Video Paradise

I didn’t exactly get the Flip Mino video camera that I wanted but…. My daughter bought a Sony digital still/video camera 5 years ago and told me it didn’t work but if I could figure out what was wrong with it I could have it. She said she and Obie tried everything. NOT!! The damn thing works fine. It has two batteries and one of them doesn’t work but I charged up the other one and voila!!!! Voila is French. It means “the freakin camera works great”.

I put it next to my cheap drugstore glasses so you could see how small it is. No wonder I can’t freakin’ see out of those glasses. Can you see how dirty they are? I do also use my glasses as food catchers. I usually have a beaded chain on them so I can wear them around my neck and not lose them. When they are hanging there and I am eating, all the food that would normally land on the floor lands on my glasses. The cats don’t get to eat my scraps.

The camera comes with 2 –256mb cards. I don’t know how long a video I’ll get out of each card but I don’t plan on boring people with long videos anyway. Hopefully I’ll get more than 15 seconds and a better quality than what I had.

I also got my new cell phone today. My old one broke and I must have a cell phone. It’s tops on my list of things I can’t do without. I had to pick one of the free ones from AT&T but as long as I can talk on it I really don’t care about a whole mess of features I will probably never use. I had a Motorola now I have a Nokia. Hopefully I can figure out how to use it without reading the directions.

Do you see how thick that book is? Granted, half of it is in a foreign language but still, that’s way too long for directions to anything except maybe how to control the universe.

I think I’ll call myself on my cell phone with the house phone so I can hear it ring.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 14:11:59

    LOL. I can see your meez is just as happy with your new prizes! Too cool that you got both of those today – it must be technology day for you Joan! I am looking forward to new movies from you. If you need someone to help you test out your phone, send me the number and I’ll give you a ring (on the phone, not the jewelry kind of ring). πŸ˜‰

    I’d rather just have a phone call from you. I’m not ready to exchange rings yet. πŸ˜‰ I e-mailed you my #. I’m sick of calling myself.

    Reply

  2. Becky Motew
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 15:03:26

    I never gave in to the cell phone madness, but last year my brother got sick of not being able to reach me, so he bought me one at the grocery. My students say it is the kind that deadbeats have, people who can’t get credit because they don’t pay their bills. I’m proud to be in their group. Nice camera, Joan. You are going to have a great time with it.
    b

    My son has one of those phones. It’s good for people like him who tend to go way over their allowed minutes. He once had a $400 cell phone bill for one month. I really only ever talk to my kids, Barb and my wasband on it. But I drive a crappy car which breaks down and it has come in very handy under those circumstances. Barbara never turns hers on.

    Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 15:16:26

    Voila is French. It means β€œthe freakin camera works great”.
    That is too funny!! Have fun with your new toys!

    Well, maybe that’s not the exact translation but it’s damn close. The phone is so complicated. All I want to do is talk on it.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 16:24:55

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with on that new camera! I also got a free phone but it is the worst phone ever. You can’t see the screen that shows who is calling unless you are in the dark. So if I want to screen my calls I have to hold it under my shirt and look down at it. This is my work phone, so I’m doing this at work. Things like this are why I work alone.

    I can’t believe you have to hold your phone under your shirt to screen your calls. That sucks. How’s your Mom? I haven’t seen her on her blog lately. I always liked working alone too. I’d see a customer come and want to put up the closed sign.

    Reply

  5. shornsheep
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 17:20:34

    What a techo-wizz you are working all that out! I think maybe you yourself could control the Universe with all your devices and knowing how to work them, rather than all the dumbasses that are doing it now, haha.

    Good on you; and I love your translation of voila.

    There’s supposed to be a little ` over the a in voila but I didn’t know how to get it on there so I guess I’m not that tech savvy but I am working on it. I’m also working on the side on controlling the universe. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 18:45:06

    Yay! That sure didn’t take long to get your hands on a camera. I so want to kidnap your family! Or maybe you could adopt me. πŸ™‚
    I’m so happy you got one, Joan.

    Off-topic but I finally got your video up.

    My daughter just told me she didn’t like the focus on it but I’m sure it will be fine for me. I do have the best family in the world.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 19:30:21

    Sweet deal on the camera. πŸ˜‰ Cute phone, and AT&T. Hey buddy. πŸ™‚ That is one hell of a manual, Dang. Hey, if you do start making bigger videos the next thing you can work on learning is how to edit them. Then you can make little montages and put them to music. πŸ˜› That would be pretty cool. Dumbasses with classical music in the background. πŸ˜€

    I was thinking I wanted to learn about editing too. Oh man, the possibilities are endless. Yea, and all that stuff today was free. That’s the best part.

    Reply

  8. JOS
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 20:18:08

    Moore’s Law states that the number of transistors per square inch on integrated circuits will double every 18 to 24 months. This is evident in how small all our gadgets are getting. Soon we’ll be holding our cell phones to our ears with a pair of tweezers.
    – JOS

    Ha! Ha! That’s funny you should bring that up. Both my sister and I were just complaining on how small phones are now and you can’t hold the phone to your ear with your shoulder so you can talk and do other stuff. I had a cell phone 15 years ago that was huge and now they are so tiny.

    By the way, Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  9. mrsvierkant
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 23:44:41

    Enjoy your new toys. πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see the videos.

    I love how the manual is always bigger than the phone. LOL

    I refuse to even open up that manual. I’m looking forward to capturing some good video.

    Reply

  10. CuriousC
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 12:04:35

    Have fun with your technogadgets!

    I’ll have fun once I figure out how to work everything. I just know I’m not reading any manuals. I just start pressing random buttons to see what happens.

    Reply

  11. Moonbeam McQueen
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 16:43:10

    Not to rain on your parade, but judging from the size of that camera, I’ll bet your photos and videos are going to be incredibly tiny. πŸ˜‰

    Ha! Ha! You’re probably right. You’ll have to get out your magnifier to watch my videos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

