Two Days At The Mall!! Shopping Extravaganza!!

My daughter and I went to the mall both Sunday and Monday . She needed to buy summer dresses for work because she lost so much weight. Nothing fits her from last year.

SUNDAY

I KNOW SHE BOUGHT THESE TWO DRESSES. I ALSO KNOW SHE BOUGHT OTHER STUFF TOO. LITTLE MISS COULD PROBABLY MAKE THESE IN A DAY.

It was her first time driving against the Cicadas. We went through some bad areas of them on the way killing maybe 20 or so. I decided not to go back and save them to make chocolate covered cicadas.

The mall was crowded with tourists because it was cloudy. Sarah bought me two pairs of capris. The best part is we didn’t buy them at a fat ladies store. We got them at Macy’s and I went down one size. I fit into a size 24. I did have to get them in the plus size section where I saw two other women in wheelchairs. I wanted to ask them if they ate in the dark but I didn’t want to embarrass my daughter. I did talk to one of them who doesn’t ever wear white. She said she stains all of her clothes so we had a lot in common. I don’t wear white either.

I didn’t try to cane anyone to my daughter’s relief though I did yell at someone out the car window because they were coming at us down a one way– our way. Dumbass. My daughter doesn’t like it when I yell at people. I don’t swear at them and actually call them dumbasses. I just simply tell them they are going the wrong way. Somebody’s got to do it or they’ll just keep being dumbasses.

Sarah took me to lunch and I had :

β€’ balsamic glazed salmon a not your average joe’s favorite…grilled and brushed with our balsamic glaze, served with pineapple salsa, jasmine rice pilaf and grilled asparagus.

Then she wanted to go to another shopping place where the stores are all together but you are outdoors going in and out of the stores. I dropped her off because I was tired of watching her try on clothes and went next door to buy a few groceries and be in my own element. I got to the meat department and my cripple cart broke down. I told the meat man and he just ignored me but the other meat man was nice enough to go get me another cart. The store was out of a lot of stuff I needed so I went to a second grocery store just down the street.

The woman at this deli had the ham I wanted. I asked for 1 1/2 pounds. She tells me it’s a little under. I ask how much under. She says it’s 1.20 pounds. That’s more than a little under so I say I would rather have it a little over than a lot under. She says that means she will have to open another ham and then stares at me. We stare at each other almost a minute with me thinking she’s going to move any moment and open up another ham. I thought I was clear that I wanted more. She wasn’t moving. I finally and politely I might add, asked her if she was thinking about getting me more ham. Then she says “You really want me to open another ham?” I could feel my hand clenching my cane. But I calmly said “YES” , maybe a little too loudly.

I wasn’t having my usual fun at the grocery store. Finally I got out of there and Sarah was finished buying clothes.

Tomorrow we are going back to the mall for more clothes because her favorite store is having a sale and she has $250 worth of sale coupons to spend there. But she’s going to bring me to the big book store which is why I am going with her again. I love the book store.

I have to have a mammogram tomorrow morning. Yuck!! I have to have them every six months because there is some dot somewhere and they want to make sure it isn’t growing.

NEXT DAY MONDAY

I had my mammogram. I’m glad I didn’t weasel out of going. Now it’s all done.

We went back to the mall and Sarah bought the rest of her clothes. She bought this dress among other things.

Sarah bought me a new slow cooker cookbook. Then we headed back to the outdoor shopping place. Sarah bought me two T-shirts from Vineyard Vines. She bought herself a shirt that she had been coveting for about six months. Somewhat expensive!!

IT LOOKS BETTER ON SARAH.

Sarah also gave me a gold ring with diamonds and a bracelet that is gold with diamonds. She was going to sell them for scrap but didn’t feel it was worth it so now I am wearing a $4000 bracelet and a $2000 ring (price if you bought them brand new) that is worth more than my car. I took the bracelet off last night and now I can’t figure out how to get it back on.

We ate out for lunch again. I was so tired from shopping for two days that I went to bed early last night. I am now behind in my blogging. Hopefully you will all see me at your blogs today.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CuriousC
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 10:25:36

    Those dresses are ADORABLE! I really like that last one – can she wear these to work? I just love that dresses are back in style.

    I was wondering where you were – glad you were out having FUN! Goodness, a day goes by without an update from you, and I get nervous!?

    Yes she can wear them to work. The third one she will have to where with one of those little short sleeve sweaters. What to they call the, shrubs , no, scrubs, no SHRUGS, that’s it.

