Weight Watcher Saturday! OOPS! I Did It Again!!

I sort of knew as I was driving toward my meeting as the 17 year cicadas were committing suicide on my car that I wasn’t going to have a big weight loss this week. I’ve been a slacker. I was thinking on my way to the meeting of all the things I ate when I really wasn’t hungry. Then I looked at the road and realized there were hundreds of dead cicadas I was driving over. You could hear the crunching sound.

I was surprised I didn’t see the guy who wrote the article about eating them, in the middle of the road, collecting their little dead bodies for supper. Oh, here is a recipe for cicadas if you do decide you want more protein in your diet. Cicadas are also low in fat.

This recipe comes from the University of Maryland and included a disclaimer that some people could be allergic to cicadas and maybe you should ask your doctor before you eat any.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Four cups of chopped rhubarb, 1 cup of fresh cicadas, washed and any hard parts removed; 1 1/3 cups white sugar, 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour, 1tablespoon butter, and a 9-inch double crust pie crust.

Now it’s best to use females because they don’t have those hollow sound chambers so they have more meat, as it were, to them.

And it’s best to use newly hatched cicadas, which are called tenerals. Gather them early in the morning before they’ve had time to climb very high in the tree.

OK, this is what you do.

CICADA & RHUBARB PIE

1. Heat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Combine sugar and flour. Sprinkle one-fourth of it over pastry in pie plate. Heap rhubarb over this mixture. Sprinkle cicadas in amongst the rhubarb. Sprinkle with remaining sugar and flour. Dot with small pieces of butter. Cover with top crust.

3. Place pie on lowest rack in oven. Bake for 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and continue baking for 40 to 45 minutes.

I was going to post a photo of someone eating cicadas but I just couldn’t do it. It was so gross.

I ended up holding a baby at the meeting while her mom went to the ladies room. The poor thing screamed the whole time. But I loved holding her anyway. I smelled her head. I love baby head smells. One day my time will come. I will be such a good grandma.

I WON”T BE BUYING THIS “FUN FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY” GIFT SET FOR MY GRANDCHILD!!!
Glow-in-the-Dark
Flesh Eating
Zombies Play Set

Wreak havoc on your sister’s precious diorama with this Flesh Eating Zombie Play Set! Each set includes nine 1″ to 3.25″ tall, hard vinyl zombies, complete with blank stares, gaping mouths, open wounds and missing limbs! Turn off the lights and they glow! Fantastic undead fun for the whole family!

Oh I almost forgot to tell you how little I lost this week, though it was better than last week: .6 pounds, that is point 6. Not to be mistaken for 6 pounds. Oh, I wish. I need to step it up a notch. Not so much eating in the dark. Eating in the dark DOES count. All these years I thought it didn’t. The things you learn.

ME EATING IN THE DARK

I was also wondering as I drove to weight watchers why I never remember to bring my camera wherever I go. I see so many photo opportunities and I never have the damn camera. I did a lot of thinking and wondering as I drove the 7 minutes it took to get there. I thought of nothing on the way home. Well, that’s not exactly true. I tried to remember all the things I thought of on the way to the meeting.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CuriousC
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 13:07:35

    I collect pie recipes but I don’t think I’ll ever make this. Just can’t do it.

    You look absolutely lovely in that picture of you eating in the dark.

    I found sites where way to many people are eating bugs. I also though that was a good photo of me. Really shows how much weight I’ve lost.

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 13:08:01

    Where do you think of the stuff like the picture of you eating in the dark? That cracks me up. Hey, any weight loss is still a loss, even if it is point six. Right? Still going the right way. I think I’ll pass on testing out your circada recipe. I’m going to go have some more of my coleslaw right now and see how it is after it’s chilled overnight.

    Brain Fog. Stuff just floats around in the Brain Fog. I think you are right about the coleslaw. Balsamic might be too strong.

    Reply

  3. odette
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 13:36:02

    LOL on your picture eating in the dark joan! 😀

    congratulations on the point 6, and given that, eating in the dark doesn’t count so much. 😉

    You have a good point. I ate in the dark and still lost weight!!

