OOPS!! He Did It Again! Fire & Ticks!!

For you to really understand this post you should read a past post I wrote about the day my wasband tried to burn the kitchen table in the fireplace.

I came home yesterday and it was like having deja vu.

The experience of déjà vu is usually accompanied by a compelling sense of familiarity, and also a sense of “eeriness”, “strangeness”, or “weirdness”. (from Wikipedia).

I would definitely say I had a compelling sense of familiarity and most definitely–weirdness.

I could see the fire in the living room as I pulled into the drive way.

The above photo shows the wasband burning trash in the fireplace. I was relieved that it wasn’t another kitchen table but come on here, shouldn’t there be some kind of learning curve going on. Like once is enough kind of thing. Again, as I walked in the living room, it was astoundingly hot. And DUH, it’s not winter here.

We had a lot of giant card board boxes that needed to be broken down and recycled but the wasband must have been bored and thought burning them in huge amounts would be more fun.

You can see how relaxed he is when he burns stuff. You can see how he is mesmerized by the fire. Don’t worry, he didn’t burn the plastic containers in the photo.

I have to give credit where credit is due. The fire never got out of control. It just got very hot. Flames weren’t shooting out of the chimney this time. He did mention that the bricks in the back of the fireplace looked like they were in bad shape. Not a wonder, with all the giant fires we’ve had in there.

I didn’t cook that night because I just didn’t feel like it. The following is a picture of the wasband eating his idea of supper and his prescription bottle of antibiotics because he got bit by a deer tick AGAIN.

He’s already had Lyme disease before because he spends so much time in the woods looking for birds. Fortunately he realized he’d been bitten right away, both times, and got on antibiotics. Cape Cod is known for being a festival of ticks.

DEER TICK

I can’t think of any more stupid endearing things he’s done in the last few days. I will say this for him, no matter what he does he’s a good guy. (I had to say that because he knows how to get to this blog).

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. boundandgags
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 12:03:24

    After my girlfriends father died we went to the Cape to do yard work. He’d been ill for awhile so the yard was somewhat overgrown. We’re down there for a few days and, each morning, a neighbor would come over to talk while I pulled weeds and things. It wasn’t until the third day of traipsing deep into the yard to dump the detritus that he said,

    “You should be careful there are tons of ticks back there.”

    Oh gee, thanks! Why didn’t you wait until I was back home?

    The last time I had ticks was some years ago during a shoot. We were at the lovely Merrimack River and it was the last set-up of the day. We dropped an equipment bag on this tiny tuft of grass (I’m talking six/eight blades of grass) on the rock ledge and went to work. We finished and started packing up when Fred said,

    “Hey, there’s a tick on you.” He pulled it off. I then noticed something so told him the same thing. Turns out a bunch of them transferred to the bag which we’d both been placing on our bodies to fill. We noticed too many to keep picking off so we got in the car, drove to Fred’s house (it was close), stripped (he in the bathroom, myself in the living room) and started picking ticks off us with pliers. We got a good 15-20 of the little suckers.

    And that’s the story of why a friend wants to start a band named Naked At Fred’s House.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 13:32:18

    Oh, wow. That Lyme disease is pretty nasty. I hope he is okay. Is one of the symptoms “fascination with fire?” LOL.

    Reply

  3. Wendy
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 14:46:03

    Buck got bitten by a deer tick while mountain biking — a BIG BLACK RING formed around the tick bite. So he went to our family doctor, DR. BROWN , who said, “Oh, it’s nothing. You’re fine.” Because, as you know, Dr. Brown was saving all his scripts for illegal oxy buyers. Buck had to demand antibiotics from him, which wasn’t easy, but he did get them.

    Barry looks so happy with his fire. My dad used to look like that when he’d burn our trash in the backyard.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 15:13:27

    Loved the fire stories and the pictures. What a goofball your wasband is!

    Reply

  5. laura
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 16:05:47

    On my Feb 21 ’08 post labeled ‘a trip down memory lane’, I wrote about Timmy our neighbor and his fascination with fire. Back in the day, we had only 3 TV channels and computers hadn’t been invented yet so we had to entertain ourselves somehow didn’t we!? BTW, I found you at Little Miss Sew and Sew.

    Reply

  6. Hannah
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 18:12:27

    At first I was thinking “a fire in the hearth, what’s wrong with that?” because it’s winter here and we are lighting our fire every day. Then I remembered that it’s summer over there!!!!!
    Certainly looks like he likes watching fire. A guy thing, perhaps?

    Reply

  7. c
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 18:48:52

    Oh. My. Word.

    After reading your previous post with the kitchen table, i’m wondering if he ever gave a reason for burning it?

    The picture of the deer tic grossed me out! Now that we live in the woods, i am very concerned about tics and poison ivy and gaul wasps and so on. i like nature but bugs are ew.

    i think it’s nice that you and your wasband (that’s so funny!) get along. Now if we could get him to move his pyromania outdoors…

    Reply

  8. joanharvest
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 22:11:40

    @ B&G
    “Naked at Fred’s House” Awesome name for a band. That would keep everyone wondering. I would have passed out with all the ticks on me. I don’t mind spiders, snakes mice but ticks make my skin crawl.

