I Relapsed–Not on Alcohol or Drugs But Fat Free Pringles!!

I missed my weight watcher’s meeting last week but went today knowing I had relapsed and eaten too many Fat Free Pringles. I can never, ever buy them again. You know the old saying “Bet you just can’t eat one”? Well, that holds true for me with FF Pringles. I can eat a whole box at one sitting and I have eaten probably 5 in the last two weeks.

Damn you to Hell you FF Pringles!! I have no control over you!!

I gained 1 1/2 pounds!!!

I think I have learned my lesson.

I talked to my daughter about it and she said not to worry.  She said “Mom, how many people do you know  who have lost as much weight as you?”.  She knows just what to say to make me feel good and motivate me.

I’d like to say that I felt like a loser but I can’t because I didn’t lose anything. I’m a gainer. What ever the hell that means. But I will NOT give up.  It’s just a minor setback.

There goes listening to music of the 50’s cause I’m back in the 60’s.   I wonder if I subconsciously did it purposefully because I like the music from the 60’s better?

On a brighter note, I get to go to the Martha’s Vineyard Music Festival next weekend with Sarah.  I will stay with her for two nights at her apartment.  This is the first time in over 10 years that I sleep other than at home except for my 4 week stint in the hospital which doesn’t count because that was not a vacation.

Sunday, August 10, 2008

Ocean Park Opens At 1:30 PM
Performances Begin Promptly At 3:00 PM

Gladys Knight
with the Boston Pops Esplanade Orchestra conducted by Keith Lockhart
The Neville Brothers
Kate Taylor
Steel Pulse
Willy Mason
Entrain with Phil DaRosa
Manami Morita Quartet

The one thing we have to do is donate our time in the name of her store for a few hours.  That also gets us in for free because the tickets are $80 bucks a piece. They know I am disabled so I will probably be seated to accept tickets.

Saturday night we will go out to dinner with Sarah’s two bosses M and C. I’m looking forward to that. I’ve never really gotten a chance to sit down and chat with them. They have been very good to her and I will enjoy getting to know them better.

She will work on Saturday and I can sit on her porch which overlooks the harbor and use her laptop. I will be taking lots of video and photos.  Her porch also overlooks the main Street of Vineyard Haven. There will probably be famous people on the island so hopefully I can get some photos. Oh, if I could just get some video of famous people doing dumbass stuff.

porch

HillBilly–It’s easier to have them both in one photo. They vacation on the Vineyard almost every summer. There’s a chance they could be at the concert.  It is considered the Vineyard’s biggest cultural affair of the summer.

Imagine me at a cultural affair. Ha! Ha!  I sure hope it’s casual because I will be dressing casually.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Parkour
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 14:35:10

    Just say no to snack food in the house. That’s what I do, because I know I’ll snack till they are gone. If and when I’m going to have a snack I let it be away from the house. That way it’s just one, in a controlled setting, in a controlled quantity.

    There’s bound to be a little back sliding from time to time, but don’t let it stand in the way of your losing trend. Keep that ball rolling down hill. 😉

    Congratulations on all the weight you’ve already lost. 🙂 Now stay away from those FF Pringles. They’re evil. Pure evil. 😛

    The festival sounds like a lot of fun. Will you be blogging from that location, or will we have to suffer some time without you? Good luck on your dumbass patrol. 😉

    You are so right about the snacks. The only thing I will have in the house now is popcorn. Pringles ARE evil.

    I will have my daughter’s laptop so I can blog away. I have to have a computer. I get really panicky without one.

    Reply

  2. dropofkim
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 15:10:15

    FF Pringles are part of a conspiracy. When I get all the details of my theory worked out, I’ll let you know, lol. That is awesome you will get to go and enjoy all that wonderful music. I want to learn more about WW. I know we have one in my town but I never have transportation. You have indeed lost a lot of weight Joan. I read about your ups and downs and wonder when I am gonna get off my butt and do the same. You inspire, Your Majesty. 😀

    Yea me, Queen for A Day!! FF Pringles suck. They taste good but they suck. I could not have lost this weight without weight watchers. If I even miss one meeting I screw up. It’s like an alcoholic going to AA. Maybe you could get a friend with a car to join along with you. I can’t wait for the weekend.

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 15:12:02

    Hey, overall, you are doing awesome! Seriously. You’ve still done great, and I know you will still make it. I gain that much in water weight at certain times, you know? Although for some reason, this month I didn’t. I wonder if that changes too. You’ll do fine. There are just some things I can’t have in the house. Potato chips of any sort are one of them.

    Well, I learned my lesson about FF Pringles, finally. My weight watchers leader says your body is constantly changing. So I will write it off to water weight.

