Beam Us Up Scotty!!

I’m writing this story per request of my sister, Barbara, and Wendy at Life With Buck.

This is a true story. It happened 25 years ago in my town, in my solar system, in my galaxy (we live in the Milky Way Galaxy).

My sister lived in town at this time and I was driving to her house to watch a movie for the evening. As I entered Main street I saw in the sky, over the ocean, flashing lights. I had never seen lights in the sky like this before in my life. There was something odd about the way they traveled across the sky, almost leaping, irregular patterns.

As soon as I got to my sister’s house I told her to come with me quick I had to find the lights again. In the car I explained to her what I saw as we headed to the beach. We were both filled with excitement at the prospect of seeing a real UFO. We then started a discussion on what we would do if the aliens gave us a chance to go with them, you know, nice aliens not reptilian scary dudes. Would we, could we, leave our families to travel the universe, see other worlds if given a choice? Could we leave our children for a once in a lifetime trip to the far reaches of the universe? It’s a hard question.

Meanwhile we finally see the lights again.

THIS IS NOT AN ACTUAL PHOTO. WE DIDN’T HAVE CAMERAS. THE FLASHING LIGHTS DIDN’T EVEN LOOK LIKE THIS. I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHY I PUT THIS HERE.

My sister is awestruck. We can’t believe what we are seeing. At one point the sky goes dark and we see them a few seconds later more to our left. This is really happening we say. We do our best to follow them along the water getting more excited by the second but at the same time wondering why cars aren’t pulled over watching them. We can’t be the only ones to see this spectacular vision but no one else seems to care.

Now they are heading towards us. I stop the car and my sister and I get out. We look above us and see flashing lights that read “Vote for Joe Mahoney” hanging off the tail of a two seater airplane.

Oh the bitter disappointment. What happened? WTF happened? We were on our way to new worlds and then suddenly going to the voting polls.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dragonfly3085
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 15:16:25

    LOL! I love this story! My mom is convinced she’s seen a bear like alien in our back yard and these strange lights, I’m sure there is ET life out there… but I doubt it looks like the bear from the fabric softener commercials and I doubt it was creepily staring into my windows. I will have to share this story with her and make her realize there are other possibilities.

    I didn’t vote for that dumbass either. He ruined my excitement with his stupid airplane flashing lights. I’m sure ET’s are out there, just not here yet.

    Reply

  2. thebeadden
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 17:21:16

    LMAO! Too funny, Joan.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. Once I get my video camera I will be searching harder for UFOs. Who knows what I’ll find.

    Reply

  3. shornsheep
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 22:35:02

    Hehe, love the story and how apt – most politicians are from another planet aren’t they?

    What a good point about politicians!! Ha! Ha! Especially in this country.

    Reply

  4. mrsvierkant
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 23:18:12

    LOL! I’d rather go with aliens than listen to politicians. “We live in the Milky Way Galaxy.” OMG… That bit gave me quite the giggle. Great post.

    I agree. I prefer aliens to politicians. I study astronomy. It’s amazing how many people don’t realize our galaxy is the Milky Way galaxy and where our solar system is within it. But I suppose you have to be a geek like me to know that. I remember once trying to explain to my father that their were billions of galaxies out there. I even showed him photographs. I don’t think he ever believed me. I swear he thought the earth was flat.

    Reply

  5. laura
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 10:39:22

    Now just a minute! Maybe there really were aliens. Maybe they didn’t count on someone, as savvy as you, spotting them. Maybe, in retaliation, they ‘morphed’ into a plane dragging a political sign knowing that it would sicken and disgust you! They’re not stupid you know!

    Wow, my sister and I never thought of that. I have to go call her right now! 😉

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 11:39:09

    Oh God, this was hilarious. And fury you must have felt when you saw it was a political stunt.
    But I totally believe we are not alone in the universe, I think we’d be pompous to think we’re all there is. I just can’t figure out why the government won’t release everything they know. I mean, doesn’t it create more of a panic when they classify everything and black-out reports?

    We are just one galaxy out of billions of galaxies each with trillions of stars. Common sense would tell you there has to be others out there. Other whats, who knows? But I know, without a shadow of a doubt, there are planets out there amongst those billions of galaxies with some sort of life on them. There certainly could be life that is more technologically advanced so that they could contact us. As Agent Mulder would say “I BELIEVE”.

    Reply

  7. betme
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 16:19:55

    Joan I REALLY hope you are abducted so that you can share the experience with us. I am sure the aliens would want you to tell us every thing in the perfect way that you do it.

    If they are out there, I’ll be the one to find them and get the first videos. My sister and I were really disappointed that night.

    Reply

  8. Hay
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 23:38:15

    Bwahahahaha!

    As they say in X-Files: “The Truth Is Out There”. I just didn’t think the truth was: “Vote for Joe Mahoney”.

    Reply

  9. Peter Parkour
    Jul 12, 2008 @ 15:39:38

    This is funny, great story. 😆

    The stupid thing is that it actually happened. I even called my sister to make sure I had the facts straight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

