Awesome Birthday Bash! Photos!! Best Present Ever!!

I would loved to have blogged last night but I was so tired from all the partying I did that I had to sleep.

The first two photos are comparison photos. The first photo is of me and my best friend at last year’s birthday bash and the second is from this birthday bash so we can see if there is a difference in the way I look. I’m still a fatty but at least I’m less fat.

Everyone brought food so there was a great assortment of food I couldn’t eat but one of the girls brought only food I could eat. She made these spring rolls with shrimp that were only 1 point each and they were so good. She also made me a cake which was weight watchers approved and was delicious.

MY BEAUTIFUL SISTER

THE GIRLS

SARAH AND I

SARAH BRINGING THE CAKE

THE CAKE

THE PRESENT

THERE IS LOTS OF TISSUE PAPER AND AT THE BOTTOM OF THE BAG ARE THREE THINGS WRAPPED IN TISSUE PAPER. THE FIRST ONE IS A PAIR OF GLASSES. CHEAP ONES FROM THE DRUG STORE.

THE SECOND ONE IS A PAIR OF GLASSES. CHEAP ONES FROM THE DRUG STORE AND ALSO THE SAME MAGNIFICATION.

THE THIRD ONE IS A PAIR OF GLASSES. CHEAP ONES FROM THE DRUG STORE AND THE SAME MAGNIFICATION AS THE OTHER TWO PAIR. NOW I’M THINKING WTF. I’M THINKING, I DON’T NEED THAT MANY GLASSES WITH THE SAME MAGNIFICATION. I NEVER LOSE MY GLASSES.

THEN I READ THE CARD. EVERYONE CHIPPED IN TO GET ME THE PROGRESSIVE GLASSES WHICH MEDICARE WOULDN’T PAY FOR BECAUSE THEY COST $500.00. SOMETIMES I WEAR FOUR PAIRS OF GLASSES AT THE SAME TIME, TWO ON MY HEAD AND ONE ON MY EYES AND ONE AROUND MY NECK SO I CAN SEE EVERYTHING.

NOW IT HAS FINALLY OCCURRED TO ME THAT I WILL BE ABLE TO SEE EVERYTHING WITH JUST ONE PAIR OF GLASSES. I’M OVERWHELMED.

SELF PORTRAIT OF THE WASBAND. HE DOES ONE AT ALL EVENTS. WE HAVE QUITE A COLLECTION OF THEM.

MMMM, CAKE IS GOOD!!!!

THE OASIS UP AT THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY. WE ARE IN THE BACKYARD. NOT ENOUGH ROOM IN THE OASIS FOR EVERYBODY.

SARAH AND OBIE

GROUP SHOT OF EVERYONE HAVING A GOOD TIME.

I hope this wasn’t too boring for you all. I did put up a lot of photos. But in this case photos say it better than words.  I also want to say hi to my son and let him know how much I missed him and love him.

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaylee
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 22:21:21

    Omg your family is so nice 🙂 I am glad they did that 😛

    Reply

  2. writer chick
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 22:51:02

    Oh Joan, you’re such a cutie. And looks like you had a rocking good time at your party. I even cried a little about the glasses – man oh man – friends, what would we do without them? Happiest of birthdays to you.
    Hugs,
    Annie

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 23:22:40

    That has to be one of the best presents ever, yes? And you look fabulous! Keep it going. How thoughtoful of one of your friends to bring WW food for you. How utterly awesome. You daughter is so beautiful and sweet. I am happy you had such a great birthday. You deserve it.

    Reply

  4. mrsvierkant
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 23:51:06

    What wonderful family and friends you have! Happy, Happy Birthday!

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 23:59:15

    Oh wow! What a fabulous, thoughtful, practical gift everybody pitched in to get you. I love the shots somebody (Sarah?) took of you opening your gift, they are so priceless!
    And yes, I can see a huge difference between the first and second photos … you have done SO WELL!

