Weight Watcher’s Saturday Sucked–I’m not demented! Yet!

First, I only lost .2 pounds. Not 2 pounds–point 2 pounds, that’s only 1/5 of a pound. I had to add this because no one was seeing the dot before the 2.ย  Ha! Ha!

I don’t know exactly where I went wrong but I did track what I ate and was within the correct points more or less. We did have a stir fry which I guessed at the points. I think I guessed wrong. We also had turkey meatloaf and I didn’t weigh out my portion. Wrong guess again. I have a feeling guessing with weight watcher’s doesn’t work that well.

My regular leader is on vacation for two weeks. She warned us about it last week. Hardly anyone showed up knowing she’d be gone plus it’s a holiday weekend. The new leader is OK but she just isn’t L. So the meeting was somewhat boring.

Six things to do at a boring weight watcher’s meeting.

  1. Bring a box of warm cinnabuns and open the cover to let out that wonderful smell and watch everyone’s reaction. (Make sure you don’t eat them after the meeting)
  2. Throw spitballs at the leader. (make sure you sit in the back of the room)
  3. Hum the tune to the Andy Griffith show over and over again, just so people can barely hear it.
  4. Bring a sketch pad and pretend your sketching the leader.
  5. Take out some paper towels and 409 and start cleaning the table.
  6. Think of five things to do at a boring weight watchers’ meeting.

On a good note I got the results of my blood test. My cholesterol is down 60 points and my blood sugar is down just over 40 points. I did it just through diet, no medication. I did take fish oil on days that I remembered, which wasn’t really that often.

But at least I’m not demented. A woman at the meeting went to a talk on memory loss. The speaker said memory loss does not mean you have dementia. Good to know. It could mean a number of other horrible things but at least I’m not demented. Well, if I ever do get demented there are perks.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    May 24, 2008 @ 13:02:45

    I hate those .2 weeks. They are so disheartening, but at least, I say, it’s a loss. Right? Our leader said once that if we get too lax and start ‘guesstimating”, it’s likely we’ll always underestimate what we ate. I know that to be true for me. I thought a 3 oz steak was really a 10oz steak. Sheesh. I have to be very diligent about my weighing and measuring. That’s why I bought one of their scales first thing.

    My favorite leader quit. Her family is moving and she’s taking the summer off to be with her little kids. Pooey. I really, really liked her. Now we’ll have to see who they give us in exchange. Hopefully not the sub we had last time. She sucked. I’m sorry, but when you’ve only ever had to lose 20 pounds, what’s the point? How can someone like that relate to those of us who have to lose 60, 80, 180 lbs?

    One thing you can do in a boring WW meeting is take a baby who farts a lot. People will giggle and snicker and the leader won’t know what the hell is going on. Cayden had that problem when he was a baby and Cindy and I were going then. It was hilarious. The regular leader knew what was going on, but the sub had no clue.

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    May 24, 2008 @ 13:18:58

    @ Little Miss

    Another reason to have a grandchild. Maybe I can teach it to fart on cue.

    I have a scale too. I just have to remember to use it.

    I started out at having to lose 199 pounds. I refused to make it 200 pounds. 199 sounded better to me. But now it’s only 125.6. I’ve lost 37% of my weight.

    We’ll make it. It’s a long journey but we will get there.

    Reply

  3. writerchick
    May 24, 2008 @ 15:31:45

    Oh, too bad about just a 2 lb loss. Are you kidding 2lb loss is great! I loved your list and maybe you could add, surepticiously handing out your business cards, especially to those nodding off in the back row?

    And it’s always good to make new friends. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Annie

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    May 24, 2008 @ 15:39:36

    @ writerchick
    It was .2 1/5th of one pound. Yuck. I definitely would have been happy with two pounds which is what I was aiming for but .2. I gotta do better.

    Wow, I should make up some business cards for myself. I cook supper at home for free, all weight watchers dinners. What if I cooked supper for some of those weight watcher people who hate to cook, especially the single men. They would pay good money for a weight watcher meal. I have a 7 quart crock pot and can get 6-8 weight watcher meals out of it. I wonder what people would pay for that. They are all local, they could even pick it up at my house on their way home from work. I wonder?

    Reply

  5. teeni
    May 24, 2008 @ 20:07:02

    Okay, so .2 pounds seems a little disappointing but that is only because you have been doing so well and losing every week. It’s still way better than gaining, right? Don’t let that stop you one bit, Ms. Joan! I’m thinking you could have worked off a little more if you really did start caning some people who deserved it, but really even just maintaining your weight is better than gaining so it’s still positive! You go, girl!

    Reply

  6. odette
    May 24, 2008 @ 21:07:22

    hehe this is so funny, the drawings, and things to do on a meeting. i usually just sleep on meetings, and not always i do it on purpose. ๐Ÿ™‚

    well, stay positive, stay strong, stay healthy! that’s the most important i guess. way to go! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  7. kaylee2
    May 24, 2008 @ 21:43:09

    heheh Thats great !

    Reply

  8. Barbara
    May 24, 2008 @ 22:56:40

    Hey at least you didn’t gain .2, and you’re that much closer to your goal. In another week or so you will have lost 75 pounds. Picture 75 pounds of lard–that’s a lot of fat.

