I Leave Tomorrow For Martha’s Vineyard! Also Tomorrow is my 39th Wedding Anniversery!!

So tomorrow starts my big three day weekend on the Vineyard.

The concert will be in Oak Bluffs.  I will be selling tickets in the VIP area. I will have my camera ready.  Hopefully everyone will be nice to me.  I don’t want to deal with any dumbasses and I’m sure they don’t want to be on You Tube.

You’d think I was flying across the world instead of taking a 45 minute boat ride to an island 5 miles away.  I have lists and then more lists.

My lists.  See if you can make sense of them.

Obie will take me to the boat and get me on with my wheelchair and luggage and Sarah will meet me on the other side and help me off the boat.  I will have to walk up a rather large hill because it would be too hard for her to push me in the wheelchair but I can stop and sit in the wheel chair to rest.   Hopefully I won’t roll back all the way down the hill at high speed and end up in the ocean.  But if I do I’ll have Sarah take a video of it.

My childhood friend Nancy and her whole family, coincidentally, are going to be on the Island on Monday so we will have lunch with them.  She’ll have her first new (5 months old) grandchild with her. I can’t wait to see him.  We will eat at the Seafood Shanty.

Saturday night we will go to dinner with Sarah’s two bosses.  That will be fun too.  I don’t know where we are going to dinner.

Then to top it all off tomorrow is my 39th wedding anniversary.  That is if I was still married.  But the Wasband and I are going to celebrate it on Monday night along with his ex-girlfriend, Meg, and his currant girlfriend, Leslie.  He is taking us all to see Coco Montoya, a blues guitarist at Chan’s in Woonsocket, R.I., the town I was born in.  We’ll have dinner there too. That will be fun too because we all get along great. I don’t know too many guys who could pull that off and have all the women be happy.

Sarah and Wasband at her wedding 4 years ago

The wasband and I at our wedding 39 years ago tomorrow.

I’m going to my weight watchers meeting in the morning. I was going to skip it but I shouldn’t.  It will remind me how to eat in restaurants so I don’t screw up.  Then I will take the 1:00 PM boat out of Woods Hole. I’ll take lots of photos and video.  I might be able to blog on Sarah’a laptop to keep you all up to date.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CuriousC
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 15:19:30

    Have fun! We eagerly await hearing about all the dumbasses you encounter. and happy anniversary with the Wasband?

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 15:41:04

    That Wasband is one sly fox. Ah to have such skills. 😛 Have a wonderful time. I am totally not familiar with the cape area and I really liked the maps you included.

    Reply

  3. threeboys1mommy
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 15:47:08

    Oh my! I hope you don’t roll in the ocean… but if you do make double extra sure Sarah is filming :D. I’m hoping to hit the beach too, I’ll take lots of pictures so we can compare our coasts. Have fun.

    Reply

  4. risingangel
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 16:06:54

    Wow! Sly Wasband!
    Love your blog – I’ll be back!

    http://www.cloudnyne.weebly.com

    Reply

  5. Damon
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 16:43:01

    Thanks to all who wished me a happy birthday. It was my best one yet. Alaska is amazing. Mom, I love you dearly and have fun on the Vineyard.

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 17:48:26

    I’m not normally a jealous person but when I read your title about leaving for the Vineyard tomorrow I threw up a little in my mouth. But I seriously do hope you have a helluva fantastic time.
    And Happy Anniversary! I hope someone’s made the wasband aware that the traditional/symbolic gift for 39th anniversaries is lace. But take heart, 40 is RUBIES.

    Reply

  7. Hannah
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 17:48:40

    Thanks for the maps – I needed to learn more about your area! I hope you have a great weekend on Martha’s Vineyard!

    Happy quasi-anniversary … I do think your wasband is pretty amazing, managing to take his current girlfriend, ex-girlfriend and ex-wife out all at the same time, to celebrate together! He has some skill! 😉

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 22:11:10

    You totally cracked me up with the “going down the hill but taking a video!!” Joan, have fun. I’m green with envy. I would love to be a mouse in the corner at this one. Love the pics and happy anniversary. What a nice looking couple.

    Reply

  9. tw
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 23:23:43

    LOL about the Wasband.

    Whenever I heard about a concert at Martha’s Vineyard over the years (various recordings) I naturally assumed it was an actual vineyard, not a whole island. So thanks for posting the maps to put me right. 🙂

    Please, please, do not end up in the ocean. I for one would miss you and am looking forward to hearing all about the concert. You have a blast, Joan.

    PS. you looked gorgeous on your wedding day. You and Sarah are very alike.

    Reply

  10. thebeadden
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 23:28:17

    Wow, Joan! All these wonderful things happening at once. I see Damon left a message here too! I wonder what it is like in Alaska. It must be a pretty interesting place.
    Martha’s Vineyard! Awesome. I can’t wait until you share your trip with us. That’s something most of us will never see. (Well, me anyway)
    Happy Wasiversary! Have a great trip.

