Come Take A Ride With Me Down Main Street!!

I did a little video today of me driving down Main Street.  Hopefully I don’t get a lecture from anyone around here about video driving.  I don’t think I’m supposed to be doing that in Sarah’s car.  Well, at least I wasn’t drunk driving. I’d never do that and that’s the truth.

The hard part about making a video is narrating it. I start to not know what to say but feel I should keep on talking. I actually said “Ta Ta” at the end. WTF was I thinking. I was probably thinking “Just don’t hit anyone! Just don’t hit anyone!” I actually said the beach was crowded and in the same sentence said it wasn’t. I don’t think I would make a good radio announcer.

After I turned off the video camera I came upon an accident on Main street. I did video it up until I got close to the policemen but didn’t want them to see me videoing so I stopped. I decided not to show it because I don’t want to come across as an ambulance chaser.

I do have a police scanner though. I’m thinking I should listen to it more often. My son and I used to listen to it late at night and then go in the car to look to see what was going on. We didn’t go see car accidents (well sometimes we did if we were bored) but we came across some funny stuff. My son would always drive because he won’t drive in a car with someone else at the wheel. Thank Goodness, because five of his friends were killed in a horrific car accident a few years back. The driver was drunk and Damon wouldn’t get in the car. The police said it was the worst accident they had ever seen.

One night the police were chasing some kid in the woods because he broke into Papa Gino’s Pizza. I think every police car in town was there. The kid didn’t even get any money. I don’t think he even got a pizza out of the deal because they were closed. We watched the police finally surround him and he gave up.

Ta! Ta! for now.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. c
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 17:25:50

    “Mama goes first…”
    Hahahaa! Ya damn right!

    We have narrow streets like that in my neck of the woods, and though i don’t drive, i get so anxious. i keep thinking R is going to scrape a car or a person! although he is a very safe and courteous driver.

    What a blessing about your son. He was wise and thank God for that. My mom used to have a police scanner and we’d listen in sometimes. i think i was too little to really appreciate it, though.

    Thanks for the ride lady. That was fun. i felt like i was in the passenger seat as you pointed out places of interest. i liked your narration very much! Without it, it would just be a townscape.

    And i loved your laugh!

    I’m glad you enjoyed the ride through town. I’m never at a loss for words except when I turn the camera on then I can’t think of a single brilliant thing to say. I just start blathering.
    I love the police scanner because it is a small town and I know a lot of people so many times when something happens on the scanner I know whose involved. One thing my son was always smart about was to not get in a car with a drunk and not drive drunk. He actually called me a couple of times when he drank too much for a ride home rather than drive.

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 17:26:36

    This video was great, thank you for posting it! I know you’re not supposed to using a camera while driving but Main Street traffic crawls along so slowly I wasn’t worried at all.

    I just bought a video camera and sent you a million emails about it. I’m uploading my first test video to YouTube as I write this.

    Well I’ve already seen your video of Buck which both Barbara and I enjoyed because we had a long conversation about it telling each other how hilarious it was and how she can’t wait to go shopping with you.

    Reply

  3. Wendy
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 17:28:44

    Oh, even though I wasn’t worried for you to be filming while in slow traffic, I think you should make Barbara drive you around while you film. See, I’m trying to get her involved here…which will be tough, I know.

    Barbara and I are going to go out next week. Send me any questions you have for when I interview her.

    Reply

  4. dragonfly3085
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 18:12:45

    Okay, California just outlawed talking on the phone while driving, I’m pretty sure video taping driving would also but unacceptable.

    Now I have that awful 2000 song stuck in my head… “If you want to go and take a ride with me…” You know… by Nelly or something stupid like that…

    I did a short stint in radio in Provincetown. I had fun but I won’t do it again. Too many weird phone calls!

    okay well… that’s that. 🙂

    My sister is going to drive me next week so I can video and actually see what I am taking videos of. I don’t think I could do radio. I talk a lot but as soon as I was to say anything on radio I know my head would go blank.