    @ Teeni
    He caught it quickly enough, thank goodness. He definitely has a fascination with fire and so does our son. I don’t know if you read the post about my son almost burning down Falmouth Harbor.
    https://joanharvest.wordpress.com/2008/02/02/electrocution-or-burning-down-the-harbor/

    @ Wendy (Sister W)
    OMG, Dr. Brown was the family Doctor. I’m glad Damon never met him.

    Barry and Damon both get a glazed look over their eyes when the burn stuff.

    @birdpress

    Goofball isn’t the word for it. On second thought that’s the exact word. HaHa!!

    @ Laura
    I’m happy you stopped by. I love Little Miss. I will go to your blog and look up that story. Here’s a link to one I wrote about my son. When he was young he almost burned down the local harbor.
    https://joanharvest.wordpress.com/2008/02/02/electrocution-or-burning-down-the-harbor/

    I remember the days of 3 TV channels.

    @ Hannah
    Both my wasband and son are firebugs. They argue about who gets to burn the Christmas wrapping paper in the fireplace.

    @c
    We had decided together we didn’t want it anymore. We never used it. It just collected junk. My idea was a trip to the dump. I guess he thought burning it would be more fun.

    I hate ticks. Now that we have a chiminea outside he should do his burning out there. Good idea. I’m going to encourage that.

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 22:32:57

    LOL I already like your wasband! I’m a firegirl myself. I’m more of what can I put in the fire that might explode and make a freakin awesome sound 🙂 I like the way he just sits and stares! ROFLMAO!!! Hes’ got it covered though..fire watching and junior mints..its’ all good!

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 22:49:24

    @Javajunkee

    My son is also a firebug. Like father like son. Almost burned down the local harbor when he was a kid. Here’s a link to the story
    https://joanharvest.wordpress.com/2008/02/02/electrocution-or-burning-down-the-harbor/

    Isn’t that the biggest box of junior mints ever?

    Reply

  11. David
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 00:44:15

    Having almost burnt down my own house once, I take a rather dim view of this sort of thing, especially with the bricks in “bad shape” in the fireplace and the fact that cardboard is, in my town, a valuable recyclable. However, knowing this pyromaniac also makes incredible photographs of birds, I can make an exception here and let go of my resentments. But it could also be that the ticks are trying to tell the wasband something …

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 00:52:28

    The message is “learn from your mistakes”. He doesn’t always understand that concept. Both he and my son are pyros. And I am such a good recycler. We only have one bag of rubbish every week. I even wash my recycled bottles and plastic.

    How did you almost burn down your house? That’s scary.

    Reply

  13. javaqueen
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 03:05:15

    Joan, the wasband is a cutie- my kinda guy too with the Junior Mints…. Mmmm…..

    Men, what does come over them to make them behave so strangely? I could have a mountain of card board boxes and it’d never cross my mind to burn them. Little pyromaniac, eh?

    Reply

  14. museditions
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 04:00:27

    Well maybe pyromania isn’t a symptom of lyme disease, but perhaps being a bit ‘teched in the head is? Did he exhibit this behaviour before being bitten by a tic? I think you should do an in-depth case study here. He looks like he’s having fun with life, though, and what’s better than that? 🙂

    Reply

  15. Peter Parkour
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 17:40:01

    I started a couple of bad fires in my day. Perhaps I’ll do a post on them some day. I still enjoy watching stuff burn, but I keep it on a much smaller/safer/more controlled level. I’ve heard of Lyme disease before, but I haven’t a clue what it amounts to. I’ve even had a few ticks found on me, but none of them actually feasting on me. They were just sightseeing I guess. 😉

    Reply

  16. joanharvest
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 20:51:28

    @ javaqueen
    My son takes after his father and almost burned down Falmouth Harbor. If you look at some of my comments here you will see a link to a blog about that exciting day.

    The wasband Is a cutie but I will never tell him that. It will go to his head though he actually has a pinhead. When he was young we used to tease him about it. I think that’s why he grew a beard, to make his head look bigger but I actually think his head has grown. If you have the time read this blog about when the wasband shaved his beard and none of us recognized him.
    https://joanharvest.wordpress.com/2008/01/16/extreme-makeover/
    My son at 21 years old cried and so did my daughter. They had never seen him without a beard. My son cried because it took him 20 minuter to recognize him. It’s hilarious.

    @ museditions
    My wasband has always been a little, well how can I delicately put it, Oh I know, Crazy, Whacko, Lunatic–but in such a good way. He’s like me–always out for a good time.

    @ Peter
    Lyme disease is common here in the northeast. If you catch it and quickly realize it you usually don’t have problems but if you don’t your life will suck for a long time to come. It’s only the tiny deer tick that passes it on, not the larger regular tick. It can be debilitating. Fortunately the wasband caught it early both times. Thank goodness you only got the sightseers. I hate it when you have to burn them off to get them to back up and stop biting you. Fuckin’ little suckers!!!

    Reply

  17. javajunkee
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 00:27:05

    oh my gosh…I just read the fire story. I’m sorry but I got a good chuckle out of it…and kudos to your kid for staying there and putting it out. Now is he free to go to camp with us 🙂 Has he ever made pop can rockets? Sometimes they just end up being bombs..other times they are airborne…either way they are fun to watch.

    Reply

  18. joanharvest
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 14:00:30

    @ Javajunkee

    My son has done it all. At 26 years old he’s still doing weird shit. But I love him anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