    Reply

  11. teeni
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 23:49:47

    Wow. Not only does the wasband still get along with you, but also an ex-girlfriend and current girlfriend? I had to laugh. But really, it is amazing and inspiring. I know a good friend of mine who is still friends with his ex wife and his ex girlfriend and his current wife also gets along with them. I thought they were the only ones like that. Anyway, I hope you have a blast. I could read everything on your list but am guessing that WW meant Weight Watchers. You have awesome willpower and I hope you can send me some. 🙂 Have a blast Joanie – I can’t wait to hear all about it when you return!

    Reply

  12. Hay
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 01:51:41

    Lol Joan, roll into the ocean! Oh my! You crack me UP. Have a wonderful, relaxing time.

    Reply

  13. duskydi
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 02:00:57

    Ha !! Down the hill backwards.Make sure you have clean knickers on coz theres not nor surer you’ll be showing em.

    I was looking for Key west on you map. Maybe it’s not in Cape Cod,maybe it’s in Miami eh !

    Hi Damon. You don’t know me but I just saw that you left a comment and wated to say hi and to ask you if you could post me a piece of that salmon you caught the other day.

    Have a great time Joan. VIP area – very posh. Follow the famous people and ask for interviews. Would love to see you interviewing forest gump. Him walking and you in your wheelchair. To funny.

    Smiles & Love
    Di

    Reply

  14. kaylee
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 02:53:56

    Have fun 😛

    Reply

  15. javaqueen
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 03:04:02

    Seems like ya got all your ducks in a row JH! You know, if everyone got along with their ex’s this well; it’d be a much better world. Personally, I think it’s an amazing story. To have gone through so much together and still remain so close is a testimony to what a superb human being you are.

    Have a fun weekend! Please do not fall 😉 Oh, and be sure to take those valium – never leave home without them 😉

    Reply

  16. museditions
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 03:40:50

    I’m starting to “get” you. And a little bit the “wasband”. What amazes me is how open-minded the new girlfriend apparently is. This is just awesome, and you are an amazing family.
    Of course I wish you will have much fun!
    And, you crack me up muchly. You’re the only one I know who posts her post-its in a post! 😀

    Reply

  17. dropofkim
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 09:20:40

    Don’t forget to make muffins!!! It was on your list, and had a whole post-it to itself, so I thought that was VERY important. It is to me! Make muffins! Oh and have a totally wonderful time! How exciting for you! About Wasband…I just can’t believe it. Is it his skill or is it the fact that he has been with amazing ladies?

    Reply

  18. jeanny
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 12:56:23

    Happy anniversary Joan. Have fun!

    Take care

    Reply

  19. duskydi
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 12:57:49

    I love the unity that you and the wasband /isband have. It’s beautiful. After all’s said and done he is the father to you children and your best friend. I wonder if the ladies get jelaous. It’s a bit of a funny carry on isin’t. Smiling – All of you for dinner. I bet his new girl friends have got some getting their head round it to do.

    He is a bit sexy isin’t he. I prefer him older to younger. I love the pictures Joan. How come you can get old pictures on your computer ? You both look so tiny on your wedding day. aww!!

    Happy Was/Is annevasary. Have a ball- do it all and talk to everybody.Share your smiles and love Joan. You got it all going on girl.

    Try and find me a famous boyfriend if you can – much apprieacated.

    Love
    Di

    Reply

  20. Sueellen
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 11:56:12

    LOL – love the wasband and how you all get along! Have a wonderful weekend and I love your lists! I can’t live without my lists!

    Reply

  21. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 20:32:23

    It’s great that you and the Wasband are still friends … which just shows how cool a person you are. Can’t wait to see your pictures … never been there, but it looks fantastic! Jealous!

    Reply

  22. romi41
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 23:42:30

    I hope you’re having a great weekend, and you are truly unique, to celebrate your anniversary with the “was”band…but who wouldn’t wanna hang with you? 😉

    Reply

  23. theramblinghousewife
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 23:59:34

    Love the wedding pictures!

    Your Wasband must be quite the man! I don’t know of any man who could pull that off!

    Reply

  24. mrsvierkant
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 08:42:19

    I hope you have a wonderful time and I can’t wait to read all about it. I hope you don’t roll down that hill in your wheelchair, LOL.

    Reply

  25. Just a Mom
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 11:34:34

    I hope you didn’t roll into the ocean! 🙂

    Happy Un-Anniversary! I hope you and the wasband have a good time!

    Reply

  26. laura
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 13:38:16

    Love the wedding picture, it’s better than mine abut I hope my ex threw ours out. I was at a picnic this weekend and a woman introduced the man who was with her as her friend, but later on (after talking with us for a while) she told us that he is her ex-husband, that they are still friends, and that it’s just not worth telling most people as no one ‘gets it’. I, of course, immediately told her about you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