    Reply

  4. c
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 14:03:49

    Good job on the loss. And it’s more than last week! Hoo hoo!
    Also, the recipe made me gag a little. Especially the mention of ‘meat’. Ew.

    Yea, I don’t think I’ll be making that recipe for the kids. They’d probably through it at me. I don’t want to be covered in Cicada Pie.

    Reply

  5. birdpress
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 15:54:02

    Oh my GOD! That looks EXACTLY like ME eating in the dark! 😮

    I love the zombie dolls. I want them! Where do you find this shit?

    Are you even allowed to take pictures at those meetings? My luck I would get sued if I did something like that and posted the pictures on the internet. Congrats on the weight loss! You are doing good!

    IN THE DARK WE ARE ALL THE SAME !!!!!

    For the Zombie dolls ( I wouldn’t want little kids to have them but they are cool) http://www.mcphee.com OH they would make a great Christmas present for the wasband.. A Zombie for every day of the week.

    I probably couldn’t take photos at the meeting but I want to start bringing my camera wherever I go just in case.

    Reply

  6. Sueellen
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 17:53:08

    hey a weight loss is a weight loss and you recognize what you need to change so that IS GOOD! Love the whole entry but eating cicadas! ACH! LOL

    Don’t forget cicadas are low fat!!! I think I’ll stick with my popcorn. Though I saw on one website some guy making chocolate covered cicadas.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 18:06:50

    Last week plus this week equals two sticks of butter. 😉 Keep up the good work and keep working towards great work. 🙂 You in the dark, HA! 😛

    “No thanks, no pie for me. I just had an extra large maggot milkshake on the way here.” 😆

    Just the butter I need to make chocolate covered cicadas. I could never be on that show “Fear Factor” and eat all the crap they have made those people eat or “Survivor”. They’ve had to eat some bad shit too.

    Reply

  8. Hay
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 19:48:14

    Lol, you never fail to make me chuckle! You will be a great grandma Joan…I can’t wait for it to happen for you.

    Well, I’m glad I can make people laugh. Since my daughter and her hubby moved in with me I sort of feel like the kid in the house. Sarah will say to me “Mom , don’t forget to change the kitty litter.” or give me other friendly reminders. I think any child in this house will be more like a sibling to me and we will always be getting into trouble together. If Sarah puts me in time out, well, actually that wouldn’t be too bad, I’d just read a book.

    Reply

  9. shornsheep
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 20:54:01

    Mmm, that cicada pie sounds tasty, NOT, haha.

    I am PMPL at the Flesh Eating Zombie Play set. Just love your humour, Joan. 🙂

    People better start wearing plastic pants when they come to my blog because I have had others PMPL here. I had to look up PMPL. I am so bad at the acronym thing. Pie anyone?

    Reply

  10. Hannah
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 22:33:17

    I seriously hope people don’t actually eat cicada pie! EWWWW!
    Congrats on your loss – a loss is a loss, and better than a gain! 🙂

    I actually saw a guy making chocolate covered cicadas on another website and eating them. Cicada eating I guess is becoming way too popular if you ask me.

    Reply

  11. teeni
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 23:33:16

    Yuck about those recipes. I hope I never have to eat one. Blecch. You will be a fabulous grandmother! I envy those kids and the stories they will have about their grandma. 🙂 And hey, a loss is still a loss so good for you. I’ve taken to keeping my camera in my purse for the same reasons you mentioned. You just never know when you are going to want to snap a blog-worthy picture!

    I just hope any grandkids I have don’t get into too much trouble hanging around me. At least it will stop me from cursing.

    Reply

  12. JavaQueen
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 04:16:29

    omg! What the fuck was that? A picture of you eating in the dark *muah-ha! ha! ha! ha!* I have to say, that if I were there, I’m smack your shoulder and tell ya to SHUT UP! You are so freakn’ witty it’s sick!

    I LOVE YOUR SENSE OF HUMOR, it’s right up my alley!

    Ok, and congrats on the weightloss. It’s all good mama! Love me some of that JOAN HARVEST! WHOOT!

