A Day At The Beach With Sarah! Includes a Video of Me!!

My daughter has Mondays off and we usually do something together. The first thing we did was take Sarah and Obie’s dog Phoenix to the vet to have her nails trimmed.

Phoenix, taking her job of driving very seriously.

Phoenix smiling because she knows she is doing a great job at the wheel.

I swear Phoenix drives better than the woman in this video that I took. Unfortunately I missed videotaping her doing anything stupid but you can listen to me complain about her dumassness.

Afterward we went to the beach.  I haven’t been to the beach in maybe 17 years.  We brought our lunch.  I got a grilled chicken wrap and I didn’t eat the cole slaw that came with it.

That was a lousy picture because I couldn’t  see what was on the screen of the camera in the sun until it occurred to me to use the viewfinder. But before I realized you could look in the viewfinder and actually see what you were taking a photo of I took this picture of a kite.

I wonder where the kite is?

Sarah took this video of me as I was walking back from the water. I went in all the way to my ankles.

We stayed at the beach for almost 3 hours.  It was so nice and relaxing.  There was a nice sea breeze. It was cloudy at first and it was later in the day when we got there but soon a hazy sun came out along with more tourists.

We went to the grocery store next and I spared Sarah the embarrassment of bringing in the camera.  We came home and Sarah made Salmon Salad, one of her specialties.  She even bought the good Wild Salmon.

And of course now I am blogging after making Sarah 2 breakfasts ( yogurts and Vitamuffins), 2 lunches (one sandwich and wrapping up the stuff for her to make one more sandwich)  and one supper( leftover Salmon Salad ) for her overnight stay on the Island tomorrow night.

And that was my day and a very good one at that.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hay
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 04:57:47

    17 years? Oh wow Joan, that is a long time!
    Loved the videos :

    When the kids got older they preferred the pond which is in walking distance to our house and did have a lifeguard. So we didn’t really go to the beach and they were old enough to walk to the pond together. It was really nice to sit on the beach for a couple of hours. i go to the beach every day but sit in the car and stay 10 minutes. I think I am going to sit on the beach more often. I am glad you enjoyed the videos.

    Reply

  2. odette
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 05:03:42

    hello joan, that was a nice pose at the beach, and it’s nice to hear the wind blowing, i can almost smell it.

    what a beautiful day you had, and phoenix is lovely too!

    Oh Odette, I love the sound of the waves and the smell of the ocean. Phoenix is the sweetest dog you could ever meet.

    Reply

  3. Laura/centerdownhome
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 05:12:24

    Wow, Joan — I love the beach video with you — “Hi” back! And now I am craving that salmon salad!

    When did you put the pic of you in the bathing suit in your sidebar? So gorgeous. If I had ever looked like that, I’d put me on a T-shirt and wear it every day!

    Looks like a perfect Monday.

    I’m glad you like the video. I just put up the bathing suit pic. Oh, to go back in time. I’ll never be that young again but hopefully I’ll be almost that thin. Sarah and i had a great day.

    Reply

  4. Hannah
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 05:47:18

    Joan, you are looking amazing!! And I just love hearing your accent. I will never tire of your videos because I love the accent 😉

    And OH MY that salad looks divine!!

    What accent? Ha! Ha!. I’d love to hear your accent. Is it similar to an Australian accent? That salad is divine and I am going to post the recipe this week. It’s one of my favorites, probably because Sarah cooks it and it’s the only time I don’t have to cook.

    Reply

  5. CuriousC
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 07:43:21

    You look great! and, actually, I noticed you put a lot more ‘R’ onto the word driver than most NE-ers’. But I love how you say ‘pocketbook’.

    and I love the picture of the kite. That was for me, yes?

    Did you see the kite? I figure you are the only one that could. For some reason I will say the “r” in some words and skip it in others. I don’t know how great I look but I look a heck of a lot better than I did a year ago. I still have a ways to go but I am still very determined.

    Reply

  6. birdpress
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 07:43:59

    Great videos! I like the little cat walk pose you did on the beach video. Oh, and the picture of the kite is great!

    I’m glad you enjoyed my videos. The bad part of videoing is I can never get my camera out fast enough to video anyone doing something stupid. I though the kite picture was one of my best along with my photo of me eating in the dark.

    Reply

  7. dropofkim
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 08:53:55

    Hopefully Phoenix is not one of those dumbass drivers. Hey Joan, remember back in the day when you HAD to use the viewfinder to take a picture? LOL Tell your daughter she needs to share her recipe. I’ve only had salmon from a can and The Hubs keeps wanting me to try real salmon. That looks like a good place to start. Great video of you at the beach!! Do you beachcomb (is that the word?) while you are there?

