Alphabet of Gratefulness! You know, A is for Ass and so on!!

I got this from CuriousC over at Idea Jump.

  • A ass (I’m glad I still have one. I’m serious if this pain keeps up I’m having my ass removed)
  • B Barbara (my sister)
  • C chicken (high protein, low fat)
  • D Damon ( I love my son)
  • E energy (because I actually have some lately)
  • F friends (you gotta have them)
  • G gems (without them my daughter wouldn’t have a job and I would have to work)
  • H help (sometimes you just need it. You just have to know when to accept it)
  • I idiots (without them I wouldn’t seem so smart)
  • J Jupiter (I love to look at Jupiter with my telescope)
  • K kids ( I love my kids)
  • L love ( sappy but true, you gotta have it and you gotta give it)
  • M Mom ( I loved my Mom and still do)
  • N Nancy ( my best friend since I was 10)
  • O Oort Cloud (where all the comets come from)
  • P Papa ( actually no one called my dad that but I used up the letters D and G. We used to call him Dad or Gubby.
  • Q questions (without questions we’d have no answers)
  • R rain ( I love rain, especially at night. The sound can put me to sleep. I also love the smell of rain.)
  • S Sarah (what would I do without her)
  • T treats (everybody has to have treats once in a while)
  • U Uranus ( OK we can look at this two ways. I love planets and we’re back to my ass again)
  • V vent ( we all need to vent sometimes, thank you for letting me do that here)
  • W Wasband (we may be divorced but he is the best ex-husband ever)
  • X xylophone (I had a little one when I was a kid and loved it)
  • Y Yoda (the best cat in the world)
  • Z Zen (very calming)

I was going to put photos but then I looked at the first one (the A one) and thought Nah!!!

Ok, I just can’t do a blog without at least one picture

THIS IS THE ASTRONOMY ALPHABET. THESE ARE ALL PHOTOS OF OBJECTS IN THE UNIVERSE PROBABLY TAKEN MOSTLY BY THE HUBBLE TELESCOPE. THE FOUR CORNER ONES ARE JUST PHOTOGRAPHS OF ME IN THE DARK. SO CHECK OUT THE UNIVERSE’S ALPHABET.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JavaQueen
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 04:02:48

    What a cute nickname for your dad “Gubby”-

    You and your ASS joan! Ha! Ha! Ha! It’s obvious that you love your family by reading your posts and especially this one; the things that you are grateful for. Too bad you didn’t add pics, c’mon, show us that ASS!
    WHOOT!
    You do not want to see my giant ass. But someday it won’t be as big.

    Reply

  2. thebeadden
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 06:56:06

    I and U….too funny!
    That Astronomy Alphabet is so cool. LOL, what are you doing in the dark this time, Joan?

    Eating in the dark, Weight watchers was not good today. Lots of emotional eating. But I am working on it. The son is worrying me.

    Reply

  3. CuriousC
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 09:44:58

    WOWOWOWOWOOW! I love the astronomy alphabet! Thx for taking this ‘meme’ and running with it.

    I love doing memes. This was a fun one.

    Reply

  4. Red
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 11:39:42

    Aww. .how nice. I love your list .. and the pictures, too!

    I’m always up for a meme. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply

  5. anonymum
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 19:22:06

    Lovin’ this meme! Not going to do it {over run with interviews} but lovin’ it all the same…the pic is GREAT! near wet myself over “u”..i’m a bit of a star trek fan though and it bought the song to mind…and the cat’s name? priceless!
    😆
    my apologies for taking so long to get here and look around hon…been a bit frantic at my place to say the least…

    No apology necessary!! With all those interviews going on you must be busy. They are so much fun to read. They have really helped me to get to know some people a lot better. I’m happy you stopped by.

    Reply

  6. birdpress
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 19:55:50

    Great list! I hope it put you in a good mood writing it, as it made me happy to read it! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. I put up an update a minute ago. 🙂

    It was a fun meme to do. I’m glad it made you happy.

    Reply

  7. kaylee
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 21:48:11

    LOVE THAT LIST!!!!!!

    I’m glad you loved the list, Kaylee. Sounds like you are doing better.

    Reply

  8. javajunkee
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 23:30:16

    I’ve got to go to bed cuz I’m beat..but I had to come over here and get a good laugh before I went. I’ll attempt a shot at this tomorrow..but that whole ass thing and then back to your ass made me spit liquid out my nose that burned. (that’s all the info you are getting on that)! I hope that you and your ass are happy! You have got to get on a comedy lineup somewhere!

    I wonder what that liquid was? I’m happy but my ass is still not totally happy yet.

    Reply

  9. mrsvierkant
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 23:35:59

    Cool Meme! Loved it!

    Great pictures too. The ones of you in the dark are amazing as always. 😉

    I adore your sense of humor.

    When you see my weight watcher update you’ll know what I was doing in the dark.

    Reply

  10. michaelm
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 08:57:01

    the astronomy pic is just wonderful.
    Funny post.
    Hope things work out with Uranus . . . :mrgreen:
    ~m

    I love astronomy. I couldn’t believe I found an astronomy alphabet. Me and Uranus are trying to work things out with a soft cushion.

    Reply

  11. Wendy
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 21:05:20

    These are so cool. The universe is beautiful and terrifying at the same time. To me, anyway.

    I remember when I first started doing astronomy. Barry and I were looking up at the sky one night and he had to go in the house when he started thinking about the immensity of the Universe and all the stuff I was telling him that was up there.

    Reply

  12. shornsheep
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 21:30:32

    Absolutely loved reading this list, Joan.

    You have to write a book. You are such an entertaining writer. Can just see the title “Joan Harvest’s Diary”. Like “Bridget Jones’ Diary” only a million times more fun to read.

    Well, thank you for the compliment. Someday I just might do that.

    Reply

  13. odette
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 22:17:36

    LOL on Uranus! hehe
    i love astronomy too, joan!!! which is why when i was young, my favorite quote was by abraham lincoln: it is possible for a man to look on the ground and be an atheist, but inconceivable to look at the stars and say there is no God…or something like that, i don’t remember very well now. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

