A Ganked Meme

As Betme would say I ganked this meme from Teeni.

Here are the rules:

Step One – pull out a book on the book shelf.

Step Two – go to page 123.

Step Three – read and write out the 5th sentence.

Step Four – tag 5 more people.

I’M GOING TO SKIP STEP FOUR. I DON”T WANT YOU AS ACCOMPLICES IN MY THIEVERY. GANK IT IF YOU DARE. PLEASE GANK IT!!! I HOPE BETME DOESN’T MIND ME GANKING HER WORD GANK.

Now I have to get up, get to my room and get out a book. This could take a while because chances are I’ll get to my room and forget why I’m in there then I’ll come back in here without a book and have to go in my room again. This could happen numerous times before I actually remember to grab a book.

Well, I did it. I went in my room, I kid you not, saw my Advil, grabbed one and here I am back at the computer without a book. Fuckity, Fuck. Oh, and I stopped off in the kitchen to heat up my supper in the microwave. Friday night is always leftovers.

OK, It’s Saturday now and I still haven’t gotten the damn book. I’m going to do it right now. No, really I am. Seriously, I’m going to. Honestly, for real this time. Do cookbooks count? They’re in this room. No? Ok, I’ll be back!! (think of Arnold).

Here we go:

“Over the apparent location of the tomb, arched around it as if to prove its absolute association with that spot, I read the words BARTOLOMEO ROSSI.”

This is from the book “The Historian” by Elizabeth Kostova. This book got a lot of good reviews. You can read reviews on Amazon. It’s one of those books you either love or don’t. I loved the fact that it was a well written book with vampires as the subject but not your bloodsucking gory kind of vampire book. This is a look into the life of the very real Vlad Tepes, the man Dracula is based on.

THIS IS ACTUALLY HIM. SO IF THIS GUY SHOWS UP AT YOUR WINDOW “DON’T LET HIM IN”

I found it to be a page turner, some reviewers felt she made it too long. It’s a very descriptive book about Romania and other parts of the world where the main character went to do her research on her family history and The Count. I found it to be very suspenseful, rich with history and for me, a page turner. It took the author 10 years to write it. She traveled to all the places she wrote about in Eastern Europe and did tons of research for the book to make it historically accurate. It’s her first book so evidently she probably won’t have another one until about 2015 at the rate she writes (Good God, I’ll be 66). I really couldn’t put it down. They are going to make it into a movie which I have a feeling will not be able to get across what the book does but then does any movie? Most often the book is better.

When my sister was a teenager she was reading the book “Dracula” in bed one night and a damn bat banged into her window. I’m going to ask tell her to leave a comment to back me up on this one because it sounds so not true.

SO IF THIS SUCKER KNOCKS AT YOUR WINDOW “DON’T LET HIM IN EITHER”

Vampire bats recognize individual prey by the unique sounds of the prey’s breathing according to a study in BMC Biology. Researchers examined the ability of vampire bats to detect breathing cues from prey items.

Just wanted to leave you with something to think about. Sweet Dreams!!!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. writerchick
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 12:23:51

    Oh Joanie,
    Me no likey the scary books – nothing populated with goblins, goons or vampires or monsters. Give me a good thriller with a serial killer and I’m happy.
    Annie

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 12:32:56

    @ writerchick

    The thing I liked about this book is it’s not a blood sucking vampire scary book but more of a mystery even though the subject is Vlad the Impaler. It takes place in modern times and is extremely well written and thought out. It’s about a young girl looking for her father who has some historical connection to Vlad Tepes. It is more about her search for her father.

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 13:08:51

    Wow! I had never heard of this one either. I’m not really into vampire stories much but at least this one sounds interesting from the way you described it being more about the girl’s search for her father. Your posts always crack me up – where do you find all the pictures that are so appropriate for your posts?

    I liked this one because it was so well written but then so was Bram Stoker’s “Dracula”, an original vampire classic. There aren’t many vampire books as well written as those two.