    Sister B.

    Reply

  9. Hannah
    May 25, 2008 @ 01:24:46

    Chin up. I know you’re disappointed (I have had -0.2 weeks as well … but put it this way, they’re better than +2.0 weeks, huh???)
    Your blood test results are great, and a better indication of improving health than what the scales say. You are doing really well!! Keep it up!

    Reply

  10. javaqueen14
    May 25, 2008 @ 02:07:49

    “Bring a box of warm cinnabuns and open the cover to let out that wonderful smell and watch everyoneโ€™s reaction” – Evil. Pure Evil. I absolutely LMAO at the thought, so… I’m still LOL. Can you imagine? It would make a wicked ass S.N.L. skit, no? Ha! Ha! Ha!

    I think, sometimes you do follow and track what ya eat and you will still loose only .2 – – – your body is not a machine, it is going at its own pace and cannot be rushed. Also, I HATE this next saying, “It took a long time to pack on the weight – it’ll take a long time for it to come off.” But, so true! At least you are doing it in a healthy way which is going to pay off for you in the long run.
    *You are rock and roll Joan- I needed this laugh!

    Reply

  11. c
    May 25, 2008 @ 15:07:49

    Congratulations on the cholesterol drop!
    Also, i love your list.

    Reply

  12. oxyjen
    May 25, 2008 @ 21:49:20

    In one of the weight watcher’s success stories I’ve read, one woman wrote that when she only lost .8 lbs, she would envision 3 sticks of butter disappearing from her body. I think it’s every bit effective with .2 lbs, which we can consider 1/4 lb. You have taken a stick of butter off your body this week! Be happy and proud!

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    May 26, 2008 @ 10:41:45

    @Teeni
    Nothing will stop me, that’s guaranteed. I’ve worked to hard to get this far. But I always appreciate the pep talks from everyone.

    @ Odette
    Thanks for stopping by. Javaqueen says you are the best and thanks for the support.

    @Kaylee
    Thanks Kaylee. How are you doing?

    @Sister B

    You did very good with your comment. I knew you could do it. I couldn’t even pick up 75 pounds of lard.

    Sister J

    @ Hannah

    I was really happy with the blood test results and I will keep it up.

    @ Javaqueen
    My WW leader said the same thing as you, about your body going at it’s own pace. That saying you hate is so true. Thanks for being here for me.

    @C
    I was really happy to see the cholesterol drop. I’m glad you enjoyed my list. I can’t wait for my regular leader to come back.

    @Oxyjen

    Thanks for stopping by. And your right when I think that I lost a stick of butter, that’s not too bad. I just wonder where it went. Hopefully I’ll be one of those weight watcher success stories and I can tell everyone I did it with the support of my blogging buddies.

    Reply

  14. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 26, 2008 @ 12:52:20

    Dropping that cholesterol that much is AMAZING! Just amazing! Focus on the good girlfriend!!!

    Reply

  15. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 26, 2008 @ 14:11:25

    Hey, I am tagging you to do a Meme Whore blog. Interested? See my blog.

    Reply

  16. Peter Parkour
    May 27, 2008 @ 18:43:57

    Way to go on the medication free improved stats. The fact that there is a pill for everything drives me nuts. I’ve been totally sucking in the diet department, still, but will be back on track very soon, promise. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Something (.2) is better than nothing, special on this journey.

    Reply

  17. kaylee2
    May 27, 2008 @ 19:22:38

    I am hanging in there ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  18. Sueellen
    May 28, 2008 @ 13:20:13

    Hey there, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving me the comment. I think you are doing wonderful and definitely is part of my encouragement and and motivation. We can do this together and be each other’s motivation. I think losing .2 is better than gaining .2 and the one thing I have learned is that you can’t always go by what the scale says. Look at what else is happening with you – cholesterol down, blood sugar is down – you are doing a great job!

    Reply

  19. joanharvest
    May 28, 2008 @ 16:15:59

    @ thegirlfromthe ghetto

    Actually, it kind of shocked my that my cholesterol dropped that much.

    @ Peter

    I’m glad I didn’t have tom take meds to lower my cholesterol. I hate taking prescriptions. I’m sure you will get on track again. Don’t give up! If I can do it, anyone can.

    @Kaylee

    Happy to hear you are hanging in there.

    Reply

  20. joanharvest
    May 28, 2008 @ 21:44:52

    @ Sueellen

    I’m so happy you came by. I can always use a weight watcher buddy. It’s too hard to do alone. You really do need support and I’ve gotten a lot here from my blog friends. I came out of the closet and let everyone know my weight and what I was dealing with and no one ran away. I started at 344 pounds and am now down to 270 pounds. I still have a long way to go but I will never give up. So I am with you all the way. I will be stopping by your blog to see how you are doing.

    Reply

  21. Optician
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 04:42:59

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Optician!!

    I guess you just have to get to know me a little better. But I’m glad you stopped by. Sometimes I don’t think I really have a point. I think my sudden onset of ADD comes out and I just go from one thing to another. That’s hI gow my crazy mind works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

