I Survived!! I’m Alive! Am I Being A Little Overdramatic? Yes! Yes!

First of all I would like to thank everyone for their well wishes. They were really appreciated. I love knowing there are people out there that have never even met me but really care about me. And know this: I care right back at you!!!

You’d think I was having a quadruple by-pass or having my head sewn back onto my body. I told you I was going to milk this as long as I could. That’s one of the perks of getting older. I so milked it when I got home.

I was very lucky. I wore pants with an elastic waist just hoping and praying they wouldn’t make me wear an awful hospital gown. It worked. The Doc just pulled them down a tad, pulled up my shirt a tad and we were ready to go.

I TOOK THIS PHOTO MYSELF JUST BEFORE I CLIMBED ONTO THE WHATEVER YOU CALL THOSE BEDS. THAT”S THE X-RAY IMAGER THE DOC USED TO MAKE SURE HE DIDN’T MESS UP WHERE HE STUCK THE NEEDLES.

I warned him not to F*** it up. I had my cane with me. I couldn’t get the nurse to take a photo of the actual procedure. BUT…

THIS IS MY ACTUAL SPINE WITH A COUPLE OF THE NEEDLES IN IT. THE NURSE WAS KIND ENOUGH TO LET ME SNAP A QUICK PIC.

The actual sticking of the needles probably only took 15 minutes. There was a little pain if you can call it that. Mostly it was my anticipation of having pain that was the worst part. I kept waiting for something painful to happen and it never really did. I’m glad I couldn’t see what was happening though.

The best part was when I got home. I never watched the TV show “Heroes” when it was on. I missed two seasons of it. I was going to buy the first season DVD soon. The Doc said to stay in my chair the rest of the day so of course I did. I checked “On Demand” to see if there were any good movies on and I came across every episode of “Heroes” from seasons 1 and 2. I watched 12 episodes yesterday back to back.

THEN I FOUND OUT IT WAS COSTING ME .99 CENTS AN EPISODE. NOT QUITE WHAT I EXPECTED. TOO LATE NOW.

The Doc said I couldn’t even go pick up Sarah at the boat in the evening so my brother-in-law did it for me. When Sarah came home there was a pile of dishes in the sink which I had actually meant to do before I left but forgot. She did the dishes for me. YES!! They told me to chill out today too so I am going to watch another 12 episodes of “Heroes” or more if I have time. The hell with the .99 cents an episode.

I did put a pork roast in the crock pot this morning so Obie and Barry would have supper tonight. Yes, Barry is finally home after 2 weeks traveling around with his girlfriend “birding”. They had a great time. He’s just staying 2 nights and then going back to her house for who knows how long. I’m just glad he has found someone that makes him happy.

I just wanted to write a quick post to let everyone know I was doing great. I don’t want to get too excited here but I would almost swear my back feels better than usual this morning. They say you can have quick results or it can take up to two weeks or it might not work at all. They also say it might work for a short time and that’s it or it might work for a long time. Lot’s of choices here.

Oh, and the nurse assured me it won’t affect my appetite and there will be no extra weight gain. YES AGAIN!!

Well, I have to get back to my lazy girl chair in my air conditioned room and watch Heroes. Gotta do what the Doctor ordered. I’ll spend time tomorrow at all your places.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 12:19:33

    Yay! Glad to hear all went well. Have fun following doctor’s orders! 🙂

    Thank You! I like following those orders.

    Reply

  2. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 12:36:19

    I can’t believe you DID THAT! Scary, scary stuff Joan. But i understand … for a few days last month I thought about going to a doctor to see about lower back spine surgery … but really didn’t want to become shorter and unable to bend, not that I really can now, but still. I also love that your nurses hooked you up with photo ops … very nice. You should have gotten one of you in the gown though!

    So far this procedure is helping at least. Yea, I’m glad I got to take a pic of the needles in my back.

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 12:44:51

    That looks very similar to what I had done. The difference is probably where they shot the medicine in you versus where in me. I was on the same kind of table. They actually printed off a picture for me like you snapped of the screen of where the needles went. Enjoy chillin’. 🙂

    I asked them if they could print a pic but they couldn’t so I just took one. I love Chillin’!!

    Reply

  4. fightingwindmills
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 14:46:27

    I’m glad you’re okay, Joan. Enjoy the downtime.

    The procedure was much easier than I expected. I will definitely enjoy the down time.

    Reply

  5. 2lazydogs
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 16:41:17

    Yay! So glad to hear that the procedure went well and you’re feeling good. Go ahead and be overdramatic…I’m always a overdramatic. I think we girls have a right to be. Shit, the last time I had a biopsy on my boob the doc pulled out the harpoon, waived it in my face and said, “See, breast tissue is REALLY dense – you bent the needle”. Damn, I played that one up for weeks…plus I showed everyone the massive hole that the harpoon left in my boob – well, at least those that were brave enough to look!

    I’m supposed to have a cervical biopsy but I have put it off for three years. They tried twice and they couldn’t do it in the dr’s office so I was supposed to have it done in the hospital and I have postponed it. It’s because I have fibroids. I should probably give in and do it.

    I’ll really milk it when I have that done. You’re right we girls do have a right to be overdramatic.

    Reply

  6. Hay
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 17:22:19

    Brilliant!
    Enjoy your Heroes 🙂

    I absolutely am enjoying “Heroes”.

    Reply

  7. Hannah
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 19:01:26

    Yay, so glad it went well and you are still alive and kicking! I bet that doc was freaking out over you and your cane, he daren’t have “f***d it up” LOL 🙂

    I don’t think he was sure whether I was kidding or not even though I was smiling when I said it. I noticed the nurse took the cane and put it way in a corner.