    Glad you had such a FUN birthday!

    Reply

  6. teeni
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 00:06:21

    Wow! You are getting hotter by the minute! There is a definite change in those photos from last year and this year and not just the weight – you look a lot happier and have a glow. So you must be doing something right, my dear!

    What a great party – it looks like so much fun! Here’s to a wonderful, happy and healthy year ahead to you, Joan! 🙂 Hugs!

    Reply

  7. c
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 00:44:56

    It’s beautiful at your place!
    And you’re beautiful! Look at how loved you are…

    You got a great gift. Congatulations, Joan. Happy Birthday to you!

    Also, i have to say that Sarah’s dress is the business!
    i want that dress. It’s groovy.

    Reply

  8. javaqueen
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 06:56:40

    Joan, you are so cute! I love the pictures! Looks like a good time was had by all! I’m so happy for you that you got such a wonderful gift! Oh, it’s not a secret that you are well loved; that was so nice of everyone to pitch in for your much needed glasses! I wish I could have been there, looks like a blast!

    Reply

  9. Hay
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 07:08:27

    Joan, you are so beautiful. You look like someone I’d love to hang out with, and I have an inkling you’d be good fun too 🙂

    Reply

  10. Peter Parkour
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 07:31:42

    Happy Birthday and congratulations on the glasses. What an awesome surprise. Your last year/this year pics really bring it home. You are doing great, and like Teeni said, there is a glow and you do look happier. I’m so proud of you. And like C mentioned, that dress of Sarah’s is beautiful, and she pulls it off quite nicely. 😉 The pics of you unraveling the mystery of your gift was priceless. Such a loving gesture for everyone to pitch in like that. You look so cute enjoying your cake. 😀 The Wasband’s self portrait freaks me out just a bit. 😛 He looks like quite the character. That’s a good looking place you guys have there, so lush and green. Such pictures at my place would only show off my over abundance of rocks and dirt. 🙂 Location, location, location. 😉 By the way, I loved this post. You have a way with words and pics. Thank you for sharing, and again, Happy Birthday!!! :mrgreen:

    Reply

  11. betme
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 10:19:48

    Joan, I have been a rotten blogger and have not had the chance to read any blogs for several days. Sorry I missed your happy Birthday.

    I can see a big difference in your picture from one year ago. WTG!!!! That is so cool about the new glasses. Do you ever take off the pair that sits on top of your head, but they feel like they are still there? I do that all the time and was thinking you might feel nekkid with only one pair on your head at a time. 😀

    You need to share more of the wasband’s self portraits. They are a ‘hoot.’

    Reply

  12. Just a Mom
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 11:22:30

    Joan you look great! Keep up the good work! It is tough but sooo worth it in the end.

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 14:47:32

    @ Kaylee
    I do have a wonderful family. They are the bomb!!

    @writerchick
    It was an awesome present. I already made the appointment with the eye doctor. It will be nice not to have to change glasses every thirty seconds at the grocery store. I got teary too!!

    @little miss
    Thank you, Claire. It was a great day and as always I have my beautiful daughter to thank for it. She always thinks of the best for my.

    @mrsvierkant
    Thank you and I do have wonderful family and friends.

    @ Hannah

    Actually it was the wasband that took those shots. He always has his camera. I can see some difference in the photos but I can’t wait to see more.

    @teeni
    You are right about one thing, I am a lot happier. Thank you for the compliments and well wishes.

    @c

    We have a small house for 4 adults but it works and we have a beautiful backyard. With the swamp back there no one can ever build behind us.

    @javaqueen
    I wish all of you could have been here. I was definitely feeling the love that day. I can’t wait to get my glasses and SEE again.

    @ Hay
    I don’t know about beautiful but fun –YES. I talk a lot and as I get excited my voice gets louder and I always have to keep it in mind to quiet down a little. I wish we could get all us bloggers together and have a big barbecue.

