Meme from The Girl From The Ghetto! Includes Fun Facts about Toilet Paper!

So I was tagged to do a questionaire-type meme by The Girl From the Ghetto. She has a most awesome site. She keeps me updated on my favorite show “Lost”. Stuff happens on that show and I’m watching it but somehow I miss it and she is very smart and observant and doesn’t miss a thing, thank goodness, otherwise I would never know what was going on. She also writes about lots of other interesting things. If you haven’t been there you should check her out.

Favorite person (outside family

This is difficult because I don’t hang out with much of anyone outside my family. I do have three friends though and I can’t choose between them. I don’t even hang out with them that much but I always talk to them on the phone or e-mail them and they are always there for me. First is my long lost sister Wendy from Life with Buck. She has been my sister’s best friend for years and we decided that my mother must have lost her in a store when she was little and never told us about it. She is so much like us that she has to be our third sister.

Cindy is a woman I met through my store about 10 years ago. She started coming in and we started talking and we have been best friends ever since. I talk on the phone to her everyday and she tries to get to see me as often as she can but she lives maybe 30 miles from here and with gas prices…

The other is Nancy, who lives even further away but I met her when I was 10 years old and we have been best friends ever since. OMG, the stuff we did when we were young.

Favorite food?

Another tough one because there is very little food I don’t like. One of my favorite foods is the potato in all it’s cooked forms–mashed, fried, scalloped, homefries, chips. It doesn’t matter how you cook one I will eat it.

Quirks about you?

Oh Lord, ask my daughter. She probably has a list a mile long. One of my quirks to someone else would seem normal to me so another difficult one to answer. Well, I won’t put the toilet paper on the paper holder thingy. Not because I can’t but I always want to see if anyone else will do it. Most times no one does. It’s sort of pointless having the thing.

Fun facts about toilet paper from Wikipedia:

“New Yorker Joseph C. Gayetty produced the first packaged bathroom tissue in the United States in 1857. The Gayetty Firm from New Jersey produced the first toilet paper named “The Therapeutic Paper”. It contained an abundance of aloe, a curative addition. The company sold it in packs of 500 sheets for fifty cents, and Joseph Gayetty had his name printed on each sheet!
Before toilet tissue- wealthy Romans used wool and rosewater and sponges soaked in salt water at the end of a stick. Wealthy French used lace, wool and hemp. In the Middle Ages they used hayballs and a scraper/gompf stick kept in a container in the privy. Early Americans used rags, newsprint, paper from catalogs, corncobs, and leaves. Vikings used lambs wool. Hawaiians used coconut shells. Eskimos used snow and Tundra moss. A bidet is used in France. Defecating in the river is very common. Cleaning with the left hand and water is common in India. Sailors used the frayed end of an old anchor line.”
This looks like it might work for us!

How would the person who loves you most describe you in ten words or less? (Ask them)

loving, loyal, funny, forgetful, quirky, accepting, helpful, honest, smart and sassy.

My daughter typed in the above herself. I didn’t even prompt her.

Any regrets in life?

Hell yea!! I wouldn’t have eaten so many fried potatoes!!!

Favorite Charity/Cause?

I don’t have a charity. I am a charity. Sometimes I feel useless being disabled. I want to hang out on some corner with a tin cup and beg for money so I can pay back my daughter and my wasband for all they have done for me.

I do have a cause. That is the consumption, the breathing in of, and the putting on our skin of way too many chemicals. The average person manages to take in almost 200 chemicals a day. Don’t get me started on this. I could write a 10,000 word essay on it in 2 minutes if I could type that fast.

Favorite Blog recently?

All my blogs are my favorites otherwise I’d delete them. I can’t think of anyone on my blogroll that I don’t absolutely adore. You have all changed my life for the better.

Something you can’t get enough of?

Potatoes?

Worst job you’ve ever had?

When I was in high school I worked on an assembly line putting little white covers on little white boxes, over and over and over again. It was sort of like the I Love Lucy show, the famous episode of her and Ethel on the chocolate candy assembly line. Only it was me and Nancy. We didn’t last too long at that job.

What job would you pay NOT to have?

Come on, what did I just say, remember already, the little white boxes?

If you could be a fly on the wall, where?