    I do remember using a viewfinder and really didn’t even notice that the camera had one until yesterday. I’m going to post the Salmon Salad recipe this week. It really is so good and easy to make. I can only walk for a few minutes at a time because of my back so I don’t do a lot of beachcombing. At night though you will see a lot of people on the beach with their metal detectors looking for stuff. Phoenix is definitely not a dumbass driver though she tends to fall asleep at the wheel.

    Reply

  8. Little Miss
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 09:50:52

    Look at you, strutting your trim bod. You look fabulous! Ah, three hours at the beach with your daughter. What could be more divine? You crack me up with your pictures and videos. I followed a dumbass driver yesterday and there was a cop behind me. I was irritated the cop didn’t pass me and pull over the idiot for going 35 in a 55. He kept slowing down and you could see him crane his neck to look in the rear view window because he was too short for the small Honda. Geez.

    Yes, I’m starting to feel more comfortable strutting my stuff instead of waddling my stuff. I love taking videos. I spend half the time I am driving around looking for dumbasses., But how do video a dumbass? Do you just stop and ask them “Hey you’re a dumbass. Can I video you for Youtube?” I think I may have to resort to that soon. That cop was probably on his way to Dunkin Donuts and didn’t want to take the time to pull anyone over.

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 16:09:00

    ROFLMAO!! I KNEW you would crown the multitasking woman a dumbass!!! KUDOS! YOU ROCK!

    Ha! Ha! She was definitely a dumbass. My daughter was driving and yelling out the window at her. I should have taken a video of that.

    Reply

  10. javajunkee
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 16:10:46

    Ok you and your daughter so totally need to “stage” a video with you caning somebody! Seriously. Get a friend and have them let you cane them as your dd video tapes it. And you narrate what is going on. And of course they will need to be a dumbass! PUHLEASE!

    I think you’re onto something here. The wasband can be my victim. He’s a dumbass. (Only kidding, Barry). I love it. I will talk to Sarah.

    Reply

  11. kaylee2
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 16:18:47

    Alright You make me jealous 😉 And I am back to posting 🙂

    I’m glad you’re back. Are you feeling any better?

    Reply

  12. kaylee
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 19:29:43

    Yes i am feeling so much better and I revealed when the chemo will be over in my blog post 🙂

    I’ll go over and read your blog now. I am glad you are feeling better.

    Reply

  13. thebeadden
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 19:40:28

    Joan, my jaw dropped when I saw you in the video. You really notice how much weight you have lost in it. And the bathing suit photo! Can you say Diva?

    I don’t like salmon but it looks so good. I’m glad you had such a great day! Did I mention I am soooo happy you are now armed with a camcorder?

    I’m glad the weight loss is finally starting to show. I sent that photo to my hubby when he was in boot camp for the National Guard in 1971. I was a mere 22 years old. I love the way you say “armed with a camcorder”. I guess in my case it is sort of like a weapon. I will definitely be shooting people with it.

    Reply

  14. shornsheep
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 19:43:59

    Hi Joan. Just catching up on your blog. Sioooo much to catch up on. Really glad there was heaps though because it has cheered me up after our sad day. Thank you ❤

    What a fabulous day out you two had.

    What sort of dog is Phoenix? She sure looks like a better driver than that woman, haha.

    Sarah’s salmon salad is making my mouth water. Looks sooooooo yummy! Salmon is the food of the gods IMO.

    Phoenix is an American Staffordshire Terrier AKA a Pit Bull. The breed has always had a bad reputation but it really depends on how you bring them up. She is a 10 year old baby. If someone broke into the house she would lick them to death. She is a sweet and wonderful dog. She loves going to the vet and all the girls at the office lover her.

    You must be heartbroken right now. Kids seem to bounce back better from these things than us adults.

    I love Salmon, especially the way Sarah cooks it. And the wonderful thing is that it is so good for you.

    Reply

  15. shornsheep
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 19:47:26

    PS. NO our accent is NOT similar to the Aussie one, haha! Theirs is like the budget version of ours, haha.

    Seriously, our accent would be half way between an English and an Australian accent. Though you get variations depending on what part of the country you are from, how cultured (haha) you are etc. same as anywhere else.