    Reply

  4. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 23:14:09

    Loved The Historian. My hubby got his book autographed by her and I’m still jealous. All of that research she did is VERY VERY impressive.

    Oh, I am so jealous too. She did an amazing job on the research for the book

    Reply

  5. kaylee2
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 23:56:45

    OMG How are you joan/? Want to read that book LOL!

    Kaylee, It was a very good book. The main character is about your age. I am doing fine how about you?

    Reply

  6. Becky Motew
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 08:07:41

    I enjoyed that book too, Joan. It was very absorbing and I didn’t want it to end. That’s the highest compliment I can give.

    I am laughing at the picture of your sister scaring the bejesus out of herself with a book in bed and then having a bat at the window. HAR.

    b

    Hi Becky

    Honestly that happened to her but she is terrible at leaving comments on my blog though I know she reads it.

    I’m glad you enjoyed that book. I loved it. Couldn’t put it down.

    Reply

  7. trishatruly
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 08:09:09

    That’s too friggin’ funny, joan! I, too forget what I came into a room for. I figure it’s Goddess’s way of making sure I get some exercise! I walk back and forth, randomly, shaking head….. 😀

    Trisha

    I never looked at it that way. It’s probably the only exercise I really get. So now at least when I forget stuff I can tell the kids I’m just excising. YES!!

    Reply

  8. betme
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 13:57:23

    I am soooo going to do this one when I get home and have books around me that are not full of electrical jargon.

    Feel free to gank the word ganked at will. It is a much nicer way of saying internet thievery (which I would never do, I prefer to borrow) 😉

    I am with you and Trisha on the walking clueless from room to room. I often walk out and back in hoping I remember what I was looking for.

    By the way, I love the blue dress picture!

    Betme,

    I love the word Gank. I don’t steal either. I also just borrow though I have no plans on returning anything. I was 32 years old when the blue dress picture was taken. I was the maid of honor in my best friend’s wedding. My sister and I made the dress, mostly, my sister.

    Reply

  9. Wendy
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 14:45:30

    I love scary books, the more terrifying the better, so keep ’em coming. I need to get back over to GoodReads and get caught up.

    The cluelessly walking around from room to room thing is what I do all day long. ALL DAY. It might take me ten or twelve trips to actually retrieve the thing I keep going to get. Sometimes I probably don’t get the thing at all and just don’t remember.

    I did this meme. I ganked it from you.

    Wendy
    I need to get over to Goodreads too. I also need to read. I spend way to much time on the computer. Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one who roams the house clueless. Gank away!!!

    Reply

  10. CuriousC
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 10:15:07

    eek – those photos are ghastly.

    CuriousC

    I should have waited until Halloween to make this post. That bat would scare anyone.

    Reply

  11. David
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 20:46:04

    If that guy shows up at MY window, I’m gonna tell him “NO, you didn’t leave your retainer at my house Vlad! If I were you I’d be shaving, it really amps your underbite dude! Looks like you’re gonna snarf that ‘stache!

    I like this new word: ganked!

    David

    That’s too funny. He was some ugly dude. Yea, gank is a great word.

    Reply

  12. romi41
    Jun 19, 2008 @ 01:11:38

    Hahahaha, I’m about to go to bed and I’m sooooooo gonna have nightmares now!!! Not about the fact that Vlad is the real Dracula, but about the fact that I may be desperate enough to date a dude who looks like that (shudder)…PS: I love how you say “fuckity, fuck”…LOL 😉

    Oh please keep away from dudes who look like that. I’d start going after the young dudes who are looking for an experienced hot chick. My sister and I have been saying “Fuckity, Fuck” for years. It’s so appropriate at so many times.

    Reply

  13. javajunkee
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 11:35:53

    LOL I love your posts…you are my fellow vampire …whatever we are 🙂

    I’m happy that you enjoy my posts. I do love my vampires.

    Reply

  14. kaylee
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 18:54:30

    I am doing ok 🙂

    Have you been cooking? I am happy to hear you are OK. I’m sure it’s still not easy for you but with your positive attitude you will do fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