    We first went to the Cape Cod mall in Hyannis and then we went to Mashpee Commons. They have a ton of great stores there now.

    Shopping really through off my blogging. What a girl will do for Bling.

    Reply

  2. birdpress
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 10:53:55

    Wow, so much to comment on in this post! Your daughter gave you $6000 worth of jewelry? Just because? Wow, what a generous daughter! What a gift!

    The dresses are very cute! I bet she looks gorgeous in them.

    The thing about the ham was funny. What did she think, that if she didn’t open the ham for you that nobody was ever gonna want it and she’d never have to open it? I am laughing imagining you staring her down, clutching your cane!

    Yes, my daughter is generous. She treats me like a queen and I don’t know that I deserve it. Yes, she always looks very sophisticated. My son is more like me so I think she’s probably the one that got switched at birth by mistake because she is nothing like the rest of my family. She is so smart and beautiful. But I guess every mom says that about their daughter.

    That damn Ham lady. She was lucky she didn’t get a good caning. But I was in a good mood with all my new bling.

    Reply

  3. laura
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 11:07:01

    You made that poor girl open another ham? Shame on you! Do you really think that when she was hired they told her she’d have to work for that pay check!? My heart goes out to that poor overworked girl.

    Yes, I was sympathetic too over that poor woman actually having to work for her pay. Imagine that. Next time I’ll just tell my SIL :”No ham for your lunch today, the ham lady was working too hard.” πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Jessica
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 11:45:58

    Good for you for standing up for yourself about the ham! Staring for a minute. Ha.

    I don’t get the “ate in the dark” part though. What’s that mean?

    Check my previous post for a photo of me eating in the dark. https://joanharvest.wordpress.com/2008/06/21/weight-watcher-saturday-oops-i-did-it-again/

    Damn ham lady!!

    Thanks for stopping by.. I remember now, you’re the laptop lunch girl. I love your website. I’m going to have to put you on my blogroll. I love the photos of your healthy lunches. Great job.

    Reply

  5. Sueellen
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 13:07:49

    Well aren’t you the spoiled momma! πŸ™‚ Sounds like you had a great few days with your daughter but then you had to go and make that girl work for a living! Maybe you should have offered to open up the ham for her! LOL OK, I don’t ger the “ate in the dark” part either; please explain!

    I am definitely a spoiled Momma!!! I know, it’s hard to believe some people actually have to work to get money. Check the above comment for a link to a photo of me eating in the dark.

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 15:48:35

    Talk about Bling! 6 grand worth. Be careful in the sun, you know how it can blind you when it hits those diamonds. πŸ™‚

    What lovely dresses. You’re daughter seems more like a guardian angel. All that shopping and jewelry. You have to take a little credit, Joan. After all, you raised her and obviously did a super job!

    The ham lady…what can I say? That’s just like saying do you really want me to break this 50 to pay for these groceries? LOL

    I probably will only wear the bracelet for special occasions. It doesn’t really match my jean capris and T-shirt. I did end up with an angel for a daughter. I know I’m going to go back there soon and order whatever meat she has the smallest amount of and see if she does it again.

    Reply

  7. Hay
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 15:50:20

    Oh what fun, mum and daughter shopping. My mum flies in for her annual holiday in August. Simply can’t wait. Your daughter is lucky to have you in her life so my Joan, truly. I’d love to see my mum more than once a year!

    That must be hard only seeing your mum once a year. My daughter is staying on the island where she works three nights a week for the summer. She is the manager and it is easier for her to do that than to work late, take the boat, get home late and then get up early in the morning and do it again. I miss her when she is gone for those nights.

    We had a great time shopping. We have always loved to shop.

    Reply

  8. Hannah
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 17:48:58

    Wow, that’s a lot of shopping! I love all Sarah’s new clothes, she will look amazing in them πŸ™‚ I’m so happy for you that you got stuff from Macy’s and not from the plus size section!! WOO HOO!

    What is up with the crazy ham lady?!?!?!? Wowser! She must have been having a bad day!

    Sarah and I can shop till we drop. WE Looove shopping. It was nice buying clothes at a normal store. That ham lady must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed that day. I hope she isn’t that way all the time.

    Reply

  9. Wendy
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 20:34:13

    I’m so sad that the deli girl had to open a new ham. Boohoo, boohoo…NOT! Like it’s her ham, right? Jeebus, you were really good. I would have gone off on her AND I would have told the manager AND I would have written a letter to the store and CC’d copies to everyone on the masthead.