    Reply

  8. thebeadden
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 21:20:57

    I’m glad to know your back home and the procedure went well, Joan. That would so creep me out. (needles in my back)
    Milk it for everything you can! Why not?
    I hope the results are even better than expected. 🙂
    Take Care

    I’m glad it’s over with. I hate doing crap like that. But I actually think it is helping.

    Reply

  9. c
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 23:22:02

    i am glad that the procedure went well with only a little discomfort.
    i am thankful you have good people around you to take care of you, too.

    Heroes is like the best show ever.
    i haven’t enjoyed a show so much since The Bonic Woman a la Lindsay Wagner. (Until my dad took us to Universal Studios and i saw how she did those leaps and things. Then i couldn’t watch it anymore cos it was ruined. 😦 )

    i hope that your recovery is fast and smooth.

    I am loving “Heroes”. I remember always watching the “Bionic Woman”. I’d rather believe she did all those things herself.

    I am lucky to have such a great family.

    Reply

  10. writerchick
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 00:14:26

    Oh Joanie, so glad everything went well. You missed Heroes? Thank God, they have all tht stuff on dvd and pay per view. It’s a great series, isn’t it? I can’t wait for the next season. I had to laugh about your cane threat to the doc – that must have made him do a double take.
    Annie

    I can’t believe I didn’t watch “Heroes” from the beginning but at least I will be caught up when the new season starts. That Doc wasn’t quite sure whether I was kidding or not.

    Reply

  11. Wendy
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 11:19:42

    I’m SO relieved it went well. Really, Joan, I’m very relieved. And you shouldn’t feel too bad about the .99 episodes for Heroes; in the stores the DVD set is around $50. I so love to have an entire TV series in front of me to occupy my mind for days at a time. I’ve been watching Buffy The Vampire Slayer, but yesterday my Season One set of Battlestar Galactica arrived from Amazon! I am so psyched about that show, I can’t wait to get into it.
    Heroes is awesome. I loved it.

    I wish I hadn’t missed Battlestar Galactica. Maybe they’ll put it on “ON Demand” and I can watch that too. I also watch “Lost” and “Jericho”. I love “Heroes”.

    Reply

  12. museditions
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 17:24:12

    Oh yes do milk it! Great photo! I can’t believe you had the presence of mind to actually take it! I really love Heroes, too, but 12 episodes in one day?!? 80

    It seems everyone watches “Heroes”. I really did watch 12 episodes but I haven’t had time to do that again though I wanted to. I’m glad I got the photo too.

    Reply

  13. kaylee
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 19:08:34

    Follow doctors orders? Oh yeah, that is what I should be doing! Glad everything went well!

    You follow Doctor’s orders so you can get out of that place quick.

    Reply

  14. David
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 21:17:15

    Joan I hope that this treatment is helpful. Sounds like it should be informative, huh?

    Never quite got into the Heroes thing but the pork roast sounds great 😀 I agree with Wendy about the buck per episode not being a bad deal, as long as there are no commercials. It’s fun to saturate on a whole season of a show and have complete control over it.

    BTW I really like the way you photo-documented this post! Thanks for sharing and please keep to the doc’s orders 🙂

    The pork roast was delicious. My SIL damn near ate the whole thing. Fortunately there aren’t any commercials so it’s so enjoyable watching it. Glad you enjoyed the photo’s. I think I am supposed to go check out your colon photo. I am following the Doc’s orders to a T.

    Reply

  15. Wendy
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 21:30:48

    I knew David would love that photo of your spine. Have you seen his colon?

    I am definitely going to find David’s colon.

    Reply

  16. CuriousC
    Jul 07, 2008 @ 11:31:04

    YOu most definitely deserve a Heroes Marathon.

    I am doing another Heroes Marathon tomorrow.

    Reply

  17. mrsvierkant
    Jul 07, 2008 @ 23:50:56

    Glad you milked it. Pain or no pain, those are needles, and they were in your spine. **shivers** Hope it works.

    So far so good. I just hope it has a long lasting affect. I wonder where they got that expression “milked it”?

    Reply

  18. Peter Parkour
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 05:48:34

    That needle pic looks spooky, but if you it’s not so bad I’ll take your word for it. 😉 How is the Heroes marathon going? Have you managed to watch them all yet? I’m in dire need of catching up on season 2. I can’t wait for them to come out on DVD. 😛

    I sort of slowed up on Heroes because I had a busy week but tomorrow is going to be another marathon. I have nothing to do all day, I hope. The needles were well worth the reduction of pain I am feeling in my back.

    Reply

  19. teeni
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 19:56:42

    Yikes! Joan, I had no idea you were getting this done! I’m so glad you didn’t have any of the bad effects from it and I hope it continues to work wonderfully for you. Anything to do with the spine is scary. I know what you mean about the anticipation of the needles being the worst thing. It was that way for me for each of my needles and for every time I have to get my blood labs taken. I have been describing it as I have a high tolerance for pain but not for the FEAR of the pain, so yeah, the anticipation is usually the worst. Oh, TGH and I love Heroes! We also watch Ghost Hunters. Have you seen that? And how come it costs $.99 an episode? I thought On Demand was free. Good thing I don’t turn on the TV or I’d be costing TGH tons of money, I’m sure.

    So far the needles have helped. The question is: how long will it last? It varies from person to person.
    I was surprised that they charged .99 cents an episode but I love it and it was cheaper than buying the DVD. I’ve never seen Ghost Hunters but now I will check it out. Oh, glad you’re back. I missed you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

