My Drive Into Town Today!

I drive into town everyday just to get out of the house and waste gas. The gas has to be wasted because the drive brings me peace. So maybe it’s not a waste of gas after all. I will show you through photos what I saw today.

THIS IS MAIN STREET. I LIVE ABOUT 4 MILES FROM HERE. I TOOK ALL OF THESE PHOTOS OUT OF THE CAR WINDOW.

THIS IS OUR VILLAGE GREEN. IT’S BEAUTIFULLY DECORATED AT CHRISTMAS AND LOOKS LIKE A CHRISTMAS CARD.

I’M PARKED AT SURF DRIVE BEACH. IF YOU LOOK REALLY WELL IN THE DISTANCE YOU CAN SEE MARTHA’S VINEYARD WHERE MY DAUGHTER WORKS. IT IS CLOUDY TODAY. USUALLY YOU CAN SEE THE ISLAND VERY CLEARLY.

STUPID SEAGULL WAITING FOR A HANDOUT AT THE BEACH.

FALMOUTH HARBOR AND A BENCH. THIS BENCH MEANS MORE TO ME NOW THAT I HAVE READ c , WRITERCHICK , AND JESS’S POSTS TODAY ON ‘PARK BENCHES’ . CHECK THEM OUT, BEAUTIFUL WRITING ABOUT A COMMON THEME AND THEY WILL BE DOING THIS EVERY FRIDAY. I’M SORRY I DIDN’T SIT ON THE BENCH TODAY. I WOULD HAVE HAD A LOT TO SAY TO IT.

WordPress is acting up. It won’t let me put on the other two photos I had.

I was going to take a photo of the local homeless woman but I didn’t see her. It’s really strange because she carries around everything she owns which is a lot and sits on the ground in front of the same store most every day. Yet she used to come in my store and spend $5 on a bar of soap.

I did give a ride to a woman who was walking that I knew. She had just dropped off her car to be fixed and was walking uptown. It was good to talk to her. I also picked up some protein powder for a friend and went to the Post Office.

It’s been a couple of cloudy quiet days. WordPress still won’t let me add any more photos. What’s up with that?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. writerchick
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 16:48:43

    Aw Joanie,
    Thanks for spreading the word. I’m so glad you enjoyed the pieces and we hope that it will catch on. You live in a remarkably, Hallmark pretty kind of place. I would love to live in a place like that.

    Hugs,
    Annie

    I have lived here for 34 years and have no desire to ever live anywhere else. It was so funny that I looked at my bench and almost got out of the car and then I came home and there are park benches everywhere. You guys did a great job. I can’t wait for next Friday to see what theme you choose.

    Hugs to you too Annie!!

    Reply

  2. c
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 17:07:49

    Looks like a lovely day. i would love to live so near the water!
    That is definitely not a waste of gas!

    i love the look of your Main Street.
    My Main Street here in Talent, which is actually Talent Avenue, rather than Main, is about a block packed with little shops, cafés, our theater and small galleries. It’s just enough.

    Too bad wordpress is acting like a dork. 😦

    Thanks for the mention.

    I really do love where I live. Sometimes on a foggy night I can hear the foghorn. There is something so soothing about that sound. You Main street sounds nice too with galleries and cafes and shops.
    I look forward to next Friday to see what your theme is.

    Reply

  3. David
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 22:10:47

    Yes. That was no waste of gas. This post reminded me of my little bike ride photo posts. Thanks for the trip around your town. 😀 So what did you give to the seagull? My BFF and I, as teenagers in Hamden, CT, used to sit behind the McDonalds and throw french fries to the seagulls. They loved them!

    Probably a good thing you didn’t snap a shot of homeless lady. Although if she’d just happened by that granite bench you’d have had no choice.

    WordPress has been a little iffy lately. I wonder if their servers are just getting swamped with all of us bloggers and our infinite word flow … I’ve had this issue where some of the jpegs I upload into my posts are linked while others are not. When they’re linked readers can click on them and get a slightly bigger view of the image.

    I had nothing for the poor seagull. I never have food with me anymore, just my water bottle. Some lady was feeding him McDonalds so I’m sure the seagull was happy. They like doughnuts too.

    The homeless lady yells at people too. When she used to come in my store she seemed so normal. Maybe she stopped taking her meds. It’s sort of sad to see her.

    I just could not upload any photos after the first four no matter what I did.

    Reply

  4. theramblinghousewife
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 23:33:41

    Beautiful pictures. I hopped over from Red’s blog.

    I love the name of your blog, “Whatever I Think. . .”

    That pretty much encapsulates my blog too!

