy. The wasband is a special guy. He is extremely loyal and a great Dad. He also has a wicked sense of humor. I don’t know if I was really dancing but I was on my feet and rockin’.

    Reply

  11. Just a Mom
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:47:57

    Love the photos. I have to say I have never heard of Coco Montoya but he is very good! It looks like you had a great time!

    You should give lessons on Cane-Fu Fighting or better yet you could start a cane dancing class!
    🙂

    There is just so much more to a cane than meets the eye. I hadn’t though of cane dancing. Yes, I had a wonderful time. You can tell I don’t get out often. Though, this summer I have been getting out a lot thanks to my wonderful family and friends.

    Reply

  12. theramblinghousewife
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 13:53:39

    I’m still trying to wrap my mind around this “Wasbend”

    He truly must be “some guy.” 🙂

    The wasband is a wonderful guy. He is loyal and funny and a wonderful Dad. I just don’t want to be married or even in a relationship. I’m too selfish. I tend to do what I want, when I want without having to worry about anyone else. He likes being in a relationship and I am glad that he has found someone he cares for. I am also glad that he will always be a part of my life and we will always be friends.

    Reply

  13. duskydi
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:08:29

    Hi Joan,

    You are glowing. You loko so happy and what a mover. Whoo Hoo !! I love the cane dance. OH ! I’d like to dance a cane right round my sons arse right now but thats another story.

    It’s great the you and wasband are great friends. So happy to hear you had a great time Joan.

    Love
    Di

    That was a great night. I was probably glowing in the dark. I wasn’t actually moving as much as swaying.

    Reply

  14. thebeadden
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 23:37:05

    Joan, I am so happy you had a great time! You look so happy. I can’t wait to hear about your trip and see the rest of the pictures.
    Your whole family is awesome. It would make a great reality show! The wasband, girlfriends, children and Joan. Now there is a show I’d watch! You’re half way there already.

    I can actually imagine us doing a reality show. Kind of like the Osbornes only even weirder but in a good way. Lately I am just having a great time.

    Reply

  15. Red
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 23:47:29

    you are too much, joan.
    this post is priceless! the pictures are beautiful, and you’re one awesome individual . . though you already know that!!

    Thank you, Red. I don’t know how awesome I am but I do try to have a good time. You only live once and I am going to make the best of it.

    Reply

  16. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 00:46:33

    I love that you, your ex, his ex, and his current lady can all go out together and enjoy a night at the club. You all need to have your own reality tv show, and I’d watch about it and blog about it faithfully!!!

    Well, maybe some famous producer will read my blog and put us on a reality show and you can be our publicist.

    Reply

  17. duskydi
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 01:27:37

    Yer Joan,

    You could make a show. Easy. I was smiling away looking at the pictures and thought of course people would look at you Joan to Coco.

    I think that you would always be the star of the show where ever you go Joan.

    You make me smile so much, your just happy all over and man can you see it. It oozes from you. With you Joan and this blog you can really sense who you are and your so free and allowing as to who you are.

    Thanks for allowing us to see Joan in this unique way you give her to us. I love Joan. She’s great. Do you love Joan Joan. Smiling.

    Lovely Joan have a fun day.
    Di.

    I love how annie calls you Joan of Fun.

    You could be allsorts of Joans of…..

    Aww!

    Joans of Mum. I love that.
    Di X

    Oh, thanks Di. You are so sweet to write all those nice things. I’m blushing if that’s possible because my face is always sort of red.

    Reply

  18. trishatruly
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 07:22:55

    Damn you, Joan! I now have that song “Kung Fu Fighting” stuck in my head but with the words switched to “Cane Fu Fighting”!! :8O:
    Do you know how beautiful you are, my dear friend? You have such a glow about you! Do more dancing! It brings out the joy in you.

    That dancing business (even though I only sway) is also good exercise. I think I should become a Cane-Fu fighting teacher at the senior center. I suppose I would have to learn properly how to do it so my students wouldn’t get caned themselves. I think I’m beginning to glow in the dark (probably from too many X-rays and MRIs).

    Reply

  19. birdpress
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 07:28:02

    Great pictures! You all look like a fun group. Did you accidentally whack anyone with that cane you were swinging around? You could do some damage in a mosh pit. 😉

    I managed to control my cane which doesn’t always happen. I could definitely do some damage in a mosh pit. I would probably crush them all. We had a great time that night.

    Reply

  20. dropofkim
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 09:27:33

    Way to rock the house Joan!!!

    I don’t know what has gotten into me but I have been rockin’ all summer.

    Reply

  21. odette
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 14:33:44

    oh, i would love to learn cane-fu fighting!!! of course, only from the original master, joanharvest!!! 🙂

    this is a fun post, and what a cute bunch you make, the wasband and the girls. 🙂

    I think I should become a cane-fu teacher. I’m checking it out around here. I’m glad you enjoyed this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

