Insight To My Heart– A Song Meme To My Son

I got tagged by Wendy at Life With Buck to do this meme that was created by Little Miss Sew ‘N Sew
and Wendy.

Rules forInsight To My Heart”:

Post the song that just gets to you every time you hear it.

This song has always gotten to me.  You are all going to recognize it.  It really doesn’t need an introduction.  This song reaches out to me on so many different levels.  I’ve posted the lyrics also.  I picked this version because the crowd in the audience was so moved by it too.

This song is dedicated to my son. The first stanza is him.

You who are on the road
Must have a code that you can live by
And so become yourself
Because the past is just a good bye.

Teach your children well,
Their father’s hell did slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams
The one they picked, the one you’ll know by.

Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

And you, of tender years,
Can’t know the fears that your elders grew by,
And so please help them with your youth,
They seek the truth before they can die.

Teach your parents well,
Their children’s hell will slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams
The one they picked, the one you’ll know by.

Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 20:31:46

    That is a great song! A wonderful one for anyone who has kids, really. Nice choice. I will be posting mine soon.

    It really seemed just right for Damon, especially the first few lines. I’ll come check yours out.

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 20:40:14

    Awww, I love this song! Such an excellent choice. It does pull at heart strings, doesn’t it? And thanks for posting the lyrics because I had some of the words wrong, like I always thought they said “health” not “hell.” Thank you!

    Yes, I’ve always loved this song even before I had kids. I’m never sure of the words to most songs.

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 20:57:07

    Such an oldie, but such a goodie. Great song.

    It’s definitely an oldie but It really fits my son.

    Reply

  4. c
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 23:24:22

    i love this song!
    They were on Colbert Report. Stephen Colbert sang with them. He did well.

    I would have loved to have seen that. Maybe I’ll look for it on YouTube.

    Reply

  5. javaqueen
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 01:31:42

    Beautiful Joan. You are such a great mom. I can always feel the love you have for your son each time you write about him.

    I sure do love my kids. I wish I had a dozen of them. But I guess I have to wait for grandkids and I’ll be lucky to get one out of my daughter. Maybe two if I’m really lucky. She’ll make a great mom though.

    Reply

  6. Moonbeam McQueen
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 10:25:15

    What a wonderful choice for this meme. Your kids are so lucky to have you, and vice versa.

    Thanks, Moonbeam. I’m lucky to have them that’s for sure.

    Reply

  7. Little Miss
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 12:09:31

    That is an awesome song. I never really knew what the lyrics said either, but they are beautiful. Wonderful. This meme is so fun.

    Yes, this was a fun meme thanks to you and Wendy.

    Reply

  8. kaylee
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 18:16:37

    Nice one! I am off to bed really no doing well today 😦

    I hope you are feeling better, Kaylee.

    Reply

  9. Damon
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 19:34:14

    Mom I love you so much you are the greatest

    OH, Sweet Pea, I love you so much too. OK, now I’m crying. You know how I get when I am missing you, all teary. I’m so glad you left a comment and got to see my blog.

    Reply

  10. Moonbeam McQueen
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 20:26:04

    Waaaaaaahhhhh….*sob*…I can’t take it anymore. Soooo sweet.

    Ha! Ha! I really miss him. He’s got such a good heart. But I think right now he needs to do some traveling.

    Reply

  11. lifesstory
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 07:08:54

    Great song. Good choice. I have always enjoyed CS&N, even when they had Neil Young. Everything they sang makes you think.

    I love them too and I always have liked Neil Young’s voice. He’s done some great stuff in the past. They all have.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  12. birdpress
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 19:07:48

    Joan! Where are you? It’s not like you to go more than a day without posting!

    I just saw that Damon commented and it made me so happy! I’m glad he stopped by to see how many people love you and how much you love him!

    Oh, I’m here and tired from two days in the sun and having too much fun. I was so happy to see Damon comment. His girlfriend Anna did too. They are having a great time in Alaska. Thanks for being concerned about me. I appreciate that.

    Reply

  13. mrsvierkant
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 22:53:34

    Awesome Song!

    What a wonderful thing to see your son’s post too!

    (((Hugs)))

    I was happy to see Damon’s comment. His girlfriend, Anna left a comment too. She sent me 250 photos of them in Alaska. Hugs to you too.

    Reply

  14. odette
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 14:00:53

    so sweet, i wanted to cry too.
    hi damon, you’ve such a wonderful mom!

    That song fit him perfectly. They are camping now near a river with lots of salmon and grizzly bears. I wish he hadn’t told me about the bears.

    Reply

  15. Trackback: How Do U Get An Ex Girlfriend Back

Leave a Reply