    Great choice! :_

    I am happy you stopped by. Any friend of Red’s is a friend of mine. She is a hot one and always makes me laugh. Thank you, I couldn’t think of any other name for the blog. It sort of just came to me in a flash. That’s pretty much what I do is just write the stuff that floats through my brain. Mostly family and the crazy things I get myself into.

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 02:45:26

    You live in such a beautiful place! Thanks for sharing those lovely photos, it makes me feel like I know you a bit better 🙂

    I am glad you enjoyed them, I love sharing my life with my new friends.

    Reply

  6. JavaQueen
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 04:13:45

    It’s beautiful there. Especially the water front, I could sit there for hours thinking,… just sitn’, relaxn’, and think’n 🙂

    You are so lucky to live in such a beautiful area and to be so close to it too. I don’t think I’d ever leave the beach.

    Have a fantastic weekend Joan!

    I AM really lucky to live here. It is a wonderful place. I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for my sister. She came here first and I followed. Thank goodness. It is a paradise.

    Reply

  7. thebeadden
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 06:53:01

    Gorgeous pictures Joan. Isn’t that something, the homeless woman spending $5 on soap. That picture of the seagull, this is mean but, on Father’s day we were at a Marina where my FIL has his boat. We had a BBQ and made our famous jalapeno peppers stuffed with goat cheese. They went over well with almost everyone but my FIL who took one tiny bite and almost croaked. He threw it on the grass and a seagull came and swallowed it whole. Well, it wasn’t impressed. It stayed around yelping for quite sometime. I video taped it, and it almost sounds like it is saying “ouch”. I was going to try and download the video on my site, but here we are all laughing at the poor thing and it seems so mean. 🙂

    I would love to see the video tape of that. Maybe I shouldn’t laugh but I can’t help it. Seagulls are so dumb. You can’t blame yourself for their stupidity. Oh Lordy, the jalepenos with goat cheese sounds so good. We love goat cheese.

    Reply

  8. 2lazydogs
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 09:06:08

    Thanks for sharing the pics, Joan. I love your little town…it’s so darn charming.

    I’ve had issues with seagulls since I was a kid. Ick. I call them sky rats. We have a beach just down the road from me and one day I was there with some friends. Someone in the crowd started feeding the damn birds McD’s french fries. They started coming from out of nowhere and swarmed us. I felt like I was in the frickin’ movie “The Birds”. No thanks, no seagulls for me.

    I think sea gulls like french fries and doughtnuts the most. When my son was little we used to go the beach every day and somehow he was always covered in food and the gulls would swarm him and he would stand there and cry until I rescued him.

    Reply

  9. museditions
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 02:32:21

    Thanks for showing us the photos WP would allow you to post. The charm and peace and beauty are all shown; you did a wonderful job. I haven’t been east in soooo long; you are reminding me I want to!

    My daughter visited Arizona with her hubby in March. They went to Sedona and loved it. She said if she were to live anywhere besides here she would pick Arizona. Cape Cod is a beautiful, charming place especially off season. Right now is peak season and the traffic is horrible for our small town.

    Reply

  10. Just a Mom
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 10:49:25

    I miss the East coast sometimes! Especially after seeing your pictures. Now I need to go look at some pictures of snow to get my head back into it’s rightful place!

    I love living on Cape Cod. I love snow too. We don’t get to much but I love a good snowstorm.

    Reply

  11. thebeadden
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 21:03:52

    Joan, my husband said he will get the video set-up for my site this week, so you can see the suffering seagull. 😯

    We cut the peppers in half, clean the middle, you can leave some seeds if you want. Fill them about 3/4 full with goat cheese and the put the thinnest slice of cheddar on top. Pour a bit of olive oil on a glass dish or a cookie sheet and put them on the BBQ until the cheese melts, but they go a bit black on the bottom. You can throw them in the oven instead too. They are a better choice than the breaded poppers. (I think) That’s what I tell myself anyway. LOL!

    Oh, I would love to see a seagull eating a pepper. Thanks for the recipe. They sound awesome. My daughter and SIL love goat cheese.

    Reply

  12. shornsheep
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 21:31:46

    Thanks so much for sharing these photos. You live in a very picturesque town.

    Cape Cod is very picturesque. I’ll be showing more photos soon.

    Reply

  13. Peter Parkour
    Jul 06, 2008 @ 13:19:49

    I’m always such a sucker for your pics and post. 🙂 That’s a cute little town you live near. I wish I had more time for picture taking. I love to share too.

    I’m glad you come and visit me Peter. I love your sense of humor and I’m happy you enjoy my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

