Weight Watcher Saturday–You Don’t Lose Weight Drinking and Partying!!!

But I did!!! Not much, only .4 that is point 4 pounds. It’s better than gaining which is what I thought I had done. I almost was going to skip the meeting because I had convinced myself I must have gained weight. Then it dawned on me if I think I have gained that’s when I need the meeting the most.

Our fearless leader had us write down five things we do to indulge ourselves (not including eating) and make ourselves feel better. Then she asked people to read their lists. Many had all these exercise things they do.

Yea, I’m going to indulge in exercise. NOT!! When I indulge it doesn’t include a lot of movement.

My weight watcher list

  1. Blog
  2. Light Candles and listen to loud music when the kids aren’t home.
  3. Go for rides by the beach and waste gas (I’m not paying for it).
  4. Cook for the family (Someone has to do it. At least I know the food will be good. I cooked it.)
  5. Sit in my new oasis and do nothing but stare at the sky- day or night! (Night is best. There isn’t so much glare plus you can look for meteors).


I don’t know if my weight watcher friends totally understand my style. One woman could only come up with three things. I could have come up with 20 more. I guess I like to indulge myself more than I thought.

I love weight watchers except for the skinny women who join and want to lose 2 pounds. 10 pounds, OK, but 2 lbs.? Clean your house for a week instead of having your maid do it. Done. Two pounds gone.

I packed up homemade weight watcher TV dinners for my daughter so she will eat well when she stays on the Island for work. I froze three dinners: Chicken Provencal with lots of roasted vegetables, Sesame chicken with sweet potato fries and balsamic vinegar green beans, and a chicken and broccoli stir fry with curry mango sauce and steamed rice. So I don’t mind wasting a little of her gas to indulge myself and drive by the beach.

STRESSED is just DESSERTS spelled backwards.

I find the above very interesting!! Also I learned something new, see below diagram of how to correctly weigh yourself.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 13:46:36

    Okay, I thought I was going to move to Texas to hang with Wendy and stay in the warm weather, but your food descriptions have me thinking maybe I should move near you so I can learn to cook like you! YUM. I guess all WW meetings have the same themes. That was our topic last Monday – indulging.
    Oh, and our new leader is great – except for one thing. When she first introduced herself she didn’t have her before pictures with her. She described herself as having gotten “obese”. When she did finally bring her before pictures, um, sorry lady, she was NOT obese. Thick, a few too many pounds, plump, but not anywhere near obese. I’m guessing she had, if she was lucky, maybe 40 or 50 pounds to lose. Yes, that’s a lot, but for many of us that go there, it’s far less than what’s in front of us. So, I’m very tempted to take her aside and let her know that while she’s a good leader, and her weight loss is inspiring, she needs to delete the word “obese” from her story. That she was NOT.

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 13:47:12

    See, there… i got off on the tangent about WW and forgot to congratulate you about your .4 loss. You did great!

    Reply

  3. c
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 14:17:21

    Well, Joan, you said you’d be diligent this past week and you were. Congrats on the loss.

    i love your list, by the way. i’d love to see the 20 other ways you’d indulge yourself. i wonder though, seeing your list, if these are “indulgences” or if they are things that vibrant people- such as yourself- do? You know. Living!

    And if it’s okay, i’d like to respond to something Little Miss said. When i was in 6th grade, i was told by my doctor that i was obese, and that he wanted to sign me up for the hospital’s teen weight loss program. i was 15 pounds overweight. Now i realize- with my brain- that 15 pounds is really not what we think of as obesity, but it took my heart years and years to rid myself of the idea. i was so depressed over it that i began to eat and gained 75ish pounds just in time for high school.

    The thing is, anyone or anything just shy of “perfection” can, and does, put so many women in turmoil. There’s too skinny women, too big, too flat, too saggy, too young, too old and so on and so forth until we’ve picked ourselves apart. Maybe your leader feels the same way.

    Reply

  4. writerchick
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 14:27:52

    Joan, you’re a scream and I love your list. I’m like you, I could write lists for hours and still feel like I’m missing something.
    Annie

    Reply

  5. CuriousC
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 15:18:14

    Joan, knowing that you are the ever-loving and non-judgemental person who loves to meet people and even though I agree with you that firing the maid and cleaning the house onesself might make 2 pounds go away, consider this, those poor poor little ‘I only want to lose 2 pounds’ ladies NEED FRIENDS! that is probably why they have joined WW – to feel a part of something and to belong. It’s just a human need.

    But, I could be wrong, too. It was just a thought.

    Congrats on eating birthday cake and still losing 0.4 # – AWESOME!

    Reply

  6. birdpress
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 17:15:46

    Wow, your daughter has a good deal having a live-in cook/driver who cooks meals like that! Sounds yummy. I’m not much of a cook, so mostly I eat very simple foods.

