Why Was That Boy Home From School–Gotta Rant Today–All Because I Read The Stupid Newspaper

I was just reading our local newspaper headlines online. I don’t buy the newspaper because personally I don’t want to pay to read a bunch of politically correct crap. Once in a while I will read the headlines online as I did today. The title of the story was , oh never mind, here is the whole story. It’s short.

Teen foils attempted burglary at his home

SANDWICH — A 17-year-old boy who was home from school foiled an attempted breaking and entering at his Meiggs Backus Road home yesterday afternoon after hearing a strange noise and coming face-to-face with the would-be burglar, police said.

The burglar suspect was described as a extremely skinny white 25-year-old man with short hair. He was “preppy” and “clean shaven,” Sandwich police Officer Michael Wood said.

The teen heard a noise at about 12:20 p.m. and went to his back door to let his dog out, then was face-to-face with the burglar suspect, who had cut the screen door, Wood said.

The man fell after trying to run and the teen gave chase. The burglar ripped off the teen’s necklace and pushed him to get away, Wood said. The Barnstable County Sheriff’s Department tracked the suspect toward Barnstable, Wood said.


After these stories online, readers can make comments. More people were questioning why the boy was home from school than the fact that some asshole robber tried to break into his house. Come on, a skinny 25 year old spells cokehead looking for money to supply his habit. Nobody seemed to care about that. Who the hell cares why the kid was home. His house was almost robbed by a scumbag drug addict.

I don’t usually write about this kind of thing but it really annoyed me. I wish I’d have been there with my cane.
By the way here is my cane with my new added attachment/weapon/decoration. Call it what you want. But if I whack someone with it they are going to know it.
My friend is an expert knot maker. She usually does a lot of work on boats. This is a monkey fist and is hard as a rock. Now technically I think of it as a decoration. Yea, right. Would I use it on someone. Yea, damn right I would. I probably would go to jail and the robber go free but I’m OK with that as long as I get him good first. Somebody’s got to knock some sense into these kids and I don’t mean the kid who stayed home from school. My house has been robbed 4 times. Fortunately for the robbers I wasn’t home.
There, I got that out of my system. Usually I would have to call my sister right away to rant about this but now I have my blog which she will read anyway.
I can’t read the newspaper anymore. It annoys me too much.
My other rant is the tourists are coming. I don’t mind tourists in general. It boosts our economy here on the Cape. It’s good for the small business owner, which I was once. The traffic sucks but I can deal with that. It’s the obliviate tourists that annoy me. Obliviates are the ones who are just totally oblivious to those around them. They drive like assholes. They are rude in restaurants and stores. They leave lousy tips to waitresses. They just don’t give a shit about anyone around them. I welcome the nice tourists but the obliviates can stay home and be rude to people in their own town.
If you want to come to the Cape looking like the above, be my guest (not actually at my house). I have truly seen couples like that here in town. It rather shocks me. Are they trying to get caned?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betme
    May 29, 2008 @ 16:21:42

    Joan, I agree. The issue is not the boy being home alone. The same type thing happened here in Houston last week. Some guy forced his way into a home and raped a teenage girl who was home alone. People are upset with her parents because she was home by herself. The girl is 15. I used to be out babysitting toddlers when I was 12.

    The real issue is the person committing the crime. Why do people verbally attack the victims and their families? Would you cane them all for me?

    Reply

  2. teeni
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:04:04

    It always amazes me what people focus on sometimes. I think they get warped minds because of the way the media tends to focus on certain things. Or maybe it is just plain laziness and it is easy to use the victim as an outlet for their outrage. I don’t know. Whatever it is – it needs to change.

    Every time I see canes I think of you – they had some really pretty floral ones at CVS, but I would rather see you with unique ones like the one with your monkey fist. None of the CVS ones had one of THOSE! 🙂

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:25:30

    @ Betme
    I sort of messed up this post and the actual article may not have been in the post but it is now.
    I used to babysit at 12 too. I’ll come right down there and do some caning. I could use a vacation.

    @Teeni
    See my comment to Betme on my mess up with this post.
    Yea, I bet you won’t see too many crippled fat ladies carrying around an ergonomically correct cane with a Monkey’s fist attached to it.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:32:45

    How many cats do you have to need all that litter? Or is that part of the weapon? Maybe you knock em over the head with the knot in the cane and then throw kitty litter in their eyes.

    You were robbed four times?! Did they take anything important? I can’t imagine that. I would probably be a big scaredy cat if I caught someone breaking into my house. I’d probably hide and cry. That kid is my hero, chasing off the robber like that! That’s what they should focus on, not his being home on a school day!

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:48:29

    @ birdpress

    We have three cats and I change the kitty litter every day. Can’t stand kitty smell. I’ll knock them over the head and throw dirty kitty litter at them.

