My Night Out At Grumpy’s Pub, WW Saturday-YUCK!

I rarely go out at night. Last night Sarah and her hubby went to the local pub, Grumpy’s because one of their favorite bands was playing, “The Dancing Dogs”.

She called me around 11PM and asked me if I wanted to meet them at the pub. So I drove myself to town and met them. Three of the members of this band are also members of the band “Pumpkin Head Ted”. Pumpkin Head Ted was the band we hired for Sarah’s wedding. Not your typical wedding band but everyone at the wedding commented about how much fun they were and everyone danced all night.

Last night I only had one drink but I did make Sarah dance with me once. I wish I had brought my camera. I could only really stand there banging my cane on the floor but it was fun. Obie went home early because he had to work this morning but Sarah and I closed the place down. It was so sweet because one of the band members came over to me to make sure I was having a good time. Sarah’s friend Dan was there and he got up and played drums with them for the last set. Then the lead singer Tom came down and gave me a hug. I felt like the belle of the ball.

Now I have to confess that I gained 1.4 pounds this week. I did some emotional eating which has always been a problem for me but I got through it. It only lasted a couple of days. Who knew you could put on a pound so fast. Thank goodness there is always next week to do better. I was going to try and weasel out of the meeting because I knew I had gained but I went and faced my demons.

Today I get to face “The Incredible Hulk”

We are going at supper time so hopefully it won’t be crowded. Then we will come home and grill teriyaki turkey burgers at least for Sarah and me. Obie’s having a steak. We are going to grill vegetables too. All weight watcher’s approved. I am even sneaking my own popcorn into the theater. I have to get back on track.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. writerchick
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 16:00:52

    Oh I love local bands, they are always so much fun. Sounds like you had a great time, banging your cane, honey.

    Let me know how that movie is…I’m curious about it.
    Annie

    We have quite a few good local bands in the area. I definitely banged my cane that night.

    Reply

  2. c
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 16:29:59

    i am so proud that you were able to accept your slight gain without getting down on yourself. You have the best attitude about yourself and life. i know you’re not some happy-bot, but to me you seem very positive about most things and i admire that greatly.

    i’m glad that you had a good time with your daughter.
    Work that cane, Joan!

    Enjoy The Hulk. i heard Ed Norton did a good job with it.

    My attitude about life has changed a great deal in the past 15 months. It’s been a lot of hard work with more yet to come but I am facing my demons, have finally gotten off my ass and am doing something about it. The first step was the hardest. Without my daughter and sister though, I don’t think I would have gotten to where I am today.

    Reply

  3. birdpress
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 16:46:15

    Glad you had a good time out! Enjoy the movie. Edward Norton is cool.

    And as my mom says, weight is not a moral issue. Don’t feel the need to confess or feel guilty, just accept it and move on. Probably just water weight anyway. 😉

    Your mom is right. Moving on is the only way to succeed at this. I think I’ve already lost the weight I gained last week.

    Reply

  4. Hannah
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 18:19:51

    Facing your demons is the best thing to do! You’ll have a better week next week, I just know it!
    Glad you had a fun time with Sarah!

    I’m bound and determined to have a better week. Sarah and I always have so much fun when we hang out.

    Reply

  5. Sueellen
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 18:52:08

    Glad to hear you had a nice night out! Emotional eating is probably the nemesis of most of us on this journey and something we all deal with every day. But you have it right – don’t beat yourself up about it, you recognized it and now you are moving forward. Some of that weight gain is probably fluid from eating foods I am sure you haven’t had in ages. Look at how much you have accomplished to date – you are one if my inspirations helping me on this journey.

    You are right about the emotional eating. It’s like people who drink too much to deal with their problems. Food is like a drug to me. But you are right- when you mess up you can’t look back, you have to look forward. You inspire me too. WE WILL DO THIS !!!!

    Reply

  6. romi41
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 23:51:44

    the crappy thing about emotional eating, is that I eat when I’m sad OR when I’m really happy, so the only way to really keep things safe is to sleepwalk through life completely de-void of emotion…..I don’t think that’s gonna work for me!!!

    You know you’ve made a good point. I don’t want to be walking around like a Zombie. It’s hard to control that emotional eating because you are always going to have those ups and downs.

    Reply

  7. mrsvierkant
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 00:19:43

    The evening out sounds lovely. Did you enjoy the movie?

    (((Hugs))) for you. Here’s to a week of better eating and a great WW meeting next week.

    Sarah and I had a good time at the pub. I hardly ever go to bars and pubs so it was fun to do for a change. So far I am doing good this week with WW.

    Reply

  8. CuriousC
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 08:20:04

    FUN! I love that the dot can call late and night and drag you out. and you close the place down. Party-Animal Joan!

    Reply

  9. Just a Mom
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 10:56:15

    Sounds like you had a good night out! What a rebel you are sneaking your own popcorn into the movies! 🙂 I love it!

    I always sneak in my own food. I read that a large popcorn with butter in a theater has 130 grams of fat. I don’t think I eat that much fat in a week. I sneak in my own water too. I refuse to pay $3.00 for a little bottle of water.

    Reply

  10. betme
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 12:49:26

    It sounds like you hade an awesome night!

    It was certainly a good time. I haven’t been on a dance floor in 4 years since Sarah’s wedding.

    Reply

  11. fightingwindmills
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 17:52:42

    I’m glad you had such a fun time at the pub! In the photo there, those guys in the band look so nice. Thanks for visiting my blog today. Your comment was so sweet.

    The guys in the band are awesome. I love visiting your place. Since I don’t have grandchildren yet I appreciate watching the little ones on other people’s blogs. Your two are so cute. I hope to be a grandma within a couple of years.

    Reply

  12. thebeadden
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 20:54:39

    Joan, you probably danced off that wee bit last night! Sounds like fun. I can’t wait to hear about the movie. The previews look great!

    I never thought about the exercise I was getting dancing. I should go to bars more often. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Wendy
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 21:02:53

    Good for you, being aware of the emotional eating and now you’re correcting it. I love the mental picture of you banging your cane on the dance floor. And your new Meez is awesome. You always have the very best Meez.

    I tried to move around a little on the dance floor but I am definitely a cane banger. I love changing my Meez. Little things amuse little minds.

    Reply

  14. shornsheep
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 21:12:45

    Ed Norton is such a talented actor and is one of my favourite. Sounds like you had a fabulous night out which is great to hear.

    Edward Norton is terrific. It was a fabulous night. It was good to actually get out of the house at night.

    Reply

  15. David
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 20:46:23

    Nice post on so many levels joan. 🙂 If anyone ever called me to go out to a bar at 11:00pm I would have to say “ZZZZZZZZZZZ…”[snoring sounds] How great that you and your daughter closed the place down!

    Sorry about the 1.4 pounds but at least you had some real fun too. Maybe it’s the beef stew avatar. Perhaps you should go back to that whatever you were doing in the dark one. I liked the old one of your cane too. And, BTW, bringing caning back might be a great idea!

    I would normally say no but I am forcing myself to go out more. I had become such a hermit. Yea, I changed the avatar again.

    Reply

  16. Peter Parkour
    Jul 06, 2008 @ 14:16:25

    I’m glad to hear you still went to the meeting. That sounded like a pretty nice night out. I tend to be too antisocial for such events. I like being around people, but I don’t like parties or clubs. Public dancing and I are rarely seen together. I avoid the public stage in all its forms. 😐

    My daughter is trying to get me out more. She’s afraid I will become a hermit and never leave the house on my own and she’s right. So she entices me out and I can’t say no to her. So I have been going out and doing things a lot more than I used to which was not at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

