Two Days Of Fun In The Sun!! Wasband Has Sandwich Stolen By a Seagull!! Damon in Alaska!!

Oh, I so wish I had video of the Wasband on Sunday.  We all decided to go to the beach:  Me, Sarah, Obie, Wasband and his friend Leslie.  Sarah had to leave to go get Obie.  Leslie and Barry decided to eat their sandwiches.  I warned them of the dire consequences of doing this on the beach with those extremely aggressive FREAKIN’ SEAGULLS flying around.  He hadn’t taken one bite of his sandwich and a seagull swooped in from behind him, landed on his leg and swiped his sandwich.  I could hardly breath I was laughing so much.  I tried to video tape the after shock that Barry seemed to be going through but I was so hysterically laughing I forgot to turn the camera on. Just remember, I did not refer to anyone as a dumbass but it sure wasn’t the seagull.

After the beach we had to go to a memorial concert.  Our next door neighbor’s ( the ones I have lived near for 34 years and actually speak to) son passed away a few weeks ago.  He was only 45 years old.  I’d known him since he was eleven. He was a rock musician. His birthday was yesterday and they held a party anyway as a benefit. Lots of people came to honor him. There were about 5 bands and we ended up staying for three hours. They were selling 2 freshly grilled hamburgers, with chips, potato salad, baked beans for $5. I didn’t eat anything.  I did have 2 Bud Lights but I counted the points.

The motorcycle guys

One of the bands.  We sat way in the back.  It was very, very loud.

Sarah’s knees, Leslie and the Wasband

Today, Sarah and I went to the beach again.  We went to a different beach and the seagulls weren’t so bad so we carefully ate our sandwiches and none were stolen.  I didn’t have my camera with me because I forgot to charge the battery.

Oh, and on Sunday after the wasband’s sandwich was stolen, a woman came up to us and said the same thing just happened to her husband.

So I had a busy two days and am now behind in my comments.  I’ll catch up soon.

Damon’s girlfriend, Anna,  just sent me 250 photos of them and Alaska. I will post two now but write a post about their adventures soon.  Damon and his girlfriend Anna both left comments on here.  I cried when I read them. I’m such a baby.

Damon loves catching salmon.

I don’t know why sitting at the beach makes me so tired, but it does, so I will catch up with evreyone tomorrow.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mrsvierkant
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 22:54:48

    What wonderful pictures of your son and his girlfriend.

    Beaches make me tired too. I think it’s the sun. Vitamin D overdose, maybe? LOL

    My those seagulls are vicious aren’t they? Yikes…

    I’m happy to see my son so happy. Well, I’d rather OD on Vitamin D than anything else. These are definitely vicious seagulls.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 23:15:07

    Your son and his girlfriend look wonderful and happy together. What a great fish they caught! I keep laughing thinking of how the seagulls are getting pretty brazen, stealing everyone’s sandwiches. Those are gonna be some fat seagulls.

    The seagulls are horrible. I watched them steal a bag of Smart Food Popcorn from a little girl and she just cried and cried. Damon and Anna are having a great time in Alaska.

    Reply

  3. laura
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 23:18:41

    Your poor Wasband (you could also call him your Hasband!) Those seagulls live by their own rules! I have pictures of a seagull being totally sacreligious and pooping all over the Captain statue (They that go down to the sea in ships) in Massachusettes, but the name of the town is totally eluding me at this time (it’s called too much Bourbon, folks). If we acted like them, we’d be arrested!

    I know that statue because I live in Massachusetts.

    “They that go down to the sea in ships,
    That do business in great waters;
    These see the works of the Lord,
    And his wonders in the deep.”

    The seagulls around here are crazy but it is because the tourists feed them and they are used to getting what they want. I think I love Hasband instead of Wasband. If I didn’t like him I would definitely call him Hasband but I don’t want to hurt his feelings. That name would be great for someone who does not have a good relationship with her Ex.

    Reply

  4. c
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 00:19:58

    i’m glad you had fun.
    i’m also happy that Damon is happy and came her to comment. i know you miss him fiercely. That is a huge effing salmon he’s got there.

    Yes, I had a great time watching my wasband get his sandwich stolen. I sure wish I would have been there to share some of that salmon Damon caught.

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 00:22:16

    You sure do have some aggressive seagulls there in Cape Cod!! Perhaps somebody can invent an anti-seagull-sandwich-holder? Sounds like there’d be a market for it! LOL πŸ™‚

    Great photos of Damon & Anna … they make a very cute couple πŸ™‚

    I’ve been thinking a lot about a seagull proof sandwich holder. I was so excited to see the photos Anna sent me. It’s the first ones of him I’ve seen in 7 months.

