Brutally Attacked by Crazed Seagull at the Beach Today!! With Video!

Well, maybe not exactly brutally,  but the damn seagull stole my sandwich that I made myself right out of my hand. I do have a short video of the horrific aftermath.  You can see the bird (the fucker, which I actually yelled that at him in the video) eating the rest of my sandwich.

First I have a video from my car and I am not driving. SO DO NOT BE AFRAID!! Only 1min 39 seconds.

This next video is just before the thieving bird got my sandwich. Short only 21 seconds.

The last video shows the seagull eating the remnants of my sandwich. Short only 30 seconds.

I try not to take videos that are too long so you won’t get bored.

I also bought a freakin’ bathing suit today.  The first one I have bought in so many years I can’t even remember. I guarantee one thing:  YOU WILL NEVER SEE ME IN IT.

I am going to catch up tomorrow on making comments here and reading your blogs.

Oh, I was interviewed on Anonymum’s blog “The Nook of Oz” today. So please go check it out.  After that interview you will know a helluva lot more about me than you ever did.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 00:42:48

    Oh dear! Sorry about your sandwich! That happened to my Dad once, same thing, the bird took it right out of his hand, even with the lunch wrapping still on!

    My boys really enjoyed your second video. I didn’t show them the second once since you’d pre-warned about the swearing, LOL 😉

    I didn’t mean to swear in public. It just sort of popped out. I haven’t figured out how to edit yet. That’s why I gave the warning. I’m glad they could watch the other video. I honestly never so such an agressive seagull.

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 01:42:59

    You gotta go armed with a bunch of rocks and a slingshot. It makes for hours of fun and entertainment. You guys could take turns shooting and eating. 😛 Great interview, Joan. 😀 I wonder if there was anyone near by capturing your ordeal on video “…and over there is a dumbass that just lost her sandwich to a seagull…” HA! Just kidding. 😉

    OMG, I am probably on YouTube right now being watched as a dumbass swearing at a seagull. Ha! Ha! Actually I hope so because it was pretty damn funny. You can hear my daughter laugh in the backround. The tourists would probably stone me on the beach if I started using a slingshot on seagulls. I’m putting hot peppers in my next sandwich. Here’s a link to The Bead Den’s video of a seagull after eating a hot pepper. It is really funny. http://thebeadden.wordpress.com/2008/07/15/seagull-vs-jalapeno-pepper/

    Reply

  3. duskydi
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 02:10:08

    Hi Joan,

    I’m Diane aka Di – I made a comment on your interview with A-Mum. Thank-you so much for that interview. You were so honest. Your so lovely.

    I am amazed that I come to this post and I see you and hear your voice. I’ve been going thro some stuff lately around voices and words and computers and friendships and I come here and hear your voice.

    I was actually wondering if I should put some kinda footage of me on my blog. Get my daughter to make a video of me.

    SCAREY !!

    Ha ! I did find some Y-yube footage of me at a festival the other week and I put it there.

    OMG !! I really do have someone inside me that directs me to where I need to be.

    You are one funny lady. You have such a lovely voice, I can feel your spirit.

    Aw!!! Nice to meet you Joan. No ! I really mean it, it’s so nice to hear your voice to. A beautiful beach I have to say and if I was that sea gull for sure I would have brutually attacked for that beauty. Smiling

    Who made that sandwitch ? It looks delicious. I loved the video’s. Do you mind if I have a look around.

    Nice to be here Joan and hear a voice.

    Spooky – just because of what I’ve been going thro to hear a blogging voice. Hehe!! I’m not saying you have a spooky voice.

    Argh !

    Shut up now Diane. I’m wittering – thats what I do. I don’t write. I witter.

    Smiles and Thank-you Joan

    Di

    I am so happy to meet you and happy that you are enjoying my blog. I loved the way you said you are a witter. I’m not a writer either. I’m a blogglelist. I just write whatever comes into my head, then I discovered my daughter had a digital camera that also did videos. Now I’m just videoing everything and just saying the first thing that pops into my head. I have to watch my mouth and not curse in the videos. But you are welcome to witter here anytime.
    I tried to link to your blog but when I clicked on your name and avatar it didn’t work. Is it a private blog? I’d like to get to know you too.

    Reply

  4. Hayley
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 03:30:39

    Too funny Joan!!
    I love your accent, fucker sounded so cool. I’m gonna try and talk like you now!