    Reply

  4. c
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 16:11:28

    i have to say, Pringles are pretty irresistable. i’m glad that you’re not getting down on yourself. You’ve been doing great and will continue to succeed!

    Have a great time at your sleep-over. i love sleepovers!

    Oh, Christine, I can’t wait for the weekend. It will be so much fun to spend time with my daughter and see a concert. I just don’t ever get to go overnight anywhere. I’m done with FF Pringles!!!!

    Reply

  5. Hay
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 16:24:03

    Bother on the pringles!

    Have a great vacation Joan.

    Thanks, Hay. I plan on having a great time. One of my cats can’t stay away from the container of Marmite. It’s the weirdest thing. When I brought it home, he even tried to crawl in the envelope. Then he knocked it off the counter so I put it where I thought he wouldn’t find it but he did. I think my cat is a Kiwi!!!

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 16:39:09

    This will be such fun to see your coverage of the MV Festival! I can’t wait.

    As for the diarrhea chips, Sarah’s absolutely right. You’re doing great and the fact you’ve identified when you got off track a little, that’s all part of the new you. Two years ago you probably wouldn’t have cared if you ate them, but look how far you’ve come. You already know that healthy eating is a lifestyle and it’s unrealistic to think you can become immune to a slip-up now and then. And your slip-ups are RARE. So let it go and be happy. And find us some cool people to gawk at while you’re on the Vineyard, preferably a crazy drunk superstar you can post on YouTube and go viral. I’m awful, aren’t I? 👿

    I will be videoing everything. I can’t wait. It’s been so long since I’ve been anywhere. No more diarrhea chips here. I, hopefully, have learned my lesson. I definitely want to go VIRAL!!! If you are evil it just proves that somehow we are sisters along with Sister B.

    Reply

  7. teeni
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 20:39:32

    Aww, minor setback my dear and you should be proud that you have gone so long without one before now. You are doing fantastic! And it was ONLY 1-1/2 pounds. You will lose that just by blogging a little faster. LOL.

    I’ve always found that it’s easiest to continue eating healthily if I always have some acceptable prepared snacks to keep me from reaching for the bad things. I just need to keep remembering to prep some stuff. Worst case, reach for fresh fruit. Listen to me! Like I always follow my own advice! I don’t – I’m not that good, but I should be! LOL

    That festival looks awesome! And HillBilly almost made me wet myself (after I got over my initial fright, that is). 😉

    I never though of blogging as exercise. I will blog much faster from now on. I just discovered fresh cherries. 2 cups is only 2 1/2 points and they are actually good for you and filling (if you eat enough of them). I hope the HillBillys are there. I’m looking for some good video. Maybe I can sell it to the Enquirer and make some money.

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 21:02:04

    Don’t even feel bad about the little back slide. You know you’ve done so well. It happens to everyone. I am green with envy about your concert. I have always wanted to go there. I would love to see some celebs doing dumbass stuff so keep your eyes open and your camera ready.

    The Vineyard is beautiful, especially off season. I once saw Bill Murray helping to park cars at a wedding. Carly Simon sang to my daughter in her store. Sarah stood next to the whole Clinton family getting Ice Cream at Mad Martha’s. So I am hoping I get some video. OMG I will become a dreaded paparazzi. Oh well, that’s the way it goes.

    Reply

  9. javaqueen
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 01:38:32

    Backslide, smackschlide… You are all right, you have to know that. We are all just human. Hey, this sounds like a great festival. I hope you get footage and cannot wait to check it out. Our own personal paparazzi! Heee-heeee-heee! I LOVE love love the pictures of you on the right sidebar Joan. You are soooooooo a force to be reconned with girl!

    I’m hoping I see famous people doing dumbass stuff. I will stalk them until they do. I want to see Hillary picking her nose or scratching her ass. I’d get millions for that photo.

    Reply

  10. Moonbeam McQueen
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 02:15:29

    You’re going to have to start liking your music more and more vintage. Soon you’ll be back to fifties, then forties…eventually you’ll have lost so much weight, you’ll be listening to Gregorian chants!

    Have a great time- maybe you’ll get some incriminating photos of some celeb, and you can sell them to

    the Enquirer for millions.

    Ha! Ha! “Gregorian Chants” or some dumbass with a stick banging on trees. Yes, I am looking for “Enquirer” worthy photo. Carly Simon with an allergic reaction from a bee sting on her mouth.

    Reply

  11. Joy
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 12:24:43

    That remark about Carly Simon now really has me seeing GREEN!!! All time fave!

    You can go back to your normal color now. I love her too but she was the only local I could think of off the cuff to tease. Actually my daughter knows her. She is a regular customer at my daughter’s jewelry store. She even sang to my daughter one day.