    Reply

  6. duskydi
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 01:42:54

    OH !!

    Damon and Sarah look great. Really WELL & Healthy. I bet you two ladies are so proud of Damon and each other to. Alaska looks so very beautiful, the sky is amazing and what a big fish. Wow !! 250 photos, someone has been madly snapping beauty and life. Smiling. I bet Damon loves the pictures. It’s great looking at pictures of yourself when you look so well.

    I LOVE THEE BEACH.

    Is that a salmon. Wow!! Glad you enjoyed the turn out for your friend who died. Family and loved ones look like they put so much effort in to make a great memorial.

    My friends sometimes take ear plugs to bands, and festival’s. It’s one of those little items that just reminds you that you are indeed getting that little bit older. Hehe!!

    Smiles
    Di

    I love the beach too. I love the sound of the ocean. I even love the sounds of the thieving seagulls.
    I wish I had earplugs the day of the memorial. I like loud music but this was deafening.

    That is a salmon. I wish I was there with Damon to eat it.

    Reply

  7. jeanny
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 01:51:01

    hi. Got here from Sheng. YOu got a pretty place here and I love it.

    I love the beach…makes me want to go to a beach now but unfortumately It’s rainy season here, oh well maybe next time.

    by the way, could we xchange linke
    thank you and God Bless

    I’m really glad you stopped by. I do love going to the beach but it’s raining here today so I guess I will just blog all day.

    Reply

  8. museditions
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 02:11:46

    “Fun, fun, fun”!!! Wow it was great to see both the comment and picture from Damon. Very nice! I hope that seagull is proud of her/himself! Keep having fun!

    I was happy the Damon left a comment. His girlfriend, Anna left one too on my birthday post to Damon. That seagull is going to get so fat he won’t even be able to fly soon.

    Reply

  9. Peter Parkour
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 05:14:51

    Great pics from Alaska. πŸ™‚ The beach always wipes me out too. I think it’s the heat. I’m sorry to hear about the neighbor kid, how sad. To think you’d known him since he was a little boy. That’s gotta be so hard on him family. 😦 The party they did was nice. My Granny’s b-day is coming up. She’s been gone since 1999, but we all get together every year to celebrate her life. It’s much better than mourning.

    I felt bad for the neighbor Mom. She is having a terrible time dealing with this, but who wouldn’t.

    I think that’s great that you keep celebrating your Granny’s birthday every year.

    No beach today, it’s raining.

    Reply

  10. Laura
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 05:50:20

    Hi Joan — Those seagulls!! Have you seen the stupid vacationers who think it’s fun to feed them?? Throw them breadcrumbs, like they’re Koi in a pond? Don’t they know that seagulls are FLYING RATS?? My inlaws used to have a condo on the beach in NC, and Stupid People — I believe you call them dumbasses — used to stand on the beach in front of the condo feeding seagulls. Swarms of seagulls. I liked to stand on the balcony and yell at the Stupid People. Satisfying.

    I’m so sorry about your neighbors’ son. What a lovely way to celebrate his life!

    Your son CAUGHT that salmon?! Wow, he really is a talented fisherman. He could pack it in dry ice and send it my way …

    πŸ™‚

    The seagulls were never so bold years ago but you are right. People keep feeding them and now they think they can just grab any food out of anyone’ s hand.

    Damon is a great fisherman and has been fishing seriously since he was about 8 years old. He is a First Mate on charter boats when he lives near the ocean. He also past the US Coast Guard test to be a Captain of a six passenger boat.

    Reply

  11. birdpress
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 07:38:17

    Great pics! What a lovely couple Damon and Anna make!

    You should really take your camera out as soon as you see anyone’s husband, or wasband, attempt to eat a sandwich.

    Glad you are pooped from all that excitement. πŸ˜€

    I’m just going to start wearing my camera around my neck as a piece of jewelry. A really big piece. I’m still tired and it’s Wednesday. I was really glad to see my son even if it was only photos.

    Reply

  12. jeanny
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 07:54:36

    Hi there. Thanks for visiitng my place and thanks for the nice comment πŸ™‚
    I love having new friends too and love having your as a new friend outside Phils. Thanks again!

    Yes, it’s fun to have friends from other countries. Now that Odette is in Ireland I have my first friend from Ireland. I will be back to visit you.

    Reply

  13. CuriousC
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 08:07:19

    That does it – I’m coming down to find you and let you take me to the beach! I cannot believe it is August already and have yet to sit on sand. RRRRRRrrrrrr. Great pics of Alaska! what a beautiful state and it’s so cool that they sent pics!!!

