Just a Quickie- Comments on Comments

I’m usually fairly good about leaving comments on my blog about comments people leave me. I just realized today that I must have been in a brain fog because I was bad and didn’t leave a lot of comments on my own blog. I have remedied that today and left comments to everyone who left me a comment. Ok, I’m sick of using the word comment.

Now, when I become too lazy to leave comments and feel the need to buy them that is when I will stop blogging.

Most people probably won’t bother to go back and read all the comments I just left but that’s OK too. I did it partly for myself–it’s that whole Catholic guilt thing again. I went to a Catholic school when I was young like 50 years ago and those nuns made you feel guilty about everything. Speaking of, I wrote a post called “Smelling the Past”.

Now, I wrote that post on November 2, 2007. Since May 10th there has been a huge spike in the number of people reading it especially in the last couple of days. Like 300 people have read it. What’s that all about??

Why does eveyone want to smell my past all of a sudden?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. c
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 14:54:15

    i have an ugly post that’s gone past 500 views but has like ten comments on it. Hm.

    Buying comments is just sad.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 15:08:46

    I wonder what does that? But this post just made me go read your smells post. So at least you know where one hit came from! LOL

    Reply

  3. birdpress
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 16:32:43

    I just went and read your smells post too. Good one! I wasn’t reading your blog back then so it was new to me. I may just go back and read all your previous posts when I have some time. I like them a lot.

    I like it when people comment back to my comments and I regularly check the “my comments” section to see who responded. I try to respond to all my comments too, but I go into each one and click “edit” and add my response at the bottom and bold and italicize it so you can tell what I wrote.

    Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 16:49:27

    You have to love good old Catholic guilt. I don’t know where I would be without it! Now I am passing it on to my girls. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Peter Parkour
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 00:03:22

    No comment. 😉

    Reply

  6. JavaQueen
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 07:56:37

    Huh? I’m corn-fused, I gotta go read your “smells” post….

    Reply

  7. odette
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 10:38:28

    “when I become too lazy to leave comments and feel the need to buy them that is when I will stop blogging” LOL, me too. 🙂

    i gotta go smell that post too, i’m so curious by now.:)
    a happy weekend joan, and happy father’s day to the wasband!

    Reply

  8. witchypoo
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 11:00:13

    You never have to worry about responding to my comments. I can never remember what I typed anyway. My feed reader is wicked full.

    Reply

  9. CuriousC
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 15:20:15

    I think I read that post when you orginally wrote it. Do I get any points for that?

    Reply

  10. mrsvierkant
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:37:30

    You’re so good about commenting on comments. I am not so good. I should work on that some. I really should. I won’t buy them though, I promise. 🙂

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:45:20

    @c
    You wonder what it is about a certain post that grabs the attention of people.
    I can’t believe anyone would sell comments.

    @Teeni
    Well I am happy you got to read one of my earlier posts.

    @ birdpress
    I could never decide which way to put in my own comments but I have been doing it this way for a while and I’m not good with changing my routine.

    I’m always checking for comments. I love to see what people have to say.

    I think I have some interesting stories that I wrote at the beginning. A real popular one is when I broke my eardrum with a Chinese stick that holds beef teriyaki all because of my cats.

    @Just a Mom

    I didn’t bring up my children Catholic but they somehow inherited the Catholic guilt from me.

    @ Peter
    You are too funny, Mr Parkour.

    @ JavaQueen

    I hope I didn’t corn-fuse you too much!!!

    @ Odette
    I am having a wonderful weekend so far and my wasband will be thrilled that someone on the blogs thought to wish him a Happy Father’s Day.

    @ witchypoo
    Thank goodness, someone else who doesn’t remember stuff.

    @ CuriousC

    You get many points. It shows how long we’ve known each other. You were one of my first readers. I was thrilled to even have a reader. I never though anyone would care to read what I had to write. We’ve come a long way, kiddo. I was going to say baby but that didn’t sound right.

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:49:42

    @ mrsvierkant
    We all have stuff we should work on. I wouldn’t stress over it. I am sure you are a lot busier than I am. I have all day to do what I please. I’m glad you won’t buy your comments, though. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Wendy
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 14:49:20

    I’m kind of awful about leaving comments on my own blog sometimes too., and like you I feel really guilty about it.

    When I first read your sentence about school, I thought you wrote: I went to Catholic school for 50 years.

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 23:13:27

    @ Wendy

    I just left comments on about 50 comments. I got way behind again. Oh God, I’m glad I didn’t go to Catholic school for 50 years. Three was enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