    Reply

  5. museditions
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 19:53:13

    You are right, it’s a very charming town. I loved when you said “OK, here’s the crappy part of town; gas station, church…” Teehee. 😛

    Ha! Ha! Tough for the church to be in the crappy end of town. There is a beautiful church in the nicer part of town. I should take photos of it. Falmouth is one of those picture post card towns. I’m fortunate to live here.

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 20:53:28

    This is great. I’ve never put anything on Youtube. I’ll have to check it out. It was a nice ride. Thanks for taking me with you. I feel I know you better now. That is a nice town, even the crappy part! LOL!!!

    Yea, the crappy part of town isn’t all that crappy. It’s just not as pretty as the main part of town where all the nice stores are and the Village Green is. I’m glad you enjoyed the ride. I’ll be videoing more for sure.

    Reply

  7. Barbara (the sister)
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 21:06:01

    Remember when we discovered we could eavesdrop on cell phone conversations via your police scanner? That was so damn much fun. We heard drug deals going down–and the Crying Guy. Remember the Crying Guy weeping on the phone to his girl friend every night at 10 o’clock.

    Sister B
    I’m going to write a whole blog about that. Thanks for reminding me.
    Sister J

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 00:21:04

    Hahahahaah I so cant wait to go t o where you are hehehe!

    It’s a great place to visit. When are you coming up this way?

    Reply

  9. odette
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 07:23:53

    that was a nice tour of your main street joan, and you have a nice voice, i love it!

    i think kj would love to have a police scanner too, he likes some real action very much. 🙂

    I’m glad you enjoyed my tour, Odette. The police scanner is a lot of fun. I have been enjoying your camera photos of Ireland.

    Reply

  10. dropofkim
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 09:18:06

    I love the guy that crosses the street all crazy fast at about 0:50. I mean, he’s running quite fast, but not too, too fast. LOL! My hubby used to have a police scanner set up but that was when we lived in a tiny town in Arkansas where he was related to the town and that was just how you kept up with your kin. Since moving, we haven’t needed one, pretty quiet around here and I like it that way. You are a blast Joan!

    I didn’t even notice him doing that when I was filming. Shame on him, he wasn’t in a crosswalk. Not much goes on here in the winter but in the summer it can be crazy. I always make sure to listen to it on July 4th, Labor Day weekend and Halloween. Those are busy times. I’m glad you are enjoying my blog as much as I enjoy yours.

    Reply

  11. birdpress
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 10:34:47

    I kept slamming on the imaginary brake under my desk! I was worried that you were actually looking into the camera each time it drifted off to the side. You are getting brave with that camera, girl! Thanks for the nice tour. 🙂

    Actually, I wasn’t even looking at the camera when I videoed from the side. I just hoped I was getting something in the camera. Next week my sister is going to drive me around. Probably a lot safer. I don’t want to be running over people in crosswalks and rear ending cars.

    Reply

  12. Wendy
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 14:42:33

    I emailed you my questions for Barbara. If you need more let me know.

    Excellent! I can’t wait to do this.

    Reply

  13. Wendy
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 14:51:08

    You should set the camera on a tripod in the backyard and both of you sit in lawn chairs like it’s a talk show. Not trying to tell you what to do or anything, I’m just sayin’…

    Actually, that is an awesome idea. I know Sister B will love it.

    Reply

  14. Little Miss
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 16:11:09

    Ah, this video stuff is so much fun! Like you and others have already said, even your crappy part of town is lovely. Fun, fun! So, question – did that guy in front of you keep stopping to let people turn in front of him, across his lane? That drives me nuts out here when people do that. Stops the traffic and causes accidents.

    Oh, and I’ve been known to drive and video at the same time. I had a Mercedes once and wanted to catch the odometer rolling over 100,000. I did it and with a big klunky video camera at the time. I almost rearended someone. Maybe I won’t drive and video. LOL.

    Yes, that guy stopped a number of times. I think it was his way of driving and sightseeing at the same time. I still have my giant klunky video camera from when the kids were little. I’m going to have my sister drive me next week.