    @ Peter
    Thanks Peter, I’ve gotten so many compliments reading these comment this morning that I’m blushing. (actually it’s just too damn hot today. We are in some kind of a heat wave).
    I had never seen Sarah in that dress. She definitely wore it well.
    I laughed so much when you said the wasband’s self portrait freaked you out. That’s too funny. I am going to find them all and post them all at once. Be prepared to be freaked.
    I’m happy you liked the post. I love sharing everything with you guys.
    I love my green yard too. There are so many birds back there.

    @ betme

    I do that all the time with my glasses. I also look for them forgetting they are on my head and then sometimes find two pair there. I even manage to wear to pair at a time.

    @Just a Mom

    It is hard but well worth it. I feel so much better than I did a year ago, both physically and emotionally. I have a long way to go but I am ready.

    Reply

  14. birdpress
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 17:56:44

    Oh, great pictures! You look fabulous! The before and after shots are great. Now go stand next to someone who isn’t model-thin. 😉

    I loved the reaction shots of you opening your gifts, and the self-portrait of the Wasband. You’re right, the photos do say it best! I’m glad you had such a good time and that your friends and family all showed you how special and loved you are. That gift was really thoughtful!

    Reply

  15. thebeadden
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 20:21:18

    Thanks for sharing your Birthday with us. What a great bunch of people you hang with! What a difference in the two photo’s. Like everyone said, you are just glowing. What you have accomplished in a year is just amazing!
    Weight Watcher’s should be putting you on payroll!

    Take care and I’m so happy you are getting your glasses, and that you have such wonderful friends and family!

    Reply

  16. odette
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 21:11:34

    you have a very beautiful face joan, and yes you lost much weight from your previous birthday photo!

    i can see you had a wonderful celebration, your cake looks very yummy, and your backyard is such a perfect outdoor venue with everything in refreshing green! whew, what a blast. your daughter looks very stunning too!

    Reply

  17. Wendy
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 21:39:25

    You look GREAT! You’re gonna end up on one of those Weight Watcher ads or, wait…you should write an article for the WW magazine. You do such a wonderful job of staying on track. I think all the food at your party should have been WW approved, but I suppose Barbara would have thrown a shit fit and started trashing your oasis, stomping on your impatiens and hurling big rocks at your chiminea, kicking the cat and screaming, “Where’s the motherfucking CAKE! I hate you all, you suck, and I’m leaving!”

    Barbara, you look great too, as per usual. And I love Sarah’s dress! And I’m jealous of your glasses! I wear two pairs of glasses a lot, I keep drugstore glasses on every surface in the house and outside too. Is that a trampoline that Sarah and Obie are standing near? Does Barbara use it very often? Do you wake up in the morning to find Barbara out there prancing on it, practicing her old circus act and taunting you with chocolate fudge cake? If so, I feel really bad for you. Try and have a good birthday week anyway. 😦

    Reply

  18. joanharvest
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 01:34:07

    @ birdpress
    You’re right I shouldn’t have stood next to such skinny people.

    I made the eye doctor appointment yesterday and the soonest they could see me was July 1st. They called me today because they had a cancellation so I get to go tomorrow which means I’ll have my glasses that much sooner.

    @ odette
    Thank you Odette for the kind words. The cake was very yummy and not even fattening.

    @ the beadden
    I think you are right. My daughter and I should get a commission from weight watchers. We have both gotten so many people to join.

    Soon I can actually see what everyone looks like. 🙂

    @ Wendy
    Sarah says she is going to write to every magazine there is and all the news stations.

    My friend Nancy made a chocolate cake, thank goodness. Barbara wouldn’t have even come if there was no chocolate cake and if she did she probably would do all those things. She only shows up because of dessert anyway. As it is she had me call her when the coals were put on so she wouldn’t have to sit around and wait for the food.

    I can just see Barbara on a trampoline. I’d pay money to see that. Actually, that is a poker table Obie made. He’s made about 3 or 4 poker tables now for his friends. He does really good work.