Hillary Clinton’s bedroom. I’d love to hear the love talk between Hill and Bill. I wonder if she wears a Monica wig and they play Bill and Monica.

Favorite Bible verse right now?

Sorry, haven’t read it recently. I still have a version of a Children’s Bible Stories book that my brother gave me when I was about 10 years old. It’s in my book case. I’ll just give you my favorite saying. I guess you could call it my mantra–“It is what it is” That’s how I am able to accept a lot of stuff I can’t change. It’s a lot shorter than that Al Anon one I can never remember the words to but is basically the same thing and I can remember this one.

Guilty Pleasure?

Being unemployed. When I’m not feeling guilty about it, it sure is fun.

Got any confessions?

I’ve already confessed about stealing my sister’s diary when I was a kid and finding my brother’s pot stash. I can’t think of much else.

If you HAD to spend $1,000 on YOURSELF, how would you spend it?

I couldn’t spend it on myself. Well, maybe just a little of it. I would probably buy that King Arthur statue from Design Toscano. I’d have to give most of it to my daughter towards bills.

Favorite thing about your house?

My bedroom. I wrote a whole post about it with photos.

Least favorite thing about your house?

Not having walls in the bathroom. It finally got a door after quite a few months. You can’t see into it but when you are in it all you see is the insulation. Oh, and we have no front steps. You walk out the front door and you are going to drop three feet to the ground. Thank goodness we have a side door with a railing so I can get out of this place when I want to.

One thing you are bad at?

Singing. You don’t want to hear me sing. First I can never remember all the words to any song except “The Eensy Weensy Spider”.

One thing you’re good at?

Cooking. I think I do a damn good job cooking for this family. Except I’m not cooking tonight. I got off prednisone completely and I didn’t think it would cause so much pain. I can hardly walk at all. I couldn’t even go grocery shopping so I am getting back on a low dose until I get to go to the pain management clinic. I don’t know what they are going to eat for supper . I told my daughter and she kept saying “Don’t worry about it Mom”, but I do.

If you could change something about your circumstances, what would it be?

Having the money to buy a bigger house for us all.

Who would you like to meet someday?

I’d like to meet up with my father again, even for just a minute so I could tell him how much I love him.

What makes you feel sexy?

Nothing I can think of until I lose another 125 pounds. Then talk to me, Baby.

Who is your real life hero?

My Dad. He was such a hot shit. He was a wonderful father. Someday I’ll have to tell some good stories about him.

My Dad

What is the hardest part of your job?

Since I don’t actually work at a job and mostly what I do is cook I guess I would say grocery shopping. Until they give those cripple carts more power, grocery shopping takes forever.

When are you most relaxed?

When all my cooking chores are done and I sit in my big comfy chair and relax for the rest of the evening.

What stresses you out?

Worrying about my son.

What can you not live without?

My family

Why do you blog?

It’s free therapy!!

I am not going to tag anyone but feel free to do this meme if it pleases you. I know it would please me.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 26, 2008 @ 19:39:04

    You always write great personal posts … and my, god, I can never, ever imagine my life without toilet paper. Can you just imagine trying to wipe your ass with a corn cob? That is hysterical to me!!!

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    May 26, 2008 @ 19:49:58

    @thegirlfromtheghetto

    That’s what I like about blogging. You cut to the chase and write whatever you think. Toilet paper was a damn good invention. You can do without a lot of stuff but toilet paper isn’t one of them. Thanks for tagging me I’m a meme whore too.

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    May 26, 2008 @ 20:28:17

    This was a great read! I always learn a lot about people from these memes.
    I understand totally about the toilet paper!
    Oh, and I love potatoes. I’m not a big fan of them mashed or boiled, but most other ways they are one of my fave foods πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Hay
    May 26, 2008 @ 21:47:49

    Haha Joan, you crack me up! I love the Bill and Monica bit…lol!!

    Reply

  5. odette
    May 26, 2008 @ 23:06:50

    i never ate much potatoes until i married a dutchman. i must say i fell in love with the potatoes too that i forgot for a while i’m a rice-eating asian. πŸ™‚

    the facts about the toilet paper cracked me up! i know it is gross to imagine myself using the above-mentioned “materials” before the toilet paper, but i couldn’t help it, so now i wince and cringe at every thought! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. joanharvest
    May 26, 2008 @ 23:55:55

    @ Hannah
    I didn’t cook tonight and my daughter and hubby went out for sushi, their favorite food. When she came home she read the blog and when she got to the toilet paper part she started laughing so hard.. She said she does the same as me and waits to see if someone else will change it.
    I can eat a plain boiled potato with nothing on it and love it.