    Reply

  15. 2lazydogs
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 16:38:12

    Hahaha…”Momma goes first”. You always have me in stitches! You did have me worried a few times (plus, I think I got a little carsick) when you were panning to the side.

    What a lovely little town you live in…thanks for sharing.

    Next time my sister will drive so I don’t make people sick. Ha! Ha! I actually was looking straight ahead when I panned to the side and was just hoping something would show up in the camera.

    And Momma always goes first (once in a while I let people pull out in front of me but that guy was trying to cut me off and that’s a NO NO). Falmouth is a great small town.

    Reply

  16. shornsheep
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 21:15:59

    So cool watching these videos, Joan. Makes me feel like I have met you in person, rather than through our blogs so far.

    I keep forgetting which state you live in?

    I live on Cape Cod in Massachusetts on the North East Coast. I love doing the videos. I will definitely be doing more.

    Reply

  17. teeni
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 22:47:55

    That was so funny. I loved you pointing out things like the Red Sox fan and the crappy part of town, even the church. LOL. Oh, all this talk about you interviewing your sister sounds awesome! I can’t wait. I love Wendy’s idea of doing the talk show.

    Oh yea, I think Wendy’s idea is awesome. I hope to do it this week. I love doing the videos.

    Reply

  18. Peter Parkour
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 02:09:57

    Loved the video, but I think the majority have spoken: No video making while driving. You were freaking us all out. I mean obviously you posted the video so you must have survived, but you know how people like to worry about those they love. :mrgreen: Ta-ta. 😉

    I agree. It’s probably best I don’t video while driving. It seems I made a few people carsick. 🙂
    Thanks for caring Peter Parkour. You are the best!!!

    Reply

  19. thebeadden
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 11:56:38

    I was a bit freaked out too!. You need to get one of those mini tripods to set up on your dash. But…it did show that you are really good at multi-tasking. LOL.

    You are a natural host. I would have been at a complete loss for words. “Heeeeeeeeere’s Joanie!” I can see it now.

    “The Joanie Harvest Show” Tonight’s guest: aspiring writer Barbara D. and Birding enthusiast Barry B. with the Joanharvest Band. We’ll be right back after this commercial for Cape Cod Beach Plum Jelly.

    I can see it now. My name in stars. Actually I’ll probably just be seeing stars because I will have fallen on my ass again.

    No more video driving. I promise.

    Reply

  20. mrsvierkant
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 17:47:47

    Great video and narration too. 😀 Thanks for the ride through town.

    Oh, and I like to go first too. LOL!

    I’m glad you liked the video. Sometimes with all the summer traffic Momma goes first.

    Reply

  21. duskydi
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 11:44:28

    OH !! To funny. Your fantastic Joan. I love these little video’s. I haven’t actually read any of your words, I’m just loving listening to your voice. I’m loving listening to you talk to yourself. hehe!!!

    I think I would be good at this. I don’t drive tho. Aww!! What a great idea. Little tours. I love this. Is this Califonia ? I love how you speak Joan and I like how you giggle.

    I think you should be on telly. I went to meet you on one of your video’s. I loved the little dance. I love the beach to. I live on the beach, well by the beach.

    I think this is brilliant.

    Thank you so much
    Di X.

    I don’t know about rules and laws. I always thought that they were there to be broken OH !! I am ment to be growing up now tho. Hehe!!

    I think it’s worth ‘getting done’ for this beauty as long as you don’t crash.

    I don’t really believe in rules and laws. I believe in common sense which evidently I don’t always use. Oh, well, at least I have fun. I’m never going to grow old. I don’t know if I could be on the telly (I love how you call it the telly). I might just go blank and stare stupidly at the camera.

    I’m in Massachusetts on the North East coast of America. Cape Cod to be exact.

    I’m going to start doing videos with my daughter or sister driving so I can get better videos and not wreck my daughter’s car.

    I also love the way you say “brilliant” I should use that word more and bring a little bit of England to Falmouth, the town I live in. I know there’s a Falmouth, England too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