    Sarah just got that dress. It was the first time I had seen it.

    Reply

  19. pamajama
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 02:08:57

    Wow, I am so impressed with the weight loss, you look beautiful! I especially love the close-up of your face. And the expression when you realize what the gift it — priceless!

    Am I understanding it correctly that the girl in the dress is Birdpress? I’m trying to figure out how all of you know one another . . . And the “wasband,” both the picture and the title are great.

    Reply

  20. pamajama
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 02:41:58

    Nope, I’m wrong. Ick. I hate that! I shouldn’t read blogs at 2:30 a.m. I must have it in my mind that Birdpress is beautiful, cause that girl sure is – lol.

    Reply

  21. Laura
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 06:39:06

    Thanks for sharing the pictures of your party! You are surrounded by love. 🙂
    And, Joan, you look great! Hay is right — you are beautiful. That bloggers’ barbeque sounds like a swell idea!

    Reply

  22. joanharvest
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 10:45:41

    @ Pamajama
    It is a “priceless gift” . I was dumbstruck and speechless. I get dumbstruck a lot but never speechless ( though that only lasted 15 seconds.

    I’ve seen photos of both birdpress and her mom and she is beautiful and so is her mom, Talkin’ Trash with Trisha. They are awesome bloggers and I heart them both.

    The girl in the dress is my daughter Sarah, who is also beautiful, both on the inside and the outside. Without her I would be homeless and very lonely.

    See what late night blogging does to you. I do it all the time and have to reread stuff because I am so tired.

    Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate meeting new people and I loved your blog.

    Reply

  23. shornsheep
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 19:46:03

    Joan, so pleased to read and see through the photos you’ve posted here that you had a fabulous birthday celebration.

    Thanks so much for posting all these photos here. It makes me feel like I was there, though am physically thousands of miles away.

    Reply

  24. 2lazydogs
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 20:04:53

    Oh.my.gosh…your family and friends are wonderful. The expression on your face is priceless! You are too cute.

    Reply

  25. romi41
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 23:29:31

    Happy belated Birthday! The pics were great, I felt like I was there! 🙂

    PS: you look fantastic and you’re making GREAT progress!!

    Reply

  26. Red
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 23:55:57

    Aww .. *sniff* Joan. You are wonderful . Simply wonderful.

    Reply

  27. Red
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 23:56:17

    I forgot . . *sorry*
    Happy Birthday to you, as well!

    Reply

  28. joanharvest
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 13:50:06

    @ shornsheep

    I am happy you enjoyed the photos. I have my wasband to thank for those and my daughter too.

    @ 2 lazydogs
    My family and friends are awesome. My wasband takes good photos. He sure caught me in the act.

    @ Romi
    Thanks Romi. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I was afraid I would bore people with so many.

    @ Red

    Thank you, Red. I’m blushing red, Red.

    Reply

  29. David
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 17:58:02

    Sorry it took me so long to find this. Thanks for this wonderful glimpse of your birthday party. And I wish you a late happy birthday. It’s so cool that our birthdays are a day apart. I have another good friend who’s birthday is June 7. Anyway this was a fun post to “read”. You’ve been posting a lot lately!

    Reply

  30. joanharvest
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 18:26:21

    @ David
    I have been posting a lot when I should be doing chores and errands and useful things. Oh well, I guess I have finally found another addiction. It’s wicked cool that our birthday’s are so close.

    Reply

  31. David
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 22:55:31

    Yeah. 🙂 And it looks like your party was on that wicked hot day, huh? That was really funny with the reading glasses too. Nice gift the progressive glasses. I hope you like them. And I also meant to comment on how creepy the wasband’s self portraits are. He should definitely stick to photographing birds! Although maybe he took most of these party pictures? Everyone looks so happy!

    Reply

  32. Lucky
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 00:31:55

    Fantastic pictures. I can see a difference for sure. You are doing such a great job! I’m glad you had a fabulous birthday! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