    I guess I finally have to admit I have an accent and this whole time I thought it was everybody else. Ha! Ha!

    “I’m gonna try and talk like you now!” Ha! Ha! I wish I could hear your accent!!!

    Reply

  5. odette
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 08:46:19

    that was funny Joan, and the seagull was still looking cute after stealing your sandwich. bad bird. 🙂

    you can’t blame the bird, your sandwich looked really good!!!

    I should have listened to my daughter. She said we should eat in the car but I was too stubborn. I was bound not to let a seagull run me off the beach. The sandwich was good. I only lost about 1/4 of it.

    Reply

  6. JavaQueen
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 12:07:24

    Hello. First, just came by through A-mum’s (the nook). Great answers, very honest and lends more into the person that you are- a wonderful person.

    Love the drive with your daughter. And, my ~Z and his friend were sitting right behind me when I clicked on the beach scene, “that little fucker, SUCKER” we laughed so hard. Also, the clip before that, “here’s my sandwich, and theres the bird that wants it, it’s ok, I have my cain” I think I bust a gut laughing.

    I love you Joan!

    I don’t usually swear in public but I was so damn mad at that bird. But at least you all got a laugh out of it and the bird got some food. I need to be faster with the cane but the little sucker came up from behind.

    Love you too JQ!!

    Reply

  7. threeboys1mommy
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 12:30:43

    Those east coast seagulls are so rude, that would never happen here in California 🙂

    You’re damn straight!! They are very aggressive big rude suckers. I’ll bet your California Gulls only eat Tofu anyway and say please first. I might have to move there. 😉

    Reply

  8. javajunkee
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 12:35:47

    ROFLMAO!!! I was hoping to see you cane that little “s/fker”

    I want to come hang out with you and sarah! You guys have way too much fun.

    You are welcome to hang with us at the beach anytime. Sarah and I do have fun. I always look forward to Mondays and her day off.

    Reply

  9. fightingwindmills
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 14:51:02

    Ha! Too bad about your sandwich, but it’s funny that you knew it was going to happen. He certainly was scoping you out. The interview was great!

    Well, I only lost 1/4 of the sandwich. I think my daughter knew it was going to happen and I was too stubborn to think the big sucker would actually take it out of my hand. I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. I enjoyed doing it.

    Reply

  10. Joy
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 15:35:40

    OMG, I would have freaked out. Really!! It would have scared me but that sandwich did look mighty tasty.

    Hayley, Joan says she doesn’t have an accent! Me either. I’m in Minnesota. Ya, you betcha!

    Well, the sandwich was very good. The week before a woman through some chips at a seagull. Within seconds every seagull for 40 miles was surrounding her. You never feed seagulls on the beach. She ended up hiding under her blanket while I was trying to find my camera to videotape her but by the time I found it, it was too late.

    I want to hear Hayley talk. She needs a video camera.

    Reply

  11. duskydi
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 16:10:32

    Hi Joan.

    I don’t know why you can’t get to my blog. Hey ! I wonder if it is private. It might be. Hehe!! I’ve only had it a year smiling. Maybe thats why I don’t get comments.

    I might be private. I don’t know. If you go to Annies blog Writer chick she has me down as wondeful di. I write with no thought, I just let it come. My blog is full on the nonsence I have in my head. Annie must think I’m wondeful to have me as wondeful Di. How sweet is that.I’m not that wondeful, just a bit wondeful thats all.

    Urmm !!

    Probably more wonderless than wonderful.

    Smiles, Laughter and Salt.
    Di

    If you need help in making your blog more accessible let me know, unless you prefer to keep it the way it is. Oh, I’m getting to think your pretty wonderful too. What you have in your head is great and it’s good that you let it all out.

    Reply

  12. birdpress
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 18:43:09

    I can not believe that you didn’t cane that seagull for taking your sandwich! You gotta be quicker, Joan. 😉

    Just kidding. I’m glad you didn’t cane the big dumb bird. It’s not his fault his mama never taught him manners.

    The video was worth watching just to hear your little “slip”! That “sucker”!

