You Tube of My Daughter on Martha’s Vineyard Local TV Station Plum TV

This interview was done at the end of last summer. I just thought I would post it. I first had to get it off the Plum TV website and then download it to You Tube. I have never done this before so it was a learning experience too. Plus you will meet my daughter. She has cut her hair and lost some weight since this was done. It’s an interview about about wedding jewelry, not wedding rings but gifts for the father and groomsmen and bridesmaids and favors etc. She manages the most popular jewelry store on Martha’s Vineyard. Carly Simon is one of her customers. Carly sang to her once which I thought was pretty funny.

This is from the Website for the store she works for.

Sarah York, Sarah Yorkthe store manager, joined C.B. Stark in 2002. She began working in the jewelry industry at the age of nineteen, when she took a summer job working for a large national jewelry chain on Cape Cod. Within a few months she was a store manager. She realized that she loved the jewelry industry but didn’t want to work for a large corporation. Sarah then became the service manager at Guertin Brothers Jewelers, a well-known independent jewelery retailer on Cape Cod. In 2002, she moved her career to Martha’s Vineyard. She currently lives “off-island” in Falmouth and commutes to the Vineyard by ferry.
Sarah continues to further her education with the Gemological Institute of America, where she has many certifications, including her Graduate Diamonds Diploma. Her education and experience help her work with customers to design one-of-a-kind pieces or create new jewelry out of old.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    May 23, 2008 @ 19:54:06

    I bet she sang “Nobody does it better”, right? You’re daughter is beautiful. That interviewer was kind of weird though. Was it her first interview with someone? She did more talking than your daughter.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    May 23, 2008 @ 21:14:41

    Your daughter is so pretty and I definitely see you in her. How cool is it that Carly Simon once sang to her? I have stayed on Martha’s Island before – it is beautiful and I love all the gingerbread style houses. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    May 23, 2008 @ 23:10:50

    @ Little Miss
    Very astute of you to notice how the interviewer did all the talking. Sarah brought up the same point to me. The woman loves to hear herself speak. Sarah told me what she sang but I can’t remember.

    @ Teeni
    I used to visit the Vineyard a lot but I haven’t been in a while. The gingerbread houses are wicked cool. A lot of people say they see me in her.

    Reply

  4. Hay
    May 24, 2008 @ 01:39:42

    Your daughter is HOT, lol. Great interview šŸ™‚ Ooooo, she is famous. Gosh the vineyard looks beautiful!

    Reply

  5. javaqueen14
    May 24, 2008 @ 04:15:32

    Joan, your daughter is so beautiful and articulate! Nice job! She really represents! I’ve read so much about her, it’s so easy to see why you love her so much! I think she’s adorable, she didn’t even need to loose weight, no?

    Reply

  6. 2lazydogs
    May 24, 2008 @ 10:42:38

    Wow! That was awesome. You must be so proud. Your daughter is adorable! but that interviewer…sheesh…I wanted to smack her hands, she was flailing them all over the place. Good thing they both had sunglasses on or someone may have lost an eye!

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    May 24, 2008 @ 13:29:39

    @ Hay
    She did a good job. She said she wasn’t even nervous. I would have been a wreck. The Vineyard is beautiful. It’s crazy with tourists in the summer.

    @Javaqueen
    My daughter is way sophisticated. I don’t know where she got it from. Certainly not me. She’s also my angel. She had already started losing weight when that video was done, though she did lose more and is at her comfortable weight and a size 2. She certainly doesn’t deprive herself of food. She just eats the right things now.

    @2Lazydogs
    I’ve always been proud of my girl. She never went through those horrible teenage years. We were always best friends and she always did the right thing.

    That interviewer was out of control. She talked way too much and flailed around like you said. You could get a headache just watching her. I think she had a little too much coffee that day.

    Reply

  8. thebeadden
    May 24, 2008 @ 17:51:58

    Wow! Your daughter is articulate and pretty. How lucky to be surrounded in jewelry too! In a few years I am going to get into the metalsmith side of it and design my own stuff. I need a room built for ventilation and buy the tools first. Maybe one day they’ll buy something off me, you know, when I’m famous….LOL!

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    May 24, 2008 @ 18:27:21

    They love buying from artistic one of a kind Jewelry makers. Sometimes they insist on an exclusive so it won’t be found anywhere else on the island. They really do a good business. Their major business is in Island charms. They design most of the charms themselves.

    I know I’m lucky because she has given me lots of jewelry. I think that would be awesome if you went into metalsmith.

    Who knows, you’ll be a famous jeweler and I’ll be a famous “sit down” comedian.

    Reply

  10. odette
    May 24, 2008 @ 21:01:22

    hi joan!
    nice meeting you and your daughter!
    she herself is a gem.

    thanks to JQ for meeting us up together!

    have a great sunday!

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    May 26, 2008 @ 10:44:40

    @ Odette

    I’m really happy to meet you too and I hope you come back again. My daughter is a gem. I don’t know what I would do without her.

    Reply

  12. birdpress
    May 26, 2008 @ 11:36:18

    Hey, she does seem sophisticated and comfortable on camera. I wish I could do that; I’d probably be stumbling all over myself and dropping things. It’s too bad that lady wouldn’t let her talk more! She’s very pretty too; I agree with javaqueen that she didn’t need to lose weight there, although it is irrelevant and I wonder why you mentioned it at all. Her job sounds really interesting and she must be good at it since she is obviously successful at what she does!

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    May 26, 2008 @ 12:33:16

    @ Birdpress

    I feel I mentioned her weight because I was so proud of her determination and dedication to getting down to her weight goal. She is that way with everything she does, always so sure of herself, so opposite of me. She may be my daughter and 30 years younger than me but she has taught me so much in the past year since we started living together. Every time I look at her I am inspired by who she is. I feel that I used to be that way but lost myself somewhere and she has helped me find myself again.

    Reply

  14. Peter Parkour
    May 27, 2008 @ 18:27:36

    šŸ™‚ It’s so sweet hearing you brag on her, but I’m sure you pull off the flag look way better than her. šŸ˜‰ Thanks for the glimpse into your world.

    Reply

  15. joanharvest
    May 28, 2008 @ 16:18:54

    @ Peter
    I can’t help myself, I am so proud of my girls. I agree with you on the flag thing. Nobody sports a flag like I do. And thanks, Peter, for being part of my world. You always put a smile on my face.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

