48 Minutes

I’ve got 48 minutes to write a post on this last day of the month before the clock turns to Midnite, July 1st. The pressure is almost too much to handle. OK, I can do this.

The daughter and I went to two movies this weekend. Sunday we saw “The Incredible Hulk and today we saw the Indiana Jones movie. We both like Sci Fi and fantasy type movies so these were right up our alley. I really couldn’t pick which one I liked best because I liked them both though I love Edward Norton. What a fantastic actor.

What really pissed me off were the rude people in the theater who deserved canings more than any people I have come across in a while. They must have said at least three times on the screen to put your cell phone on silent. Of course during Indiana Jones someone’s phone actually goes off. Obviously the owner was a moron or deaf and blind. I’ll go for moron because I doubt too many deaf and blind people go to theaters.

MORON

During the Hulk movie my daughter who would usually never do this, shushed the kids behind us, Usually I’m the one who shushes. Actually I just yell out “Shut up”. I assume she shushed them to beat me to the punch. Sometimes I embarrass her. During today’s movie a couple behind us talked loudly throughout the movie as if they were in their living room. Fortunately I didn’t hear them because I was so into the movie and my ass was hurting. They were lucky.

What the hell is wrong with people? Where has common sense gone and just plain old thoughtfulness.?
“In-seat complaint button being tested.


ANTIOCH, CA ā€” In one Bay Area theater, Regal is testing out an in-seat device to alert theater employees of a disturbance within the theater:

Loud talking, chair kicking and other movie-theater annoyances may soon be a thing of the past, thanks to a new device similar to the flight attendant call button on airplanes. Moviegoers at the Regal Deer Valley Cinema complex are testing devices that will alert a theater employee when a fellow patron is behaving badly.”

I would have my finger on that button all the time. The little kids behind us today trashed the place with popcorn and they were with their parents.

Is it just me? When I took my kids to the theater when they were little they never talked. They knew if they did I’d pull them out in the middle of the movie. I can’t get started on this kid thing I’ve only got 18 minutes left.

We did enjoy the movies though. I also enjoyed hanging out with Sarah. There are lots more movies coming up that we want to see. OK, Done.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 00:12:51

    My daughter, Stacy, just took Cayen to the movies to see Wall-E. She said he was soooo good and the people around him loved him. I’m sure he asked a couple questions, but my daughter is considerate, so I’m sure they behaved. She said he just sat there and watched the whole movie. We are definitely going to see the “huahua” movie in September. And Ed Norton is HOT.

    My kids use to quietly ask questions too at movies and that is to be expected. What I can’t tolerate is parents letting their children run amuck and talk throughout the whole movie. You can’t blame the children. The blame falls on the parents. I can tell from the pictures of your two darling boys that they are well behaved. I can imagine the kids will love the “huahua” movie. I’m sure you will to. I’ll bet Cayden loved Wall-E.

    Reply

  2. c
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 01:23:20

    Oh. My. Word.

    This is why i don’t go to the theater- other people.
    Once, Joan, i went to an R rated movie, a horror movie with disturbing images- The Ring- not scary, but scary looking– and some woman brought her little kids- like a five year-old, an eight year-old and a baby in a stroller. i was flabergasted. šŸ˜¦

    Cell phones piss me off all over the place. Why do i got to hear all their personal business, you know? Why must my peace be shattered because you can’t wait until a more private and appropriate time, a time away from me!?

    Okay, i’ll quit. Pass the info about Hulk being good onto the hubby. He’ll take my 14 year-old to the movies and i’ll rent it when it comes out on DVD. šŸ˜‰

    I saw The Ring. It wasn’t very scary but I still wouldn’t let my kids see it until they were 17. Movies are rated R for a reason. My daughter at 29 years old still won’t watch horror movies because she wasn’t brought up on them. I’m talking movies like the gory, blood and guts ones. You wonder what some parents are thinking. Evidently they are not thinking.

    Reply

  3. aniche
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 04:48:12

    edward norton can make tom and jerry intense!

    You are so right about Edward Norton. He was fantastic in Fight Club. Very intense.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 07:35:59

    J and I prefer to go to the movies during the day when it is less crowded. Too many people just ruin it for me. Glad you liked the movies though and had fun with your daughter. Nice of you not to cane anyone. šŸ˜‰

    Sarah and I actually went in the afternoon to both movies and neither was very crowded but the people who were in them each time were way to loud and rude. They are lucky I was in a good mood. I might have to attend Caner’s Anonymous otherwise.

    Reply

  5. mrsvierkant
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 08:10:46

    Nothing like paying money to be disturbed by others. **ugh** I prefer to see movies that have been out awhile and I go to matinees. That helps a little.

    Glad you had a nice time with your daughter.

    We did have a great time and loved both movies. Both were matinees and not crowded but the few people in them were very inconsiderate.

    Reply

  6. betme
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 09:41:41

    I am glad that you did not cane anyone, although that would make an excellent blog post!

    We found a new movie theater that serves meals during the movie. It is kind of cool. And you have to be at least 21 to get in because they serve beer.

    I agree with “C” about being “flabergasted” with parents who bring small children to R rated movies. What the hell are they thinking?

    We just got a new theater in town like that. I got a $50 gift certificate for my birthday to go to it. I was a little afraid about the food but I got the menu and they have a grilled chicken salad I can eat. My daughter has been a few times. She said the screen is not as good as the other theater so we are saving the gift certificate for a movie that doesn’t have a lot of special effects and the screen doesn’t matter.