    I actually did wave the cane around to chase him off. I wouldn’t have actually hurt him. I don’t think. I don’t know though. He was a thieving big sucker. Oh, I’m just going to say it again. He was a thieving fucker and that’s all there is to it. 😉

    Reply

  13. 2lazydogs
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 20:51:30

    Well, I’m glad Sarah was driving this time while you were videoing. And I loved that she didn’t even take her eyes off the road when she said ‘hello’ to the camera. Safety first!!

    Hells, bells. If that seagull came anywhere near me or my sandwich I would have pegged it with rocks…and then proceeded to get arrested because it is illegal in NY (and I’m sure many other states) to attempt to injure or kill a seagull. Dammit. Fucker sucker.

    Seagulls be damned!! Find your own food, you thieves. I don’t think I should be videoing and driving.

    Reply

  14. anonymum
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 07:13:55

    You near fucking killed me with this post! My husband almost had to give me mouth to mouth! I laughed that hard I was having trouble breathing!
    😆
    Bastard seagulls! Pain in the arse they are!
    You did a wonderful job with your interview questions Joan…the answers were wonderful, and so damned honest…honesty wins me over every time…
    Hope you enjoyed it! I know I did.
    😉

    I’m glad you got a good laugh out of my videos. I will be posting more videos as I do dumbass things or see others doing dumbass things. I’m glad you liked the interview because I sure did and have met some wonderful new bloggers because of it so I thank you for that. I always told my kids when they were little to share their feelings and not let them build up. I think I sometimes take that to the extreme.

    Reply

  15. mrsvierkant
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 07:36:43

    Hysterically funny Joan! I love hearing you talk in those videos.

    Maybe that bird is from WW and was just looking out for you. 😉

    Seriously, sea gulls are annoying. When we were on vacation in San Francisco years ago, and eating clam chowder in a bread bowl, those dang birds made eating outside so unenjoyable.

    The beach still looks wonderful though!

    “Maybe that bird is from WW and was just looking out for you.” OMG, that is so funny. I’m going to have to tell everyone that at my next meeting. I was attacked by a WW hired seagull. I’m lovin’ the beach.

    Reply

  16. dropofkim
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 08:54:41

    Your poor sammich! Silly me, I would have fought the dang bird! I feel your pain, I had a monkey steal my hairbrush once. It’s always the monkeys for me. 😀 My favoritest part of being in Maryland was going to the Havre de Grace boardwalk and feeding the sea gulls. Neat for me cause it wasn’t something I dealt with all the time.

    How on earth did a monkey steal your hairbrush? I’ll bet that’s a good story. That’s the thing with seagulls. They get so used to people feeding them out of their hands they think that any food in anyone’s hand is theirs for the taking. Well, I least I learned a lesson.

    Reply

  17. J.W.
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 16:18:33

    Seagulls = Rats, with wings!

    Wow, I never thought of it that way. You are so right.

    Reply

  18. thebeadden
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 21:32:31

    Oh my goodness! You had me laughing out loud with this one, Joan. I think your video blogs are going to make you famous here.

    I have never known a seagull to be that bold, they usually wait for it to be thrown away!

    And what Peter said! hahahahaha Wouldn’t that be funny?

    Still laughing…

    I think if you do a search on Youtube for “dumbass woman gets her sandwich eaten by a seagull” a video of me will pop up.
    We have very aggressive seagulls here evidently.

    Reply

  19. Sandra
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 21:37:43

    So, so funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Never had any trouble with seagulls but have had a whole sandwich ripped out of my hand by pigeons. Ew, they, to me, are the rats of the bird world.

    Pigeons? I never thought a pigeon would to that. Actually, now that I think of it I don’t think we have pigeons in Falmouth. I just called my daughter and she thinks we might have a few pigeons. Well, if we do I don’t remember seeing them. Now I am going to have to go out tomorrow and see if I can find any pigeons. I’ll take video if I do. Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  20. teeni
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 22:57:12

    I love your videos, Joan. I feel bad that the seagull took your sandwich. You just gotta bring extra for the birds next time, I guess. 🙂

    The problem is if you throw food at them, every gull within 100 miles shows up. We watched a woman throw some chips at a gull and she ended up hiding under her blanket because they were dive bombing her. I tried to get it on video but I wasn’t fast enough.

    Reply

  21. David
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 21:36:06

    Wonderful videos!!

    Dumbass seagulls!

    Yea, they are definitely dumbasses yet at the same time very smart. They know people are going to feed them. It’s the people feeding them who are dumbasses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