    “NO our accent is NOT similar to the Aussie one, haha! Theirs is like the budget version of ours, haha.” That’s too funny. Me, cultured? That’s a funny one too. My daughter is so sophisticated and cultured and no one can figure out where she got it from because she certainly didn’t get it from her parents. 😉

    Reply

  16. Wendy
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 20:05:08

    Joan you look awesome!!! And you’re walking great, no one would ever know you broke your ass a few months ago. This was a great post. Between the videos and the food it was just sheer delight. This is why I’ve listed you as my hero on MS. Fan-fucking-tabulous!

    I’m glad you enjoyed this post, Sister W. I am walking a lot better. My ass actually still hurts after almost 7 months but only if I sit back on it for more than a half hour. If it keeps up I might have to go to an ass doctor. I wonder what you call them. Assologists?

    Reply

  17. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 20:17:30

    Wow, look at you! Hey, I got interviewed by Writerchick as well, excited to see your answers tomorrow!

    I’m slowly melting away. It was a fun interview with Writerchick. Annie is a smart lady. She put a lot of work into this series she is doing.

    Reply

  18. museditions
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 20:20:51

    Phoenix looks like a lovely dog-driver, and not dumbass at all. YOU look amazing, good for you! I have no beach so I’m envious, and I want some salmon salad too. mmm

    Phoenix is a sweetheart of a dog. I’m going to post the recipe for the salmon salad this week. I really don’t think I could live anywhere but on the coast. i would find it difficult not to be near the ocean.

    Reply

  19. teeni
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 21:22:08

    Wow – you look amazing! I notice you really aren’t leaning on the cane all that much – do you think it won’t be long until you don’t even need it anymore? I’d still keep it handy as a weapon though – you know to ward off dumbass attacks. LOL. Seriously, you look very healthy and very trim. I’d never have guessed you ever weighed what you originally started with (which now I can’t remember for the life of me, but I know you’ve told us).

    I started out at 344 pounds. Now I’m down to 259. I will still need the cane until I get new knees because my right knee gives out sometimes and I lose my balance. I don’t want to fall on my ass again. 😉

    Reply

  20. mrsvierkant
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 22:54:51

    Great videos! I just want to run up and hug you at the beach. 😀 You look absolutely wonderful!

    I’m glad you had a wonderful time with Sarah.

    I like the picture at the top of the blog too. Looks heavenly.

    I’m glad you liked the videos. I have a lot of fun looking for people to videotape. I always enjoy my time with Sarah. This Sunday we are going to the IMAX theater to see Batman, “The Dark Knight”.

    Falmouth is definitely a beautiful place. I was lucky to get that phot with such wonderful lighting.

    Reply

  21. javajunkee
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 09:53:48

    YAY! I can’t wait to see your very own production..
    how bout this for a title?

    Citizen Can(ING) 🙂 I love the idea of having your wasband being in it. Make sure when you post it to put a NO DRINKING while watching warning.

    I’ve always wanted to be an actress. I sure hope the wasband wants to be an actor and Sarah a director. I’m sure they will. I love the name “Citizen Can(ING)”.

    Reply

  22. Just a Mom
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 12:18:52

    Love the videos! I could spend every day at the beach! I love the sound of the surf.

    I am so glad I went to the beach. I know I will be doing it more often. I would go today but it is cloudy even though my weather girl on my blog is saying it’s sunny.

    Reply

  23. threeboys1mommy
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 13:14:39

    You look great! Wasband? Wasband. Wasband! I just now got that! I’m such a dumbass 😦

    My wasband and I have been divorced for 20 years but have always been best friends. He even lives with me, my daughter and her hubby right now because he got dumped by his last girlfriend and had no place to go. I always take him in when he gets dumped. He has a new girlfriend whom I adore. I’m always friends with his girlfriends. He and I are both friends with his last girlfriend and she is friends with his new girlfriend. I don’t want to be married to him but he makes the most excellent friend. I’ve known him for forty years and I wouldn’t change a thing. He has done so much for me.
    Actually I think you’re very smart to figure it out. Not everyone has.

    Reply

  24. Trackback: Two recipes!! Salmon Salad & Rosemary Cashew Chicken « Whatever I think
  25. Peter Parkour
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 13:55:38

    Lookin’ good, Joan. 🙂 Phoenix ain’t looking to shabby herself. It’s just a matter of time before you catch a dumbass on video. 😉 You live way too close to the beach to go that long between visits. You ought to make it a weekly thing, as long as you can avoid a bulk of the tourists. 😛

    I am definitely going to go to the beach more often. Later in the day is the best time to go. The sea breeze picks up so it is cool, there are less tourists and you don’t get sunburned. Phoenix is a sweet dog. Not what you would think of when you think of pit bull. I’ll find those dumbasses. We sure know they are out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

