Red’s Meme– Songs That I Am Listening Too Now– In The Rain!

I got this meme over at Red’s place

By the way, Red has an awesome blog and a great take on life and makes me laugh a lot. You never know what she’ll say which makes her blog that much more fun to look forward to.

List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now. Post these instructions in your blog along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to. Do it if you choose or not. Whatever floats your boat.

I decided to put up videos of all the songs I am listening to right now but it is not necessary for this meme.

Now we will see who recognizes these songs. All these songs and many more can be found on my playlist on my Myspace page. The link is in my blogroll. I think music can also tell a lot about people.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 11:07:06

    Hey, we have a lot of the same favorite songs. Only I don’t recognize the first one. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the ZZtop one, though.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 11:15:30

    Wow. I know and loved all of them but the first one wasn’t familiar to me.

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 11:18:26

    @ Little Miss & Teeni
    The first song was originally written and performed by Leonard Cohen in 1988. I first heard it as part of the soundtrack for the movie “Pump up the Volume” with Christian Slater made in 1990. This version is by Concrete Blonde.

    I too love ZZ top.

    Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 11:38:49

    I love Steve Miller. We took the kids to see him in concert last summer. They had a ball! This summer we are all going to see Foreigner and Bryan Adams.

    Reply

  5. CuriousC
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 13:30:44

    I, too, missed the Concete Blonde one but liked it very much. Hub had an album or two of theirs. I saw Bowie in concert in the 1986 or 87. I think. I’m going to the Melody Tent to see BBKing this summer! I love that place. Great songs Joan and love the groovin’ cartoon of you with the guitar pointing at me…

    Reply

  6. birdpress
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 13:38:42

    Hey, I just tried to add you as a friend on myspace, but it wouldn’t let me and said I had your last name wrong. What gives? 😛

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 13:55:12

    I sat out in front of my house one night jamming out to Van Halen’s “Jump” that had just come on the radio as I pulled in from work. When it was over I went inside to find that my place had been broken into and a bunch of my stuff had been stolen. From the looks of it they made a hasty retreat while I was jamming outside. Who knows, maybe that song saved my life. 😐

    Reply

  8. Peter Parkour
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 13:57:00

    PS: Nice meme. I too am diggin’ all of your tunes, but was not familiar with the first one. Videos were a nice touch. 😉

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Seven Songs for Singing… « Life Is Funny Wearing Purple Colored Glasses
  10. thebeadden
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 20:44:56

    Joan, you have excellent taste in music! The first one had me stumped, but it’s great ( I remember Concrete Blonde now, didn’t they sing “Joey”? . ZZ Top, that brings back memories. Fleetwood Mac, love them.
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

  11. 2lazydogs
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 21:45:34

    Oooo…I loves me some David Bowie! Golden Years is my all time fay-vor-it song. Great meme (I snagged it from Red also, but haven’t posted yet – I love that you included videos, might have to steal that idea from you).

    Reply

  12. javajunkee
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 23:20:12

    Ok 5 of mine are by HIM …
    followed by Dangerous Type by Letters to Cleo (originally done by The Cars)
    and Jolene by Strawberry Switchblade (originally done by Dolly Parton)

    Reply

  13. JavaQUEEN*
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 02:35:40

    Great songs: FLEETWOOD MAC- awesome! I gotta go see Red’s- I might just do this meme, it’s fun and I like that you put up the videos!

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 11:18:12

    @ Just a Mom
    I like Foreigner and Bryan Adams. I used to go to concerts all the time when I was young but I haven’t been in a while. Now that I’ve lost weight and don’t take up two seats, I’d like to start going again.

    @ CuriousC
    Me and the wasband saw Bowie twice in Boston sometime in the seventies. Neither one of us can remember exactly when and he can only remember one of the times. Hmmm!

    I love BB King. My son saw him within the past couple of months in Buffalo. I should check out who’s at the Melody Tent this summer and get my daughter to take me.

    @ Birdpress
    What happened when you went on to my page and clicked on add friend? What’s your URL for Myspace and I can go to your page and try to add myself. If you don’t want to put your URL on here you can e-mail me at joanharvest@msn.com

    @ Peter
    When my niece was young she use to jump horses in horse shows. She was an excellent jumper and they would always play that song during the horse jumping part of the shows. When I hear that song I think of horses. When you hear that song you thank your lucky ass you weren’t killed. See how music affects us all so differently?

    @ thebeadden
    Yes, Concrete Blonde did Joey. I love that song too. I saw Fleetwood Mac in concert back in the 70’s along with the Eagles and Boz Scaggs. Best concert I ever went to.

    @ 2lazydogs

    I love Bowie. Saw him twice in concert. I love “Young Americans”

    @ Javajunkie
    I’m glad you introduced me to HIM. I listened to a lot of his songs on you tube the other night. I loved the Cars, still do.

    @ Javaqueen
    The Fleetwood Mac concert I saw back in the 70’s was awesome. I’m surprised I remember it. Their was a lot of smoke around that night. It was outdoors.

    Reply

  15. mrsvierkant
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 18:05:51

    Recognized all but the first one. Good taste in music! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Meme Theif « Two Lazy Dogs
  17. joanharvest
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 14:03:36

    @ mrsvierkant

    The first one was never a really popular song I guess but I heard it as part of the soundtrack to the movie “Pump Up the Volume” and loved it and the movie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