    @ Hay
    I don’t know what made me think of that but it’s what got into my head first and that’s what I always go with.

    @ Odette

    To be honest with you, my son-in-law is 1/4 Japanese. His grandfather is full Japanese. I cook rice at least 4-5 times a week since he and my daughter moved in with me. So I don’t get to eat potatoes as much as I used to.

    Yes, I think using a corncob or a coconut shell would be rather uncomfortable. I was wincing as I wrote it but found it very interesting and found myself appreciating toilet paper like I never have before.

    Reply

  7. teeni
    May 27, 2008 @ 00:04:50

    Oh yeah – let’s hear it for the spud! I love those little suckers too and any old way you can eat them – today I had them in an irish restaurant where they made it into a potato/scallion pancake – wow, was that good! πŸ™‚ I think it is a riot that you had that job – I can totally see you as a brunette Lucille Ball. LOL. Your dad is a cutie – I can’t wait to read future posts about him – get to work! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  8. Red
    May 27, 2008 @ 00:19:05

    Awesome! I did this one too . .Love it!
    Tators?!!! Oh yess! Loves me some tators!!

    Reply

  9. michaelm
    May 27, 2008 @ 09:16:48

    Something you can’t get enough of?

    Potatoes?

    You must be a distant relation to my three daughters.
    They could eat 5lbs. a day :mrgreen:
    Thanks so much for the visits over the past few days.
    I’ll be by later tonight to do some more reading.
    best,
    ~m

    Reply

  10. CuriousC
    May 27, 2008 @ 10:47:53

    I’ll probably never live down my love of mashed pototoes! As a kid at those big family dinners, I always got to clean out the bowl. And help mash, and MMMMMmmmm love the spuds anyway, too, I do.

    My friends told me about a place that fries their french fries in goose fat which knowing how luxurious goose fat is, can only mean those fries are HEAVEN!

    Great post!

    Reply

  11. betme
    May 27, 2008 @ 10:49:20

    Joan ~ This was so funny! I am trying to give up potatoes for 5 weeks. No potatoes and no pasta.

    Reply

  12. birdpress
    May 27, 2008 @ 15:59:45

    Well, I guess you don’t know all the words to “The ITSY BITSY Spider” either! πŸ˜†

    Very interesting post! Who doesn’t love potatoes? Mmm… I rarely eat them anymore either though. I try to cut out the “white” carbs.

    I put the toilet paper on the roll but then I use another roll that I don’t put on there so that there is just always a full roll on the holder. I have my own bathroom, so I do what I want!

    Reply

  13. Just a Mom
    May 27, 2008 @ 16:36:04

    My mother was part Irish and we had potatoes every dinner. I used to tease her and ask her if she thought there would be another potato famine!
    Empty toilet paper holders…don’t even get me started on that subject. My family must think that there is a bathroom fairy that changes out the dog gone toilet paper rolls every time it’s empty! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Peter Parkour
    May 27, 2008 @ 19:05:11

    Why are we the only animals on earth that need to wipe our asses? I sometimes wish I shit like a goat to get out of this dirty chore. πŸ˜› Alas it just isn’t meant to be. Dang it. Great job on another meme. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. kaylee2
    May 27, 2008 @ 19:19:20

    Nice answers πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. mrsvierkant
    May 27, 2008 @ 20:52:39

    ROFL about the toilet paper. Yeah… it wouldn’t get done it my house if it weren’t for me! Hill and Bill made me giggle too. Funny! πŸ˜€ Love your sense of humor!