    Reply

  12. laura
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 13:30:47

    You’re going to have so much fun! You’ll probably get better pictures than the National Enquirer! I do hope you get video of some famous people. When we sailed down the coast this spring and zipped right past the Hamptons, I was hoping to see Christy Brinkley and her husband duking it out on the beach, but no such luck!

    I’ll probably be arrested for hounding any of the celebrities that might be there. I think we will have fun though.

    Reply

  13. Hannah
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 17:32:16

    I understand your disappointment (really, I do) but you are still doing really well. A gain that small is definitely just a minor setback. And now you know that you can’t have the Pringles, you won’t make that mistake again. I agree, don’t buy them and just pretend they are as bad as the regular-fat ones, so you won’t even feel the urge to get them.

    We don’t have FF Pringles here in NZ and I’m thinking that could be a very good thing!! LOL 🙂

    After all I’ve been through with FF Pringles I know I won’t ever buy them again. I know I just have to keep plugging along and look at the long term. Somehow I will do this.

    Reply

  14. Red
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 23:59:32

    psh, you’ll get it girl .. no worries, joan.

    I will get it. I just have to be patient. I want to lose it all by next week.

    Reply

  15. romi41
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 00:31:51

    That sounds like SO much fun, and that hillbill pic is just creepy! Chelsea should be glad she doesn’t look like that, haha….

    PS: your daughter is SO right, such a minor lapse does not stand up to your amazing progress, keep going! 🙂

    I can’t wait for the weekend. Yes, that HillBilly picture is just plain weird. My daughter is good at motivating me.

    Reply

  16. museditions
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 05:23:29

    Oh I so know. Potato chips of any kind. Pringles; Non Pringles; any kind. Can. Not. Have. In. House. The festival looks awesome, but that Billary pic nearly put me off my feed. Truly frightening, and a possible diet aid! 😉

    I should add that HillBilly photo to my fridge collection. It’s definitely enough to keep me away from the fridge, I think. I’m looking forward to the weekend. No more chips here.

    Reply

  17. Just a Mom
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 13:33:55

    Don’t beat yourself up to much on the weight. You are doing an awesome job as far as the big, or is it little now, picture goes.

    The music festival sounds awesome! I am so jealous! Have a great time.

    That’s what my daughter said. Look at the long term. This weekend should be a good time.

    Reply

  18. duskydi
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 17:22:04

    I hope you have a great time. It’s like a little holiday for you isin’t. It sounds and the picture looks beautiful off Sarah’s place. So relaxing. Will you go in the wheelchair. Festival’s will have facilities won’t they for disciabled.

    A festival. I love festivals and the opppurtunity to chat to strangers. I’ve been coming out with some real random persnal stuff to strangers just recently. It’s helped me.

    A loss is a gain and a gain is a loss.

    A little quote thats in my head.I’ll write it down but it’s not correct so please excuse me.

    The heart weeps for what it’s lost as the spirit laughts for what it has gained. ( somert like that ).

    Enjoy the lovely wekend with Sarah.

    Love & Smiles

    Di.

    Yes, we will definitely take the wheelchair. In case we have to park and walk a distance it could come in handy. I love that last quote. I haven’t had a holiday in over 10 years so this will be fun.

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  19. mrsvierkant
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 22:58:47

    Feed the Pringles to the seagulls. 😉

    I hope you enjoy “The Cultural Affair of the Season” and wouldn’t it be something if you got to take HillBilly’s tickets? ROFL at the picture.

    Imagine if we fed all the seagulls at the beach FF Pringles and they all got diarrhea. You could clear out the beach of tourists in minutes.

    Maybe I could pretend I didn’t know the HillBillys and ask them for ID.

    Reply

  20. threeboys1mommy
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 12:57:39

    I’ve always wanted to go there…. I don’t think the Clintons can afford a vacation this year 😦 Can they?

    You’re probably right about the Clintons. Martha’s Vineyard is wonderful. Great beaches and shops and no Burger King or McDonalds.

    Reply

  21. tw
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 00:39:34

    1.5 pounds is nothing! I so know what you mean about potato chips. There is no way I can eat just a couple or even a handful. It the whole bag or tube. Pringles are so moreish. So like you, I just can’t buy them. If they are in the house I eat them.

    The Martha’s Vinyard concert sounds fabulous. Great lineup. You will have a ball!

    I’m such a dumbass. I kept wondering who TW is. Now I remember. Sometimes it’s amazing that I remember anything. I love the way you say Pringles are so moreish. I think I have other moreish foods I need to keep away from.

    I can’t wait for the concert. I will be working for four hours taking tickets at the VIP section. Then I get to see the evening concert for free when the Boston Pops Symphony and Gladys Knight play.

    Reply

  22. Dube
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 00:31:46

    I can really relate to this. No chips – not even the fat-free kind – are allowed in my home. I will eat them all in one sitting. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