    Do people really go there to lose 2 lbs? I have about 10 lbs I’d like to lose but I’d feel like an asshole going to weight watchers. And it’s not as if I don’t struggle with my own weight; I constantly watch what I eat or I will gain, and I weigh myself every morning. My weight fluctuates and I have to keep myself in check. So I guess I am technically a “weight watcher”. I’m not going to obsess over the ten lbs though. I’m much thinner than I was at my heaviest and not nearly as thin as I was when I was my skinniest. I’m trying to be happy at the weight my body feels healthy at.

    Congrats on the .4 lbs! You certainly look happy and healthy in those pictures and you are on your way to your ideal size. I hope you focus most on how you feel instead of on the numbers. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 17:29:30

    I’m back on track with my diet. Now if I could just get back on track with my blogging. 😉 Point 4 pounds ain’t too shabby. What did I read a short while back, that’s about two sticks of butter? Every little bit counts.

    I’m glad to hear you still went to your meeting. When you start cutting corners and making exceptions is when the problems really tend to start. And to think you almost didn’t go because you thought you gained when in fact you had lost. Silly girl. Great job lady. 😉

    Reply

  8. anonymum
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:21:20

    Wandered by to do some research…don’t be worrried if you see me lurking in the archives hon…loving what i’m seeing too…thought i should mention that!
    😉

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:22:49

    @ Little Miss
    They now say that anyone who is 30 pounds or more is obese which I think is absolutely ridiculous. That means that my daughter was obese, which is nonsense. I am obese, yes, I freely admit that but like you said even 40 or 50 pounds shouldn’t be considered obese. I wish that was all I had to lose. And Thank You, I surprised myself.

    @ c

    I’d have sucker punched that doctor. That’s a horrifying thing to say to a child. That’s how kids either gain weight or become anorexic or bulimic because of all the pressure society puts on them to look like Paris Hilton (gag).

    @writerchick

    I have so many lists that I have lists to tell me where my lists are.

    @ CuriousC

    You are so good to remind me that weight watchers is also a good place to socialize. I know that is one of the reasons I go to all the meetings because of the great people I have met there and it is always good to assume the best about someone rather than the worse.

    I actually have a friend who attends all sorts of meetings in town because she has no family here and just feels the need to be around people. I should call her. I haven’t in a while.

    Thanks as usual for a thoughtful comment. You rock!!!

    @birdpress
    It sounds to me like you are already doing the weight watcher program. What they teach is to eat healthy, portion control, but still have the food you crave on occasion and also eat a good variety of foods.

    You are right about the numbers which is why I never told them what my goal weight is because I’m still not really sure. I think I will just know when I get there. I just want to be at a healthy weight. Let’s face it I wasn’t quite heading in that direction.

    Actually, there are a lot of thin people who attend meetings just so they can keep at their goal weight and not gain weight. Yea, I tease about the 2 pounders but even at my table there are women who only need to lose a couple but will keep coming to maintain. I will probably have to attend meetings the rest of my life or become a leader myself to maintain. Maintaining is the toughest part of losing weight. The average person who loses a lot of weight gains it back and I cannot let that happen. I want to be here for my children and grandchildren (the ones I am still waiting patiently for).

    @ Peter
    That’s great to hear Peter. That two sticks of butter is a good way to look at losing what I did this week. Two less sticks slathered all over my body. That actually sounds good if you have a boyfriend to… never mind–let’s not go there. I still have a lot more to lose before I go there. I am glad I went to the meeting. Also I won’t get in trouble with my daughter. I’m like a teenager, always getting in trouble.

    As far as your blogging you do post a hilarious picture everyday and make me laugh. I am a silly girl.

    Reply

  10. mrsvierkant
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:35:31

    Funny comics and a great list! ROFL about those who are there to lose 2 pounds. Woohoo on the WW meeting! A weight loss is a weight loss! So big congrats to you.

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:47:23

    @ mrsvierkant

    Thank you. I love the support that I get here. It really helps to keep me going. Glad you liked the funny stuff.

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 19:27:54

    @ anonymum
    I am so happy you came by. Lurk to your heart’s content. I love lurkers, well it least on here, maybe not at home. I am happy you are enjoying what you see.

    Reply

  13. Jessica
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 22:39:42

    I couldn’t come up with too many indulgences for my list. My leader even drew attention to my lack of sweets on my indulgence list. I don’t know why I didn’t think of chocolate first. What I thought of first? TV 😉

    Reply

  14. Hannah
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 16:59:37

    Great attitude – you are right about needing the meeting more if you have gained. But it’s good that you didn’t gain. A loss is a loss, after all!

    I could write a long list, I have just learned over time to replace food treats with other kinds of “rewards”. Your list is great!!

    Reply

  15. Just a Mom
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 10:20:48

    See there you got another b-day present with the weight loss! Who says you can’t have your cake and eat it too?!

    Reply

  16. joanharvest
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 22:52:26

    @ Jessica
    Hey TV is an indulgence when you are busy. I love chocolate and eat chocolate Vitamuffins with fat free cool whip and strawberries for one point.

    @ Hannah

    I’m glad you enjoyed the list. I’m eating so differently now than I used to.

    @Just a Mom

    You are so right. That’s a good birthday present.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