    I’ve always sensed that we have the same wicked sense of humor. I love making people laugh. Smack me and tell me to SHUT UP anytime.

    Reply

  13. Becky Motew
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 07:26:02

    In any long-term weight loss plan, there are going to be plateaus. It’s just the way it is and IT SUCKS. Don’t let it get to you, Joan.

    I think I’ll offer my share of the cicada pie to someone else. Maybe the wasband would like an extra slice….????

    Keep up the good work,
    b

    The wasband and his girlfriend are away right now (probably trying to avoid the cicada pie). But I will save your piece for him. This sure is a loooooong term weight loss but I’ll never give up. I’ll take my .6 lbs and be happy.

    Reply

  14. trishatruly
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 21:03:56

    Joan, that Zombie set is from Archie McPhee? OMG! Birdpress, did you hear that? It’s our old favorite place to buy rubber chickens and Boxing Nuns!!!

    I have bought all the stuff on that website involving nuns and given them to my sister at some time or other. We both went to Catholic schools for a while and had scary nuns.

    Reply

  15. David
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 21:28:00

    Let’s feed the zombies the bug and rhubarb pie and see how THEY like it, shall we? This was an inspired bit of hilarity Joan, thanks for sharing it with us!

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. It seems everyone wants a Zombie set now. I’ll skip the bug pie.

    Reply

  16. romi41
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 22:03:22

    eating in the dark counts???? WHAT!!?!? what if you’re blindfolded…lol…

    PS: I want that zombie action figure set, so cool! 🙂
    PPS: 0.6 pounds? It’s alright, you’ll ramp it up next week!

    I did a lot of research. Eating BLINDFOLDED COUNTS!! We’re screwed!!!

    Reply

  17. Red
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 23:45:57

    hehhehee! Im glad you didnt mention to your readers that I was there eating in the dark with you ..
    My camera goes anywhere I go .. its in the purse as soon as the keys are.

    I think a lot of you were there eating in the dark with me. I’m surprised our eyes weren’t glowing in the photo from all the excitement of eating all that food.

    Reply

  18. kaylee
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 23:49:24

    I love cooking as you know but cant do it in the jhhospital where I am 😦 I want to make that though! IA weight watchers an easy diet? I need to get on one.

    You are back in the hospital again? Weight watcher’s is the best.

    Reply

  19. javajunkee
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 07:23:46

    I’m choking on a lung here laughing so hard. I was actually trying to figure out what was wrong with your picture of you eating in the dark!!! I almost told you it didn’t load for me!

    You are hilarious! And I want one of those zombie play sets…better yet can you hunt us down a vampire den playset?

    That’s so funny about the eating in the dark photo. I am going to look for a vampire set. There must be one somewhere. I sure hope it glows in the dark.

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Crazy Pix: 06/25/08 « * * * HATE ~ & ~ ANGER * * *
  21. Trackback: Crazy Pix: 06/24/08 « * * * HATE ~ & ~ ANGER * * *
  22. mrsvierkant
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 10:59:16

    Pass me that cicada dessert. Then maybe I’ll lose weight, LOL. Eww…

    ROFL about the zombie play figures. Where do people come up with that stuff?

    Cicada dessert would make anyone lose weight. I can’t imagine anyone really eating them but from the research I did people are definitely eating them. Yuck!! Zombie play figures is about the last thing I would have thought of.

    Reply

  23. dropofkim
    Jul 10, 2008 @ 09:54:40

    Now you don’t have to eat the cicadas, you can wear them!
    http://www.capecodonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080709/NEWS/807090339
    Been stalking you for a while, sorry! I just want you to know, I LOVE your blog! It is indeed one of my places I visit everyday. Joan rocks!

    I’m glad you made a comment so I could meet you. Welcome!! Being from the Cape I saw that article the other day. I actually thought a lot about whether I would even have the nerve to wear them. It certainly is wearing nature at it’s truest form. You have to give the kids credit for coming up with a unique idea. I saw all the little dead bodies all over the road. It was sort of creepy. You would drive down the road and they would smash into your car constantly. I felt like a murderer for weeks. Are you from the Cape? Please stop by again!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