    Some parents just don’t think. I never let my kids watch the really gory violent movies. They still don’t. My daughter still loves cartoons.

    Reply

  7. Just a Mom
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 11:30:25

    I hardly ever go to the movie theater! We wait for the movies to come out on DVD and then watch them in the comfort of our own home. Potty break, no problem hit the pause button. Ha! I didn’t miss a thing. And for an added bonus if someone is talking too much I can tell them to shut the heck up or hit them if I have to and I won’t get arrested for doing it! šŸ™‚

    I think my daughter just likes to get me out of the house doing something other than grocery shopping. She’s afraid I will turn into an agoraphobe again. She takes me everywhere but we do always have a good time together on our mother and daughter trips.

    I like watching DVDs at home too but I usually end up watching them alone.

    Reply

  8. Wendy
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 13:24:44

    In El Paso they’ve solved the problem of people talking during the movie by making all the movies DEAFENING. Seriously, the movies are so loud you wouldn’t hear a cell phone if it did go off.

    We went to see “The Happening” when Cody was here and we liked it. It’s getting bad reviews, and the dialogue was seriously lame, but if you’re an M. Night Shyamalan fan you’d like it. As a director, his imagery is so delightfully creepy.

    I was wondering about that movie because of the reviews. I loved “Signs” and “The Sixth Sense”. Maybe we’ll go see it at the new Cinema Pub where you can drink beer and eat. I have a $50 gift certificate so If we don’t like it for some reason it won’t be our money wasted.

    You’re right about the deafening sound in theaters now. The phone happened to go off during a quiet part of the movie.

    Reply

  9. MJ
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 15:17:04

    Amen. Obnoxious movie cell phone users are on my list for Slap A Moron Day today.

    “Slap a Moron Day, that’s awesome. I can think of so many people to slap. Where to begin?

    Reply

  10. sheng
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 21:38:35

    Hi there, my kid behaves too when we go out for the movies, that’s something because i never told him to be silent, he just felt it was complusory to be silent in a movie house, common sense right? Am glad he is like that.

    Reply

  11. David
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 21:43:56

    As commented on your last post, let’s bring back caning! I like Slap A Moron Day too. For this holiday you and I need to definitely pack a lunch!

    Reply

  12. theramblinghousewife
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 23:06:54

    I love it! The pressure of trying to get the post done . . .Been there!

    I’ve been thinking about taking my little one to the movies for the first time this weekend. He wants to see Wall-E.

    I figure–It’s a kid movie–If he talks too much, I’m fairly certain he won’t be the only one1 šŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. leafprobably
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 00:01:14

    Uh rude movie goers annoy the living heck out of me. I once sat next to a girl who texted through the whole movie – like she didn’t look up once. Why pay $15 for a seat at the movies if she could have just done that in the food court for free?

    Reply

  14. writerchick
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 12:04:00

    Oh man, don’t get me started on jerks in movie theatres. When I went to see Lord of the Rings, we had a woman and her elderly mother behind us who yelled (literally) through the whole movie and kicked our seats constantly – which was quite a feat, considering we were in a theatre that had stadium seating, that provides lots of leg room and a perfect view from every seat. Despite my many admonishments, the women never let up.

    Although the button thing bothers me – we are already so regulated and monitored with everything – cameras that take pictures, so chps don’t have to bother giving us tickets, security cameras, shoeless and clueless in the airport. I’d hate to have the movie police added to the fray. And of course those sorts of things can backfire too. If they installed such things, then chances are those who have respect for others would somehow get ratted on by the rowdies. It’s one of those catch-22’s, I think. So, I’m with C – not too many trips to the movie theatre, I’ll wait til it comes out on vid.

    Annie
    I agree with you about the button thing. People would be pressing them for totally crazy reasons. I’m the only one in the theater that should have a button. Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  15. odette
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 22:03:33

    very funny Joan, i got a good laugh! šŸ™‚
    i was hoping for some action, like caning or so…:)
    good thing the movie was engrossing, or some people has to pay. hehe

    i haven’t seen those movies yet, but will do so in a week or so. i want to watch it with kj. šŸ™‚

    If I would have been alone I probably would have caned someone but my daughter doesn’t like it when I start waving the cane around so out of respect for her I kept my cane to myself. i didn’t even yell at anyone.

    Reply

  16. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 12:34:24

    I just said, “OOOH” really loud at the public library, because I saw my boyfriend Ed Norton’s picture. I love that you love him too. He is so damn foxy and a fantastic actor to boot!

    Edward Norton is the bomb. He is such an intensely good actor and cute to boot.

    Reply

  17. museditions
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 17:21:12

    I so relate. I usually wait until the movie has been out for several weeks, and go at a time when the kids are in school (or should be). (Challenging during the summer). ‘Round here, the theaters are fairly empty, then, and even if I end up near a Rudie, and shushing didn’t work, I can get up and move. Still, though…

    We wait too. In the summer here we go on sunny days because then most people are at the beach. I just don’t understand thoughtless, selfish people.

    Reply

  18. Peter Parkour
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 15:22:10

    There was an incident during my viewing of Iron Man, and may have been the reason my back was hurting for about two months after. I can only take so much, and some people have an endless supply of stupid and rude. If I would have had a cane it would have gotten bloody. šŸ˜ˆ Good thing I didn’t. šŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