    Reply

  17. thebeadden
    May 27, 2008 @ 21:33:41

    Great meme Joan! I just know your Dad had to have been such a great man. You can see it in the picture. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. shornsheep
    May 27, 2008 @ 22:16:46

    Aww, Joan, reading this has been the highlight of my day! πŸ™‚

    You just took me on an emotional rollercoaster ride (in a nice way). Made me laugh (the toilet paper and esp. Bill and Hillary in the bedroom, hehe) and made me cry – about your Dad. πŸ™‚

    Prednisone is no fun is it? But often a necessary evil. I have been on it for pain management for my lupus symptoms. Fortunately, have come off it for now. All the best and hope they cook you up a decent brew at the Pain Clinic. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. javaqueen
    May 28, 2008 @ 02:45:58

    I’ve been thinking about my pops a lot lately and when I got to the part about your dad with his picture; I started to cry. We all have our stories, don’t we? I loved this meme. You seem like you feel bad that you are living w/ your daughter and wasband but I can guarantee they’d probably never want to be without you Joan, you are too neat of a person and from the words your daughter wrote- I’d say I was right on. Also, helping someone you love (i.e. your daughter and wasband to you), is great but they are receiving a bigger gift in return. You are an awesome lady. Shit, if I had another room, I’d insist you come and stay with me! We could race carts at the store! Ha! Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  20. Laura
    May 28, 2008 @ 04:44:07

    Hi Joan —

    Do you heart Cheryl Wheeler like I do? Really, check out The Potato Song. :)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJaKqOzDvMQ

    Laura, emerging. Slowly.

    Reply

  21. writerchick
    May 28, 2008 @ 15:02:22

    LOL Joan – is it any wonder I call you the one of fun? That toilet paper commentary was a little scary but does explain why there were so damn many infectious diseases in earlier centuries. Love your room – it’s so you. And my dad is my hero too – ain’t that grand?
    Annie

    Reply

  22. joanharvest
    May 28, 2008 @ 16:12:03

    @ Teeni
    A potato scallion pancake gives goosebumps just thinking about it. My Dad was awesome. I’ll have to write a post about him.

    @ Red
    Everyone is making more comments about the taters than any thing. We got a lot of tater lovers around blogland.

    @Michaelm
    I’m glad you stopped by. I love meeting new friends. Three daughters? You got yourself a handful.

    @ CuriousC

    Goosefat fries, now that’s something I’ve never had.Can you imagine how many weight watcher points they have?

    @ Betme

    I was on a low carb diet a few years ago and gave up potatoes and all those lovely carbs and lost 40 pounds but I couldn’t keep it up. I gained back 100 pounds. That’s why I love weight watchers–I still get my taters.

    @ birdpress
    It’s so funny you should bring up the spider song. My daughter read the blog and called me out on my title for that song. We both laughed so hard. I couldn’t even remember the title.

    I’m on prednisone which lowers your potassium levels and baked potatoes are high in potassium so that’s my excuse.

    @Just a Mom
    When I was little we always had potatoes with every meal. We weren’t Irish but I don’t think my parents knew what rice was. Well I found out my daughter is the bathroom fairy. When she read the blog she said she tried to do the same as me and see if someone else would change it but she only lasted a few days. She couldn’t help herself. She had to change it.

    @ Peter

    You are too funny. I was driving through Woods Hole with my daughter a few years back. An elderly man and woman were taking a walk down one of the side streets and as we drove by he walked over to the side of the sidewalk, whipped down his pants, squatted and took a dump. I guess when you gotta go you gotta go.

    @ Kaylee
    Thank you Kaylee. Hope things are going OK for you.

    @mrsvierkant

    The toilet paper fairy has yet to come to my house. My daughter will have to do, because I’m not doing it. I’ll do anything else they ask me but that.

    @thebeadden

    I love that photo of my Dad. He sparkles. Every time I look up at the sky I imagine him as one of the stars sparkling down on me.

    @ shornsheep

    I weaned myself off prednisone last week and lasted three days without it. By Monday I was a mess and couldn’t even move from my chair so I started taking 10 mg a day again and two days later I’m back on my feet to a certain extent. At least I can cook and shop and drive.
    Prednisone–the miracle drug with the worst side effects. We’ll see what they can do at the pain management clinic.

    @ Javaqueen
    I love living with the kids but when I’m not out working for a paycheck I feel sort of like I’m not contributing enough. I feel like I’m a drain on them even though Sarah insists that I’m not. They Do like my cooking. I’m cooking a ginger pineapple pork roast with sweet potatoes in the crock pot for tonight.