    The dresses are adorable, and congratulations on going down another size. πŸ™‚

    I would have loved to have been with you and Barbara during the ham incident. That woman would have run out of the store screaming with you two on her case. I can’t believe I am down another size and now wear 2X shirts instead of 4X.

    Reply

  10. teeni
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 22:20:13

    Wow – Sarah is always buying you things. What a sweet daughter. And I don’t think all mothers say that about their daughters. But yours definitely deserves it. I can’t believe you asked the deli woman to actually do something in her job description. Sheesh. Next time you should ask her to sit on the end of your cane. 😯

    Reply

  11. writerchick
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 22:41:37

    LOL Joanie,
    You always have such adventures when you go to the mall. What the heck was up with the ham lady though? Was there going to be a nuclear attack if she opened up another ham? Was her ham opener missing? Did she want it all for herself? jeez, talk about attitude. Tre’s cute dresses for your lovely daughter. You’ll be sporting some soon yourself. Have a good one.
    Annie

    I think the ham lady had some brain cells missing. As my size gets smaller the clothes get nicer. I don’t know who designs fat ladies’ clothes but they do a terrible job at it. Some of the stuff I wouldn’t wear to a Halloween party.

    Reply

  12. Red
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 00:14:44

    Very nice dresses, and yes . . they’d be easy to make.
    You make your outtings sound like so much fun. I woulda loved to have been there for the ham incident.
    Yay for going down one size!! You are an inspiration, Joan!

    A size 24 is still a large size but it sounds so much better than a 32. I don’t get out much so when I do I like to have fun. It’s always fun to go with my daughter.

    Reply

  13. shornsheep
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 01:03:27

    Mmm, that lunch you described sounds yummy, Joan.

    That ham woman sounds unreal. What’s the big deal there? She’s going to have another customer come along at some point in the day wanting to buy ham and she’ll have to open it then.

    Love the dresses your daughter chose. Very simple and styley. That’s how I like my clothes too.

    Congrats on moving down a dress size! Awesome for you to be reaping rewards for all your hard work and will power with your weight watching.

    Praying that you get good mammogram test results back. πŸ™‚

    Lunch WAS yummy. The next day we went shopping I had a vegetarian wrap. They used a Gardenburger with veggies and hummus then grilled it. It was yummy too. I am making healthier choices when I eat out.

    I guess the ham lady was hoping no one would ever order ham again.

    Sarah is very stylish unlike her Mom who lives in jeans and T-shirts though I have branched out to capris.

    I’ll probably get the mammogram results soon. I’m sure it will be OK. I have one every 6 months so if anything does happen they will catch it quickly.

    Reply

  14. mrsvierkant
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 10:57:06

    The gal at the deli may need a little help, LOL. Whatever happened to customer service?

    I love the clothes your daughter picked out. She has an incredible sense of style.

    Woohoo on the jewelry. Your daughter loves you, LOL. πŸ™‚

    I think the ham lady needs therapy. My daughter does love her mommy who loves her right back. We have always gotten along really well, even when she was a teen. We used to go shopping every Saturday together when she was in high school.

    Reply

  15. odette
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 12:53:10

    yay, what a lovely daughter, and what a spoiled mama!
    i love that flowered tube dress by the way, soooooo chic!

    My daughter does spoil me. But I guess I spoiled her when she was young so she’s getting back at me. She looks beautiful in that dress.

    Reply

  16. Jessica
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 13:47:15

    Oh! Ok. I remember that post but didn’t remember the eat-in-the-dark part. I guess I was too distracted by the cicada crunch. πŸ˜‰

    And thank you for the compliment. Yeah, I’ve been making laptop lunches πŸ™‚ I’m on #6 today.

    Just remember, cicadas are low fat and high protein. I absolutely love your laptop lunch photos. They always look so healthy.

    Reply

  17. javajunkee
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 15:25:35

    can I go shopping with you and Sarah? πŸ™‚ please tell sarah your friend the junkee also likes jewelry πŸ™‚

    Sure you can. Knowing my daughter she’d probably buy you stuff too.

    Reply

  18. Peter Parkour
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 21:48:55

    Ham chick is in need of a good caning. 😈 Just something to think about. You probably made the right decision, I guess. πŸ˜›

    It was really hard not to whack her but I needed to meet Sarah though the jailhouse was right next door to where I was shopping so Sarah could have just walked over and gotten the car as I sat in jail for “assault with a cane”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

