I’m Changing How I Answer Comments

Just to let you know I have answered all of your wonderful comments. But I am doing it differently. I’m doing it the editing way so my comment appears under your comment. You all get my drift. It’s easier because I can see your comment and not forget what you said by the time I scroll down to write them all in one comment. It’s a lot quicker this way. I used to read a comment then scroll down to make a comment on it then forget what the comment said then have to scroll up. Jeesh. With the wasband gone I get more computer time. All he does is play solitaire anyway. He could do it with a deck of cards. But it’s his computer. Beggars can’t be users. Anyway I’m going to try it this way for a while and see how it goes.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. birdpress
    Jun 19, 2008 @ 19:19:36

    I like that better because when you look in your “my comments” section the responses will be right there too, so you don’t miss them. πŸ™‚

    That’s true. I didn’t even think about that. Well, I’ll just see how it works.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Jun 19, 2008 @ 19:32:22

    Well, I hope it works out well for you! I like doing mine that way myself and just finished putting together a whole post on it. I’m trying to document how and why I do things at the Tea Room so I can link to those posts from my “about” page. Anyway, whatever way works best for you is the way to go. To me, you seem the more conversational type and I think it will be good to have your conversations together like that instead of broken up but you need to try it out and see if you like it! πŸ™‚

    This is strictly a test run. I just can’t decide which is best. Doing it this way though I can see your comment where the other way I have to remember it. Not so good at that lately.

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Jun 19, 2008 @ 20:10:37

    How do you do that, Joan? I notice that some people do and others don’t.

    Anyway — I admire anyone who can answer all those comments.:) I always mean to, but get distracted or forget and only answer half. I’m blaming it on my general disorganization and absentmindedness.

    Ohmygosh — I just burned my son’s dinner as I typed. See what I mean??

    You just click on edit under the person’s name on their comment then you add your comment to theirs. I put it in bold just to see the separation of the two comments.OOPS! About dinner. I hope he ate it anyway.

    Reply

  4. CuriousC
    Jun 19, 2008 @ 20:38:20

    OK. SOunds good. I wonder, tho, does the My Comments page update when you do this or only when a new comment is added? I try to mix it up, answer most directly and do a summary comment – which adds to my comment count, ha!

    You know I never even think to check the comments page.I think there are many ways I could be saving time on here. I just don’t know what they are.

    Reply

  5. mrsvierkant
    Jun 19, 2008 @ 21:27:35

    Okee, dokee! πŸ™‚ You’re so good about commenting.

    I have a lot of time on my hands. That’s why I’m fairly good at it.

    Reply

  6. Peter Parkour
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 02:30:16

    I like doing it this way because it has more of a flow to it, like an actual conversation. I say something. Then you say something. Then someone else puts their two cents in. Then you add to that. Then I come back with a comment to their comment and your’s. I like it. It works for me. It makes reading peoples comments easier too. πŸ˜‰ For my own selfish reasons, I hope it works for you, Joan. I also hope it works for you, for YOU too. :mrgreen:

    I tried it once before for like a day and went back to the other way but I’m going to try it for a while and I will probably forget I was doing it the other way so it will stay this way.

    Reply

  7. JavaQueen
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 06:26:09

    I like it that way too, Annie (WC) taught me how because I hadn’t a clue.

    I usually can’t figure anything out here on my own. I’m still learning how to do stuff after 8 months.

    Reply

  8. trishatruly
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 07:26:58

    You’ll keep doing it! It works out great, joan! I prefer reading comments this way, too. Like Spidey said, it becomes more conversation-like.

    I definitely find it easier this way, that’s for sure.

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 11:39:17

    well you knew I would have to pop on just so you would have to post a comment to my comment πŸ™‚

    My comment to your comment is a comment about your comment. My comment is no comment. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. David
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 23:02:39

    Yeah I think it’s easier this way for you and for everybody who likes your blog.

    I do find it easier to do it this way and faster to for me.

    Reply

  11. shornsheep
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 21:00:40

    Good thinking 99! Plus others get to see your answers to questions they may have too. πŸ™‚

    Now that I have been doing it for a few days I think I will keep doing it this way

    Reply

Leave a Reply