    I wouldn’t mind a cripple cart race with you sometime. Now that would be wicked cool. I’d approach someone on a cripple cart in the grocery store and ask them if they want to race but I’m afraid I see the police involved in that one and possibly a stay in the psych ward.

    @ Laura

    Yes, I have seen Cheryl Wheeler in concert. It was quite a few years ago and she was playing with Tom Rush whom I adore , especially his song “Urge for Going”.

    @writerchick

    I love my room. It’s got 4 skylights which you can’t see in the pictures. That’s the best part because at night I can lay in bed and watch the stars. They are big skylights 4′ X 4′ . I am an avid astronomer.

    All that toilet paper stuff was fairly shocking. I’m glad for the invention of toilet paper. I’d hate to have to use my Sky and Telescope magazine.

    Reply

  23. trishatruly
    May 28, 2008 @ 18:48:15

    “loving, loyal, funny, forgetful, quirky, accepting, helpful, honest, smart and sassy.”

    I agree with your daughter!! (But I didn’t know about the forgetful part πŸ™‚ )
    You are quite a gal, Joan!

    Reply

  24. joanharvest
    May 28, 2008 @ 21:38:41

    @ Trish

    Thank you Trish and so are you (quite a gal). I love that we both have good relationships with our daughters.

    I am so forgetful it becomes funny around here. For Christmas my daughter gave me not one but three separate reminder notebooks from the same company and just yesterday my wasband gave me this little voice recorder to remind myself of stuff. Yet I never lose stuff or forget to do stuff but I don’t remember what people tell me. (I think I just let too much of it go in one ear and out the other). I remember everyone’s phone numbers but forget their names. Talk about selective memory.

    Reply

  25. romi41
    May 28, 2008 @ 22:55:01

    That white-box job sounds like it was horrible! Obviously Lucy had the leg up with the chocolate-assembly line job, I just swoon everytime I see her shoving that chocolate in her mouth…mmm….

    PS: your daugther seems so sweet! I love hearing about you two πŸ™‚

    Reply

  26. Trackback: A Meme « The Bead Den
  27. thebeadden
    May 31, 2008 @ 00:21:44

    I finally posted my meme Joan. It was a tough one!

    Reply

  28. Serr8d
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 00:42:15

    ummm…Hi, Joan.

    I’m visiting because I noticed from my sitemeter that I’d had a visit from ‘Copyscape’, that thingy you have in your left sidebar. It seems that Copyscape had latched onto a blockquote from a post I wrote May 11, 2007, on Sheryl Crow’s ‘one-square’ of toilet paper per bathroom visit policy (a sop to Al Gore and globull warming). I had blockquoted the same paragraph you’ve attached above, about the wealthy Romans and the frayed rope, etc.

    Difference is, I made sure that the paragraph I cited was set apart in blockquote form, and I gave credit by a hyperlink to the original author’s site.

    Why you failed to do that I don’t know. Such acknowledgments are considered sine qua non to remain in good form by most honest bloggers.

    Then, to have Copyscape hit on me as a possible plagiarist! Got some stones, don’t you?

    Now do carry on, and have you a great day.

    Reply

  29. joanharvest
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 01:13:01

    @ Serr8D
    Hi and welcome. I got that quote from Wikipedia. If you check my other posts I have always given credit when it is due. I also have a crappy memory which I have mentioned in numerous posts. I have since corrected the problem and am sorry for any inconvenience I might have unknowingly caused you and the 7 or 8 other people that have used the same quote in their blogs.

    I don’t know about my having stones but if I did I’d probably forget where I put them.

    Again it certainly wasn’t intentional. I can only blame menopause and old age.

    And I will have a great day and I truly hope you do too.

    Reply

  30. serr8d
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 07:50:59

    Well, thanks for the correction. I too researched TP for my original post last year (and you’ll have to admit, since, Sheryl Crow’s ‘one square’ per pass theory has pretty much bottomed out) and I found that entire site devoted to TP history and theory (Wiki isn’t much respected amongst anyone who cares about quality research, btw). As thick as a Sears catalog, eh?

    As primarily a political blogger, I’m always looking for things that seem…askance. And that image of Copyscape and my post did grate on me.

    Thanks for the fix, and now…think about the flush for Copyscape~!

    ;D

    Reply

  31. Trackback: Boyz in my hood « DisIsMyPlace

Leave a Reply