    I’d love to hang out at the beach with you. I was so happy to see Damon even if it was only a picture.

    Reply

  14. Joy
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 09:50:49

    What a lovely fresh looking young couple and I have to agree with everyone else, what a great fish he caught. I’m going to ask a dumbass question, is that to big to eat?? I know some fish you don’t eat the great big ones. Man, I love salmon.

    Great way to give a tribute to someone. I like that idea.

    I agree with Hannah, you should make a seagull proof sandwich holder. You could make millions.

    I have to ask Damon about that fish. He had told me he had caught some King Salmon but he said they ate everything they caught.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about a seagull proof sandwich holder. I can see myself hawking them at the beach. “Get Your Seagull Sammy Holder Here”. Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  15. Just a Mom
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 14:36:34

    I’m glad to hear that your son got to read your blog! It looks like they are very happy!

    The hostel they are staying at has a computer they can all use. I’m sure he’s hogging it all the time. He’s very happy now but dreads going back to Buffalo. I think he will go there and stay a short time and then head south for the winter. It really wasn’t good for him to be in Buffalo for the winter. He gets depressed easily in winter weather. He does better in the south during the winter.

    Reply

  16. duskydi
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 18:21:50

    OMG !!

    I have to come back again and apolize for calling Anna Sarah. Smiling here. I called Damon Mathew to. Hehe!! Right I got it. Damon and Anna.

    Smiles
    Di

    Don’t worry I’ve called Damon by his cat’s name, Yoda. So much for my memory!!

    Reply

  17. Nicki
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 19:20:47

    I’ve stumbled across your blog and love to read it!

    Those birds are cheeky and aggressive aren’t they.

    Nicki

    Those birds are crazy and very aggressive. I watched them steal a bag of chips out of a little girl’s hands. The poor thing was in tears and tried to chase the seagull to get her chips back.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  18. Wendy
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 22:04:30

    Damon looks great, healthy and happy! His girlfriend is a cutie, and his fish looks prehistoric. It looks like it could take your arm off.

    I think the seagulls have lost their minds. They’ve become crazy in the past few years, bigger and bolder, and nuttier. I think they’ve taken their cue from the coyotes. It’s making me wonder what seagull tastes like. Piping plover perhaps?

    After all the crap seagulls eat I’d be afraid they would be poisonous. Now Piping plovers don’t eat crap. Who knows maybe they are succulent. The coyotes are definitely getting bolder too. I saw one cutting through my back yard a few years back.

    That was one big salmon. They eat everything he catches to save money on food. I was so happy to see the photos of him.

    Reply

  19. kaylee
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 01:25:09

    Beach or hospital? Take your pick! I seem to have chose the latter LOL! I hope that going to Alaska helps damon and the seagullS? HAtE THEM!

    You’ll get to the beach but I warn you. You better watch your food.

    Reply

  20. kaylee
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 01:25:53

    I dont want goiing to alaska to help the seagulls LOl!

    Ha! Ha! I knew what you meant!!

    Reply

  21. javaqueen
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 07:15:28

    You know what, you are turning into a BEACH BUM! That’s not fair!!! I wanna be a beach bum too- fuck! I have not been to the beach this year! It’s a 3 hour drive and I just work too much. I’m mad. I wanna come hang with you guys and cane some seagull! I can just imagine you lyao when the gull stole the wasbands sammy, musta been a real hoot! I cannot believe the size of that salmon that Damon caught! He looks happy, what a beautiful place you are both in! I’m jealous πŸ™‚

    I am a beach bum. A 3 hour drive is a long way to go to the beach. I have extra canes so if you come we can cane together. I couldn’t breath I was laughing so much when the wasband’s sammy got stolen. Damon loves Alaska but he would hate it in the winter. He will go south this winter. He’s never really happy if he can’t fish.

    Reply

  22. dropofkim
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 12:01:31

    WOW that’s a big fish. I love to fish too but the only thing I’ve ever caught that big was a darn carp. I can’t believe those seagulls! Sammich bandits…tsk tsk tsk. Hope you are having a blast!

    It’s been the best summer I’ve had in a long time. I love salmon. I wish I was there to share it with him when he ate it.

    Reply

  23. odette
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 14:03:17

    hehe, funny story about the seagull again, and you laughing so hard you haven’t taped it at all. πŸ™‚
    damon and anna look great together, and that salmon, wow!

    I wish I had gotten it on tape. The wasband was so upset that the seagull managed to get his sandwich after me warning him. Ha! Ha! Damon said the salmon was delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

