What’s Going on in New Zealand– I Read the Newspaper Again

I have to quit reading the local newspaper. We must have been short of news for our paper because now we’re getting updates from New Zealand.

To you New Zealand gals: Does this happen often?

Man fined for throwing hedgehog at teen

WELLINGTON, New Zealand – A New Zealand man who assaulted a teen by hitting him with a spine-covered hedgehog has been fined by a court and ordered to pay most of his fine to his victim.

Whakatane District Court was told Thursday that William Singalargh picked up the hedgehog, a small prickly-backed animal similar to the porcupine, and threw it several yards at a 15-year-old boy in the North Island east coast town of Whakatane on Feb. 9.

Police said the teen was hit in the leg, causing a large, red welt and several puncture marks. The injury did not require medical treatment.

Singalargh was convicted of common assault and offensive behavior following a defended hearing. He had pleaded innocent to the charges.

He was fined a total of $545, of which $389 were paid to his victim.

A more serious charge of assault with a weapon – the hedgehog – was dropped. The maximum penalty for that charge is five years in prison.

It was not known whether the hedgehog was dead or alive at the time of the attack, but Senior Sgt. Bruce Jenkins said earlier that it was dead when collected as evidence.

I’m sorry for the poor hedgehog. I might use my cane as a weapon but I would never use a hedgehog. I don’t mean to laugh at the demise of the poor hedgehog but this story did make me laugh. I’d love to know what the teenager did to gain the wrath of the hedgehog thrower.

Then I had to go find a photo of a hedgehog. Now I’m not laughing anymore. I didn’t realize they were so cute. They should have fined that man more money. They shouldn’t have dropped the assault charge and stuck the guy in prison for 5 years. I’ll bet he wouldn’t use a hedgehog for a weapon anymore. But then what would he use? I guess there are wacky people everywhere.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky
    May 30, 2008 @ 12:04:40

    That’s a hedgehog? Gosh, who knew? I think you’re right. The media has slow days and they dig for these jewels. I just returned from vacation and am having a hard time getting back in the groove. Thanks for the laugh.

    See, our problems aren’t so bad….

    b

    Reply

  2. teeni
    May 30, 2008 @ 13:29:41

    Hedgehogs are adorable. I would have to be pretty darned angry to try and use one as a weapon.

    But yeah – “news” isn’t really news anymore.

    Reply

  3. michaelm
    May 30, 2008 @ 14:31:39

    Awww, he’s looks like a prickly little baby, not a weapon.
    Throwing kittens would be just as bad, I guess 😉
    ~m

    Reply

  4. c
    May 30, 2008 @ 14:41:54

    i, if i just had to throw something at someone, would not use an animal.
    What do people think about? i wonder.
    If i was so angry i felt i had to throw a thing, i’d want to do some damage, damn it.

    i’d probably throw myself. Or a rock. Or ask to borrow your cane. 😀

    Reply

  5. betme
    May 30, 2008 @ 14:45:20

    Ah shucks, the little thing is just too cute to be used for a weapon.

    Reply

  6. birdpress
    May 30, 2008 @ 15:00:00

    No animal abuse charges? I also thought of the poor hedgehog first. I think if that happened here there would definitely be abuse charges.

    That one looks like a Popple. Remember Popples?

    Reply

  7. odette
    May 30, 2008 @ 22:25:59

    agree with the hedgehog cuteness!!!
    the cutest pair of feet (and hands??) i ever saw!

    Reply

  8. Hannah
    May 30, 2008 @ 22:46:37

    Oh my goodness, I can’t believe that was in YOUR paper!! It wasn’t even headline news here in NZ … I didn’t know about it at all until I read your blog! I think your newspaper is really scraping the barrel!!!!

    Reply

  9. thebeadden
    May 30, 2008 @ 22:51:53

    Awww. That little thing is so cute.

    Reply

  10. javaqueen
    May 31, 2008 @ 06:04:44

    That is so wrong… poor little guy!

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    May 31, 2008 @ 13:00:47

    @ Becky
    It must have been awesome in England. You’re right about one thing, our problems could be worse.

    @ Teeni
    I didn’t know baby hedgehogs were so cute. I want one. I don’t know what my cats would think.

    @michaelm
    Can you imagine throwing an animal at anyone or just throwing an animal. My kitties rule the house. If anything, they would gang up and throw me, especially if I didn’t give them their snack at night.

    @c
    Yea, caning’s the way to go. Just a light tap to let them know who’s boss and a heavy tap if they’ve done me wrong.

    @Betme
    Isn’t that the cutest little thing. Who knew!

    @ Birdpress
    You make a good point. I hadn’t thought of animal abuse charges.
    I do remember Popples. My daughter had a couple. They were so cute.

    @Odette

    I love their tiny feet and hands?? (I don’t know what you call them, but they are cute).

    @ Hannah

    Our newspaper is always scraping the barrel. I had to laugh when I saw something from New Zealand. Never mind the article being about a hedgehog thrower.

    @the Beadden
    He is a cutie!!!

    @Javaqueen
    This is about as wrong as wrong can be. What kind of person throws a hedgehog at a teenager.

    Reply

  12. Hay
    May 31, 2008 @ 15:17:46

    Lol crazy. I’m with Hannah, I never saw that. But then I’m not much of a paper girl, too depressing. I’m wondering what prompted the man to throw the hedgehog…no excuse of course, but I imagine the teen was up to something.
    Poor hedgehog 😦

    Reply

  13. David
    May 31, 2008 @ 22:30:44

    I’m sorry. I know you folks won’t like this. But it’s obvious to me that a hedgehog, in the absence of a phone book, ashtray, or other heavy object, is maybe the perfect projectile to throw at an obstreperous teenager. Now the article doesn’t mention what the teenager did to provoke this unfortunate attack, but I’ll bet he had it coming.


    Chief Wiggum: I hope this has taught you kids a lesson: kids never learn.

    BTW joan, I love that new picture of you in the blue dress. Wow.

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 19:33:15

    @ Hay
    I wish they would have let us know why the man threw it. I rarely read the paper or listen to the news. I’m with you, too depressing.

    @ David
    Most likely the teen definitely had something coming. Too bad the guy didn’t have a cane. I love the quote from Chief Wiggum of Springfield because it’s so true.

    That photo of me in the blue dress was taken 27 years ago. I was about 32 years old. Oh, to be young again. I hope to be that thin again someday. I made that dress myself. I was the Matron of Honor at my girlfriend’s wedding.

    Reply

  15. mrsvierkant
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 00:09:28

    Awww, the poor hedgehog. That was my preschool theme this past school year: (Hedgie’s Surprise by Jan Brett.) That just makes me sad. 😦

    Reply

  16. Peter Parkour
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 02:54:27

    You do look nice in the blue dress, but I think you better in corduroy pants, but the flag picture is still the best. :mrgreen: I want a hedgehog now. They are so cute. 🙂

    Reply

  17. joanharvest
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 18:27:33

    Everyone likes the flag picture. I wasn’t even drinking when it was taken. Isn’t the hedgehog so sweet?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