    My son is a recovering heroin/crack addict. When he was doing drugs and living with me we were robbed. They were just looking for drugs. I did lose a few of my things, mostly a few DVDs. They mostly went straight to my son’s room and stole everything he had each time: money, drugs, game players, camera, GPS. Everything good he ever had has been stolen. That’s what happens to people who do drugs. His loss. Fortunately he has been clean from heroin for 3 1/2 years and crack 1 1/2 years. I was his enabler. We both had our lessons to learn. You might have read on one of my posts, his ex-girlfriend died of a heroin overdose last September.

    Reply

  6. kaylee2
    May 29, 2008 @ 23:03:00

    WOW SCARY and read my blog i have good news 🙂

    Reply

  7. javaqueen
    May 30, 2008 @ 02:10:57

    BAHAHAHAH! I cannot believe that some assclown would comment, “why was he home from school?” That is the most idiotic thing I’ve heard in a long, long, time!

    With that being said… I would have never let the paper print that I was able to fend off a burglar suspect that was an extremely skinny white 25-year-old who was “preppy” and “clean shaven” What, was he a fucking altar boy? A boy scout?

    This kid gonna go to school tomorrow and brag that he scared off an altar boy? Jeez! That’s the problem with this story!

    And, yes, the couple at the bottom of your post need to be caned along with your hard knot attachment – love you Joan!

    Reply

  8. javaqueen
    May 30, 2008 @ 02:22:20

    DOH! I just read your responses to other commenter’s and saw what you wrote about your son’s girlfriend passing away and I’m very sorry for that Joan. Sounds like you and he have had a bumpy road for a bit- I’ll bet you are proud of your son – – I’m glad he has kicked the habit and will pray he stays that way- you might have been an “enabler” but I don’t know a mother who isn’t to some extent so do not blame yourself. WE all have choices to make in this life… that only we can make. I’m sure you didn’t inject your son with drugs. I know what you mean though *mom’s are SOOOOOOOOo hard on themselves, it’s been handed down from generation to generation….. I just wanted to tell you that I think you are wonderful woman!

    Reply

  9. odette
    May 30, 2008 @ 07:51:56

    on to another annoying story:
    a few years back when the philippines still had the death penalty imposed on rapists, a man raped his OWN young daughter. when he was about to be hanged (read, lethal injection), so many people aka human rights activists, marched out on the streets to protest against the death penalty. they want it abolished and demanded for the criminal’s human rights.
    is it not strange how the victim was forgotten and placed out of the picture? the death penalty was abolished later, after he was hanged! justice after all, but i think it’s just stupid that some people can think more of the criminal’s welfare than the victim’s. they need the cane too, is all i’m saying. 😉

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    May 31, 2008 @ 13:18:00

    @ Kaylee
    I did read your blog and you must be really excited. I am really happy for you.

    @ Javaqueen
    Like I said, skinny white male tells you one thing–cokehead. That couple should change their clothes or expect a good caning.

    Thanks Sister Javaqueen, I don’t know how wonderful I am, my daughter described me as quirky. She really meant crazy.

    My son and I have had a very bumpy road but he is doing well right now. He still has his ups and downs but at least he is trying to lead a good life. That’s all I can ask. I still can’t get rid of the feeling that I should have done something different. It was very difficult when his ex-girlfriend died. They were still friends and she was trying to get her life together. Even after they broke up she would call or visit me because she got no support from her parents. They just lived in denial. She hadn’t done heroin in a while and on her birthday she must have decided she could have a little which turned out to be too much. People were giving it to her like it was candy. It taught my son a hard lesson. I can only hope that her death hit home with someone and maybe they thought twice about what they were doing to themselves.

    @ Odette

    I agree with you so much. I’m glad justice was served in that case but in so many cases the criminal is given too many rights and the victim is just put aside. You’re right they need the cane.

    Reply

  11. Hay
    May 31, 2008 @ 15:20:02

    Horrible! The kid was probably sick or something. What business is it of anyone elses? Grrrr.

    Lol at your tourist pictures!

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 19:40:09

    @ Hay
    I so agree with you. I have actually seen tourists who look like that. I guess people like that want everyone to know they are tourists.

    Reply

  13. Peter Parkour
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 21:40:17

    I hate to change the subject, but I just had to address Odette’s “death penalty for rape” issue, because I personally feel that’s how it should be. I’m glad to hear that’s how it was, but sad to hear it is no more. I say they bring that law back. 😐

    I had my house broken into just once, and that was about the worst feeling ever. I wouldn’t leave the house all weekend until wrought iron was installed on all the windows and doors. That was a very long time ago in a neighborhood far, far away.

    That’s one hell of a know, Joan. Go easy on the tourist. 😉 Unless they really deserve it, then let ’em have it. 😈

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 22:48:46

    @ Peter
    I agree with you on rapists. If anyone did that to my daughter I wouldn’t hesitate to kill the person myself. I’d gladly go to jail for it too.

    I promise, I’ll go easy on the tourists. They do bring a lot of money to our economy. But there should be a dress code. Dressing like that should be illegal but on the other hand to each his own. We all have the right to dress the way we want. I’m not fond of old men in speedos at the beach either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

